DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sandkuijl et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 202103331373, from hereinafter “Sand”).
In regards to claims 1 and 20, Sand teaches an apparatus and method for analyzing a sample (see abstract), the apparatus and method comprising a laser section comprising a laser arranged to direct a laser in a first direction towards the sample, for ablating an ionizing at least a portion of the sample to generate ions (paragraphs 0048-0049, 0058-0066, 0225, etc.), an ion source section comprising a sample holder for holding the sample (FIG. 2, sample 207), at least one component arranged to apply an electric field for extracting at least a portion of the ions to form an ion beam traveling in a second direction (paragraphs 0414-0415) and a time-of-flight section comprising a detector arranged to receive the ion beam (see, i.e., paragraphs 0414-0415).
In regards to claims 2-3, Sand teaches that the second direction is generally orthogonal to the first direction (paragraph 0225).
In regards to claim 4, Sand teaches that the ToF section is arranged so that the detector receives the ion beam while the ion beam travels in the second direction (see FIG. 11).
In regards to claims 5-6, Sand teaches that the at least one component comprises an extraction plate that is arranged in the ion source section adjacent to the sample holder and at an opposing side from the repeller plate, and is configured to receive a positive voltage to generate the electric field (paragraphs 0413-0417).
In regards to claim 7, Sand teaches that the extraction plate comprises a central hole that is arranged for the ion beam to pass through while the ion beam travels in the second direction (paragraphs 0413-0417).
In regards to claim 11, Sand teaches that the detector is configured to be biased with a negative voltage (paragraphs 0414-0417).
In regards to claim 12, Sand teaches that the laser consists of a pulsed laser (see, i.e., paragraph 0011).
In regards to claim 13, Sand teaches that the detector consists of a ToF detector that is configured to record the arrival of an ion bunch generated by a laser pulse (FIGS. 7, 8 and 9A-9B illustrate ion bunches).
In regards to claim 14, Sand teaches that the laser is arranged to fire the laser directly onto a surface of the sample (see FIG. 12 and associated text).
In regards to claims 15-16, Sand teaches that the laser is mounted on a movable platform, wherein the platform is configured for motorized pitch and yaw adjustment (paragraphs 0225-0227).
In regards to claim 17, Sand teaches a camera for monitoring the laser beam on the sample (see at least paragraph 0095).
In regards to claim 18, Sand teaches that the ion source section is housed in a vacuum chamber, the ToF section is housed inside a vacuum pipe, and the vacuum chamber and the vacuum pipe are connected to form a single vacuum containment unit (paragraphs 0408-0412).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICOLE M IPPOLITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881