RCE of 05/07/2026 has been entered.
Claims 26-46 is/are pending.
Response to Arguments
Arguments presented 05/07/2026 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Specifically:
Applicant indicates amendment was made in good faith to clarify the limitation as “a training set of network configuration parameters for the radio environments.” The amendment is acknowledged. However, the change is purely terminological. Throughout the disclosure of the reference of record (Tan), the recited “configurations” that are adjusted, estimated, learned, and used as labeled examples are precisely network configuration parameters —i.e. antenna tilt (electrical/electronic tilt, up-tilt, down-tilt) and transmit/RS power (see, e.g., ¶0054, 0088, 0121, 0165, 0176, 0188, 0220–0221, and 0238–0239), and these are definitively the kind of parameters that define setting/configurations of the networks, i.e. how the signals are to be configured/transmitted. The change does not induce any functional or structural distinction distinction over the reference because the parameters disclosed in Tan are in fact network configuration parameters. In fact Tan solidifies this position in view of the disclosure which indeed uses the term “wireless configuration parameters” throughout the disclosures, for example, 0054, 0063.
Applicant asserts Tan does not teach a training set of network configuration parameters. In the prior Office Action, the rejection specifically mapped this limitation to Tan’s teachings at, among other things, paragraphs ¶0239, 0245. ¶0239 expressly discloses the use of semi-supervised learning (EM) in which “NormBAMs of good performing cells … taken from optimized configurations can provide labeled training examples in the ‘no action’ range of points.” These optimized configurations are the antenna tilt and power settings of the cells — i.e., a training set of network configuration parameters. Paragraph ¶0245 further discloses that the algorithm “may learn which cells j under which configurations under which current NormBM(j) and NormBAM(j) (action) values produce the largest reduction (Gain).”
Applicant’s remarks nowhere substantively address such disclosures of Tan. Instead, Applicant focuses on earlier, more general passages concerning evaluation of global/local solutions based on measurement reports (¶0010, 0064, 0181, 0082) as seen in the Remarks.
Furthermore, Applicant’s characterization that Tan “only” trains or evaluates using measurement reports is incomplete. While Tan certainly uses MRs and performance metrics (RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, KPIs/KQIs), it does not stop there. As shown in ¶0239, 0245, Tan combines those performance metrics with the actual configuration state of the cells (tilt and power) both as labeled training examples and as inputs to a learning process that identifies which configurations produce the largest gains. The claim requires generation of the model based on both performance metrics and a training set of network configuration parameters. Tan discloses both.
The examiner also respectfully disagrees with the assertion that measurement reports do not identify how the network is configured. Tan does not rely on raw MRs in isolation. Tan explicitly uses the configuration parameters of the cells (current estimated tilt/power state and optimized configurations) in the clustering, thresholding, and learning processes that generate and refine the model that groups similar radio environments, as apparent in the above cited paragraphs. Applicant’s focus on what raw MRs alone do not show does not negate what Tan actually teaches when configurations are considered together with the metrics.
In response to the Remark’s assertion that Tan’s model generation is limited to performance metrics only. This assertion is also incorrect. Tan generates multi-label cell signatures from network performance metrics and then clusters cells having similar signatures (¶0120–0123, 0216, Fig. 8). That clustering — the model that groups network elements having similar radio environments — is further improved and refined using the training set of network configuration parameters disclosed in ¶0239, 0245. The combination required by the claims is therefore present in Tan.
In conclusion, Tan discloses generating a model that groups network elements having similar radio environments based on both a plurality of network performance metrics and a training set of network configuration parameters (antenna tilt and power settings), and the amendments offer no functional/structural distinction to the network configurations discussed above in Tan. Applicant has not addressed the specific paragraphs that form the core of the rejection, and as such the amended independent claims 26, 36, and 46 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over
Tan et al. (US 2016/0162783).
