DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 11 recites “…monitoring of a bonding and de-bonding of the separated dies between adhesive sheets during their transfer” in lines 16-17 (emphasis added). However, the instant specification fails to provide explicit support for any such monitoring function, such as cameras or pressure sensors. Page 7 lines 8-9 disclose that die bond monitoring is facilitated by the transparency of the carrier. Presumably, the monitoring would be provided by an external apparatus such as a camera or sensor, or merely by observation of an equipment operator. However, no such monitoring apparatus is disclosed. Therefore, the application as originally filed does not provide support for any apparatus or structure capable of monitoring die bonding/de-bonding as claimed. Rather, the application merely provides support for the capability of monitoring bonding/de-bonding status due to the relative transparency of the carrier.
For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted claim 11 as follows:
“…wherein the carrier supports a pressure exerted by the heated plate during the transfer of the separated dies, and
the carrier is configured to enable monitoring of a bonding and de-bonding of the separated dies between adhesive sheets during their transfer.”
Claim 16 is directed to a system, and is rejected under 35 USC § 112(a) for similar reasons. Claim 16 recites “…wherein bonding and de-bonding of the separated dies between adhesive sheets during their transfer is monitored” in lines 19-20 (emphasis added). For the purpose of compact prosecution, the Examiner has interpreted claim 16 as follows:
“…wherein the carrier supports a pressure exerted by the heated plate during the transfer of the separated dies, and
wherein the carrier is configured to enable monitoring of bonding and de-bonding of the separated dies between adhesive sheets during their transfer
Claims 12-13, 15 and 17-19 depend on claims 11 and 16, and are rejected form implicitly including the subject matter above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaeffer et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2020/0013859 A1) in view of Priewasser et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2019/0252254 A1) and Kamphuis et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2017/0179076 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Schaeffer teaches a method for fabricating semiconductor articles, comprising the steps of:
partially cutting a wafer frontside of a wafer, wherein the frontside of the wafer is partially cut (¶ 0158, fig. 6C: trenches 705 partially cut into front side of wafer 700) up to less than a total wafer thickness (¶ 0160, fig. 6C: 705 formed to depth dp2, which is less than total thickness of 700).
applying one or more layers of adhesive sheets (¶ 0161: 681) onto a carrier (681 applied to carrier 682) that is transparent and configured to support the one or more layers of adhesive sheets (¶ 0162: 682 comprises a transparent support for one or more adhesive layers);
transferring the partially cut wafer onto the adhesive sheet on the carrier (¶ 0161 & fig. 6D: 700 transferred onto 681/682);
grinding a backside of the wafer to a thickness in a range of 0.175 mm to 0.850 mm to form separated dies (¶¶ 0158, 0166 & figs. 2A, 6F: in at least one embodiment, backside of 700 thinned by mechanical removal to finalized thickness of 180 um);
transferring the separated dies from the adhesive sheet of the carrier (¶ 0171 & fig. 6H: semiconductor elements divided by trenches 705 transferred from 681/682 to 800);
wherein the carrier supports a pressure during the transfer of the separated dies (fig. 6D: 682 supports pressure while transferring to 800), and monitoring of a bonding and de-bonding of the separated dies between adhesive sheets during their transfer (¶ 0162: 682 comprises a transparent property, and therefore provides support for monitoring bonding/debonding state).
Schaeffer does not teach wherein the partial cut of the wafer is up to 20% from a total wafer thickness, or the method further comprising:
transferring the separated dies from the adhesive sheet of the carrier to an additional layer of adhesive sheet of a frame ring using a heated plate that has the additional layer of adhesive sheet adhere to the backside of the separated dies; or
wherein the pressure during the transfer of the separated dies is exerted by the heated plate.
Priewasser teaches a method of fabricating semiconductor articles, comprising:
transferring separated dies (¶ 0193: device area 2) to an additional layer of adhesive sheet of a frame ring (¶¶ 0211, 0235 & figs. 7, 9: partially separated devices 2 transferred to adhesive sheet including elements 4, 9, 13 and/or 7 of annular frame 25) using a heated plate (¶ 0213: pressing apparatus 22 including heat radiation means 29) that has the additional layer of adhesive sheet adhere to the backside of the separated dies (fig. 9: 4/9/13/7 adhered to backside of 2);
wherein pressure during the transfer of the separated dies is exerted by the heated plate (¶ 0213: 22 comprises a pressing stamp).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the method of Schaeffer with the additional adhesive sheet of Priewasser, as a means to allow the transferred die to conform absorbing the wafer topography, create a form fit and/or a material bond (Piewasser, ¶ 0036).
