DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9, 13-14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al (US Pub 2019/0206093), KOBAYASHI et al (US Pub 2018/0026218) and Ohmi et al (US Pub 2008/0054795).
With respect to claim 1, CHEN discloses a display system comprising: a first display apparatus (fig. 1; electronic device 200) and a second display apparatus (fig. 1; head mounted display device 100), wherein the first display apparatus and the second display apparatus each comprise a wireless communication function, (par 0033; discloses a wireless connection may be established between the HMD 100 and a communications unit of the electronic device 200. A manner of the wireless connection is a pairing connection. In this case, pairing indicates a connection to send and receive data between the HMD 100 and the electronic device 200. When the pairing is performed, the HMD 100 and the electronic device 200 perform communication access, and can send data to and receive data from each other) wherein the second display apparatus comprises a region having higher pixel density than the first display apparatus (par 0100; discloses Whether an image displayed on the electronic device exceeds a display of the electronic device is determined, that is, whether image resolution of the image is greater than display resolution of the display of the electronic device is determined; If the image exceeds the display of the electronic device, that is, the image resolution of the image is greater than the display resolution of the display of the electronic device, the following steps are performed. Par 0103; discloses The electronic device sends data to the HMD, where the data includes a grayscale value of each pixel in the second content, and the electronic device may send, to the HMD, entire image data including the first content and the second content to the HMD), and wherein a screen of the first display apparatus or a part of the screen of the first display apparatus is configured to be displayed on the second display apparatus with use of the wireless communication function (par 0105; discloses the HMD obtains, by using an image sensor, the first content displayed on the display of the electronic device, and displays, on the display of the HMD, the obtained first content and second content obtained after the projection transformation);
CHEN don’t expressly disclose wherein the second display apparatus comprises a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer;
In the same field of endeavor, KOBAYASHI discloses display device and manufacturing method thereof (see abstract); KOBAYASHI discloses the display device comprising a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer, (fig. 1b; layer 101, layer 102, layer 103; FIG. 1B is a drawing for describing a layered structure of the display device 11 in FIG. 1A. In the display device 11, a layer 101 including the transistors that constitute the driver circuit 91, a layer 102 including the transistors that constitute the pixel circuits 94, and a layer 103 including display elements are stacked. See par 0160 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN to incorporate the teachings of KOBAYASHI to form the display having layered structure in order to reduce the complexity of the display panel while increasing the resolution of the display panel;
CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI don’t expressly disclose wherein the third layer comprises an organic EL device comprising a first conductor, a second conductor, an EL layer, and a protective layer, and wherein the protective layer comprises a region in contact with a side surface of the first conductor, a region in contact with a side surface of the EL layer, a region in contact with a side surface of the second conductor, and a region in contact with a top surface of the second conductor;
In the same field of endeavor, Ohmi discloses an organic light emitting display device and manufacturing method thereof (see abstract); Ohmi discloses wherein the third layer comprises an organic EL device comprising a first conductor, a second conductor, an EL layer, and a protective layer, (fig. 1A; discloses display layer comprising a first conductor 3, a second conductor 8, an EL layer (i.e. a hole transport layer 5, a light emitting layer 6, and an electron transport layer 7) and a protection layer 9) and wherein the protective layer comprises a region in contact with a side surface of the first conductor, a region in contact with a side surface of the EL layer, a region in contact with a side surface of the second conductor, and a region in contact with a top surface of the second conductor (fig. 1A; discloses the protective cover 9 covers the first electrode 3, second electrode 8, EL layer 10 from the side and also covers the second electrode 8 from top surface; par 0059; discloses Referring to FIGS. 1A and 1B, a bottom emission type passive display element 1 according to Embodiment 1 includes a transparent substrate 2, a conductive transparent electrode 3 formed on the transparent substrate 2, a hole transport layer 5, a light emitting layer 6, and an electron transport layer 7 which form an organic layer 10 stacked on the conductive transparent electrode 3, a counter electrode 8 stacked on the organic layer 10, a protective layer 9 formed to cover them,);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI to incorporate the teachings of Ohmi to form the third layer comprising a first conductor, a second conductor, an EL layer and a protection layer in order obtain an organic light emitting display having longer lifetime by preventing moisture damage and improved heat dissipation.
