Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 23 August 2023, 05 December 2024, and 06 August 2025. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see the attached USPTO Form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo (US 20070149834 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Endo et al teaches a thermal conductive silicone composition (Abstract), comprising 100 parts by volume of an organopolysiloxane (Component A) possessing a kinematic viscosity of 10 to 10,000 mm2/s at 25° C (Component A, paras 0027, Table 1), structured according to the following formula:
wherein R1 is independently an unsubstituted or substituted monovalent hydrocarbon group; R2 is independently an alkyl, alkoxyalkyl, alkenyl, or acyl group; the variable a represents an integer from 5 to 100, and b is an integer from 1 to 3 (Component A, para 0027). Endo et al further teaches the composition comprises an organopolysiloxane (Component D) in an amount of 500 parts by volume or less with respect to component A (para 0054); represented by the following formula:
wherein R6 is independently an unsubstituted or substituted monovalent hydrocarbon group of 1 to 18 carbon atoms, and the variable e represents a number from 1.8 to 2.2 (Component D, claim 4, para 0058). Additionally, Endo et al discloses an alkoxysilane (Component B), present in an amount of 0.1 to 50 parts by volume, based on 100 parts by mass of component A (para 0041); represented by the following formula:
wherein R3 is independently an alkyl group of 9 to 15 carbon atoms; R4 is independently an unsubstituted or substituted monovalent hydrocarbon group of 1 to 8 carbon atoms; R5 is independently an alkyl group of 1 to 6 carbon atoms; c is an integer from 1 to 3, and d is an integer from 0 to 2, provided that c+d represents an integer from 1 to 3 (Component B, para 0041). Furthermore, Endo et al teaches incorporating a thermally conductive filler (Component C) possessing high thermal conductivity, exemplified by aluminum nitride exceeding 70 W/m-K (para 0008). Component C is incorporated at a concentration of 100 to 2,500 parts by volume, based on 100 parts by volume of component A (para 0053).
With regard to the mass, Endo et al teaches 100 parts by volume of an organopolysiloxane having the formula as Component A, 0.1-50 parts by volume of an alkoxysilane having the same formula as Component C, 100-2500 parts by volume of heat conductive filler, which is the same as Component D and not more than 500 parts by volume of an organopolysiloxane having the same formula as component B (Abstract, para 0041, 0054, 0059), Endo et al overlaps the instantly claimed ranges. Endo et al teaches the same four components as the instantly claims and thus, equivalent densities; hence, a proportion by volume corresponds directly to an equivalent proportion by mass. A prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
With regard to claim 2, Endo et al teaches the thermal conductive silicone composition, when measured at 25° C, exhibits an absolute viscosity of 1 to 500 Pa·s (para 0066).
With regard to claims 3-4, Endo et al teaches the thermal conductive silicone composition has a thermal conductivity of 4 W/mK or more (Table 1).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 8,017,684. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons listed below.
US 8,017,684 claims a heat conductive silicone grease composition consisting of 100 parts by volume of an organopolysiloxane having the formula as component A, 0.1-50 parts by volume of an alkoxysilane having the same formula as component C, 100-2500 parts by volume of heat conductive filler, which is the same as component D, and a secondary organopolysiloxane having the same formula as component B, with a kinematic viscosity ranging from 10 to 100,000 mm2/s at 25° C. US 8,017,684 further specifies that component D is present in 24.8 to 500 parts by volume per 100 parts by volume of component A. US No 8,017,684 claims teaches the same four components as the instantly claims and thus, equivalent densities; hence, a proportion by volume corresponds directly to an equivalent proportion by mass. The difference between the instant claims and ‘684 is the exact amounts of each component are different. However, the instant overlaps with the claimed range of ‘684 range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05
Conclusion
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761