Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. CN 105739241, in view of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943.
Kato et al. CN 105739241 (machine translation attached) teaches the synthesis of resin B, which is a methyl methacrylate/n-butyl acrylate/methacrylate acid/styrene copolymer [0131-0135]. The synthesis of resin A, which is a methacrylic acid/e-caprolactone modified methacrylic acid/methyl methacrylate/ copolymer [0128-0130]. Resin C is a novolak epoxy resin, which contains cresol with is an aromatic ring [0136-0139]. Resist 1-6 (table 1, [0171]) combines 175 parts of resin A, 40 parts of resin B, 30 parts jer828 (epoxy), 200 parts titanium dioxide 15 parts irgacure 819, 30 parts dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate, 1.00 parts dicyanamide, 3.0 parts melamine, 3 parts KS-66.and 1 part Irganox [0171-0192]. The composition were coated , dried, exposure using a metal halide (UV) lamp, developed and post cured by heating [0199-0204]. Resist 2-6 is similar in composition (table 9, [0249]). The composition can be coated upon a carrier film, such as a plastic film, dried and the top surface protected with a peelable cover layer. When applied to the substrate as a dry film, the cover layer is peeled, the composition contacted with the substrate and laminated using a laminator and then the carrier film is removed [0111-0115]. Filling agent is used in order to improve the physical strength of the obtained cured product. filling agent is not specifically limited, which can use known fillers, such as silicon dioxide, crystalline silicon dioxide, silicon earth, aluminum hydroxide, glass powder, talc, clay, magnesium carbonate, calcium carbonate, natural mica, synthetic mica, aluminum hydroxide, barium sulphate, barium titanate, iron oxide, fibrous glass, hydrotalcite, mineral wool, aluminum silicate, calcium silicate, zinc white inorganic pigment, filling agent preferably does not contain sulfur [0105]. A curing catalyst is epoxy compound and an oxetane compound such as thermosetting resin [0092]. When the composition does not include an aromatic ring, finger tough dryness and excellent color is achieved [0067]. Aromatic resins can cause reflectivity reduction of inhibition method (inhibit reduction in reflectivity), but sometimes causes a reduction in developability and heat resistance [0027]. As the substrate, in addition to advance through the copper and formed with a circuit of the printed circuit board, a flexible printed circuit board, can also be exemplified by using paper-phenolic resin, paper-epoxy resin, glass cloth-epoxy resin, glass-polyimide. glass cloth/nonwoven fabric-epoxy resin, glass cloth/paper-epoxy resin, synthetic fiber-epoxy resin, fluorine resin, polyethylene/polyphenylene ether (polyphenylene oxide) cyanate and other high-frequency circuits for copper-clad laminate of all grades (FR-4, etc.) covering the copper laminate material; and a metal substrate, a polyimide film, a PET film, polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) film, a glass substrate, a ceramic substrate, a wafer plate and so on [0120]. Next, the dry film of the invention on the carrier film with the curable resin composition of the present invention obtained by coating and drying the resin layer. when the dry film is formed, firstly, the curable resin composition of the present invention adjusted to suitable viscosity of diluted with the organic solvent, on the basis, by a comma coater (commacoater), blade coater. lip coater (lipcoater), bar coater (rodcoater), extrusion coater (squeezecoater), reversible coater (reversecoater), transfer roll coater (transferrollcater). gravure coater (gravurecoater), spraying on the carrier film is coated to a uniform thickness. Then, composition of generally dried coated under the temperature of 50 to 130 ℃ for 30 to 1 minutes, so as to form a resin layer. For coating thickness is not particularly limited, generally to drying, the film thickness is 10 to 150 microns, preferably in the range of 60 to 20 [mu] m proper selection [0110].
Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 (cited by applicant, machine translation attached to action) teaches colored photosensitive resins. Examples combine 3.21 parts CI pigment Blue 15:6, 0.80 parts CI violet 23 (inorganic pigment), 4.07 or 4.26 parts methacrylic acid/benzylmethacrylate copolymer (contains carboxy and aromatic groups), 1.70 or 4.89 parts dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate (D), 1.67 or 4.52 parts a thiol containing acrylate of the following formulae
,
and
0.88 parts Irgacure 369 (photoinitiator), ~84% solvent (F), 0.1 parts surfactant (G1) 0.1 parts epoxy resin (G-2) and 0.2 parts methacryloxypropyltrimethoxysilane (adhesion promoter). Comparative example 7 does not include any of the thiol acrylates [0239-0261]. The compositions are coated, dried, exposed using UV and developed using a base (KOH) to form a patten and then baked (cured) [0263]. The thiols increase the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduce water stains and increase resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297]. Useful copolymers include those having a carboxyl group such as (meth) acrylic acid / methyl (meth) acrylate copolymer, (Meth) acrylate / benzyl (meth) acrylate copolymer, a (meth) acrylic acid / 2-hydroxyethyl (meth) acrylate / benzyl Polystyrene macromonomer copolymer, polystyrene macromonomer copolymer, (meth) acrylic acid / methyl (meth) acrylate / polymethyl (meth) acrylate macromonomer copolymer, (meth) acrylic acid / benzyl (meth) acrylate / polystyrene macromonomer copolymer, (Meth) acrylic acid / 2-hydroxyethyl (meth) acrylate / polymethyl (meth) acrylate macromonomer copolymer, Benzyl (meth) acrylate / polystyrene macromonomer copolymer, methacrylic acid / 2-hydroxyethyl (meth) acrylate / benzyl (meth) acrylate / polymethyl (meth) acrylate macromonomer copolymer, Acrylic acid / styrene / benzyl (meth) acrylate / N-phenylmaleimide copolymer, (meth) acrylic acid / succinic acid mono (2-acryloyloxy) (Meth) acrylic acid / benzyl (meth) acrylate / N (meth) acrylate / N-phenylmaleimide copolymer and a copolymer of (meth) acrylic acid / succinic acid mono (2-acryloyloxyethyl) - phenylmaleimide / styrene / glycerol mono (meth) acrylate copolymer. Of these, (meth) acrylic acid / benzyl (meth) acrylate copolymer, (meth) acrylic acid / benzyl (meth) acrylate / styrene copolymer, (meth) acrylic acid / methyl / Methyl (meth) acrylate / styrene copolymer can be preferably used. [0124-0154, particularly 0147-0148]. Useful pigments includes metal oxides and metal complex salts can be used. Specific examples of the inorganic pigments include iron, cobalt, aluminum, cadmium, lead, copper, titanium, magnesium, chromium, zinc, antimony, A black pigment, a titanium black, and an oxide of a metal such as a pigment that mixes red, green, and blue to give a black color, or a composite metal oxide [0089]. In addition, the colored photosensitive resin composition containing the thiol-based acrylate photopolymerizable compound according to the present invention is excellent in sensitivity and adhesion, has a high degree of surface hardening, exhibits excellent solvent resistance even under light exposure and development under low light exposure conditions , It can be effectively used for photocurable ink, photosensitive printing plate, various photoresist, color filter photoresist for LCD, photoresist for resin black matrix or transparent photoresist because it shows no effect of surface defects [0230]. The thiol-based acrylate photopolymerizable compound represented by Formula 1 may be contained in an amount of 10 to 30 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the total solid content of the colored photosensitive resin composition [0057].
Kato et al. CN 105739241 does not exemplify or teach the addition of a thiol containing acrylate.
With respect to claims 1-5, and 7, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of resist 1-6 or 2-6 of Kato et al. CN 105739241 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition with a reasonable expectation of increasing the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduce water stains and increase resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943. The position of the examiner is that the jer828 epoxy resin meets the limitations of claims 3-5.