With respect to claim 2, CHEN discloses a display system comprising: a first display apparatus (fig. 1; electronic device 200) and a second display apparatus (fig. 1; head mounted display device 100), wherein the first display apparatus and the second display apparatus each comprise a wireless communication function, (par 0033; discloses a wireless connection may be established between the HMD 100 and a communications unit of the electronic device 200) wherein the second display apparatus comprises a region having higher pixel density than the first display apparatus (par 0100; discloses Whether an image displayed on the electronic device exceeds a display of the electronic device is determined, that is, whether image resolution of the image is greater than display resolution of the display of the electronic device is determined; If the image exceeds the display of the electronic device, that is, the image resolution of the image is greater than the display resolution of the display of the electronic device, the following steps are performed. Par 0103; discloses The electronic device sends data to the HMD, where the data includes a grayscale value of each pixel in the second content, and the electronic device may send, to the HMD, entire image data including the first content and the second content to the HMD), wherein the wireless communication function is configured to transmit information to the second display apparatus in accordance with operation for the first display apparatus and is configured to transmit information to the first display apparatus in accordance with operation for the second display apparatus, (par 0033; discloses a wireless connection may be established between the HMD 100 and a communications unit of the electronic device 200. A manner of the wireless connection is a pairing connection. In this case, pairing indicates a connection to send and receive data between the HMD 100 and the electronic device 200. When the pairing is performed, the HMD 100 and the electronic device 200 perform communication access, and can send data to and receive data from each other) and wherein a screen of the first display apparatus or a part of the screen of the first display apparatus is configured to be displayed on the second display apparatus (par 0105; discloses the HMD obtains, by using an image sensor, the first content displayed on the display of the electronic device, and displays, on the display of the HMD, the obtained first content and second content obtained after the projection transformation); wherein the first display apparatus is configured to serve as an input and output means of the second display apparatus with the use of the wireless communication function (fig. 2(b); discloses device 200 comprises user input unit 206; par 0079; discloses The user input module 206 may generate input data according to a command input by a user, so as to control various operations of the electronic device 200. The user input unit 206 supports the user in inputting various types of information, and may include a keyboard, a dome switch (a dome switch), a touch panel (for example, a touch sensitive component for detecting a change in resistance, pressure, capacitance, and the like because of contact), a scroll wheel (jog wheel), a rocker switch (jog switch), and the like. Par 0077; discloses the image processed by the second camera may be stored in the following second memory 208 or transmitted to the head mounted display device 100 by using the second communications unit 202. Two or more second cameras may be provided according to configuration of the electronic device 200; par 0033; discloses a wireless connection may be established between the HMD 100 and a communications unit of the electronic device 200. A manner of the wireless connection is a pairing connection. In this case, pairing indicates a connection to send and receive data between the HMD 100 and the electronic device 200. When the pairing is performed, the HMD 100 and the electronic device 200 perform communication access, and can send data to and receive data from each other);
CHEN don’t expressly disclose wherein the second display apparatus comprises a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer;
In the same field of endeavor, KOBAYASHI discloses display device and manufacturing method thereof (see abstract); KOBAYASHI discloses the display device comprising a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer, (fig. 1b; layer 101, layer 102, layer 103; FIG. 1B is a drawing for describing a layered structure of the display device 11 in FIG. 1A. In the display device 11, a layer 101 including the transistors that constitute the driver circuit 91, a layer 102 including the transistors that constitute the pixel circuits 94, and a layer 103 including display elements are stacked. See par 0160 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN to incorporate the teachings of KOBAYASHI to form the display having layered structure in order to reduce the complexity of the display panel while increasing the resolution of the display panel;
CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI don’t expressly disclose wherein the third layer comprises an organic EL device comprising a first conductor, a second conductor, an EL layer, and a protective layer, and wherein the protective layer comprises a region in contact with a side surface of the first conductor, a region in contact with a side surface of the EL layer, a region in contact with a side surface of the second conductor, and a region in contact with a top surface of the second conductor;
In the same field of endeavor, Ohmi discloses an organic light emitting display device and manufacturing method thereof (see abstract); Ohmi discloses wherein the third layer comprises an organic EL device comprising a first conductor, a second conductor, an EL layer, and a protective layer, (fig. 1A; discloses display layer comprising a first conductor 3, a second conductor 8, an EL layer (i.e. a hole transport layer 5, a light emitting layer 6, and an electron transport layer 7) and a protection layer 9) and wherein the protective layer comprises a region in contact with a side surface of the first conductor, a region in contact with a side surface of the EL layer, a region in contact with a side surface of the second conductor, and a region in contact with a top surface of the second conductor (fig. 1A; discloses the protective cover 9 covers the first electrode 3, second electrode 8, EL layer 10 from the side and also covers the second electrode 8 from top surface; par 0059; discloses Referring to FIGS. 1A and 1B, a bottom emission type passive display element 1 according to Embodiment 1 includes a transparent substrate 2, a conductive transparent electrode 3 formed on the transparent substrate 2, a hole transport layer 5, a light emitting layer 6, and an electron transport layer 7 which form an organic layer 10 stacked on the conductive transparent electrode 3, a counter electrode 8 stacked on the organic layer 10, a protective layer 9 formed to cover them,);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI to incorporate the teachings of Ohmi to form the third layer comprising a first conductor, a second conductor, an EL layer and a protection layer in order obtain an organic light emitting display having longer lifetime by preventing moisture damage and improved heat dissipation.
