DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "temperature solid polyester polyol" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "temperature solid polyester polyol" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "solid epoxy resin" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "solid epoxy resin" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "solid epoxy resin" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauer et al. (EP 2134799) in view of Lutz et al. (US 20110297317).
As to claim 1, Mauer discloses a method of producing a double flanged/HEM joint (Abstract). Mauer discloses that the method comprises of: applying a one-component thermosetting epoxy resin composition to an inner panel or to an outer panel; contacting the one-component thermosetting epoxy resin composition with the inner panel or the outer panel; crimping the outer panel around the inner panel, such that the one- component thermosetting epoxy resin composition is present within the hem flange; compressing the hem flange; introducing thermal energy into the one-component thermosetting epoxy resin composition (Fig. 1a, 1b, 1c, 1d, 2a, 2b, 3, 4a, 4b; P14); wherein the one-component thermosetting epoxy resin comprises of: a 15-60% by weight, based on the total weight of the one-component thermosetting epoxy resin composition, of at least one epoxy resin A having an average of more than one epoxy group per molecule, comprising at least one liquid epoxy resin, where the proportion of liquid epoxy resin is 10-85% by weight, based on the total weight of epoxy resin (P11); at least one latent curing agent for epoxy resins (P4); 1-35% by weight, based on the total weight of the one-component thermosetting epoxy resin composition, of at least one liquid rubber (P12).
Mauer fails to specifically teach or disclose that the one component epoxy contains 4-12% by total weight of the adhesive at least one room temperature solid, crystalline polyester polyol. Lutz discloses a one-part structural epoxy resin adhesive (Abstract). Lutz teaches that it is known and conventional in the art to add a crystalline polyester polyol to a one-component epoxy resin at 2-10% weight of the total weight of the adhesive (¶45; claim 1). Lutz teaches that the addition of the crystalline polyester polyol increases the storage stability of the adhesive (Id.). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include a crystalline polyester polyol in the method of Mauer and would have been motivated to do so because Lutz teaches that the crystalline polyester polyol increases the storage stability of the adhesive.
As to claim 2, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Lutz teaches a weight range of 2-10% which encompasses the recited weight range of 5-10%.
As to claim 3, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Lutz teaches that the crystalline polyester polyol has a melting temperature of 45-125ºC which encompasses the recited temperature range.
As to claim 4, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. The above references as combined would have a weight ratio of liquid epoxy to crystalline solid polyester polyol of 0.83-21.25, which encompasses the recited weight ratio ranges.
As to claim 8, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Mauer discloses that the adhesive may comprise of a dicyandiamide (P11).
As to claim 9, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Mauer discloses that the adhesive may comprise of substituted ureas (P11).
As to claim 10, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Mauer discloses that the adhesive may comprise of filler with a weight of 5-35% of the total weight of the adhesive (P13).
As to claim 11, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Mauer discloses that the adhesive has a viscosity at 60ºC of 50-600 Pa*s (P14), but doesn’t specifically list the viscosity at 80ºC. The adhesive of Mauer would perform in the same manner as recited in claim 11 since it comprises of the same recited material.
As to claim 12, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Mauer discloses that the adhesive may be applied at a temperature of 23ºC -80ºC (P14), which overlaps the recited application temperature range.
As to claim 13, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. It is the position of the Examiner that applying an adhesive by spraying is well known and conventional in the art and would have been obvious at the time of the invention to use the in the method of the above references as combined.
As to claim 14 and 15, the method of the above references as combined would produce an article with a hem flange bond.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauer et al. (EP 2134799) in view of Lutz et al. (US 20110297317) as applied to claims 1-4 and 8-15 above, and further in view of Elgimiabi (US 20140193603).
As to claims 5-7, the method of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Mauer discloses that the epoxy may comprise of both liquid and solid epoxy (P11), but fails to specifically teach or disclose the ratio liquid to solid epoxy. Elgimiabi discloses a method of making a metal HEM flange panel (Abstract; Fig. 1). Elgimiabi discloses that it is known and conventional in the art of making a HEM flange with an epoxy to use an epoxy with a liquid to solid epoxy ratio of 0.45-1.25 (Table 2; P11; ratio calculated by inverting solid to liquid epoxy ratio listed in table). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the liquid to solid epoxy ratio of Elgimiabi in the method taught by the above references as combined because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional liquid to solid epoxy ratio for use in a HEM flange. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745