Status of the Claims
Claims 2-6, 14-15, 17, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 4, “a ith replay experience” should recite “an ith replay experience”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-18 recite a method and claims 19-20 recite a global agent comprising processing circuitry (a system). Each of a method and a system falls within one of the four statutory categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Claim 1
Step 2A Prong 1: Determining a combined loss function based on the plurality of loss functions is a mathematical calculation. On specification page 9, line number 10 discloses the combined loss function may comprise a sum of the plurality of loss functions.
Minimizing the combined loss function with respect to the first parameters and the second parameters to determine updated values for the first parameters and updated values for the second parameters is a mathematical calculation. On specification page 9, the paragraph next to line number 25 discloses this step may comprise performing gradient descent on the combined loss function. The claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2: Controlling a multi-agent reinforcement learning environment amounts to mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f).
Obtaining a plurality of loss functions comprising: a first loss function associated with a first reinforcement learning, RL, model performed by a first local agent, wherein the first loss function is a function of one or more first parameters amounts to insignificant pre-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g).
Obtaining a second loss function associated with a second RL model at a second local agent, wherein the second loss function is a function of one or more second parameters amounts to insignificant pre-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g).
Initiating execution of a first updated action by the first local agent based on the updated values of the first parameters amounts to mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f).
Initiating execution of a second updated action by the second local agent based on the updated values of the second parameters amounts to mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements as disclosed above, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application as they are mere insignificant pre-solution activities as disclosed in combination with generic computer functions that are implemented to perform the abstract ideas disclosed above. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Controlling a multi-agent reinforcement learning environment amounts to mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f).
Obtaining a plurality of loss functions comprising: a first loss function associated with a first reinforcement learning, RL, model performed by a first local agent, wherein the first loss function is a function of one or more first parameters is analogous to reading data from memory, which the courts have recognized as a well-understood, routine, conventional activity under MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Obtaining a second loss function associated with a second RL model at a second local agent, wherein the second loss function is a function of one or more second parameters is analogous to reading data from memory, which the courts have recognized as a well-understood, routine, conventional activity under MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Initiating execution of a first updated action by the first local agent based on the updated values of the first parameters amounts to mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f).
Initiating execution of a second updated action by the second local agent based on the updated values of the second parameters amounts to mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements as disclosed above, in combination with the abstract ideas, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas as they are well-understood, routine and conventional activities as disclosed in combination with generic computer functions that are implemented to perform the abstract ideas disclosed above. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2 incorporates the rejection of claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 1 are incorporated. The first loss function is calculated based on a first replay experience of the first local agent, wherein the first replay experience comprises a first state, s1,t, a first action, a1,t, a first reward, r1,t+1, and a first next state, s1,t+1 is a mathematical calculation.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements which, alone or in combination, would integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application or which, in combination with the abstract ideas, would be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 3 incorporates the rejection of claim 2.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 2 are incorporated. The second loss function is calculated based on a second replay experience of the second local agent, wherein the second replay experience comprises a second state, s2,t, a second action, a2,t, a second reward, r2,t+1, and a second next state, s2,t+1 is a mathematical calculation.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements which, alone or in combination, would integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application or which, in combination with the abstract ideas, would be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 4 incorporates the rejection of claim 3.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 3 are incorporated. The combined loss function further comprises a regularization component, wherein a value of the regularization component increases when the first next state, s1,t+1, and the second next state, s2,t+1, are closer together is a mathematical calculation. On specification page 10, the paragraph next to line number 20 discloses the combined loss function plus a regularization component.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements which, alone or in combination, would integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application or which, in combination with the abstract ideas, would be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 5 incorporates the rejection of claim 4.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 4 are incorporated. Determining the regularization component by determining a distance, d(s1,t+1,s2,t+1), between the first next state and the second next state is a mathematical calculation. This calculation is disclosed by the specification between page 11, line 15 and page 12, line 20.
For each action in a combination of all available actions in the first state and the second state: calculating a reward difference as a magnitude of a difference between local rewards obtained from the first next state and the second next state after applying the action is a mathematical calculation.
Calculating a Kantorovich distance between the probability of transitioning into the first next state based on the first state and the first action, and the probability of transitioning into the second next state based on the second state and the second action is a mathematical calculation.
Calculating a distance sum for the action by summing the reward difference and the Kantorovich distance is a mathematical calculation.
Setting the distance between the first next state and the second next state as the distance sum with the maximum value is a mathematical calculation.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements which, alone or in combination, would integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application or which, in combination with the abstract ideas, would be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 6 incorporates the rejection of claim 5.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 5 are incorporated. The plurality of loss functions comprises N loss functions, where N is an integer, each associated with a respective RL model performed by an ith agent, where i = 1, … , N wherein the ith loss function is calculated based on a ith replay experience of the ith agent, wherein the ith replay experience comprises an ith state, an ith action, an ith reward and an ith next state is a mathematical calculation.
