DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/FR2021/052391 filed December 17, 2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 15, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christelle (EP 3,670,602).
In regards to claim 1, Christelle teaches an electric cable (1) comprising: at least one elongated electrically conducting element (2) and at least one electrically insulating layer (4) obtained from a polymer composition (polymer composition, paragraph [0006]), wherein the polymer composition comprises:
- at least 50 wt% of a homophase propylene polymer (I1, table 1; 54.96% of the propylene polymer) relative to the total weight of polymers in said polymer composition,
-and at least one homophase ethylene polymer having an elastic modulus strictly greater than 300 MPa (paragraph [0018]).
- said propylene polymer representing a proportion ?mer, paragraph [0028]), relative to the total weight of polymers in said polymer composition.
Christelle does not explicitly teach and the polymer composition comprising at most 10 wt.% of a heterophase propylene polymer, relative to the total weight of polymers in said polymer composition.
Christelle does teach at least a heterophase propylene polymer (paragraph [0012], [0029]); because the claimed materials and wt% quantities are met in Christelle, the limitation “at least one homophase ethylene polymer having an elastic modulus strictly greater than 300 MPa” is considered to be an inherent characteristic.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have included in the teachings of Christelle at least one homophase ethylene polymer having an elastic modulus strictly greater than 300 MPa and the polymer composition comprising at most 10 wt% of a heterophase propylene polymer, relative to the total weight of polymers in said polymer composition, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 2, Christelle teaches the electric cable as claimed in claim 1, wherein the homophase propylene polymer is a copolymer of propylene (first polymer, paragraph [0014]) and ethylene (second polymer, paragraph [0021]).
In regards to claim 3, Christelle teaches the electric cable as claimed in claim , characterized in that wherein the homophase propylene polymer represents from 55 to 90 wt% (I1, table 1; 54.96% ~ 55% of the propylene polymer), relative to the total weight of polymers in the polymer composition.
In regards to claim 4, Christelle teaches the electric cable in claim 1, wherein the ethylene polymer has an elastic modulus of at least 325 MPa (because the claimed materials and wt% quantities are met in Christelle, the limitation “at least one homophase ethylene polymer having an elastic modulus strictly greater than 325 MPa” is considered to be an inherent characteristic).
In regards to claim 5, Christelle teaches the electric cable as claimed in claim 1, wherein the homophase ethylene polymer represents from 10 to 45 wt% (20% by wt. in paragraph [0029]) relative to the total weight of polymers in the polymer composition.
In regards to claim 8, Christelle teaches the electric cable as in claim 1.
Christelle does not explicitly teach the polymer composition comprises from 0 to 8 wt% of a heterophase propylene polymer relative to the total weight of polymers in the polymer composition.
Christelle does teach at least the polymer composition comprising at most 60%wt (the claimed 10 wt% falls within this range) of a heterophase propylene polymer (paragraph [0012], [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention to have included in the teachings of Christelle at least one homophase ethylene polymer having an elastic modulus strictly greater than 300 MPa and the polymer composition comprising at most 10 wt% of a heterophase propylene polymer, relative to the total weight of polymers in said polymer composition, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In regards to claim 9, Christelle teaches the electric cable as claimed in claim 1,
In regards to claim 10, Christelle teaches the electric cable in claim 1,characterized in that wherein the heterophase propylene polymer comprises a thermoplastic phase of the propylene type and a thermoplastic elastomer phase of the type of copolymer of ethylene and an a2 olefin (paragraph 0014-0015]).
In regards to claim 12, Christelle teaches the electric cable in claim 1,characterized in that wherein the polymer composition does not comprise polar polymer(s) (non-polar, paragraph [0068]),
In regards to claim 13, Christelle teaches the electric cable as claimed in claim,1 characterized in that wherein the polymer composition further comprises at least one antioxidant and/or at least one metal deactivator (antioxidants, paragraph [0055]).
In regards to claim 14, Christelle teaches the electric cable in claim 1, wherein the electrically insulating layer is a noncrosslinked layer (It is preferably not intended to be crosslinked, paragraph [0066]).
In regards to claim 15, Christelle teaches the electric cable in that wherein the electrically insulating layer (4) is directly in physical contact with the elongated electrically conducting element (12) (figure 1).
In regards to claim 16, Christelle teaches the electric cable in that wherein said electric cable further comprises an outer protective sheath (7) surrounding the electrically insulating layer (figure 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 7 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that wherein the ethylene polymer has a density of at most 0.936 g/cm3. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that homophase propylene polymer, the homophase ethylene polymer, and the heterophase propylene polymer when it is present, represent at least 80 wt%, relative to the total weight of polymers in the polymer composition. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that the thermoplastic elastomer phase of the heterophase propylene copolymer represents at least about 20 wt%, and preferably at least about 45 wt%, relative to the total weight of the heterophase propylene copolymer. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cho (WO2014/126404) and Alcaraz (EP 3,671,769) teaches electrical cables with a conductor covered in insulation material.
Communication
/KRYSTAL ROBINSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2848