DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 9/6/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 1, 3, 7, 9-10, 30. 32-33 and 35 have been amended, claims 8, 11-29, 31 and 34 have been canceled, and no new claims have been added. Thus, claims 1-7, 9-10, 30, 32-33 and 35 are presently pending in the application. Claims 30, 32-33 and 35 remain withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 510 in fig. 12. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Paragraph 52 recites “FIG. 5” suggested to be changed to --FIG. 6-- for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a control unit…for” in claim 1 (corresponding structure is at least a processor [0063]).
“an actuator support element” in claim 1 (corresponding structure is 58 in fig. 8A).
“a pivot connection element” in claim 1 (corresponding structure is 55 in fig. 8A).
“a tension mechanism” in claim 7 (corresponding structure is Bowden cable tensioner [0046])
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “at least thigh” in line 8, suggested to be changed to --at least one thigh-- since it appears that the word “one” is inadvertently missing.
Claim 1 recites “a user” on page 5, line 13, suggested to be changed to --the user-- in order to refer back to the user recited earlier in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 limitation “a power unit,” claim 5 limitation “length adjustment mechanism,” and claim 6 limitations “slider mechanism” and “screw mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 2 recites “two thigh support elements, two shank support elements, two hip joint actuators, two knee joint actuators and two feet sensors” however it is unclear if these structures include the corresponding structures in claim 1, for example “at least one thigh support element.”
Claim 3, line 2 recites “at least one of a shank support element” suggested to be changed to --at least one shank support element of the two shank support elements-- for clarity.
Claim 9 is dependent on canceled claim 8. For examination purposes claim 9 will depend from claim 1.
Claim 9 recites “the actuator support element is configured to removably support the knee actuator the one of the knee actuator and the hip actuator” however the phrasing in this claim is unclear. As best understood and for examination purposes claim 9 is interpreted to say -- the actuator support element is configured to removably support one of the knee actuator and the hip actuator.
Any remaining claims are rejected due to being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1 recites “wherein the at least one knee joint actuator and the at least one hip joint actuator transfer musculoskeletal stress from joints to body segments of lower extremities of a user, and therefore improve stability of the joints and a range of motion of the body segments, by generating or dissipating biomechanical energy under directions of the control unit according to a computed level of energy corresponding to a musculoskeletal stress reduction at the joints of the lower extremities of the user necessary to compensate movements of the user, the generated or dissipated biomechanical energy being redistributed onto the lower trunk, the thigh and the shank of the user via the pelvic support belt, the at least one thigh support element and the at least one shank support element, respectively” at the end of the claim suggested to be changed to --wherein the at least one knee joint actuator and the at least one hip joint actuator are configured to transfer musculoskeletal stress from joints to body segments of lower extremities of a user, and therefore are configured to improve stability of the joints and a range of motion of the body segments, by generating or dissipating biomechanical energy under directions of the control unit according to a computed level of energy corresponding to a musculoskeletal stress reduction at the joints of the lower extremities of the user necessary to compensate movements of the user, the generated or dissipated biomechanical energy configured to be [[being]] redistributed onto the lower trunk, the thigh and the shank of the user via the pelvic support belt, the at least one thigh support element and the at least one shank support element, respectively-- in order to avoid positively claiming the user.
Claim 3 recites “the knee pivot aligned with a center of rotation of a knee joint of the user and the pelvic support belt via the hip pivot aligned with a center of rotation of a hip joint of the user, and wherein at least one of the knee joint actuators and the hip joint actuators are located remotely from the center of rotation of an associated joint of the user, the at least one of the knee joint actuators and the hip joint actuators transmitting rotational motion to an associated joint of the user via an extension Bowden cable and a flexion Bowden cable” is suggested to be changed to --the knee pivot configured to be aligned with a center of rotation of a knee joint of the user and the pelvic support belt via the hip pivot configured to be aligned with a center of rotation of a hip joint of the user, and wherein at least one of the knee joint actuators and the hip joint actuators are configured to be located remotely from the center of rotation of an associated joint of the user, the at least one of the knee joint actuators and the hip joint actuators configured to transmit [[transmitting]] rotational motion to an associated joint of the user via an extension Bowden cable and a flexion Bowden cable-- to avoid positively claiming the user.
