DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. US 20180213677 A1 in view of Nishiura US 2010/0172091 Al.
Re claim 1, WU et al. teach a cooling device comprising: a heat absorbing member (2) including a first surface (21) to which an object (8) to be cooled is to be attached and a second surface (22) opposite to the first surface; a plurality of heat radiating fins (23) provided on the second surface of the heat absorbing member, the plurality of heat radiating fins being arranged along a first direction, the plurality of heat radiating fins each being extending in a second direction intersecting with
the first direction (fig 3b); and a casing (7, 3) attached to a second surface of the heat absorbing member to cover the plurality of heat radiating fins, wherein the casing includes: an inflow port (51) into which a coolant flows, an outflow port (61) from which a coolant flows out,
an upstream flow path (5) communicating with the inflow port and facing top portions of the plurality of heat radiating fins,
a downstream flow path (24, area enclosed by 72, annotated fig) communicating with the outflow port, extending in the first direction, and facing end portions in the second direction of the plurality of heat radiating fins, wherein the outflow port is provided at an end portion on one side in the first direction of the casing,
wherein a flow path cross-sectional area in the first direction of the downstream flow path increases with distance from the outflow port (noting both increases and decreases along exit path, figs 3),
WU et al. fail to explicitly teach first and second fin details.
Nishiura teach wherein the plurality of heat radiating fins includes a first heat radiating fin (annotated fig) and a second heat radiating fin (annotated fig) that is closer to the outflow port than the first heat radiating fin, and wherein the flow path cross-sectional area of the downstream flow path at the first heat radiating fin is larger than the flow path cross-sectional area of the downstream flow path at the second heat radiating fin (fig 6) to provide cooing with ideal pressurization.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include first and second fin details as taught by Nishiura in the WU et al. invention in order to advantageously allow for inverter cooling.
Re claim 2, WU et al. teach wherein the downstream flow path includes a first downstream flow path (potions in 72) that faces end portions on one side in the second direction of the plurality of heat radiating fins, and a second downstream flow path (portion in 6) that faces end portions on another side of the plurality of heat radiating fins, and wherein the casing further includes a connection flow path connecting the first and second downstream flow paths (noting three dimensional areas which create flow paths faces all directions).
Re claim 3, WU et al. teach wherein the second surface of the heat absorbing member is partially exposed to the first downstream flow path, the second downstream flow path, and the connection flow path (fins and edges of top case covers portions and other portions partially exposed naturally exposed to paths which are fiducially connected to each other).
Re claim 4, WU et al. teach wherein the upstream flow path faces a central portion in the second direction at the top portions of the plurality of fins (noting three dimensional areas which create flow paths faces all directions, and thus any portions of the fins).
Re claim 5, WU et al. teach wherein the top portions of the plurality of fins are partially exposed to the downstream flow path (noting 72 portions open one side up of the fins for more exposure to downstream flow path and thus with the relative exposure one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the entire set to be partially exposed).
Re claim 6, WU et al. teach wherein the inflow port is provided at the end portion on one side in the first direction of the casing in a state of being side by side with the outflow port (noting all the ports are so close with the tapering, figs 3, such that the broad limitations “provided at” are met).
Re claim 7, WU et al. teach wherein at least one of a height and a width of a flow path cross section in the first direction of the downstream flow path increases with distance from the outflow port (figs 3, see the rejection of claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that WU et al. fails to teach an “wherein the plurality of heat radiating fins includes a first heat radiating fin and a second heat radiating fin that is closer to the outflow port than the first heat radiating fin, and wherein the flow path cross-sectional area of the downstream flow path at the first heat radiating fin is larger than the flow path cross-sectional area of the downstream flow path at the second heat radiating fin”. However, the scope of the claim 1 has been changed in the latest reply and therefore the examiner is now relying on NEW Nishiura to teach the recitation (see detailed rejection above). Therefore, the applicants’ arguments are
Applicant argues the claims dependent on the independent claim(s) are allowable based upon their dependence from an independent claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been addressed above. Thus, the rejections are proper and remain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2005/0178531 Al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GORDON A JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763