DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to amendments 10/30/2025.
Claims 28-29 and 38 were cancelled in the amendments. Claims 27, 30, 34, 36-37, and 46 have been amended. Claims 27, 30-37, and 39-46 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the advisory action is persuasive and, therefore, that advisory action is withdrawn. A new final office action is hereby issued and the clock is reset.
Applicant’s arguments filed 10/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Independent claim 27 has been amended to include language previously of claims 28-29. Independent claims 37 and 46 have been amended to include language of previous claim 38.
Claim 27 now recites the limitations “wherein the at least one random access procedure comprises at least two random access procedures, and wherein at least one of the preamble mapping indication and the SSB mapping indication is configured separately for the at least two random access procedures, and wherein the at least one random access procedure further comprise at least one second type of random access procedure in a Terrestrial Network (TN); wherein the at least one second type of random access procedure comprises a 4-step random access procedure and/or a 2-step random access procedure.” With regards to these limitations the reference to Zhou is believed to meet the language. Namely, Zhou teaches a random access procedure for new radio (NR) which is equivalent to a terrestrial network (paragraphs 0067-0075). Paragraph 0067 recites “the following first briefly describes the random access solution of the NR system”. Furthermore, paragraphs 0084-0089 describe a random access procedure for NTN; more specifically, “when the random access method is applied to the NTN communication system in this application, to improve a user capacity and a user experience degree of the NTN communication system, specifically, refer to the method shown in FIG. 8 for random access” in paragraph 0084. This meets the language of the amendment that recite “wherein the at least one random access procedure comprises at least two random access procedures… and wherein the at least one random access procedure further comprises at least one second type of random access procedure in a Terrestrial Network (TN) ”.
As further described in the above cited paragraphs, at least the SSB to random access occasions (ROs) mapping is described for both the NR and the NTN procedures, which meets the language “wherein at least one of the preamble mapping indication and the SSB mapping indication is configured separately for the at least two random access procedures”. Furthermore, the cited paragraphs, as well as paragraphs 0093-0094 also describe the ROs to preambles mapping for both procedures.
Regarding the limitation “wherein the at least one second type of random access procedure comprises a 4-step random access procedure and/or a 2-step random access procedure”, the steps described in the reference apply to at least one of the 2-step or 4-step RA procedures as well known in the art.
With regards to claim 30, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim necessitates that the number of preambles configured for the random access procedures in a RO does not exceed the total number of preambles for that RO. In the Zhou reference an RO comprises a total number of preambles configured by “CB-preambles-per-SSB” (a total quantity of competition-based preambles in one RO). In accordance with the configuration information, the preambles assigned to each scanning region for the random access procedures falls within, or is less, than the total number of preambles assigned to the RO, with the device selecting preambles that correspond to that region from the total number of preambles available (figures 5, 6, 10; paragraphs 0025, 0071, 0079-0080, 0093-0094, amongst others). Thus, Zhou is believed to meet the claim, as the configured preambles for random access will not exceed the total number of preambles available per RO.
Regarding claim 34 the claim necessitates that the ROs mapped to NTN are a subset of the ROs mapped for random access. In the cited reference, through the PRACH configuration process (paragraphs 0070-0078), a total number of ROs are configured that correspond to one or more SSBs. The device in the reference determines the total number of ROs in NTN from the total number of ROs configured (paragraphs 0111, 0115, table 4). Thus, the reference is believed to meet the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim.
Claim 36 is directed to determining ROs according to a preamble, utilizing the ROs to determine SSB, wherein the ROs is(are) the first of a plurality of ROs, and the preamble is at least one preamble from the terminal device. The correspondence provided by a network device to a terminal through PRACH configuration, as mentioned above, already establishes the relationship between PRACH preambles from a device to ROs, and ROs to SSBs. Thus, the preambles taught by Zhou are from the terminal, preambles correspond to ROs, and the ROs correspond to at least one SSB.
Thus, Zhou is believed to meet that claims as amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27, 30-32, 34-37, 39-40, and 42-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0156822; hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 27 Zhou discloses a method in a network device, comprising:
determining a Random Access Channel (RACH) configuration according to at least one random access procedure, wherein the RACH configuration comprises a preamble mapping indication indicating mapping of RACH preambles to Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channels (SSBs) and a SSB mapping indication indicating mapping of SSBs to RACH Occasions (ROs), transmitting the RACH configuration (paragraphs 0070-0083; wherein a network device sends configuration information for, at least one, random access procedure to user equipment that comprise correspondence information between preambles and SSBs, as well as correspondence between SSBs and ROs); and
receiving a RACH preamble which is transmitted according to the RACH configuration from a terminal device (paragraph 0088; wherein the UE sends a first message comprising a preamble to the network device);
wherein the at least one random access procedure comprises at least two random access procedures, and wherein at least one of the preamble mapping indication and the SSB mapping indication is configured separately for the at least two random access procedures (paragraphs 0093-0095, table 1; wherein the configuration for different procedures comprises different ROs and preambles), and wherein the at least one random access procedure further comprise at least one second type of random access procedure in a Terrestrial Network (TN) (paragraphs 0058-0059, 0093; wherein the random access procedures are applicable to TNs and NTNs); wherein the at least one second type of random access procedure comprises a 4-step random access procedure and/or a 2-step random access procedure (paragraphs 0070-0083; the random access procedure disclosed meets being at least one the 4-step or 2-step).