Claim 4, line 2 recites “are located” with --are configured to be located-- in order to avoid claiming the user.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ortlieb et al. (US2019254908A1), in view of Soucy et al. (US2019336385A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ortlieb discloses a lower limb exoskeleton (abs.), comprising: a pelvic support belt configured to be positioned about a lower trunk of the user (para. 119, Structure comprises an upper support physical interface 101, such as a brace, with adjustable attachment means 101 (for example, Velcro bands or equivalent mean, such as belts), Fig. 1A, support physical interface 100 and attachment means 101); at least one thigh support element including two or more contact areas configured to be positioned in an agonist-antagonist configuration on a posterior part and an anterior part of a thigh of the user (Para. 78, a body shaped soft interface between the exoskeleton and the wearer is placed along the thigh of the user, para. 128, leg segment 310 may link pivot element 300 and second pivot element 400. Physical interface with thigh may be fastened to 310 and may be a brace in a soft tissue which can be strapped around thigh, strap has two or more contact areas and acts in an agonist-antagonist configuration with interface), the at least one thigh support element being rotationally connected to the pelvic support belt (Fig. 2B, First pivot element 300 between leg segment 310 and support physical interface 100); at least one hip joint actuator providing rotational motion of the at least thigh support element with respect to the pelvic support belt (para. 127, element 240 corresponds to the actuation unit of first pivot element 300, Fig. 2B, element 240); at least one shank support element configured to be positioned on a shank of the user (para. 78, a body shaped soft interface between the exoskeleton and the wearer placed under the knee, para. 121, second leg segment 410 links second pivot element 400 with foot element 500 may include a physical interface with lower leg. This interface maybe be semi rigid and made of soft tissue in contact with the body. It can be placed a little under the knee, the tibia, for example), the at least one shank support element being rotationally connected to the at least one thigh support element (Fig. 2B, Second pivot element 400 between leg segment 310 and leg segment 410); at least one knee joint actuator providing rotational motion of the at least one shank support element with respect to the at least one thigh support element (para. 127, element 320 corresponds to the actuation unit of second pivot element 400, Fig. 2B, element 320); a plurality of sensors positioned on the pelvic support belt, the at least one thigh support element, the hip joint actuator and the knee joint actuator, and at least one foot sensor configured to be positioned on a foot of the user, the plurality of sensors providing mechanical and biomechanical signals (para. 123, First pivot joint 200, first pivot element 300 and 400 may include absolute angular sensors such as potentiometers to allow a simple initialization of the device and a redundancy in the position sensing. Multiple sensors such as inertial measurement units and force sensors may be integrated within the physical interface elements 100 and/or 500, or at the connection point between the interfaces and the rest of the structure. These sensors may be used to detect the intention of the user, measure the reaction forces with the ground, measure the orientation of the device and the slope of the ground, etc. for example. Such sensors allow to control in closed loop the strength support provided by the device to the user); a control unit operatively connected to the plurality of sensors and at least one foot sensor for receiving the mechanical and biomechanical signals (para. 123, box element 120 is the box protecting the electronics of the device: for example, a motherboard equipped with a wireless communication system and several motor boards to drive the motors, para. 104, The electronics includes three motor boards (drives) for the low level control of the six actuators and a Beagle Bone Black CPU board manages the high level controller), the control unit having stored thereon executable instructions for processing and analyzing the mechanical and biomechanical signals and generating motions set-points of movements of the user (para. 123, First pivot joint 200, first pivot element 300 and 400 may include absolute angular sensors such as potentiometers to allow a simple initialization of the device and a redundancy in the position sensing. Multiple sensors such as inertial measurement units and force sensors may be integrated within the physical interface elements 100 and/or 500, or at the connection point between the interfaces and the rest of the structure. These sensors may be used to detect the intention of the user, measure the reaction forces with the ground, measure the orientation of the device and the slope of the ground, etc. for example. Such sensors allow to control in closed loop the strength support provided by the device to the user, para. 123, box element 120 is the box protecting the electronics of the device: for example, a motherboard equipped with a wireless communication system and several motor boards to drive the motors, para. 104, The electronics includes three motor boards (drives) for the low level control of the six actuators and a Beagle Bone