The amendment filed 12/19/25 has been entered. Claims 25-30, 33 and 40 has been amended. Claims 43-47 are new. Claims 1-24, 34 and 38-39 have been cancelled. Claims 25-33, 35-37 and 40-47 are pending and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 10/28/25 and 12/19/25 have been considered and an initialed copies are enclosed.
Claim Rejections - Withdrawn
The rejection of claim 40 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claims 38-40 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claim(s) 25-28, 30-37 and 41-42 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. EP 3747988 9/12/2020 cited in IDS as evidenced by Ganesan et al. Brain, Behavior and Immunity 124 (2025) 9-27 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claim(s) 29 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hosseinifard et al. Eur J Nutr 58, 3361–3375 (2019) cited in IDS is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claim(s) 25, 26, 28, 30-31 and 34-36 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. WO 2017047962 3/23/17 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claim(s) 25-28, 30, 32 and 34-37 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dong-Yun Lee et al. Food Funct., 2021,12, 10750-10763 10/5/21 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claim(s) 25 and 31 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong-Yun Lee et al. Food Funct., 2021,12, 10750-10763 10/5/21 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
The rejection of claim(s) 25, 38 and 39 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. EP 3747988 9/12/2020 cited in IDS as evidenced by Ganesan et al. Brain, Behavior and Immunity 124 (2025) 9-27 is withdrawn in view of the amendment to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27, 29, 44 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toshimitsu et al. J. Dairy Science. 99-933-946, 2016 cited in IDS.
Toshimitsu et al disclose a method comprising allowing a subject to ingest an effective amount of a lactic acid bacterium belonging to Lactobacillus plantarum comprising 16S rRNA gene having similarity of 99% to SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the Lactobacillus plantarum is the OLL2712 strain deposited under accession number FERM BP-11262.
Since the method step is the same, same method will also result in reduction of IL-1, Il-6, Il-9, Il-12, IL-17, granulocyte colony stimulating factor, a granulocyte monocyte-colony stimulating factor, interferon-y, monocyte chemoattractant protein-1, macrophage inflammatory protein-1, and a tumor necrosis factor in a brain tissue of said subject as claimed and also reduction in an amount of Il-17 in the subject.
Claim(s) 27, 29, 44 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toshimitsu et al. Nutrients, 2020, Jan 31: 12(2):374, 14 pages.
Toshimitsu et al disclose a method comprising allowing a subject to ingest an effective amount of a lactic acid bacterium belonging to Lactobacillus plantarum comprising 16S rRNA gene having similarity of 99% to SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the Lactobacillus plantarum is the OLL2712 strain deposited under accession number FERM BP-11262. See abstract and sections 2.1-2.3.
Since the method step is the same, same method will also result in reduction of IL-1, Il-6, Il-9, Il-12, IL-17, granulocyte colony stimulating factor, a granulocyte monocyte-colony stimulating factor, interferon-y, monocyte chemoattractant protein-1, macrophage inflammatory protein-1, and a tumor necrosis factor in a brain tissue of said subject as claimed and also reduction in an amount of Il-17 in the subject.
Claim(s) 27, 29 , 44 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Toshimitsu et al. US 2023/0293605 filed 6/21/21.
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Toshimitsu et al disclose a method comprising allowing the subject to ingest an effective amount of a lactic acid bacterium belonging to the genus Lactobacillus plantarum comprising 16S rRNA gene having similarity of 99% to SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the Lactobacillus plantarum is the OLL2712 strain deposited under accession number FERM BP-11262.
Since the method step is the same, same method will also result in reduction of IL-1, Il-6, Il-9, Il-12, IL-17, granulocyte colony stimulating factor, a granulocyte monocyte-colony stimulating factor, interferon-y, monocyte chemoattractant protein-1, macrophage inflammatory protein-1, and a tumor necrosis factor in a brain tissue of said subject as claimed and also reduction in an amount of Il-17 in the subject.
Double Patenting
Claims 27, 29 , 44 and 46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 19-21, 23, 24, 29 and 34 of copending Application No. 18/012112 (‘112). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘112 claims.
disclose a method comprising allowing a subject to ingest an effective amount of a lactic acid bacterium belonging to the genus Lactobacillus plantarum comprising 16S rRNA gene having similarity of 99% to SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the Lactobacillus plantarum is the OLL2712 strain deposited under accession number FERM BP-11262.
Since the method step is the same, same method will also result in reduction of IL-1, Il-6, Il-9, Il-12, IL-17, granulocyte colony stimulating factor, a granulocyte monocyte-colony stimulating factor, interferon-y, monocyte chemoattractant protein-1, macrophage inflammatory protein-1, and a tumor necrosis factor in a brain tissue of said subject as claimed and also reduction in an amount of Il-17 in the subject.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 27, 29 , 44 and 46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20 and 22 of copending Application No. 17784312 (‘312). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘312 claims.
disclose a method comprising allowing a subject to ingest an effective amount of a lactic acid bacterium belonging to the genus Lactobacillus plantarum comprising 16S rRNA gene having similarity of 99% to SEQ ID NO: 1, wherein the Lactobacillus plantarum is the OLL2712 strain deposited under accession number FERM BP-11262.
Since the method step is the same, same method will also result in reduction of IL-1, Il-6, Il-9, Il-12, IL-17, granulocyte colony stimulating factor, a granulocyte monocyte-colony stimulating factor, interferon-y, monocyte chemoattractant protein-1, macrophage inflammatory protein-1, and a tumor necrosis factor in a brain tissue of said subject as claimed and also reduction in an amount of Il-17 in the subject.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Status of Claims
Claims 27, 29 , 44 and 46 are rejected. Claims 25-26, 28, 30-33, 35-37, 40-43, 45 and 47 are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLUWATOSIN A OGUNBIYI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645