The step of determining the regularization component comprises: calculating distances between each combination of possible pairs of states in: the first next state to the Nth next state is a mathematical calculation.
Calculating a Frobenius norm of a matrix comprising the distances is a mathematical calculation.
Setting the regularization component as a square of the Frobenius norm divided by 2 is a mathematical calculation.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements which, alone or in combination, would integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application or which, in combination with the abstract ideas, would be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 7 incorporates the rejection of claim 4.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 4 are incorporated. The combined loss function comprises a sum of each of the plurality of loss functions plus the regularization component is a mathematical calculation. On specification page 11, the paragraph next to line number 30 discloses the combined loss function plus a regularization component.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements which, alone or in combination, would integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application or which, in combination with the abstract ideas, would be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 8 incorporates the rejection of claim 7.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 7 are incorporated. The sum of each of the plurality of loss functions is a weighted sum, wherein each loss function is associated with a weighting factor, βi is a mathematical calculation. On specification page 9, the paragraph next to line number 15 and on page 11, the paragraph next to line number 30 discloses the weighted sum.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements which, alone or in combination, would integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application or which, in combination with the abstract ideas, would be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 9 incorporates the rejection of claim 7.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 7 are incorporated. The regularization component is multiplied by a regularization weighting factor, δ is a mathematical calculation. On page 11, the paragraph next to line number 30 discloses the regularization weighting factor.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The claim does not recite any additional elements which, alone or in combination, would integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application or which, in combination with the abstract ideas, would be sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 10 incorporates the rejection of claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 1 are incorporated.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The updated first action is determined based on the action that provides the first local agent with greatest Q-value in the first RL model given the first next state and the updated first parameters amounts to mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 11 incorporates the rejection of claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 1 are incorporated.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The updated second action comprises the action that provides the second local agent with the greatest Q-value in the second RL model given the second next state and the updated second parameters amounts to mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 12 incorporates the rejection of claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 1 are incorporated.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The first local agent is configured to control a transmission power of an antenna to decrease a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio, SINR, of the antenna amounts to a mere field of use and technological environment under MPEP 2106.05(h). The limitation is recited at a high level of generality and does not explain how SINR is decreased.
The second local agent is configured to control a tilt of an antenna to decrease the SINR of the antenna amounts to a mere field of use and technological environment under MPEP 2106.05(h). The limitation is recited at a high level of generality and does not explain how SINR is decreased. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 13 incorporates the rejection of claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 1 are incorporated.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The first local agent is configured to control radio access network counters to minimize handover rate in a radio access network amounts to a mere field of use and technological environment under MPEP 2106.05(h). The limitation is recited at a high level of generality and does not explain how handover rate is minimized.
The second local agent is configured to control radio access network counters to maximize Reference Signal Received Power, RSRP, values in the radio access network amounts to a mere field of use and technological environment under MPEP 2106.05(h). The limitation is recited at a high level of generality and does not explain how RSRP is maximized. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 14 incorporates the rejection of claim 1.
Step 2A Prong 1: The abstract ideas of claim 1 are incorporated.
Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B: The first local agent is configured to control obtaining resources for a first network slice to meet network requirements of the first network slice amounts to a mere field of use and technological environment under MPEP 2106.05(h). The limitation is recited at a high level of generality and does not explain how network requirements of the first network slice are met.
The second local agent is configured to control obtaining resources for a second network slice to meet network requirements of the second network slice amounts to a mere field of use and technological environment under MPEP 2106.05(h). The limitation is recited at a high level of generality and does not explain how network requirements of the second network slice are met. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 15
Step 2A Prong 1: Determining an updated action based on the received updated values of the parameters is a judgement mental process which can reasonably be performed in the human mind with the aid of pencil and paper. The claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2: A local agent, wherein the local agent is configured to perform a reinforcement learning, RL, model in an environment amounts to a generic computer component for applying the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f). Specification page 22, line 20 discloses a local agent comprises processing circuitry, so the local agent may amount to a generic computer.
Transmitting, to a global agent, either a loss function associated with the RL model or a replay experience of the local agent, wherein the replay experience comprises a state, an action, a reward and a next state, wherein the action is determined based on a maximum Q-value for the state given current values of parameters of the environment amounts to insignificant pre-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g).
Transmitting current values of the parameters to the global agent amounts to insignificant pre-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g).
Receiving updated values of the parameters from the global agent amounts to insignificant pre-solution activity under MPEP 2106.05(g).
