DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Rejection Under 101
Applicant's arguments filed 05/15/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues the claims are not directed to an abstract idea and do not recite certain methods of organizing human activity. The claims do not manage interactions between people as required by the grouping. Nor are these elements consistent with the examples of rules or instructions.
In response to Applicant’s argument, as discussed in the rejection below, the claims recite an abstract idea that is directed to managing personal behavior or interactions by following rules or instructions to determine the likelihood of a patient’s condition related to their genetic information and identifying treatment for the patient for risk prevention. The number of people is not dispositive as to whether the claim falls within the grouping. See MPEP 2106.04(II). The examples provided for following rules or instructions are just that… examples. They are not a definitive list of examples that the claims must fall under. Here, the claims recite instructions to determine treatment for patients for risk prevention and therefore, the claim falls under certain methods of organizing human activity.
Applicant argues that the claims amount to significantly more than the alleged abstract idea since the subject matter is not well-understood, routine, or conventional. As discussed with the 103 arguments, the prior art does not teach or suggest the features of the claim so the additional elements go beyond the exception and are directed to a practical application.
In response to Applicant’s argument, the additional elements amount to invoking the use of a computer to carry out the abstract idea. Due to the recited high level of generality, the recited additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Additionally, the 101 and 103 rejections are separate analyses. See the updated rejection for further clarification in light of the amendment.
Applicant argues that the claims are directed to an improvement to the computational time using the KNN while reducing prediction error. The amended claim provides for reduced computational time with improved prediction error and therefore amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea by containing an inventive concept.
In response to Applicant’s argument, as discussed in the rejection, the use of a KNN amounts to invoking the use of a computer to carry out the abstract idea. The kernel based neural network is recited at a high level of generality and for its intended purpose. This additional element therefore amounts to invoking the use of a computer to carry out the abstract idea and does not amount to significantly more or an inventive concept.
Applicant argues that the claims provide a technical solution to a technical problem because the identified features train and supply the KNN for this specific technical problem. The 101 Memo states on pg. 5 that claims that improve technology integrate the exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more than the exception. Because the claims recite a technical solution to a technical problem the claims are not abstract.
In response to Applicant’s argument, as discussed above, the additional elements do not amount to anything more than invoking the use of a computer. Thus, the claims do not recite an improvement to the technology, any recited improvement would be to the abstract idea.
Rejection Under 103
Applicant's arguments filed 05/15/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the cited references fails to teach the amended claim. Wang does not teach the training set of data comprising genetic information including SNPs or biomarkers applied as inputs to the KNN and one or more phenotypes as recited in the amended claim.
In response to Applicant’s argument, the argument appears to be directed toward the amendment and is therefore moot. See the updated rejection in light of the amendment for further clarification.
Applicant argues that Wang and Comaniciu do not teach or suggest a KNN for capturing complexity between the data with disease phenotypes. Thus, the prior art does not teach the amended claim.
In response to Applicant’s argument, Wang at [0011] and [0048] discusses a neural network, using a kernel method (KNN), is trained using the training data set, and the trained model is used for model improvement by automated selection of new training system response predictors. Using the kernel method (KNN model) to describe the level of impact of a node affected by drug target nodes is construed as capturing complexity between the data, and the initial predictors of abnormalities in phenotypes is construed as disease phenotypes; See [0009], [0038], [0039]. Therefore Wang is understood to read on the limitations for capturing complexity between disease phenotypes using a KNN. Additionally, the amended limitations are taught by Karow. See the updated rejection below.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach or suggest determining a likelihood of a condition based at least in part upon an output indication of the trained KNN corresponding to the one or more phenotypes, the output indication based upon analysis of data comprising genetic information including one or more SNPs or biomarkers from an individual by the trained….”
In response to Applicant’s argument, the argument appears to be directed toward the amendment and is therefore moot. See the updated rejection in light of the amendment for further clarification.
Applicant argues that the dependent claims 3 and 5 depend from 1 and should also have their rejections withdrawn.
