DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/01/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasagawa et al. (JP 2009283919 A, Machine Translation).
As to claim 1, Sasagawa discloses a method of processing a substrate [Fig. 7A-C, “Embodiment 2”], the method comprising:
a substrate loading operation of loading a substrate into a treating space of a chamber [Fig. 4];
a film removal operation of removing a film 112 provided on the substrate [Fig. 7A-C, “Embodiment 2”];
a protective film formation operation of forming a protective film 116 containing oxygen on the substrate [Fig. 7A-7C, “Embodiment 2”]; and
a substrate unloading operation of unloading the substrate from the treating space [Fig. 4].
As to claim 5, Sasagawa discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the film removal operation is performed by transferring plasma to the film [Fig. 7A-C, “Embodiment 2”].
As to claim 7, Sasagawa discloses the method of claim 5, wherein in the film removal operation, water, hydrogen, and inert gas are supplied to the treating space, and in the protective film formation operation, water, hydrogen, and inert gas are supplied to the treating space [Fig. 7A-C, “Embodiment 2”].
Here, the downflow type ICP plasma processing apparatus [Fig. 4], of Sasagawa would more likely than not include an inert gas, such as argon, in order to improve plasma ignition, stabilize discharge, and maintain uniform flow. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would immediately envisage including a carrier gas, e.g., an inert gas such as argon, as it is common practice in plasma processing to include a carrier gas in order to improve plasma ignition, stabilize discharge, and maintain uniform flow.
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singhal et al. (US 20180005801 A1).
As to claim 1, Singhal discloses a method of processing a substrate [Abstract], the method comprising:
a substrate loading operation of loading a substrate into a treating space of a chamber [Fig. 10, step 1005];
a film removal operation of removing a film provided on the substrate [Fig. 10, step 1015; para. 0086-87];
a protective film formation operation of forming a protective film containing oxygen on the substrate [Fig. 10, step 1010 and step 1020; para. 0085, “first dielectric layer can be a dielectric oxide, such as silicon dioxide (SiO2)”; para. 0088, “second dielectric layer can be a dielectric oxide, such as SiO2” ]; and
a substrate unloading operation of unloading the substrate from the treating space [para. 0089-90; Fig. 4A-4B].
As to claim 2, Singhal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the protective film formation operation is performed after the film removal operation [Fig. 10, step 1020; para. 0088].
As to claim 3, Singhal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the protective film formation operation is performed before the film removal operation. [Fig. 10, step 1010; para. 0085].
As to claim 5, Singhal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the film removal operation is performed by transferring plasma to the film [para. 0086-87].
As to claim 6, Singhal discloses the method of claim 5, wherein in the film removal operation [Fig. 4B], a gap between a chuck supporting the substrate and a baffle disposed above the substrate is a first gap [Fig. 4B; para. 0051], and a pressure in the treating space is maintained at a first pressure [para. 0088; Table I],
in the protective film formation operation [Fig. 4A], a gap between the chuck and the baffle is a second gap greater than the first gap [Fig. 4B; para. 0051], and a pressure in the treating space is maintained at a second pressure less than the first pressure [para. 0088; Table I], any one of the chuck and the baffle is connected with a power unit that generates an electric field in the treating space, and the other of the chuck and the baffle is grounded [para. 0088; Table I].
Here, Singhal teaches specific pressure examples of the etching process in Table I (e.g., 1.0 Torr), and broadly states the pressure range from the deposition processes is 0.3 Torr to 1 Torr [para. 0088], the broad proportion (i.e., all except 1.0 Torr) of which is less than the first pressure ,and therefore provides sufficient specificity to anticipate the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (KR 100927410 B1, Machine Translation), in view of Fujinaga (JP 6184760 B2, Machine Translation).
As to claim 1, Cho discloses a method of processing a substrate, the method comprising:
a film removal operation of removing a film 310A/310B provided on the substrate [Fig. 3a-3b];
a protective film formation operation of forming a protective film 340 containing oxygen on the substrate [Fig. 3c].
Cho fails to explicitly disclose:
a substrate loading operation of loading a substrate into a treating space of a chamber;
a substrate unloading operation of unloading the substrate from the treating space.
However, Fujinaga teaches a method of treating a substrate in a plasma etching apparatus [pg. 2, “Background”], including:
a substrate loading operation of loading a substrate into a treating space of a chamber [“Preparation process”];
a substrate unloading operation of unloading the substrate from the treating space [“End process”].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of plasma etching a substrate, of Cho, to include the steps of loading and unloading a wafer within a plasma etching apparatus, of Fujinaga, in order to control the temperature of the substrate during plasma etching and deposition processes, as taught by Fujinaga [pg. 2, “Background”].
As to claim 2, modified Cho discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the protective film 340 formation operation is performed after the film removal operation 310A/310B [Fig. 3a-3b].
As to claim 4, modified Cho discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
a liquid treatment operation of supplying a chemical solution to the substrate and removing impurities remaining on the substrate or the protective film after the substrate unloading operation [Cho, pg. 5, para. 7, “hydroxyl amine base”].
As to claim 5, modified Cho discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the film removal operation is performed by transferring plasma to the film [Cho, pg. 4, para. 4-10].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the additionally cited references are cited to show methods and apparatus for depositing and/or etching semiconductor layers through plasma exposure [Abstract].
/CHRISTOPHER REMAVEGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1713