With respect to claim 4, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi discloses wherein the first display apparatus comprises one or both of a calling function and a time display function, (CHEN; par 0031; discloses the electronic devices 200 shown in FIG. 1 use forms of a mobile phone and a smartwatch) and wherein the second display apparatus is configured to display one or both of a content of augmented reality and a function of displaying a content of virtual reality (CHEN; par 0027; discloses a head mounted display device (HMD, Head-Mounted Display) or another near-eye display device may be configured to present an augmented reality (AR, Augmented Reality) view of a background scene to a user. A real object and a virtual object are mixed in the augmented reality view).
With respect to claim 5, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi don’t expressly disclose wherein the first layer comprises a driver circuit and a CPU, wherein the second layer comprises a pixel circuit;
KOBAYASHI further discloses wherein the first layer comprises a driver circuit and a CPU, wherein the second layer comprises a pixel circuit (FIG. 1B is a drawing for describing a layered structure of the display device 11 in FIG. 1A. In the display device 11, a layer 101 including the transistors that constitute the driver circuit 91, a layer 102 including the transistors that constitute the pixel circuits 94, and a layer 103 including display elements are stacked. See par 0160 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN to incorporate the teachings of KOBAYASHI to form the display having layered structure in order to reduce the complexity of the display panel while increasing the resolution of the display panel.
With respect to claim 6, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi don’t expressly discloses wherein the first layer comprises a driver circuit and a CPU, wherein the second layer comprises a pixel circuit, wherein the first layer comprises a first transistor comprising a semiconductor layer comprising silicon in a channel formation region, and wherein the second layer comprises a second transistor comprising a semiconductor layer comprising a metal oxide in a channel formation region;
KOBAYASHI further discloses wherein the first layer comprises a driver circuit and a CPU, wherein the second layer comprises a pixel circuit (FIG. 1B is a drawing for describing a layered structure of the display device 11 in FIG. 1A. In the display device 11, a layer 101 including the transistors that constitute the driver circuit 91, a layer 102 including the transistors that constitute the pixel circuits 94, and a layer 103 including display elements are stacked. See par 0160 as well); wherein the first layer comprises a first transistor comprising a semiconductor layer comprising silicon in a channel formation region, (fig. 7; discloses layer 101 includes multiple transistors; par 0236; discloses silicon may be used as a semiconductor in which a channel of a transistor is formed) wherein the second layer comprises a second transistor comprising a semiconductor layer comprising a metal oxide in a channel formation region, (fig. 7; discloses layer 102 includes multiple transistors; par 0092; discloses An oxide semiconductor containing a metal oxide is preferably used for a semiconductor layer of a semiconductor device such as the transistors used in the pixel circuit);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings of KOBAYASHI to form the display having layered structure in order to reduce the complexity of the display panel while increasing the resolution of the display panel.
With respect to claim 7, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi further discloses the metal oxide comprises In, an element M, and Zn and wherein M is Al, Ga, Y, or Sn (KOBAYASHI; par 0203; discloses a semiconductor material used for the transistors, a metal oxide whose energy gap is greater than or equal to 2 eV, preferably greater than or equal to 2.5 eV, further preferably greater than or equal to 3 eV can be used. A typical example thereof is an oxide semiconductor containing indium, and for example, a CAC-OS described later or the like can be used; par 0205; discloses the semiconductor layer can be, for example, a film represented by an In-M-Zn-based oxide that contains at least indium, zinc, and M (a metal such as aluminum, titanium, gallium, germanium, yttrium, zirconium, lanthanum, cerium, tin, neodymium, or hafnium)).