Regarding claim 30 Zhou discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the preamble mapping indication is configured in a way that a sum of the number of preambles configured for the at least two random access procedures for one RO is no more than a total number of preambles for the one RO (paragraphs 0107-0112; SSB per RACH Occasion sum is a total quantity of ROs).
Regarding claim 31 Zhou discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the at least one random access procedure comprises at least one first type of random access procedure in a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) (paragraphs 0058-0059, 0093; wherein the random access procedures are applicable to TNs and NTNs).
Regarding claim 32 Zhou discloses the method of claim 27, wherein the at least one first type of random access procedure comprises a normal random access procedure and/or an NTN-specific random access procedure (paragraphs 0058-0059, 0093; wherein the random access procedures are applicable to TNs and NTNs).
Regarding claim 34 Zhou discloses the method of claim 32, wherein the SSB mapping indication is configured in a way that ROs mapped in the SSB mapping indication configured for the NTN-specific random access procedure are a subset of ROs mapped in the SSB mapping indication configured for the normal random access procedure (paragraphs 0071-0083, 0093; RACH configuration parameter indicates SSB to RO correspondence).
Regarding claim 35 Zhou discloses the method of claim 27, further comprising: determining the RO used by the terminal device in transmitting the RACH preamble according to the received RACH preamble (paragraphs 0071-0083, 0093; RACH configuration parameter indicates RO for preamble transmission), and determining a SSB to which the determined RO is mapped according the SSB mapping indication (paragraphs 0071-0083, 0093; RACH configuration parameter indicates SSB to RO correspondence).
Regarding claim 36 Zhou discloses the method of claim 35, wherein, responsive to a plurality of ROs being determined according to the received RACH preamble, one or more of the plurality of ROs are used in determining the SSB (paragraphs 0071-0083, 0093; using correspondence between SSB and RO to determine SSB); wherein the one or more of the plurality of ROs is the first one of the plurality of ROs (paragraphs 0071-0083, 0093; selected ROs); wherein the RACH preamble comprises one or more preambles from the terminal device (paragraphs 0071-0083, 0093; preambles selected from CB preambles mapped to SSB).
Regarding claim 37 Zhou discloses a method in a terminal device, comprising:
obtaining a Random Access Channel (RACH) configuration from a network device, wherein the RACH configuration is determined according to at least one random access procedure, and comprises a preamble mapping indication indicating mapping of RACH preambles to Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channels (SSBs) and a SSB mapping indication indicating the mapping of SSBs to RACH Occasions (ROs) (paragraphs 0070-0083; wherein a network device sends configuration information for, at least one, random access procedure to user equipment that comprise correspondence information between preambles and SSBs, as well as correspondence between SSBs and ROs), selecting a RACH preamble and a RO according to the RACH configuration (paragraph 0088; UE selects an RO and preamble); and
transmitting the RACH preamble on the RO to the network device (paragraph 0088; wherein the UE sends a first message comprising a preamble to the network device);
wherein the at least one random access procedure comprises at least two random access procedure, and wherein at least one of the preamble mapping indication and the SSB mapping indication is configured separately for the at least two random access procedures (paragraphs 0093-0095, table 1; wherein the configuration for different procedures comprises different ROs and preambles).
Regarding claim 39 Zhou discloses the method of claim 37, wherein the at least one random access procedure comprises at least one first type of random access procedure in a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) (paragraphs 0058-0059, 0093; wherein the random access procedures are applicable to TNs and NTNs).
Regarding claim 40 Zhou discloses the method of claim 37, wherein the at least one first type of random access procedure comprises a normal random access procedure and/or an NTN-specific random access procedure (paragraphs 0058-0059, 0093; wherein the random access procedures are applicable to TNs and NTNs).
Regarding claim 42 Zhou discloses the method of claim 37, wherein the at least one random access procedure further comprises at least one second type of random access procedure in a Terrestrial network (paragraphs 0058-0059, 0093; wherein the random access procedures are applicable to TNs and NTNs).