In response to Applicant’s argument, see above for response to arguments for why the rejection of claim 1 is maintained. Therefore the dependent claims are also maintained.
Applicant argues that claims 10 and 20 are similar to claim 1 and similarly the prior art does not teach the amended claims.
In response to Applicant’s argument, see above for response to arguments for why the rejection of claim 1 is maintained and similarly why the rejections of 10 and 20 are maintained.
Applicant argues that claims 2 and 11 depend from claim 10 and should have the rejection withdrawn for similar reasons as claim 1 and claim 10. Additionally, the prior art fails to teach the amended features of the claim.
In response to Applicant’s argument, the argument appears to be directed toward the amendment and is therefore moot. See the updated rejection in light of the amendment for further clarification.
Applicant argues that for claims 4 and 13, Karow does not teach or suggest training data to train a KNN to output an indication corresponding to one or more phenotypes.
In response to Applicant’s argument, as discussed above, Wang teaches training the KNN and Karow is used to teach the inputs comprise the SNPs or biomarkers. The combination of the references reads on Applicant’s claim language. See the updated rejection below.
Applicant argues that for claims 6-9 and 15-18 Koppe does not cure the deficiencies of the rejection nor does it teach the amended features of the claim. Since the claims depend form 1 and 10 the rejections should be withdrawn.
In response to Applicant’s argument, the argument appears to be directed toward the amendment and is therefore moot. See the updated rejection in light of the amendment for further clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1 of the Alice/Mayo Test
Claims 1-9 are drawn to a method, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. process). Claims 10-19 are drawn to a system, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. apparatus). Claim 20 is drawn to a computer readable medium, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. manufacture).
Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo Test - Prong One
The independent claims recite an abstract idea. For example, claim 1 (and substantially similar with independent claims 10, 20) recites:
A method for risk prediction using high-dimensional and ultrahigh-dimensional data, comprising:
training a kernel-based neural network (KNN) with a training set of data to produce a trained KNN model, the KNN model comprising a plurality of kernels as a plurality of layers to capture complexity between the data with disease phenotypes, the training set of data comprising genetic information including single-nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) or biomarkers applied as inputs to the KNN and one or more phenotypes;
determining a likelihood of a condition based at least in part upon an output indication of the trained KNN corresponding to the one or more phenotypes, the output indication based upon analysis of data comprising genetic information including one or more SNPs or biomarkers from an individual by the trained KNN; and
identifying a treatment or prevention strategy for the individual based at least in part upon the likelihood of the condition.
These underlined elements recite an abstract idea that can be categorized, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, to cover the management of personal behavior or interaction (i.e., following rules or instructions), but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the kernel based neural network, computing device, processing circuitry with memory, non-transitory computer-readable medium with executable program in a computing device, the limitations in the context of this claim encompass following rules to determine the likelihood of a patient’s condition related to their genetic information and identifying treatment for the patient for risk prevention. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers management of commercial interactions but for the recitation of generic computer components, then the limitations fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP § 2106.04(a).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims (such as claims 2-9 and 11-19 reciting particular aspects of the abstract idea).
Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo Test - Prong Two
For example, claim 1 (and substantially similar with independent claims 10, 20) recites:
A method for risk prediction using high-dimensional and ultrahigh-dimensional data, comprising:
training a kernel-based neural network (KNN) with a training set of data to produce a trained KNN model, the KNN model comprising a plurality of kernels as a plurality of layers to capture complexity between the data with disease phenotypes, (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f)) the training set of data comprising genetic information including single-nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) or biomarkers applied as inputs to the KNN and one or more phenotypes;
determining a likelihood of a condition based at least in part upon an output indication of the trained KNN corresponding to the one or more phenotypes, the output indication based upon analysis of data comprising genetic information including one or more SNPs or biomarkers from an individual by the trained KNN; and (merely invokes use of computer and other machinery as a tool as noted below, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
identifying a treatment or prevention strategy for the individual based at least in part upon the likelihood of the condition.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations, which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (such as recitations of the kernel based neural network, computing device, processing circuitry with memory, non-transitory computer-readable medium with executable program in a computing device, thereby invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see applicant’s specification [0020], [0029]-[0043], [0081], [0085], [0090], see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims (such as claims 4-5, 13-14 recites additional limitations that furthers the abstract idea; claims 2-3, 6-9, 11-12, 15-19 recite additional limitations which amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, and claims 2-9 and 11-19 additional limitations which generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo Test for Claims
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception. Additionally, the additional elements, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than elements which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields (such as using the kernel based neural network, computing device, processing circuitry with memory, non-transitory computer-readable medium with executable program in a computing device, e.g., Applicant’s spec describes the computer system with it being well-understood, routine, and conventional because it describes in a manner that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such elements to satisfy 112a. (See Applicant’s Spec. [0020], [0029]-[0043], [0081], [0085], [0090], see also Wang (WO 2015/054266), Comaniciu et al. (WO 2018/192672), Karow et al. (WO 2019/169049)); using a kernel based neural network, computing device, processing circuitry with memory, non-transitory computer-readable medium with executable program in a computing device, e.g., merely adding a generic computer, generic computer components, or a programmed computer to perform generic computer functions, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2358-59, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014).
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea and are generally linking the abstract idea to a particular field of environment. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, the claims are not patent eligible, and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-14, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2015/054266) in view of Comaniciu et al. (WO 2018/192672), Karow et al. (WO 2019/169049).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a method for risk prediction using high-dimensional and ultrahigh-dimensional data, comprising:
training a kernel-based neural network (KNN) with a training set of data to produce a trained KNN model, (the model, a neural network, using a kernel method (KNN), is trained using the training data set, and the trained model is used for model improvement by automated selection of new training system response predictors; para [0011], [0048])
the KNN model comprising capturing complexity between the data with disease phenotypes, (the model, the neural network, using the kernel method (KNN model) to describe the level of impact of a node affected by drug target nodes (capturing complexity between the data) and initial predictors of abnormalities in phenotypes (disease phenotypes); para [0009], [0038], [0039];
the training set of data comprising genetic information applied as inputs to the KNN and one or more phenotypes; (the training data set includes system response vectors as predictors represented by DNA sequence variation (genetic information applied as inputs) for the neural network using the kernel method (KNN) and a plurality of phenotypic outcome pairs (one or more phenotypes); para [0009], [0011], [0012]);
determining a likelihood of a condition based at least in part upon an output indication of the trained KNN corresponding to the one or more phenotypes, (providing categorical prediction of side effects of a drug combination (a likelihood of a condition) using the trained neural network (based at least in part upon an output indication of the trained KNN) to output the phenotypic outcome pairs (corresponding to the phenotypes); para [0048], [0049], [0050]),
the output indication based upon analysis of data comprising genetic information from an individual by the trained KNN; and (the output consisting of the phenotypic output pairs (output indication) uses training information Y (based upon analysis of data) related to experiment results comprising data from a disease gene database 130 (genetic information) for a selected experiment received from a screening database (information from an individual) used by the neural network (trained KNN); para [0050]);
identifying a treatment or prevention strategy for the individual based at least in part upon the likelihood of the condition. (using a multi-target strategy to introduce possibilities for the treatment regimen (strategy for the individual) using the categorical prediction (based at least in part upon the likelihood of the condition); para [0024], [0048]).
Wang does not appear to discloses the following, however, Comaniciu teaches it is old and well known in the art of data processing to have:
a plurality of kernels as a plurality of layers to capture complexity (kernels of an encoder and decoder network use four, five, or six layers (a plurality of layers) per dense block for processing of complex images (capture complexity); para [0047], [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare data processing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang to incorporate a plurality of kernels as a plurality of layers to capture complexity, as taught by Comaniciu, in order to gain the advantage of computing a plurality of kernels to minimize the loss when reducing dimensionality of input images (Comaniciu; para [0047]).