Black CPU board manages the high level controller); and a power unit operatively connected to the at least one knee joint actuator, the at least one hip joint actuator and the control unit (para. 124, Pack element 230 shows battery packs to power the device as source of electrical energy); a support mechanism 220 including a support structural link (housing of 220, fig. 2B) having at a first extremity an actuator support element configured to support one of the knee joint actuator and the hip joint actuator (pulley 242 is an actuator support element configured to support the hip joint actuator [0127-0128]), and a second extremity having a pivot connection element for connecting a corresponding one of a knee pivot and a hip pivot (243 is a pivot connection element for connecting to a hip pivot [0130]), and wherein the at least one knee joint actuator and the at least one hip joint actuator transfer musculoskeletal stress from joints to body segments of lower extremities of a user, and therefore improve stability of the joints and a range of motion of the body segments (para. 127, actuation unit of first pivot element 300 and second pivot element 400 respectively and are detailed in FIGS. 4A to 4C. Motor units 241 and 321 corresponding to both pivot elements or joints 300 and 400 are fastened to first segment 210. A motor unit can comprise a motor, an angular sensor and a gear train all of them aligned on a single axis. A pulley with a helical groove such as elements 242 and 322 can be mounted on each motor unit axis which can be supported by ball bearings at each side of the pulley, para. 129, The actuation unit of second pivot element 400 is similar to the actuation unit of joint 300 but comprises one more stage. The first stage along hip segment 220 transmits the torque from pulley 322 to a double pulley 324 on joint 300 with a cable/rope. The second stage along first leg segment 310 transmits the torque from the double pulley 324 on joint 300 to a pulley 326 on joint 400. Under this
construction, joint 400 is coupled with joint 300 and the coupling ratio is dependent from the ratio of the radius of the pulley between pulleys 324 and 326. If a ratio of 1: 1 is taken between the radius of pulleys 324 and 326, the orientation of segment 410 is then decoupled from joint 300 based on the world coordinate frame), by generating or dissipating biomechanical energy under directions of the control unit according to a computed level of energy corresponding to a musculoskeletal stress reduction at the joints of the lower extremities of the user necessary to compensate movements of the user, the generated or dissipated biomechanical energy being redistributed onto the lower trunk, the thigh and the shank of the user via the pelvic support belt, the at least one thigh support element and the at least one shank support element, respectively (para. 123, box element 120 is the box protecting the electronics of the device: for example, another board equipped with a wireless communication system and several motor boards to drive the motors, para. 104, The electronics includes three motor boards (drives) for the low level control of the six actuators and a Beagle Bone Black CPU board manages the high level controller).
Ortlieb does not explicitly state it’s at least one shank support element including two or more contact areas configured to be positioned in an agonist-antagonist configuration on a posterior part and an anterior part of a shank of the user.
However, Soucy teaches a lower body exoskeleton to help with load management (para. 9), which includes shank support element including two or more contact areas configured to be positioned in an agonist-antagonist configuration on a posterior part and an anterior part of a shank of the user (para. 54, first shin part 32 comprises a first shin segment 321 designed to extend along a first calf (right calf) of the user and attachment straps 322 capable of surrounding the first calf of the user, to attach the shin segment 321 to the first calf, para. 61, The second shin part 42 comprises a second shin segment 421 designed to extend along a second calf (left calf) of the user and attachment straps 422 capable of surrounding the second calf of the user to attach the second shin segment 421 to the second calf, both shin parts utilize a strap acting in a antagonist configuration with the shin part to attach to user’s legs).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second leg segment of Ortlieb to include the strapping mechanism taught by Soucy in order to make the device more securely attach to the body of a user around the shin/shank area.
Regarding claim 2, the modified Ortlieb exoskeleton includes, two thigh support elements, two shank support elements, two hip joint actuators, two knee joint actuators and two feet sensors (Ortlieb, Fig. 1, leg segments 310, pivot elements 300, pivot elements 400, foot elements 500, para. 123, multiple sensors such as inertial measurement units and force sensors may be integrated within the physical interface element 500, or at the connection point between the interface and the rest of the structure).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Ortlieb discloses that the actuator support element is configured to removably support the knee actuator the one of the knee actuator and the hip actuator ([0060][0069] Ortlieb discloses removal of actuation units, which would remove the actuator support element from either the knee or hip actuator).