With respect to claim 9, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi discloses wherein the second display apparatus is configured to obtain information on one or more of a sense of sight, a sense of hearing, a sense of touch, a sense of taste, a sense of smell, and brain waves of a user (CHEN; par 0058; discloses the input unit 110 is configured to receive an audio signal or a video signal. The input unit 110 may include a first microphone, an inertial measurement unit (IMU), and a first camera. Par 0059; discloses the first microphone may receive a sound corresponding to a sound control command of a user and/or a sound generated in an ambient environment of the head mounted display device 100, and process a received sound signal into an electrical voice data).
With respect to claim 13, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi discloses wherein the second display apparatus is of a goggle type (CHEN; fig. 1; discloses device 100 is a goggle type).
With respect to claim 14, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi discloses wherein the second display apparatus is of a glasses type (CHEN; fig. 1; discloses device 100 is a eyeglasses type; par 0066; discloses the first display includes an eyeglass formed by a lens).
With respect to claim 18, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi discloses wherein the first display apparatus comprises one or both of a calling function and a time display function, (CHEN; par 0031; discloses the electronic devices 200 shown in FIG. 1 use forms of a mobile phone and a smartwatch) and wherein the second display apparatus is configured to display one or both of a content of augmented reality and a function of displaying a content of virtual reality (CHEN; par 0027; discloses a head mounted display device (HMD, Head-Mounted Display) or another near-eye display device may be configured to present an augmented reality (AR, Augmented Reality) view of a background scene to a user. A real object and a virtual object are mixed in the augmented reality view).
Claim(s) 3, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al (US Pub 2019/0206093) in view of KOBAYASHI et al (US Pub 2018/0026218), Ohmi et al (US Pub 2008/0054795) and BAEK et al (US Pub 2018/0070122).
With respect to claim 3, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi don’t expressly disclose wherein the first display apparatus comprises first image data, wherein the second display apparatus comprises second image data, and wherein the second image data is image data obtained by up-converting the first image data;
In the same field of endeavor, BAEK discloses system and method for sharing content between devices (see abstract); BAEK discloses wherein the first display apparatus comprises first image data, wherein the second display apparatus comprises second image data, and wherein the second image data is image data obtained by up-converting the first image data (Par 0456; discloses the control unit 270 may change the size of the displayed video content to correspond to the size (resolution) of the display unit 280. The control unit 270 may perform an operation of changing the size of the video content (a scaling operation) in response to a resolution control input received from the remote control device 400 or the like. However, the control unit 270 may automatically perform the operation of changing the size of the video content);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings of BAEK to scale the received image data to fit the resolution of the display device in order to display the received image data properly in accordance with the size and resolution of the display device.
With respect to claim 17, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi don’t expressly disclose wherein the first display apparatus comprises first image data, wherein the second display apparatus comprises second image data, and wherein the second image data is image data obtained by up-converting the first image data;
In the same field of endeavor, BAEK discloses system and method for sharing content between devices (see abstract); BAEK discloses wherein the first display apparatus comprises first image data, wherein the second display apparatus comprises second image data, and wherein the second image data is image data obtained by up-converting the first image data (Par 0456; discloses the control unit 270 may change the size of the displayed video content to correspond to the size (resolution) of the display unit 280. The control unit 270 may perform an operation of changing the size of the video content (a scaling operation) in response to a resolution control input received from the remote control device 400 or the like. However, the control unit 270 may automatically perform the operation of changing the size of the video content);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings of BAEK to scale the received image data to fit the resolution of the display device in order to display the received image data properly in accordance with the size and resolution of the display device.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al (US Pub 2019/0206093) in view of KOBAYASHI et al (US Pub 2018/0026218), Ohmi et al (US Pub 2008/0054795) and ZHAO et al (US Pub 2020/0213830).
With respect to claim 19, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi don’t expressly disclose wherein the first layer comprises a driver circuit and a CPU, wherein the second layer comprises a pixel circuit;
KOBAYASHI further discloses wherein the first layer comprises a driver circuit and a CPU, wherein the second layer comprises a pixel circuit (FIG. 1B is a drawing for describing a layered structure of the display device 11 in FIG. 1A. In the display device 11, a layer 101 including the transistors that constitute the driver circuit 91, a layer 102 including the transistors that constitute the pixel circuits 94, and a layer 103 including display elements are stacked. See par 0160 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings of KOBAYASHI to form the display having layered structure in order to reduce the complexity of the display panel while increasing the resolution of the display panel;
CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi don’t expressly disclose wherein a user operates the display system by gesture when the first display apparatus is configured to serve as an input and output means of the second display apparatus and is turned off;
In the same field of endeavor, ZHAO discloses system and method for controlling devices (see abstract); ZHAO discloses wherein a user operates the display system by gesture when the first display apparatus is configured to serve as an input and output means of the second display apparatus and is turned off (par 0015; discloses the first input may be further used to instruct the first device to be powered off. In this implementation, the first input may be an instruction used to instruct the first device to be powered off. For example, the first input may be an instruction triggered by a touch and hold operation performed by the user on a lock screen key of a mobile phone (the first device). In this implementation, the first device may respond to the first input, first perform the method steps in the first possible implementation, and then display a power off interface after “the first device sends the first control command to the second device through the wireless short-range communication connection);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings of ZHAO to control external devices wirelessly via first device in order to allow user to simultaneously control plurality of external device via a signal first device. The modification would allow plurality of devices to execute same action via a single user command.