With respect to claims 1-5, and 7-10, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of resist 1-6 or 2-6 of Kato et al. CN 105739241 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition and applying the composition to the substrate as in the examples with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful solder resist having increased the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduced water stains and increased resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
With respect to claims 1-10 and 13, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of resist 1-6 or 2-6 of Kato et al. CN 105739241 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition and diluting the composition with a coating solvent so that the amount of the thiol acrylate is present in ~4.52 wt% of the total composition (including the solvent) as in some of the cited examples of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 and applying the composition to the substrate as in the examples with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful solder resist having increased the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduced water stains and increased resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
With respect to claims 1-11 and 13, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of resist 1-6 or 2-6 of Kato et al. CN 105739241 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition with sufficient solvent so the thiol acrylate is present in ~4.52 wt% of the total weight of the composition as in some of the examples of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943, applying the composition to a carrier substrate, drying the resist and applying a peelable protective layer as taught at [0111-0115] of Kato et al. CN 105739241 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful dry solder resist having increased the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduced water stains and increased resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
With respect to claims 1-13, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of resist 1-6 or 2-6 of Kato et al. CN 105739241 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition with sufficient solvent so the thiol acrylate is present in ~4.52 wt% of the total weight of the composition as in some of the examples of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943, applying the composition to a carrier substrate, drying the resist and applying a peelable protective layer, then peeling the protective layer, laminating the resist to the final substrate, peeling the carrier substrate, exposing and developing the resist as taught at [0111-0115] of Kato et al. CN 105739241with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful dry solder resist pattern, where the resist had increased the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduced water stains and increased resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimayama et al. JP 2018036574, in view of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
Shimayama et al. JP 2018036574 (machine translation attached) teaches the synthesis of resin 1, which is a methacrylic acid/e-caprolactone modified methacrylic acid/methyl methacrylate/ copolymer [0095]. Resin 2 is a polymer of cyclomer P [0096]. Resins 3 and 4 are cresol novolak resins [0097-0098]. Resin 5 is a bisphenol A epoxy resin [0099]. Resin 6 is a methyl methacrylate/n-butyl acrylate/methacrylate acid/styrene copolymer [0100]. Composition 4 uses 154 parts resin 1, 60 parts resin 6, 25 parts dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate, 30 parts jer828 (thermosetting epoxy resin), 10 parts irgacure 819, 150 parts B-30 (Barium Sulfate , inorganic filler), 1 part Irganox, 1.00 parts dicyanamide, 3.0 parts melamine, 3 parts KS-66 [0102]. A substrate having a circuit pattern with a copper thickness of 35 μm was polished with buffalo, washed with water and dried. On this substrate, each composition of Examples 1 to 14 and Comparative Examples 1 to 5 was applied on the entire surface by screen printing, dried in a hot air circulation drying oven at 80 ° C. for 30 minutes, and allowed to cool to room temperature. . The obtained dried coating film was exposed at an optimum exposure amount using an exposure apparatus equipped with a metal halide lamp (HMW-680-GW20 manufactured by Oak Manufacturing Co., Ltd.), and a 1 mass% Na .sub.2 CO .sub.3 aqueous solution at 30 ° C. was used. Then, development was performed for 60 seconds under the condition of a spray pressure of 0.2 MPa to obtain a patterned cured coating film. This base material was heated at 150 ° C. for 60 minutes and thermally cured (post-cure). Here, the optimum exposure amount was obtained by exposing the dried coating film obtained above through a step tablet having a sensitivity of 21 using an exposure apparatus equipped with a metal halide lamp, and 1 mass% Na .sub.2 CO .sub.3 at 30 ° C. The amount of exposure was such that the pattern of the step tablet remaining when developing for 60 seconds under the condition of a spray pressure of 0.2 MPa using an aqueous solution was 6 steps. The characteristics of the evaluation substrate thus obtained were evaluated [0108]. The composition can be coated upon a carrier film, such as a plastic film, dried and the top surface protected with a peelable cover layer. When applied to the substrate as a dry film, the cover layer is peeled, the composition contacted with the substrate and laminated using a laminator and then the carrier film is removed [0081-0085]. The curable resin composition of the present invention contains (E) a filler. The filler is used to increase the physical strength of the resulting cured product. Examples of the filler include silica, crystalline silica, Neuburg silica, aluminum hydroxide, glass powder, talc, clay, magnesium carbonate, calcium carbonate, natural mica, synthetic