As to claims 26, 36, and 46 :
Tan discloses a method, implemented by a computing device, as well as a computing device comprising: processing circuitry and a memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry, (¶0251, 0174, processor, memory/CRM) whereby the computing device is configured to perform the method comprising:
generating, from a network graph representing a plurality of network elements in a wireless communication network, a model of the wireless communication network that groups the network elements having similar radio environments together, wherein generating the model is based on a plurality of network performance (¶0164, 0242, 0123, 0218, 0081 using a constructed graph of cell nodes to identify clusters of cells. Components of evaluation includes KPI/KQI of each coverage area.
generating a network configuration recommendation for at least one of the network elements based on the model; Models of clusters determined include cells that have similar cell features points, metrics, geographic areas (neighbors)) and a training set of network configuration parameters for the radio environment; (¶0239, “semi-supervised learning (EM) to augment clustering for improved thresholding of the NormBAM metric, e.g., NormBAMs of good performing cells (low interferer, high quality, good coverage) taken from optimized configurations can provide labeled training examples in the “no action” range of points.”. ¶0245, “algorithm may learn which cells j under which configurations under which current NormBM(j) and NormBAM(j) (action) values produce the largest reduction (Gain) in NormBM(j) on average”. See also ¶0103, 0171, 0054, 0088, 0121, 0165, 0176, 0188, 0220-0221. Different set of configurations are provided to the algorithm for training, through the algorithm learn which set(s) produce the most optimal result, i.e. largest gains. )
generating a network configuration recommendation for at least one of the network elements based on the model. (See at least, Fig. 3, step 320, 340, Fig. 23, step 2304, based on processing parameters above, generate global/local solutions, i.e. network configurations for each nodes in the group/cluster, ¶0010, “Each of the global solutions includes multiple local solutions that specify wireless configuration parameters for local coverage areas in the wireless network”. See also ¶0121, 0189, 190)
and modifying a configuration of the at least one of the network elements in accordance with the network configuration recommendation. (Fig. 23 -2308, Fig. 4, 490, ¶0121, 0171, 0096, 0011, modifying configuration of at least an AP/nodes based on the solution).
Claim 46 is directed to a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program product for controlling a computing device in a wireless communication network, the computer program product comprising software instructions that, when run on the computing device, cause the computing device to perform similar steps as in claim 26, and is rejected by the same reasoning as above.
As to claims 27, 37:
Tan discloses all limitations of claim 26/36, wherein generating the model is further based on network configuration parameters of the network elements. (¶0239, “semi-supervised learning (EM) to augment clustering for improved thresholding of the NormBAM metric, e.g., NormBAMs of good performing cells (low interferer, high quality, good coverage) taken from optimized configurations can provide labeled training examples in the “no action” range of points.”. ¶0245, “algorithm may learn which cells j under which configurations under which current NormBM(j) and NormBAM(j) (action) values produce the largest reduction (Gain) in NormBM(j) on average”. See also ¶0103, 0171, 0054, 0088, 0121)
As to claims 28, 38:
Tan discloses all limitations of claim 26/36, further comprising:
Receiving network configuration and performance metric data describing the wireless communication network; and generating the network graph from the network configuration and performance metric data and at least one signal quality threshold for each of a plurality of handover events for each of the network elements. (See ¶0103, 0171, 0054, 0088, 01210103, gathering KPI and cell configurations, ¶0171, performing iterations of evaluation of current configuration, ¶02422, 0141, constructing neighbor graph from config, builds interaction graph GU based on KPI interactions of neighbor nodes. Table 2 includes handover hysteresis and CIO, 0093, mobility are inputs to decision rules, use T2/T3 as handover criteria)
As to claims 29, 39:
Tan discloses all limitations of claim 26/36, further comprising: identifying, as behavioral outliers, one or more network elements that are represented in the network graph and omitted from the groups of network elements having similar radio environments; wherein generating the network configuration recommendation based on the model comprises generating the network configuration recommendation based on a portion of the model that excludes the one or more network elements identified as behavioral outliers. (¶0134-0135, identifying over shooter cells based on performance parameters. ¶0245, “Cells that produce extreme/sustained negative gain may be removed from Whitebox list first for no action and then passed on to Blackbox for Oppositional, Exploitative and Explorative Action”. ¶0242-0245, cell with problematic behaviors are dropped from the clique GU, thus only considered those with better cells)