Claims 3-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ortlieb and Soucy, as applied to claim 2 above, in further view of Lerner et al. (2022/0000703). Regarding claim 3, the modified Ortlieb exoskeleton includes, wherein each of the thigh support elements is rotationally connected to at least one of a shank support element via a knee pivot aligned with a center of rotation of a knee joint of the user and the pelvic support belt via a hip pivot aligned with a center of rotation of a hip joint of the user (Ortlieb, Fig. 2B, Second pivot element 400 between leg segment 310 and leg segment 410. First pivot element 300 between leg segment 310 and support physical interface 100), and wherein at least one of the knee joint actuators and the hip joint actuators are located remotely from the center of rotation of an associated joint of the user, the at least one of the knee joint actuators and the hip joint actuators transmitting rotational motion to an associated joint of the user via an extension cable and a flexion cable (Ortlieb, para. 128, For the actuation of joint 300, a cable/rope, pass around pulley 242 and is anchored to both sides of a pulley 244 that can have two parallel grooves. Pulley 244 can then be fastened to the first leg segment 310 where both are mounted
on a bearing, para. 129, The actuation unit of second pivot element 400 is similar to the actuation unit of joint 300 but comprises one more stage. The first stage along hip segment 220 transmits the torque from pulley 322 to a double pulley 324 on joint 300 with a cable/rope. The second stage along first leg segment 310 transmits the torque from the double pulley 324 on joint 300 to a pulley 326 on joint 400. Under this construction, joint 400 is coupled with joint 300 and the coupling ratio is dependent from the ratio of the radius of the pulley between pulleys 324 and 326). The modified Ortlieb is silent regarding that the extension and flexion cables are Bowden cables. However, Lerner teaches flexion and extension Bowden cables [0054] in communication with pulleys and actuators [0065]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified Ortlieb’s cables with Bowden cables, as taught by Lerner, for the purpose of providing an alternate cable having the predictable results of providing extension and flexion.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Ortlieb exoskeleton includes, wherein each of the knee joint actuators and each of the hip actuators are located in a location selected from the group consisting of medially on a respective side portion of the pelvic support belt, on a lower back portion of the pelvic support belt, on a respective front portion of the thigh of the user, on a respective back portion of the thigh of the user and on a respective portion of the thigh support element between a hip joint of the user and a knee joint of the user (Ortlieb, Fig. 2B, pivot points 300 & 400 are both located medially. Meaning actuators both located medially on a respective side portion of the pelvic support belt).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Ortlieb exoskeleton includes, wherein the thigh support elements include a respective length adjustment mechanism (Ortlieb, para. 121, First leg segment 310 may be adjusted in length).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Ortlieb exoskeleton includes, wherein the length adjustment mechanism is selected from a group consisting of a slider mechanism and a screw mechanism (Ortlieb, para. 121, First leg segment 310 may be adjusted in length, para. 131, First assembly 700 includes a driving pulley 701 and a secondary pulley 702. second assembly 800 includes a driven pulley 801, a secondary pulley 803 and a tensioning pulley 802 that can slide along an axis and be locked to set the cable pre-load. Pulley 802 and 803 can be realized as one single pulley. Assembly 700 and 800 can slide relatively to each other to adjust the segment length, this along the same axis linking pulleys 701 to 801. As cable segment 901, between pulleys 702 and 803, and cable segment 902, between pulleys 701 and 801, are aligned with the axis of adjustability, the change of length of the segment will not affect the tension of the cable. This allows to adjust the length of segment 220 or 310 without changing the cables/rope length, meaning leg segment 310 is sliding along an axis).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Ortlieb exoskeleton includes, wherein the extension Bowden cable and the Bowden flexion cable each include a tension mechanism (Ortlieb, para. 130, The free pulleys 243/323 and 345 can be adjustable in position through a pushing screw in order to set the preload on cable/rope in segment 220 and 310, para. 131, second assembly 800 includes a tensioning pulley 802).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Ortlieb exoskeleton includes, wherein the Bowden extension cable and the Bowden flexion cable are formed by a single cable (Ortlieb, para. 131, The adjustability in length of the segment may be realized without replacing the cables using the following mechanism including a cable/rope 900, Fig. 5, single cable 900 system).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 14, filed 9/6/26, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under Ortlieb and Soucy have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Ortlieb and Soucy.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785