With respect to claim 20, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi don’t expressly disclose wherein the first layer comprises a driver circuit and a CPU, wherein the second layer comprises a pixel circuit, wherein the first layer comprises a first transistor comprising a semiconductor layer comprising silicon in a channel formation region, wherein the second layer comprises a second transistor comprising a semiconductor layer comprising a metal oxide in a channel formation region;
KOBAYASHI further discloses wherein the first layer comprises a driver circuit and a CPU, wherein the second layer comprises a pixel circuit (FIG. 1B is a drawing for describing a layered structure of the display device 11 in FIG. 1A. In the display device 11, a layer 101 including the transistors that constitute the driver circuit 91, a layer 102 including the transistors that constitute the pixel circuits 94, and a layer 103 including display elements are stacked. See par 0160 as well); wherein the first layer comprises a first transistor comprising a semiconductor layer comprising silicon in a channel formation region, (fig. 7; discloses layer 101 includes multiple transistors; par 0236; discloses silicon may be used as a semiconductor in which a channel of a transistor is formed) wherein the second layer comprises a second transistor comprising a semiconductor layer comprising a metal oxide in a channel formation region, (fig. 7; discloses layer 102 includes multiple transistors; par 0092; discloses An oxide semiconductor containing a metal oxide is preferably used for a semiconductor layer of a semiconductor device such as the transistors used in the pixel circuit)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings of KOBAYASHI to form the display having layered structure in order to reduce the complexity of the display panel while increasing the resolution of the display panel;
CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi don’t expressly disclose wherein a user operates the display system by gesture when the first display apparatus is configured to serve as an input and output means of the second display apparatus and is turned off;
In the same field of endeavor, ZHAO discloses system and method for controlling devices (see abstract); ZHAO discloses wherein a user operates the display system by gesture when the first display apparatus is configured to serve as an input and output means of the second display apparatus and is turned off (par 0015; discloses the first input may be further used to instruct the first device to be powered off. In this implementation, the first input may be an instruction used to instruct the first device to be powered off. For example, the first input may be an instruction triggered by a touch and hold operation performed by the user on a lock screen key of a mobile phone (the first device). In this implementation, the first device may respond to the first input, first perform the method steps in the first possible implementation, and then display a power off interface after “the first device sends the first control command to the second device through the wireless short-range communication connection);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings of ZHAO to control external devices wirelessly via first device in order to allow user to simultaneously control plurality of external device via a signal first device. The modification would allow plurality of devices to execute same action via a single user command.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al (US Pub 2019/0206093) in view of KOBAYASHI et al (US Pub 2018/0026218), Ohmi et al (US Pub 2008/0054795), and Toyotaka (US Pub 2018/0180951).
With respect to claim 8, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi don’t expressly disclose wherein the organic EL device is a light-emitting device processed by a photolithography method;
In the same field of endeavor, Toyotaka discloses a display device wherein the organic EL device is a light-emitting device processed by a photolithography method (par 0317; discloses the layers (thin films) included in the display device can be processed by a photolithography method; par 0317; discloses the use of a multi-tone mask in a photolithography process can increase the productivity of a display device. Par 0281 as well);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings of Toyotaka to form the display layers using photolithography method in order to increase the productivity of the display device.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al (US Pub 2019/0206093) in view of KOBAYASHI et al (US Pub 2018/0026218), Ohmi et al (US Pub 2008/0054795) and CHOI et al (US Pub 2020/0110269).