As to claims 30, 40:
Tan discloses all limitations of claim 26/36, further comprising applying rule-based criteria to determine whether configuring the wireless communication network in accordance with the network configuration recommendation would produce a mobility ping-pong effect. (¶0063, ¶0241, “Several cells in the same area (neighbors of each other or have common neighbors) being up-tilted/powered-up at the same time may lend a multiplier effect to such increase in interfered UEs and worsen quality. This can create instability in system performance when successive similar actions run away (due to competition between neighbors) or successive opposite actions on a cell engender oscillations ”. See also ¶0238, 0190, 0189, making adjustments to power level, antenna tilts, to reduce interreferences, i.e. the causes for ping-pong effect)
As to claims 31, 41:
Tan discloses all limitations of claim 26/36, further comprising: aggregating the network performance metrics into fewer network performance metrics; wherein generating the model based on the plurality of network performance metrics is responsive to determining the radio environments that are similar based on the fewer network performance metrics. (¶0118, data are extracted, filtered/aggregated, i.e. condensing the data pool. ¶0105, cell metrics are converted to more generalized parameter, such as “blame” score. ¶0098, “system objective functions and cell level metrics may be aggregations of UE state information (e.g., MRs, etc.)”
As to claims 32, 42:
Tan discloses all limitations of claim 26/36, wherein the network graph representing the plurality of network elements in the wireless communication network further represents a plurality of operator networks, each of which comprises at least one of the network elements. (¶0242, “interaction graph GU of up-tilt/power-up candidate cell nodes with edges between them if they are neighbors or have significantly interacting common neighbors. Use the B(i,j) matrix (e.g., blame metric) as a guideline for figuring out “significant” interacting neighbors”, note that cell node (access point) is the network element)
As to claims 33, 43:
Tan discloses all limitations of claim 26/36, wherein generating the model that groups the network elements having similar radio environments together comprises :determining a preliminary group of network elements; and identifying at least two of the groups of network elements from within the preliminary group of network elements, the at least two of the groups having radio environments are different from each other. (¶0123, cells with similar signature maybe clustered together, . ¶0216, groups similar points together based on cluster membership, i.e. over-shooter vs. non-over shooter, ¶0147, 0094 showing generating a group of cell with common characteristic, then narrowing it down to sub groups of such cell. ¶0178-0179, categorizing cells in the general pool into various “blames” category groups)
As to claims 34, 44:
Tan discloses all limitations of claim 26/36, wherein generating the network configuration recommendation for the at least one of the network elements comprises generating the network configuration recommendation for one of the groups of network elements having a similar radio environment. (¶0121, 0220, 0168, recommended adjustment applied to entire a cluster of the plurality of clusters)
As to claims 35, 45:
Tan discloses all limitations of claim 26/36, wherein the network configuration recommendation comprises: an indication of whether the network configuration recommendation is predicted to accelerate or delay mobility within the wireless communication network; and/or a recommended threshold for triggering a mobility event; and/or an indication of a predicted performance impact that will be caused by adopting the network configuration recommendation; and/or a probability that the radio environment of the at least one of the network elements for which the network configuration recommendation was generated is a behavioral outlier relative to the groups of network elements having similar radio environments.
(See Table 2, handover hysteresis/offset (i.e. threshold for triggering a mobility event), ¶0123, “KPI predictive models for groups of similar cells can predict network performance given predictors such as traffic and resource consumption variables. KPI predictive models may also predict gains/losses due to the application of a new feature on a given type or group of cells”, evaluate a future impact of an application of a new configuration)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0060458 - A device comprises a non-transitory memory having instructions and one or more processors in communication with the memory. The one or more processors execute the instructions to receive training data that represent dependent variable information from a plurality of cells in a cellular network. One or more clusters of cells are selected from the plurality of cells; while, one or more sub-clusters of cells are selected from the one or more clusters based on the dependent variable information. One or more models are determined corresponding to the one or more sub-clusters of cells based on the relationship between dependent variable information and independent variable information. A prediction value is output from the one or more models in response to the received testing data.
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645