mica, aluminum hydroxide, barium sulfate, and barium titanate. And inorganic pigments such as iron oxide, titanium oxide, non-fibrous glass, hydrotalcite, mineral wool, aluminum silicate, calcium silicate, and zinc white. Of these, barium sulfate, titanium oxide, and silica are preferable. The filler may be surface-treated or not surface-treated, but is preferably surface-treated. If the surface-treated filler is used, it is considered that contamination of the developer in the development process can be further prevented. These fillers may be used individually by 1 type, and may be used in combination of 2 or more type. The titanium oxide which is a white filler preferably has a sulfur concentration of 100 ppm or less, and more preferably 50 ppm or less. Further, a commercially available titanium oxide having a sulfur concentration of 100 ppm or less may be used, and by subjecting a commercially available titanium oxide having a sulfur concentration exceeding 100 ppm to a heat treatment, a chemical treatment, or a purification treatment such as washing and firing, You may mix | blend by reducing sulfur concentration. Here, sulfur contained in titanium oxide refers to all sulfur detected by analysis, and includes sulfur adsorbed on titanium oxide and sulfur contained as an impurity in titanium oxide [0063-0073]. When (A) carboxyl group-containing resin which does not have an aromatic ring in the examples (14) to (16) and the examples (1) is used, it is excellent in touch dryness and prevention of discoloration [0043]. Examples of the base material include printed wiring boards and flexible printed wiring boards that have been previously formed with copper or the like, paper phenol, paper epoxy, glass cloth epoxy, glass polyimide, glass cloth / non-woven cloth epoxy, glass cloth / paper epoxy. It is made of materials such as copper-clad laminates for high-frequency circuits using synthetic fiber epoxy, fluororesin, polyethylene, polyphenylene ether, polyphenylene oxide, cyanate, etc., and copper-clad laminates of all grades (FR-4 etc.) Examples thereof include a plate, a metal substrate, a polyimide film, a PET film, a polyethylene naphthalate (PEN) film, a glass substrate, a ceramic substrate, and a wafer plate [0089]
Shimayama et al. JP 2018036574 does not exemplify or teach the addition of a thiol containing acrylate.
With respect to claims 1-5, and 7, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of resin 6 of Shimayama et al. JP 2018036574 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition with a reasonable expectation of increasing the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduce water stains and increase resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943. The position of the examiner is that the jer828 epoxy resin meets the limitations of claims 3-5.
With respect to claims 1-5, and 7-10, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of resin 6 of Shimayama et al. JP 2018036574 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition and applying the composition to the substrate as in the examples with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful solder resist having increased the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduced water stains and increased resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
With respect to claims 1-10 and 13, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of resin 6 of Shimayama et al. JP 2018036574 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition and diluting the composition with a coating solvent so that the amount of the thiol acrylate is present in ~4.52 wt% of the total composition (including the solvent) as in some of the cited examples of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 and applying the composition to the substrate as in the examples with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful solder resist having increased the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduced water stains and increased resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
With respect to claims 1-11 and 13, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of resin 6 of Shimayama et al. JP 2018036574 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition with sufficient solvent so the thiol acrylate is present in ~4.52 wt% of the total weight of the composition as in some of the examples of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943, applying the composition to a carrier substrate, drying the resist and applying a peelable protective layer as taught at [0081-0085] of Shimayama et al. JP 2018036574 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful dry solder resist having increased the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduced water stains and increased resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
With respect to claims 1-13, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of resin 6 of Shimayama et al. JP 2018036574 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition with sufficient solvent so the thiol acrylate is present in ~4.52 wt% of the total weight of the composition as in some of the examples of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943, applying the composition to a carrier substrate, drying the resist and applying a peelable protective layer, then peeling the protective layer, laminating the resist to the final substrate, peeling the carrier substrate, exposing and developing the resist as taught at [0081-0085] of Shimayama et al. JP 2018036574 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful dry solder resist pattern, where the resist had increased the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduced water stains and increased resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
Claims 1,2 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. JP 2015193786, in view of Yoon et al. KR 2018005794.
