DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made to the amendment received February 11, 2026, amending Claims 5-11 and 15.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “apparatus” in Claims 1-4, 11, and 12, “member” in Claims 1, 4-10, “tooth cleaning device” in Claim 2, “vibratory motion device” in Claim 3, and “device” in Claims 5-10 and 13.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
As necessitated by amendment, Claims 1-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans et al. US 2021/0085436 (hereafter Evans et al.) in view of design choice.
Regarding Claim 1, Evans et al. teaches:
1. (Previously Presented) An apparatus for use with a mouthpiece (mouthpiece 180) which is inserted into a user's mouth during use, comprising:
an extension (handle 104) which extends outward from the mouthpiece (Figure 1D);
a member (stabilization structure, Paragraph [0025]) having an end and extending from the extension (see discussion below) to a location where the end is in contact with the skin of the user while the mouthpiece is inserted into the user's mouth (Paragraph [0025] - The stabilization structure may be configured to engage with one or more of a wearer's chin, forehead, and cheeks).
Evans et al. discloses a stabilization structure in Paragraph [0025] that may be configured to engage with one or more of a wearer’s chin, forehead, and cheeks. However, Evans et al. does not describe how the stabilization structure extends on the device. As shown in Figure 1D, the device comprises a mouthpiece 180 and a handle 104. During operation, it is obvious that the mouthpiece is inserted into the mouth, leaving the handle extending outside the mouth. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the stabilization structure, as described, would extend from device structure outside the mouth, therefore, it would have been obvious that the stabilization structure would extend from the handle 104 as claimed and have a surface that ends at the point of contact with the user’s face allowing it to provide the disclosed device stabilization support.
Regarding Claim 2, Evans et al. teaches:
2. (Previously Presented) The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the mouthpiece (mouthpiece 180) is a tooth cleaning device (cleans by applying cleaning fluid, Paragraph [0103]).
Regarding Claim 3, Evans et al. teaches:
3. (Previously Presented) The apparatus of claim 2 wherein the extension (handle 104) comprises a housing (housing of handle 104 shown in Figure 1D) containing a power source (optional battery, Paragraphs [0091] and [0093]) and/or a vibratory motion device (vibration mechanism, Paragraphs [0091] and [0093]).
Regarding Claim 4, Evans et al. teaches:
4. (Previously Presented) The apparatus of claim 1 wherein the end of the member (stabilization structure, Paragraph [0025]) contacts an area (Paragraph [0025] - The stabilization structure may be configured to engage with one or more of a wearer's chin) of a user's face between the user's bottom lip and chin when in use (note: stabilization on a “chin” needs to be located as claimed since the boundary of a chin is not precisely identifiable).
Regarding Claim 13, Evans et al. teaches:
13. (Previously Presented) A method for producing a device capable of stimulating nerves on the face of a user of a mouthpiece (mouthpiece 180) comprising:
attaching to the mouthpiece an extension (handle 104) extending from the mouthpiece (Figure 1D);and
providing a member (stabilization structure, Paragraph [0025]) extending from the extension (see discussion below) to a location where its end is capable of contacting the skin of the user while the mouthpiece is inserted into the user's mouth (Paragraph [0025] - The stabilization structure may be configured to engage with one or more of a wearer's chin, forehead, and cheeks).
Evans et al. discloses a stabilization structure in Paragraph [0025] that may be configured to engage with one or more of a wearer’s chin, forehead, and cheeks. However, Evans et al. does not describe how the stabilization structure extends on the device. As shown in Figure 1D, the device comprises a mouthpiece 180 and a handle 104. During operation, it is obvious that the mouthpiece is inserted into the mouth, leaving the handle extending outside the mouth. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the stabilization structure, as described, would extend from device structure outside the mouth, therefore, it would have been obvious that the stabilization structure would extend from the handle 104 as claimed and have a surface that ends at the point of contact with the user’s face allowing it to provide the disclosed device stabilization support.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but it would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Claim Objection
The Examiner has reviewed the Applicant’s amendments and found them satisfactory. Therefore, the Examiner withdraws the previous Claim Objection.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
The Examiner has reviewed the Applicant’s amendments and found them satisfactory. Therefore, the Examiner withdraws the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 112(d)
The Examiner has reviewed the Applicant’s amendments and found them satisfactory. Therefore, the Examiner withdraws the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(d).
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments with amendments, filed February 11, 2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection(s) Claims 1-4 and 13 under Evans et al. US 2021/0085436 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., to stimulate nerve endings and/or apply pressure on pressure points to reduce gag reflex) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, the member having an end in contact with the skin of the user as claimed is taught by the Evans et al. device, which includes a stabilization structure engaging one or more of a wearer's chin, forehead, and cheeks. As presented, it would have been obvious that this stabilization structure would extend from the mouthpiece so that it is outside the mouth and touches the skin surface of the chin, forehead, or cheeks. The Applicant’s arguments that the structure of Evans et al. needs to provide nerve stimulation are moot.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723