Wang-Comaniciu does not appear to teach the following, however, Karow teaches it is old and well known in the art of healthcare data processing to have:
training set of data comprising genetic information including single-nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) or biomarkers (Karow [0008] In one aspect, provided herein are systems and methods for diagnosing dementia, which include multiple modalities including imaging, genetic and clinical biomarkers [0040] In some embodiments, the disclosure relates to a method for diagnosing dementia according to the foregoing or following, wherein the genetic features comprise genetic variations comprising SNPs and/or CNVs the method includes calculation of a polygenic risk score [0124] These genomic and imaging features are used to train the multimodal models that predict the likelihood of an individual’s progression to dementia)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare data processing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang-Comaniciu, as modified above, to incorporate training set of data comprising genetic information including single-nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) or biomarkers, as taught by Karow, in order to genotype beyond a single gene, find ways to provide interpretability to the trained data, and mitigate risk factors for diseases. See Karow [0006], [0132].
Regarding claim 2, Wang-Comaniciu-Karow teaches the method of claim 1, and Comaniciu further teaches wherein a first layer of the plurality of layers comprises a plurality of kernels each configured to receive the inputs and a last layer of the plurality of layers comprises a single kernel or a plurality of kernels. (Comaniciu teaches the encoder network 202 having a plurality of layers including 210 as shown in figure 3 (first layer) where kernels (plurality) of the encoder network are computed, and decoder network 204 having a plurality of layers including 250 as shown in figure 3 (last layer) where kernels of the decoder network are computed; para [0047]; fig 2, [0052] f(x)=max(0,x) (1) where x is the input to the layer [0055] Each dense block 210 also includes skip connections 411-413 between layers. Each lower layer 412 or 413 receives input from the adjacent higher layer 411 or 412 and the original input.).
Regarding claim 3, Wang-Comaniciu-Karow teaches the method of claim 2, and Comaniciu further teaches wherein the plurality of kernels in the first layer converts a plurality of data inputs into a plurality of latent variants. (Comaniciu teaches taking training image set 110 (data inputs) to generate latent variable values (variants); para [0047), [0048]). {plurality of kernels in first layer taught above by Comaniciu}).
Regarding claim 4, Wang-Comaniciu-Karow teaches the method of claim 3, but does not appear to teach the following, however, Karow teaches it is old and well known in the art of data processing wherein the plurality of data inputs comprise the single- nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) or biomarkers. (Karow teaches multimodal analysis of a plurality of genetic features such as SNPs (data inputs); abstract; para [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare data processing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang-Comaniciu, as modified above, to incorporate wherein the plurality of data inputs comprise single- nucleotide polymorphisms (SNPs) or biomarkers, as taught by Karow, in order to gain the advantage of looking at specific SNPs to calculate a polygenic risk score See Karow [0018].
Regarding claim 5, Wang-Comaniciu-Karow teaches the method of claim 2, and Comaniciu further teaches wherein individual latent variables of the plurality of kernels are generated by random sampling of outputs of the plurality of kernels. (Comaniciu teaches one or more latent variables with latent variable values (variables of the kernels) determined by random sampling consensus/RANSAC for outlier detections (outputs of the kernels); para [0036), [0064]).
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites substantially similar limitations as those already recited in the rejection of claim 1, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as give above. Additionally, Wang further discloses at least one computing device comprising processing circuitry including a processor and memory, the at least one computing device configured to at least (computer code executed by a processor in a computing device, such as a processor in a computer; para [0062]-[0066]);
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites substantially similar limitations as those already recited in the rejection of claim 2, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as give above.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites substantially similar limitations as those already recited in the rejection of claim 3, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as give above.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites substantially similar limitations as those already recited in the rejection of claim 4, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as give above.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites substantially similar limitations as those already recited in the rejection of claim 5, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as give above.
Regarding claim 19, Wang-Comaniciu-Karow teaches the system of claim 10, and Wang further teaches wherein the training set of data and the trained KNN model are stored in a data store. (Wang [0027] training data from screening database 1 10 and given a selected network model 150 from network database 140).