Schaeffer in view of Priewasser does not teach wherein the partial cut of the wafer is up to 20% from a total wafer thickness.
Kamphuis teaches a method including partial cutting a frontside of a wafer up to 20% from a total wafer thickness (¶¶ 0059, 0061-0062: in at least one embodiment, Ti=725um and Tf=240um, such that depth of groove 65 in substrate 205 meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “up to 20% from a total wafer thickness”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the partial cut of Schaeffer in view of Priewasser to be up to 20% from total wafer thickness, as a means to provide die with sufficient structural support for electrical testing to determine whether it functions to specification, allowing for defective devices to be culled out when individual devices are packaged (Kamphuis, ¶ 0057).
Regarding claim 12, Schaeffer in view of Priewasser and Kamphuis teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein the layers of adhesive sheet of the carrier include either a thermal tape or a combination of the thermal tape and an ultraviolet (UV) tape (Schaeffer, ¶ 0161: 681 includes material sensitive to ultraviolet radiation).
Regarding claim 13, Schaeffer in view of Priewasser and Kamphuis teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein the additional layer of adhesive sheet of the frame ring is a dicing tape (Priewasser, ¶¶ 0235, 0239: at least portion 7 comprises PET or polyolefin, equivalent to dicing tape material disclosed on page 8 line 1 of the instant specification).
Regarding claim 15, Schaeffer in view of Priewasser and Kamphuis teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein the heated plate is pressed against the additional adhesive sheet of the frame ring and the backside of the separated dies (Priewasser, figs. 7, 9: 22 pressed against 4/13/7 of frame 25 and backside of device areas 2).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaeffer in view of Tian et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2022/0181208 A1), Priewasser, and Kamphuis.
Regarding claim 16, Schaeffer teaches a system for fabricating semiconductor articles, comprising:
a sawing blade for partially cutting frontside of a wafer, wherein the frontside of the wafer is partially cut (¶ 0158, fig. 6C: trenches 705 partially cut into front side of wafer 700) up to less than a total wafer thickness (¶ 0160, fig. 6C: 705 formed to depth dp2, which is less than total thickness of 700);
an adhesive applying mechanism to apply one or more layers of adhesive sheets onto a carrier that is transparent (¶¶ 0161-0162: apparatus for applying adhesive layer 681 to transparent carrier 682) and configured to support the one or more layers of adhesive sheets (¶ 0162: 682 comprises a transparent support for one or more adhesive layers);
a transferring mechanism to transfer the partially cut wafer onto the adhesive sheet on the carrier (implicit: fig. 6D shows partially cut substrate 700 transferred onto 681 on 682);
a grinding apparatus for grinding a backside of the wafer to a thickness in a range of 0.175 mm to 0.850 mm to form separated dies (¶¶ 0158, 0166 & figs. 2A, 6F: in at least one embodiment, backside of 700 thinned by mechanical removal to finalized thickness of 180 um to form individual die); and
a transferring mechanism that transfers the separated dies from the adhesive sheets of the carrier (¶ 0171 & fig. 6H: semiconductor elements divided by trenches 705 transferred from 681 to 800);
wherein the carrier supports a pressure during the transfer of the separated dies (fig. 6D: 682 supports pressure while transferring to 800) wherein bonding and de-bonding of the separated dies between adhesive sheets during their transfer is monitored (¶ 0162: 682 comprises a transparent property, and therefore provides support for monitoring bonding/debonding state).
Schaeffer does not teach the frontside of the wafer is partially cut up to 20% from a total wafer thickness, the grinding apparatus includes a grinding wheel, the fabrication system further comprises a frame ring with an additional layer of adhesive sheet, and a heated plate that transfers the separated dies from the adhesive sheets of the carrier to the additional layer of adhesive sheet of the frame ring by having the additional layer of adhesive sheet adhere to the backside of the separated dies, and wherein the pressure is exerted by the heated plate.
