DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 USC 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the application file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on June 19, 2023 and November 1, 2024 have been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 64-71 and 73-79, and 81-83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #112-e (hereinafter 3GPP) in view of Fehrenbach et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0092685 A1, hereinafter Fehrenbach).
Consider claim 64 (and similarly applied to claim 82). 3GPP discloses a method performed by a first terminal device, comprising:
wherein the first terminal device is in a radio resource control, RRC, IDLE state or a RRC INACTIVE state (section 2.3: Relay in CONNECTED state: In L2 U2N relay, when different remote UEs are connected to the same CONNECTED relay via unicast PC5 link, their RRC states are independent and may be different (i.e. IDLE or INACTIVE or CONNECTED state). Relay in IDLE state: In L2 U2N relay, when relay in IDLE state, its connected remote UE can be in IDLE/INACTIVE state. Relay in INACTIVE state: In L2 U2N relay, when relay in INACTIVE state, its connected remote UE can be in IDLE/INACTIVE state).
3GPP discloses the claimed invention but fail to teach transmitting data to a network device via a second terminal device (and also a first terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor as is recited in claim 82).
However, Fehrenbach teaches transmitting data to a network device via a second terminal device (and also a first terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor as is recited in claim 82) (paragraph 630, read as a new RRC Inactive state will be defined to overcome some of the drawbacks, where this state allows for small data transmissions in the uplink (and paragraphs 786, 891, 900 showing the processor and memory)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 65 and as applied to claim 64. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose wherein the second terminal device is in the RRC IDLE state or the RRC INACTIVE state or a RRC CONNECTED state (3GPP; section 2.3).
Consider claim 66 and as applied to claim 64. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose wherein the data is transmitted from the second terminal device to the network device in at least one of: a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) of a random access procedure; or a configured grant-based transmission (Fehrenbach; paragraph 127).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 67 and as applied to claim 66. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose wherein when the data is transmitted from the second terminal device to the network device in a configured grant-based transmission, timing advance (TA) is set according to at least one of: a preconfigured TA; a configured TA; a location of the second terminal device; or a previous TA before the second terminal device moves into the RRC INACTIVE state or the RRC IDLE state
(Fehrenbach; paragraph 127).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 68 and as applied to claim 64. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose wherein the data is transmitted to the second terminal device on a sidelink using a configured sidelink grant (Fehrenbach; paragraph 424).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 69 and as applied to claim 64. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose wherein the first terminal device is configured or preconfigured with at least one sidelink configured grant on the sidelink (Fehrenbach; paragraph 718).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 70 and as applied to claim 64. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose transmitting capability information regarding data transfer of the first terminal device to a network via the second terminal device to the second terminal device, wherein at least the first terminal device is in a RRC INACTIVE state or RRC IDLE state (3GPP; section 2.3, Fehrenbach; paragraph 630).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 71 and as applied to claim 64. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose receiving from the second terminal device capability information regarding the second terminal device relaying data transfer of the first terminal device to a network, wherein at least the first terminal device is in a RRC INACTIVE state or RRC IDLE state (3GPP; section 2.3, Fehrenbach; paragraph 630).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 73 and as applied to claim 64. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose transmitting assistance information to the second terminal device, wherein the assistance information indicates that the first terminal device requests the second terminal device to relay the data of the first terminal device to the network device regardless of the RRC state of the second terminal device (3GPP; section 2.3, Fehrenbach; paragraph 630).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 74 and as applied to claim 73. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose wherein the assistance information comprises at least one of: a specific relay layer 2 identifier, a specific sidelink logical channel, an indicator in an adaptation layer, a data volume from the first terminal device, a specific service type of the first terminal device, a specific application type of the first terminal device, or a specific traffic type of the first terminal device (Fehrenbach; paragraph 630).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 75 and as applied to claim 64. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose receiving from the second terminal device an indication that the second terminal needs to switch to RRC CONNECTED state before relaying data transfer of the first terminal device (Fehrenbach; paragraph 715).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 76 and as applied to claim 75. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose switching to the RRC CONNECTED state for the data transfer based on the indication (Fehrenbach; paragraph 715).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 77 and as applied to claim 64. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose receiving a decision from the second terminal device, wherein the decision indicates whether the second terminal device will transmit the data to the network device (Fehrenbach; paragraphs 124, 630).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 78 and as applied to claim 64. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose transmitting an identifier of the first terminal device to the second terminal device (Fehrenbach; paragraph 177).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 79 and as applied to claim 78. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose wherein the identifier of the first terminal device and the data are transmitted to the second terminal device in a same transmission or different transmissions (Fehrenbach; paragraphs 177, 178).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 81 and as applied to claim 64. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose wherein the data is small data whose data volume is smaller than a configured or preconfigured threshold (Fehrenbach; paragraphs 124, 630).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Fehrenbach into the invention of 3GPP in order to reduce intense signaling over the air as well as toward the core network.
Consider claim 83 and as applied to claim 82. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose wherein the second terminal device is in the RRC IDLE state or the RRC INACTIVE state or a RRC CONNECTED state (3GPP; section 2.3).
Claims 72 and 80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #112-e (hereinafter 3GPP) in view of Fehrenbach et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0092685 A1, hereinafter Fehrenbach) in view of Park et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0167315 A1, hereinafter Park).
Consider claim 72 and as applied to claim 70. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose the claimed invention but fail to teach wherein the capability information is included in at least one of: PC5-RRC, control protocol data unit (PDU) in an adaptation layer, PC5 MAC CE, or PC5 layer 1 signaling.
However, Park teaches wherein the capability information is included in at least one of: PC5-RRC, control protocol data unit (PDU) in an adaptation layer, PC5 MAC CE, or PC5 layer 1 signaling (paragraph 267).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Park into the invention of 3GPP and Fehrenbach in order to provide users with direct low-latency means of communication.
Consider claim 80 and as applied to claim 78. 3GPP and Fehrenbach disclose the claimed invention but fail to teach wherein the identifier of the first terminal device is included in at least one of: PC5-RRC, control protocol data unit (PDU) in an adaptation layer, PC5 MAC CE, PC5 layer 1 signaling, or an adaptation layer header.
However, Park teaches wherein the identifier of the first terminal device is included in at least one of: PC5-RRC, control protocol data unit (PDU) in an adaptation layer, PC5 MAC CE, PC5 layer 1 signaling, or an adaptation layer header (paragraph 267).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Park into the invention of 3GPP and Fehrenbach in order to provide users with direct low-latency means of communication.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M BRANDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 September 19, 2025