With respect to claim 10, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi don’t expressly disclose wherein a screen ratio of the second display apparatus is 1:1, 4:3, or 16:9;
In the same field of endeavor, CHOI discloses virtual reality display device wherein a screen ratio of the second display apparatus is 1:1, 4:3, or 16:9 (par 0051; discloses the left and right image displays 7, 7a provided in the left and right image plates 6, 6a may be formed in various screen ratios such as 8:9, 16:9, 32:9 and the like);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings of CHOI to form the display having aspect ratio of 16:9 in order to present the content in a wide view format.
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al (US Pub 2019/0206093) in view of KOBAYASHI et al (US Pub 2018/0026218), Ohmi et al (US Pub 2008/0054795) and YAMAGUCHI et al (US Pub 2020/0041795).
With respect to claim 11, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi don’t expressly disclose wherein a long side of a display region of the second display apparatus is less than or equal to 33 mm, and wherein a short side the display region of the second display apparatus is less than or equal to 26 mm;
In the same field of endeavor, YAMAGUCHI discloses image display system for head mounted device (see abstract); YAMAGUCHI discloses wherein a long side of a display region of the second display apparatus is less than or equal to 33 mm, and wherein a short side the display region of the second display apparatus is less than or equal to 26 mm (par 0049; discloses with regard to dimensions of each unit and the like, a length of the side of the panel size of the panel unit 11 of the image display device 10, for example, is preferably equal to or less than 2.5 inches, further equal to or less than 1 inch (more preferably, about 12 to 13 mm) from a viewpoint of demand for miniaturization);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings of YAMAGUCHI to form the display unit with miniature size in order to reduce the overall size of the head mounted device while presenting high resolution images to the user.
With respect to claim 12, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi doesn’t expressly disclose wherein a long side of a display region of the second display apparatus is less than or equal to 52 mm, and wherein a short side of the display region of the second display apparatus is less than or equal to 33 mm;
In the same field of endeavor, YAMAGUCHI discloses image display system for head mounted device (see abstract); YAMAGUCHI discloses wherein a long side of a display region of the second display apparatus is less than or equal to 52 mm, and wherein a short side of the display region of the second display apparatus is less than or equal to 33 mm; (par 0049; discloses with regard to dimensions of each unit and the like, a length of the side of the panel size of the panel unit 11 of the image display device 10, for example, is preferably equal to or less than 2.5 inches, further equal to or less than 1 inch (more preferably, about 12 to 13 mm) from a viewpoint of demand for miniaturization);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings of YAMAGUCHI to form the display unit with miniature size in order to reduce the overall size of the head mounted device while presenting high resolution images to the user.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al (US Pub 2019/0206093) in view of KOBAYASHI et al (US Pub 2018/0026218), Ohmi et al (US Pub 2008/0054795) and Lindahl et al (US Pub 2019/0349662).
With respect to claim 15, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi discloses wherein the second display apparatus comprises a control portion (CHEN; par 0068; discloses the first processor 112 may control overall operations of the head mounted display device 100) and an earphone portion (par 0067; discloses the first audio output module outputs audio data that is received from the first communications unit 106 or stored in the first memory 108);
CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi doesn’t expressly disclose wherein the control portion and the earphone portion are connected to each other by wire;
In the same field of endeavor, Lindahl discloses head mounted device where wherein the control portion and the earphone portion are connected to each other by wire (fig. 1; discloses speaker 110 connected to device 100 via wire);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings of Lindahl to connect an earphone to the head mounted device such that sounds from the device is output through the earphones.
With respect to claim 16, CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi don’t expressly disclose further comprising an earphone, wherein the earphone comprises the wireless communication function, and wherein one or both of the first display apparatus and the second display apparatus is configured to transmit information to the earphone by the wireless communication function;
In the same field of endeavor, Lindahl discloses head mounted device comprising an earphone, (fig. 1; earphone 110) wherein the earphone comprises the wireless communication function, and wherein one or both of the first display apparatus and the second display apparatus is configured to transmit information to the earphone by the wireless communication function (par 0021; discloses the audio hardware having speakers 110 is a wireless headphone 101 in signal communication with mobile device 104. Wireless headphone 101 may include several headphones, e.g., a left headphone and a right headphone, that are external to HMD mount 102; par 0022; discloses speakers 110 of system 100, whether headphones or earbuds that are external to or built into HMD mount 102 can render sound 112 associated with images displayed by the mobile device 104 when mobile device 104 is mounted on HMD mount 102.);
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention disclosed by CHEN as modified by KOBAYASHI and Ohmi to incorporate the teachings Lindahl to connect external earphone to the head mounted device in order to allow the users the flexibility of bringing any wireless headphones for connected to the device and listening to the audio.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUJIT SHAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2624