Kato et al. JP 2015193786 (machine translation attached) teaches the synthesis of varnish B, which is a methyl methacrylate/n-butyl acrylate/methacrylate acid/styrene copolymer [0086]. The synthesis of varnish E, which is a methacrylic acid/e-caprolactone modified methacrylic acid/methyl methacrylate//cyclomer A200 copolymer [0094]. Examples 20-22 combine 30 parts of varnish B, 190 parts varnish E, 19 parts irgacure 819 (photoinitiator), 8 parts diethyleneglycol monomethylether acetate, 11-27 parts triglycidyl isocyanurate TEPIC-HP, 20 parts titanium dioxide particles, 1.5 parts irganox (antioxidant), 40 parts dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate, 0.5 parts dicyanamide, 3 parts melamine, 3 parts KS-66 (defoamer). The use of barium Sulfate as colorant D-3 is disclosed (table 3, [0103,0105].
Composition 18 is similar to composition 20, but only includes resin E, rather than resins B and E and exhibits poorer stability (larger increase in viscosity 10% vs 8%), more residue after development, reduced line width reproducibility (table 3, page 22), example 7 is similar to example 20, but uses only resin B and exhibits poorer stability (9% vs 8% increase in viscosity) and more residue (table 1, page 19)
The compositions are coated on a substrate, dried, exposed and developed and post cured. The color difference is measured [0102]. The composition can be coated upon a carrier film, such as a plastic film, dried and the top surface protected with a peelable cover layer. When applied to the substrate as a dry film, the cover layer is peeled, the composition contacted with the substrate and laminated using a laminator and then the carrier film is removed [0072-0075]. The use of carboxyl group containing resins without aromatic rings is known in the art to be less prone to discoloration, but do not meet the performance requirements [0006]. Useful fillers are disclosed [0044]. Examples of the base material include printed wiring boards and flexible printed wiring boards that have been previously formed with copper or the like, paper phenol, paper epoxy, glass cloth epoxy, glass polyimide, glass cloth / non-woven cloth epoxy, glass cloth / paper epoxy. , Copper-clad laminates of all grades (FR-4 etc.) using materials such as synthetic fiber epoxy, copper-clad laminates for high-frequency circuits using fluorine, polyethylene, polyphenylene ether, polyphenylene oxide, cyanate, etc. Other examples include polyimide film, PET film, glass substrate, ceramic substrate, and wafer plate [0076].
Kato et al. JP 2015193786 does not exemplify or teach the addition of a thiol containing acrylate.
With respect to claims 1,2 and 7, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of examples 20-22 of Kato et al. JP 2015193786 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition with a reasonable expectation of increasing the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduce water stains and increase resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943. The position of the examiner is that the jer828 epoxy resin meets the limitations of claims 3-5.
With respect to claims 1,2, and 7-10, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of examples 20-22 of Kato et al. JP 2015193786 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition and applying the composition to the substrate as in the examples with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful solder resist having increased the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduced water stains and increased resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
With respect to claims 1,2 and 7-10, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of examples 20-22 of Kato et al. JP 2015193786 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition and diluting the composition with a coating solvent so that the amount of the thiol acrylate is present in ~4.52 wt% of the total composition (including the solvent) as in some of the cited examples of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 and applying the composition to the substrate as in the examples with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful solder resist having increased the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduced water stains and increased resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
With respect to claims 1,2, and 7-11, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of examples 20-22 of Kato et al. JP 2015193786 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition with sufficient solvent so the thiol acrylate is present in ~4.52 wt% of the total weight of the composition as in some of the examples of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943, applying the composition to a carrier substrate, drying the resist and applying a peelable protective layer as taught at [0081-0085] of Kato et al. JP 2015193786 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful dry solder resist having increased the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduced water stains and increased resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
With respect to claims 1,2, and 7-12, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition of examples of 20-22 of Kato et al. JP 2015193786 by replacing a portion of the dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate with 10-30 wt% of the thiol acrylates of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943 based upon the solid weight of the composition with sufficient solvent so the thiol acrylate is present in ~4.52 wt% of the total weight of the composition as in some of the examples of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943, applying the composition to a carrier substrate, drying the resist and applying a peelable protective layer, then peeling the protective layer, laminating the resist to the final substrate, peeling the carrier substrate, exposing and developing the resist as taught at [0081-0085] of Kato et al. JP 2015193786 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful dry solder resist pattern, where the resist had increased the sensitivity, adhesion to the substrate, reduced water stains and increased resistance to dissolution in NMP [0265-0297] of Yoon et al. KR 20180057943
Claims 1,3-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. KR 2018005794, in view of Yobiyashi et al. JP 2017126044, Nitta et al. JP 2010243599, Maeno et al. JP 2010085768 and Kazama et al. JP 10123311
Yobiyashi et al. JP 2017126044 (machine translation attached) teaches that when ArF lasers are used for the exposure of photosensitive materials used in forming color filters, aromatic moieties can be used in amounts of 0-5 mol% as more than this reduces transparency [0143]
Nitta et al. JP 2010243599 (machine translation attached) teaches that aromatic ring containing polymers cause yellowing and it is preferred that the alkali soluble resin does not contain an aromatic ring [0005,0063].
