Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/15/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b). Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “decreases” “decreasing” in lines 2 and 3, typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 11, 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The use of “and/or” makes the claims indefinite as the bound of the claim is undefined. Claims 9-11 are further rejected based on dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Takagi et al. (US 2010/0030165) (“Takagi”). Takagi discloses a medical catheter (and method for fabricating a medical catheter) comprising:
(claims 1, 13, 2, 14) A medical catheter (Fig. 4) [0050-53], comprising a catheter body, wherein the catheter body comprising a proximal section and a distal section sequentially arranged along an axis, wherein the proximal section has a stiffness that is greater than a stiffness of the distal section, wherein the distal section comprises a transition section and a flexible section sequentially arranged from a proximal end to a distal end thereof, wherein the flexible section has a stiffness that is smaller than a stiffness of the transition section, wherein the stiffness of the transition section gradually decreases from a proximal end to a distal end thereof, and wherein a ratio of an axial length of the flexible section to an axial length of the transition section is 0.05-0.4. [0087, 0069, 0080, 0129] the lengths of the flexible sections are not particularly limited. Because there is no limit on the lengths of the flexible sections, the ratios of these sections to each other can be varied to fall within the scope of the claim ratios, 0.05-0.4 or 0.1-0.25. Such a modification to change the lengths of the segments in proportion to one another would have been considered a design consideration to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; this type of modification fails to patentably distinguish over Takagi.
Claims 3,4: the catheter body further comprises a tip section located distally with respect to the distal section, wherein the tip section has a stiffness that is smaller than the stiffness of the proximal section, and wherein the tip section has an axial length ranging from 0.2 cm to 6 cm. The tip section comprises at least one radiopaque marker, and wherein the radiopaque marker is any one of a radiopaque ring, a radiopaque band, a radiopaque spring and a radiopaque dot, or a combination thereof. [0067,0069,0064]
Claims 5,15: As above with the ratios of lengths of the catheter sections, Takagi does not directly disclose the ratios of a two-point bending flexural strength of the flexible section to a two-point bending flexural strength of the proximal section is 0.005-0.7, and/or wherein the two-point bending flexural strength of the flexible section ranges from 0.01 N to 1.0 N. (claim 15) a two-point bending flexural strength of the flexible section and a two-point bending flexural strength of the proximal section satisfy F2/F1 Є[ 0.005, 0.7] and/or F2Є[0.01 N 1.0N],where F2 represents the two-point bending flexural strength of the flexible section, measured in N; and F1 represents the two-point bending flexural strength of the proximal section, measured in N. Takagi does disclose flexural strengths without the specifics of the claimed limitations [0080, 0014,0031, 0053-0054]. Such a modification to change the flexural strengths of the segments in proportion to one another would have been considered a design consideration to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; this type of modification fails to patentably distinguish over Takagi. [0080]
Claims 6, 7, 16, 17: Again, because there is no limit on the lengths of the flexible sections, the lengths of the sections can range from the lengths claimed. Such a modification to change the lengths of the segments in proportion to one another would have been considered a design consideration to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; this type of modification fails to patentably distinguish over Takagi. Further, Takagi does disclose the overall length of the catheter to be 100cm (1000mm) in one example [0134].
Claims 8, 18: the catheter of Takagi further discloses: a radially outer layer 2, a radially intermediate layer 76 and a radially inner layer 6, wherein each of the outer layer and the inner layer is made of a polymeric material, and wherein the intermediate layer is a braided structure and/or a spiral structure. [0119-0120, 0088, 0133]
Claim 9: a braid density of a distal end of the intermediate layer is lower or higher than a braid density of a proximal end of the intermediate layer, or wherein in case of the intermediate layer being a spiral structure, the intermediate layer has a spiral density gradually decreasing from a proximal end to a distal end thereof. [0053] Fig. 4
Claim 10: the intermediate layer is spirally wound from a single-stranded wire, or wherein the intermediate layer is braided and/or spirally wound from a multi-stranded wire. [0058]
Claim 11: a stiffness of the polymeric material of the outer layer gradually decreases from a proximal end to a distal end thereof, and/or wherein the outer layer has a wall thickness gradually decreasing from the proximal end to the distal end thereof and has a constant inner diameter. [0062]
Claim 12: the medical catheter has an inner diameter ranging from 0.40 mm to 2.24 mm and an outer diameter ranging from 0.42 mm to 2.8 mm. [0027,0061] Again, because there is no limit on the diameters of the catheters, the diameters can range from the diameters as claimed. Such a modification to change the diameters in proportion to one another would have been considered a design consideration to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention; this type of modification fails to patentably distinguish over Takagi.
Conclusion
/DEANNA K HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783