DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 8-13, in the reply filed on 06/19/2023 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,508,998 B2 (Suzuki) in view of US 11,679,267 B1 (Meskens).
Suzuki discloses, referring primarily to figures 1-6, an electronics layout for use in a battery pack including a housing (11, 13) and a plurality of battery cells (20), the electronics layout comprising: at least one printed circuit board (40) including electronics mounted thereon (col. 4, lines 20-45); and at least one thermally conductive wing (30b) coupled to and extending from the at least one printed circuit board, the at least one thermally conductive wing operable to spread heat generated by the electronics throughout the implantable battery pack (col. 7, line 45 – col. 8, line 20). Suzuki does not specifically state that the battery pack is an implantable battery pack [claim 8]. However, Suzuki teaches that the battery pack may be for mobile phones (col. 1, lines 15-25). Additionally, it is well known in the art that batteries for implantable medical devices and mobile phones may be interchangeably adapted for either purpose as evidenced by Meskens (col. 3, line 35 – col. 4, line 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use the battery pack in the invention of Suzuki in an implantable medical device as is known in the art and evidenced by Meskens. The motivation for doing so would have been to have a medical device with improved temperature detection (Suzuki col. 2, lines 10-20).
Additionally, the modified invention of Suzuki teaches, wherein the at least one printed circuit board comprises a first printed circuit board including power conversion electronics and battery charging electronics mounted thereon, and wherein the first printed circuit board is located proximate a center of the implantable battery pack (Suzuki col. 4, lines 20-45) [claim 9], wherein the at least one thermally conductive wing comprises: a first thermally conductive wing (30b) extending from a first edge of the first printed circuit board; and a second thermally conductive wing (30a) extending from a second, opposite edge of the first printed circuit board [claim 10].
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Meskens as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of US 2013/0297899 (Jones).
The modified invention of Suzuki discloses the claimed invention as described above with respect to claim 8 except modified Suzuki does not specifically teach that the at least one thermally conductive wing is copper [claim 11]. However, Suzuki teaches that the wing is formed of a thermally conductive laminate (Suzuki col. 5, lines 55-65). It is well known in the are to comprise a thermally conductive laminate of copper in electric devices as evidenced by Jones ([0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use copper as the material of the thermally conductive laminate in the modified invention of Suzuki. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a known material with high thermal conductivity.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Meskens as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of US 2011/0186265 A1 (Zheng).
The modified invention of Suzuki discloses the claimed invention as described above with respect to claim 8 except modified Suzuki does not specifically teach that the at least one thermally conductive wing comprises at least one solder connection for electrically coupling the at least one printed circuit board to the plurality of battery cells. However, Suzuki teaches that the wing and the circuit board are connected by a thermally conductive adhesive. (Suzuki col. 7, lines 10-20). It is well known in the art to use solder as a thermally conductive adhesive as evidenced by Zheng ([0003]). Therefore, it would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to use solder as the thermally conductive adhesive in the modified invention of Suzuki. The motivation for doing so would have been to use a known material for heat transfer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 13 states the limitation “a third printed circuit board connected to the second printed circuit board by a second flexible thermally conductive connector; and a fourth printed circuit board connected to the third printed circuit board by a third flexible thermally conductive connector, wherein the electronics layout is positionable in a folded configuration in which the second printed circuit board is stacked between the first printed circuit board and the fourth printed circuit board.” This limitation, in conjunction with the other claimed features, was neither found to be disclosed in, nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
JEREMY C. NORRIS
Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/JEREMY C NORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847