Maeno et al. JP 2010085768 (machine translation attached) teaches that the (meth) acrylic copolymer may further contain a structural unit having an aromatic carbocyclic ring or an alicyclic structure. The aromatic carbocycle functions as a component that imparts coating properties to the curable resin composition, and the alicyclic structure functions as a component that imparts transparency and heat resistance of the cured film [0028]
Kazama et al. JP 10123311 (machine translation attached) teaches color filter compositions having aliphatic polycyclic skeletons (abstract). The use of alkali soluble resins with aromatic groups/skeletons requires further improvements in transparency [0003]. One of the means for improving the transparency of the color ink is a method for improving the transparency of the alkali-soluble copolymer resin as the base resin. Examples of the alkali-soluble copolymer resin having high transparency include the alkali-soluble copolymer resin having an aliphatic polycyclic skeleton shown in the above-mentioned highly transparent protective film material. Aliphatic compounds not only have high transparency in the visible light region, but also have high transparency in the ultraviolet light region, and can be expected to improve ink sensitivity by effectively utilizing the absorption wavelength of the photopolymerization initiator. Therefore, by using an alkali-soluble copolymer resin having an aliphatic polycyclic skeleton, the transparency and sensitivity of a color ink can be improved [0013].
Yoon et al. KR 2018005794 does not exemplify a composition which has both a resin containing an aromatic groups and a resin not containing an aromatic ring.
With respect to claims 1,3-7 and 13, it would have been obvious to modify the inventive examples of Yoon et al. KR 2018005794 by replacing 95- almost 100% of the alkali binder used with an alkali soluble binder not including an aromatic groups as taught by Yobiyashi et al. JP 2017126044 to improve transparency and resistance to yellowing as taught in Yobiyashi et al. JP 2017126044, Nitta et al. JP 2010243599, Maeno et al. JP 2010085768 and Kazama et al. JP 10123311, while preserving the coatability attributed to the presence of an aromatic group in Maeno et al. JP 2010085768 at [0028]. The pigments are considered inorganic filler within the scope of the coverage sought, noting the use of these compositions a resist is disclosed in Yoon et al. KR 2018005794 at [0230].
With respect to claims 1,3-9 and 13, it would have been obvious to modify the inventive examples of Yoon et al. KR 2018005794 by replacing 95- almost 100% of the alkali binder used with an alkali soluble binder not including an aromatic groups as taught by Yobiyashi et al. JP 2017126044 to improve transparency and resistance to yellowing as taught in Yobiyashi et al. JP 2017126044, Nitta et al. JP 2010243599, Maeno et al. JP 2010085768 and Kazama et al. JP 10123311, while preserving the coatability attributed to the presence of an aromatic group in Maeno et al. JP 2010085768 at [0028] and coat the resulting color filter/ resist composition on a substrate as taught in the examples.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nakashima et al. CN 106716251 (machine translation attached) teaches the embodiment of example 12 (table at [0268])
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 January 5, 2026