Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/26/2024 and 9/12/2025 have been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 6/14/2023 are approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (CN 103694277). The machine translation is replied upon for the rejection purposes.
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses the following compound that reads on the claimed organometallic complex represented by general formula G1, wherein in G1, R1 to R7, R9- R14 and R16 are each hydrogen and R8 and R15 are each an alkyl group having 1-6 carbon atoms (methyl).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Li does not disclose a half width and a peak wavelength of an emission spectrum of the compound. However, the compound of prior art is identical that set forth by applicant. Therefore, the compound of prior art would possess the same properties as claimed. A person having an ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the compound of Li to have the claimed half width and peak wavelength of an emission spectrum.
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses a light -emitting device (an organic light emitting light diode) comprising the organometallic complex of claim 1 (abstract, para 0068).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses a light emitting device (an organic light emitting light diode), wherein the organic light emitting diode comprises a cathode, one anode and a light emitting layer between the cathode and the anode and the light-emitting layer contains organometallic complex of claim 1 (abstract, para 0068).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses a light -emitting device (an organic light emitting light diode), wherein the organic light emitting diode comprises a cathode, one anode and a light emitting layer between the cathode and the anode and the light-emitting layer contains organometallic complex of claim 1 (abstract, para 0068).
Regarding claim 9, Li does not disclose a half width of an electroluminescence spectrum of the light emitting device. However, the device of prior art is identical that set forth by applicant. Therefore, the device of prior art would possess the same properties as claimed. If the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties Applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01 II. A person having an ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the light emitting device of Li to have the claimed half width of an electroluminescence spectrum.
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses the light emitting device having an emission wavelength of 570-640 nm (para 0103).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al (US2017/0288154) in view of by Li et al (CN 103694277). The machine translation of Li reference is replied upon for the rejection purposes.
Regarding claim 11, Seo discloses a light-emitting apparatus comprising a light emitting device, which comprises an organometallic complex, and at least of a transistor and a substrate (Figs. 3A and 3B and para 0187-193). Seo does not disclose the claimed organometallic complex. Li discloses the following compound that reads on the claimed organometallic complex represented by general formula G1, wherein in G1, R1 to R7, R9- R14 and R16 are each hydrogen and R8 and R15 are each an alkyl group having 1-6 carbon atoms (methyl). Li also discloses a light-emitting layer contains said organometallic complex, is good for improving the luminescent efficiency (para 0082). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to replace the prior art organometallic complex with another known to improve the luminescent efficiency of the organic light-emitting device (as disclosed by Li) because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results were reasonably predictable.
Regarding claim 12, Seo discloses an electronic device comprising: the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 11; and at least one of a microphone, a camera, a button for operation, an external connection portion, and a speaker (para 217-230, and Figs. 5A, 5B, 5C, 5D, 5D′-1, and 5D′-2 and FIGS. 6A to 6C).
Regarding claim 13, Seo discloses a lighting device comprising the light-emitting device according to claim 6, and a housing (para 217-230 and Figs. 5A, 5B, 5C, 5D, 5D′-1, and 5D′-2 and FIGS. 6A to 6C).
Claims 2, 5, 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al (US2017/0288154).
Regarding claim 2, Seo discloses an organometallic complex of chemical formula G2, exemplified by formula 118 below. The formulas as in claims 2 and 5 differs from the formulas described in Seo in that the ligand including pyridine coordinate to iridium instead of quinoline. However, Seo discloses that the first heteroaromatic ring included in the first ligand over which the HOMO is likely to be distributed include a pyridine ring, a quinoline ring, an isoquinoline ring, an imidazole ring, a benzimidazole ring, and the like (para 0100). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to coordinate various known ligands for the purpose of obtaining a light emitting element having improved carrier-injection and carrier-transport properties with respect to both electrons and holes (para 0114). A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute the pyridine ring with a quinoline ring in the formula (118) of Seo with a reasonable expectation of obtaining an organometallic complex that can be used in an EL layer of a light-emitting element to decrease drive voltage and increase efficiency (para 0469).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Seo does not disclose a half width and a peak wavelength of an emission spectrum of the organometallic complex. However, the organometallic complex of prior art is identical that set forth by applicant. Therefore, the organometallic complex of prior art would possess the same properties as claimed. A person having an ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the organometallic complex of Seo to have the claimed half width and peak wavelength of an emission spectrum.
Regarding claims 16-21, Seo discloses a light emitting device, wherein the organic light emitting device comprises a cathode, one anode and a light emitting layer between the cathode and the anode and the light-emitting layer contains organometallic complex of claim 2 or 5 (Fig. 1A and 1B, para 0096).
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
11/12/2025