Regarding claim 43 Zhou discloses the method of claim 42, wherein the at least one second type of random access procedure comprises a 4-step random access procedure and/or a 2-step random access procedure (paragraphs 0070-0083; the random access procedure disclosed meets being at least one the 4-step or 2-step).
Regarding claim 44 Zhou discloses the method of claim 37, wherein selecting a RACH preamble and a RO according to the RACH configuration comprises: determining a SSB according to the received RACH configuration (paragraphs 0071-0083, 0093; RACH configuration parameter indicates SSB); and determining a RO according to the SSB mapping indication in the received RACH configuration (paragraphs 0071-0083, 0093; RACH configuration parameter indicates SSB to RO correspondence); and wherein transmitting the RACH preamble on the RO to the network device comprises transmitting the RACH preamble on the RO and one or more ROs following the RO (paragraphs 0071-0083, 0088, 0093; preamble is transmitted in the RO).
Regarding claim 45 Zhou discloses the method of claim 37, wherein the RACH preamble comprises one or more preambles (paragraphs 0071-0083, 0093; multiple CB preambles).
Regarding claim 46 Zhou discloses a terminal device (fig. 13), comprising a transceiver (transceiver 1330), a processor and a memory (processor 1310, memory 1320), the memory comprising instructions executable by the processor (paragraph 0141) whereby the terminal device is operative to perform of:
obtaining a Random Access Channel (RACH) configuration from a network device, wherein the RACH configuration is determined according to at least one random access procedure, and comprises a preamble mapping indication indicating mapping of RACH preambles to Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channels (SSBs) and a SSB mapping indication indicating the mapping of SSBs to RACH Occasions (ROs) (paragraphs 0070-0083; wherein a network device sends configuration information for, at least one, random access procedure to user equipment that comprise correspondence information between preambles and SSBs, as well as correspondence between SSBs and ROs), selecting a RACH preamble and a RO according to the RACH configuration (paragraph 0088; UE selects an RO and preamble); and
transmitting the RACH preamble on the RO to the network device (paragraph 0088; wherein the UE sends a first message comprising a preamble to the network device);
wherein the at least one random access procedure comprises at least two random access procedure, and wherein at least one of the preamble mapping indication and the SSB mapping indication is configured separately for the at least two random access procedures (paragraphs 0093-0095, table 1; wherein the configuration for different procedures comprises different ROs and preambles).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Hoang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0159741; hereinafter Hoang).
Regarding claim 33 Zhou discloses the method of claim 32, wherein and the NTN-specific random access procedure is a random access procedure without the pre-compensation (paragraphs 0058-0059, 0093; no pre-compensation performed). Zhou fails to explicitly disclose but Hoang, in the same field of endeavor related to random access in NTN, discloses wherein the normal random access procedure is a random access procedure with pre-compensation of Time-Advanced (TA) and/or frequency (paragraphs 0166-0167; the WTRU may be configured to perform Doppler pre-compensation by using information received from the network and/or information estimated by and/or preconfigured into the WTRU, information estimated by and/or preconfigured into the WTRU may include, for example a TA and satellite ephemeris). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Hoang, in order to avoid random access ambiguity by a UE (Hoang: paragraph 0077).
Regarding claim 41 Zhou discloses the method of claim 40, wherein and the NTN-specific random access procedure is a random access procedure without the pre-compensation (paragraphs 0058-0059, 0093; no pre-compensation performed). Zhou fails to explicitly disclose but Hoang, in the same field of endeavor related to random access in NTN, discloses the normal random access procedure is a random access procedure with pre-compensation of Time-Advanced (TA) and/or frequency (paragraphs 0166-0167; the WTRU may be configured to perform Doppler pre-compensation by using information received from the network and/or information estimated by and/or preconfigured into the WTRU, information estimated by and/or preconfigured into the WTRU may include, for example a TA and satellite ephemeris). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zhou with the teachings of Hoang, in order to avoid random access ambiguity by a UE (Hoang: paragraph 0077).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Application Publication 2022/0217790 to Qiu et al. – that discloses determine, by a wireless communication device, usage of a timing advance (TA) estimated by the wireless communication device for communication with the wireless communication node; select, by the wireless communication device, a RACH type to communicate with the wireless communication node; and initiate, by the wireless communication device, a RACH communication with the wireless communication node according to the selected RACH type and the determination on usage of TA estimated by the wireless communication device.
US Patent Application Publication 2023/0042104 to Li et al. – that discloses terminal device and a network device, which can implement random access in an NTN system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Aixa Guadalupe-Cruz/
Examiner
Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466