DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 29-30, 39 and 41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 2/09/2026.
In response to applicant’s arguments regarding lack of unity, the examiner notes that the lack of unity was done properly and with a two step analysis as argued by applicant on page 10 paragraph 1 of applicant’s response. As per MPEP 1850, part 2: An international application should relate to only one invention or, if there is more than one invention, the inclusion of those inventions in one international application is only permitted if all inventions are so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (PCT Rule 13.1 ). With respect to a group of inventions claimed in an international application, unity of invention exists only when there is a technical relationship among the claimed inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. There is no requirement to compare pairs of independent claims for a lack of unity requirement as presented by applicant. Rather, as previously set forth in the lack of unity requirement, all independent claims presented on 6/16/2023 share a technical feature and further as the examiner previously noted this shared technical feature is not special as the prior art of Foote discloses the shared technical feature.
Foote (US 2014/0261427 A1)
Foote discloses an actuator [0093] configured to assume selectively a closed state and an open state, wherein a respiratory flow resistance of the open state is reduced compared to a respiratory flow resistance of the closed state [0098], and sending, or initiating the sending of a control signal to the actuator of the protective mask for assuming selectively the closed state and the open state depending on the at least one information signal [0099] [0106]-[0107] [0120]-[0123].
Therefore the lack of unity requirement is maintained.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the locking mechanism of claim 24 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “locking mechanism” in claim 24.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 5 should read “a result” rather than “the result”.
Claim 6, line 7 should read “a result” rather than “the result”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 7-16 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the local requirement” in line 3. This limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 7-16 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 3.
Claim 6 recites “the local requirement” in line 3. This limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 6 recites “the positive local requirement” in line 9. This limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 8 recites “the positive local requirement” in line 3. This limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9 recites “the positive local requirement” in line 2. This limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9 recites “the negative local requirement” in line 8. This limitation lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 11, it is unclear how the exclusion list of premises relates to the sent control signal.
Claim 12 as a whole needs to be re-written, as it is unclear. “responsive to the identifier which the send control signal controls the actuator” is unclear and the examiner is unsure how this links to the previously recited restriction list of radio devices. Similarly, the clause explaining a restriction list of premises is unclear and should be reworded.
Claim 15 is unclear as it states the at least one information signal is excluded from the assessing when the distance is greater than the predefined threshold. However, the assessing comprises determining whether or not the distance is less than a predefined threshold (see claim 13). Further, the assessing step as per claim 3 is “assessing the received at least one information signal in relation to the local requirement”. Therefore, it is unclear how it can be excluded when the assessing step includes both determining distance and respiratory protection.
Claim 24 recites “the local requirement” in line 3. This limitation lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 24 recites limitation “locking mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Page 26 of applicant’s disclosure simply states there is a locking mechanism but there is no discussion of the corresponding structure, material or acts for performing the claimed function of locking. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foote (US 2014/0261427 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Foote discloses an actuator [0093] configured to assume selectively a closed state and an open state, wherein a respiratory flow resistance of the open state is reduced compared to a respiratory flow resistance of the closed state [0098], and sending, or initiating the sending of a control signal to the actuator of the protective mask for assuming selectively the closed state and the open state depending on the at least one information signal [0099] [0106]-[0107] [0120]-[0123].
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee: This Robotic Face Mask Can Automatically Open and Close if There are People Around, hereinafter Lee (provided by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses: A method of controlling an actuator of a protective mask configured to assume selectively a closed state for respiratory protection and an open state (page 2, paragraph beginning with “However”), wherein a respiratory flow resistance of the open state is reduced compared to a respiratory flow resistance of the closed state (page 2, paragraph beginning with “However”, the preceding paragraph also provides context for breathing resistance), the method comprising: receiving at least one information signal indicative of an environment of the protective mask (senses people are around as per page 2, paragraph beginning with “However”); and sending, or initiating the sending of, a control signal to the actuator of the protective mask for assuming selectively the closed state and the open state depending on the at least one information signal (page 2, paragraph beginning with “However”; opens and closes automatically and therefore there must be a control signal and an actuator as claimed).
Regarding claim 3, Lee further discloses: wherein the method further comprises assessing (via sensors) the received at least one information signal in relation to the local requirement (interpreted as the number of people) for the respiratory protection, wherein and the sent control signal controls the actuator to assume selectively the open state and the closed state depending on the result of the assessing (page 2, paragraph beginning with “However”).
Regarding claim 7, Lee further discloses: wherein the at least one information signal is indicative of one or more persons (page 2, paragraph beginning with “However”), and/or the at least one information signal is indicative of one or more portable radio devices in the environment of the protective mask (the phrase after and/or could be interpreted as unnecessary due to the “or” and has been interpreted as such).
Regarding claim 8, Lee further discloses: wherein the assessing comprises determining whether or not the received at least one information signal implies the positive local requirement for the respiratory protection in the environment based on a number or density of at least one of the one or more persons persons (page 2, paragraph beginning with “However”) and the one or more portable radio devices in the environment of the protective mask.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9-16, 19 and 24 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: KR 20210148526
/VICTORIA MURPHY/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785