Tian teaches a method of fabricating semiconductor articles, including partially cutting a wafer (¶ 0026: partial cut lines 116 in wafer 100) and reducing the wafer thickness with a grinding wheel (¶ 0033: grinding wheel thins wafer 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the grinding apparatus of Schaeffer with a grinding wheel, as a means to completely separate the semiconductor dies from each other (Tian, ¶ 0034).
Since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 538, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 (2007); Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson' s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950). See MPEP § 2143.02. In the instant case, the grinding wheel of Tia could be combined with the system of Schaeffer to provide the wafer thickness reduction.
Schaeffer in view of Tian does not teach the frontside of the wafer is partially cut up to 20% from a total wafer thickness, the fabrication system further comprises a frame ring with an additional layer of adhesive sheet, and a heated plate that transfers the separated dies from the adhesive sheets of the carrier to the additional layer of adhesive sheet of the frame ring by having the additional layer of adhesive sheet adhere to the backside of the separated dies, and wherein the pressure is exerted by the heated plate.
Priewasser teaches a fabrication system comprising:
a frame ring (¶ 0209 annular frame 25) with an additional layer of adhesive sheet (¶ 0235: 4/9/13/7), and
a heated plate (¶ 0211: pressing stamp 22) that transfers separated dies to the additional layer of adhesive sheet of the frame ring (figs. 7, 9: Wafer W including plurality of partially separated device areas 2 to 4/9/13/7) by having the additional layer of adhesive sheet adhere to the backside of the separated dies (figs. 7, 9: 4/9/13/7 adheres to backside of 2);
wherein pressure during the transfer of the separated dies is exerted by the heated plate (¶ 0213: 22 comprises a pressing stamp).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the apparatus of Schaeffer in view of Tian with the additional adhesive sheet of Priewasser, as a means to allow the transferred die to conform absorbing the wafer topography, create a form fit and/or a material bond (Priewasser, ¶ 0036).
Schaeffer in view of Tian and Priewasser does not teach the frontside of the wafer is partially cut up to 20% from a total wafer thickness.
Kamphuis teaches a method including partial cutting a frontside of a wafer up to 20% from a total wafer thickness (¶¶ 0059, 0061-0062: in at least one embodiment, Ti=725um and Tf=240um, such that depth of groove 65 in substrate 205 meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “up to 20% from a total wafer thickness”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the partial cut of Schaeffer in view of Tian and Priewasser to be up to 20% from total wafer thickness, as a means to provide die with sufficient structural support for electrical testing to determine whether it functions to specification, allowing for defective devices to be culled out when individual devices are packaged (Kamphuis, ¶ 0057).
Regarding claim 17, Schaeffer in view of Tian, Priewasser and Kamphuis teaches the system according to claim 16, further comprising a sorting mechanism for sorting the dies upon inspection (Schaeffer, ¶ 0045: die sorted after electrical testing).
Regarding claim 18, Schaeffer in view of Tian, Priewasser and Kamphuis teaches the system according to claim 16, wherein the layers of adhesive sheet of the carrier include either a thermal tape or a combination of the thermal tape and an ultraviolet (UV) tape (Schaeffer, ¶ 0161: 681 includes material sensitive to ultraviolet radiation).
Regarding claim 19, Schaeffer in view of Tian, Priewasser and Kamphuis teaches the system according to claim 16, wherein the additional layer of adhesive sheet of the frame ring is a dicing tape (Priewasser, ¶¶ 0235, 0239: at least portion 7 comprises PET or polyolefin, equivalent to dicing tape material disclosed on page 8 line 1 of the instant specification).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 5 of the Arguments/Remarks filed on 1/9/2026, with respect to the formal objection to claim 16, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the formal objection to claim 16 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6 of the Arguments/Remarks, with respect to the rejections of claims 11-19 under 35 USC § 112(a) have been fully considered but they are persuasive. In particular, the newly added limitations lack proper support as noted above. The specification as originally filed does not provide explicit support for monitoring a bonding/debonding state of separated dies.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejections of claims 11-13 and 15-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818