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites substantially similar limitations as those already recited in the rejection of claim 1, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as give above. Additionally, Wang further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium embodying a program executable in at least one computing device, where when executed the program causes the at least computing device to at least (computer-readable instructions in memory 320 of computing device 300, executed by processor 310; para [0062]-[0066]).
Claims 6-9, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang-Comaniciu-Karow in view of Koppe et al. (July 2020, Deep learning for small and big data in psychiatry).
Regarding claim 6, Wang-Comaniciu-Karow teaches the method of claim 2, and does not appear to explicitly teaches the following, however, Koppe teaches it is old and well known in the art of data processing wherein the single kernel or plurality of kernels of the last layer determines the output indication based upon a plurality of latent variable produced by a preceding layer of the plurality of layers. (Koppe pg. 178 col. 1 teaches outcomes is minimized across a training set for which the true y are known (for reviews see [ 12, 15, 36]), a process in which successive hidden layers of the network tend to learn more and more abstract representations of the data (e.g., edges and corners on early layers for visual images and fully segmented object representations on deeper layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of healthcare data processing, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang-Comaniciu-Karow, as modified above, to incorporate wherein the single kernel or plurality of kernels of the last layer determines the output indication based upon a plurality of latent variable produced by a preceding layer of the plurality of layers, as taught by Koppe, in order to increase the degree of accuracy through training with multiple layers. See Koppe pg. 179 col. 2.
Regarding claim 7, Wang-Comaniciu-Karow-Koppe teaches the method of claim 6, and Koppe further teaches wherein the preceding layer is the first layer. (Koppe pg. 178 col. 1 teaches outcomes is minimized across a training set for which the true y are known (for reviews see [ 12, 15, 36]), a process in which successive hidden layers of the network tend to learn more and more abstract representations of the data (e.g., edges and corners on early layers for visual images and fully segmented object representations on deeper layers). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in the rejection of claim 6 and incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 8, Wang-Comaniciu-Karow teaches the method of claim 1, and does not appear to explicitly teaches the following, however, Koppe teaches it is old and well known in the art of data processing wherein the KNN is trained using minimum norm quadratic estimation. (Koppe pg. 184 col. 2 teaches that for fully probabilistic models, meaning models which treat both the observations and latent (hidden) variables as random variables, the variational annealing approach proposes to gradually increase the ratio between observation and latent variable noise in the loss function, that is, to decrease the relative noise in the hidden variables across training iterations [ 124, 125]. The idea is that initiating the latent variable mappings with very high noise (i.e., low precision), essentially makes the optimization criterion (in the limit) a quadratic and convex function of the observations, and thus easy to solve. As the ratio is slowly increased, putting a stronger emphasis on the latent variable model fit, more and more hidden configurations inconsistent with the data slowly ‘freeze’ out. Rather than steepening the overall ‘energy landscape’ as in simulated annealing (i.e. cooling the overall temperature, or variance), this approach gradually decreases the relative temperature of the hidden variable loss). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in the rejection of claim 6 and incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 9, Wang-Comaniciu-Karow teaches the method of claim 1, and does not appear to explicitly teaches the following, however, Koppe teaches it is old and well known in the art of data processing wherein training of the KNN is accelerated using batch training. (Koppe pg. 185 col. 1 teaches that rather than computing the gradient across the entire data set, it computes the gradient from a small subset of (randomly drawn) samples, or mini-batches, thus injecting some noise into the training process that may help to avoid local minima). The motivation to combine the references is discussed in the rejection of claim 6 and incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites substantially similar limitations as those already recited in the rejection of claim 6, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as give above.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites substantially similar limitations as those already recited in the rejection of claim 7, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as give above.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites substantially similar limitations as those already recited in the rejection of claim 8, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as give above.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites substantially similar limitations as those already recited in the rejection of claim 9, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as give above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA R. COVINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3686 /RACHELLE L REICHERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686