Performing the updated action amounts to a mere instructions for applying the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements as disclosed above, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application as they are mere insignificant pre-solution activities as disclosed in combination with generic computer functions that are implemented to perform the abstract ideas disclosed above. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: A local agent, wherein the local agent is configured to perform a reinforcement learning, RL, model in an environment amounts to a generic computer component for applying the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f). Specification page 22, line 20 discloses a local agent comprises processing circuitry, so the local agent may amount to a generic computer.
Transmitting, to a global agent, either a loss function associated with the RL model or a replay experience of the local agent, wherein the replay experience comprises a state, an action, a reward and a next state, wherein the action is determined based on a maximum Q-value for the state given current values of parameters of the environment amounts to transmitting data over a network, which the courts have recognized as a well-understood, routine, conventional activity under MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Transmitting current values of the parameters to the global agent amounts to transmitting data over a network, which the courts have recognized as a well-understood, routine, conventional activity under MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Receiving updated values of the parameters from the global agent amounts to receiving data over a network, which the courts have recognized as a well-understood, routine, conventional activity under MPEP 2106.05(d)(II).
Performing the updated action amounts to a mere instructions for applying the abstract ideas on a generic computer under MPEP 2106.05(f).
The additional elements as disclosed above, in combination with the abstract ideas, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas as they are well-understood, routine and conventional activities as disclosed in combination with generic computer functions that are implemented to perform the abstract ideas disclosed above. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claims 16-18 recite similar features as claims 12-14, respectively, and are therefore rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim 19 recites a system which implements the same features as the method of claim 1 and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons.
In Step 2A Prong 2 and Step 2B, a global agent comprising processing circuitry amounts to a generic computer component for applying the abstract ideas on a computer under MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 20 recites a system which implements the same features as the method of claim 2 and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10-11, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Van Seijen et al. (US 20180165603 A1, cited in the PTO-892 filed 04/30/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Van Seijen teaches: A computer-implemented method of controlling a multi-agent reinforcement learning environment, the method comprising: (Abstract and [0231], lines 1-7)
obtaining a plurality of loss functions comprising: a first loss function associated with a first reinforcement learning, RL, model performed by a first local agent, wherein the first loss function is a function of one or more first parameters; and ([0234] discloses a single-agent loss function and parameters are θi. [0241] and [0243] discloses a combined loss function for a multi-agent Hybrid Reward Architecture (HRA) model. A first local agent is indicated by n = 1, and first parameters are deep network parameters associated with the first head.)
a second loss function associated with a second RL model at a second local agent, wherein the second loss function is a function of one or more second parameters; ([0241] and [0243] discloses a combined loss function. A second local agent is indicated by n = 2, and second parameters are deep network parameters associated with the second head.)
determining a combined loss function based on the plurality of loss functions; ([0241] and [0243])
minimizing the combined loss function with respect to the first parameters and the second parameters to determine updated values for the first parameters and updated values for the second parameters; ([0244]-[0245] discloses minimizing the loss function. This results in updating values of the first and second parameters.)
initiating execution of a first updated action by the first local agent based on the updated values of the first parameters; and ([0064], [0088], and [0231], lines 7-18 disclose that a first local agent is a horizontal agent which controls a robot’s motion in a horizontal direction. The aggregator may select actions for the horizontal agent once it has been trained.)
initiating execution of a second updated action by the second local agent based on the updated values of the second parameters. ([0064], [0088], and [0231], lines 7-18 disclose that a second local agent is a vertical agent which controls a robot’s motion in a vertical direction. The aggregator may select actions for the vertical agent once it has been trained.)
Regarding claim 2, Van Seijen teaches: The computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the first loss function is calculated based on a first replay experience of the first local agent, wherein the first replay experience comprises a first state, s1,t, a first action, a1,t, a first reward, r1,t+1, and a first next state, s1,t+1. ([0232], lines 1-8 and [0234]-[0235] discloses that the loss function L is based on a state, an action, a reward, and a next state. In the HRA model, the loss function for the first head/local agent is calculated based on an initial state shared by all heads and a first action, a first reward, and a first next state corresponding to the first head.)
Regarding claim 3, Van Seijen teaches: The computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 2 wherein the second loss function is calculated based on a second replay experience of the second local agent, wherein the second replay experience comprises a second state, s2,t, a second action, a2,t, a second reward, r2,t+1, and a second next state, s2,t+1. ([0232], lines 1-8 and [0234]-[0235] discloses that the loss function L is based on a state, an action, a reward, and a next state. In the HRA model, the loss function for the second head/local agent is calculated based on an initial state shared by all heads and a second action, a second reward, and a second next state corresponding to the second head.)
Regarding claim 10, Van Seijen teaches: The computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the updated first action is determined based on the action that provides the first local agent with greatest Q-value in the first RL model given the first next state and the updated first parameters. ([0233] discloses model-free reinforcement learning methods take the action with the highest Q*-value in every state. [0234] discloses using a DQN to estimate the optimal Q-value function.)
Regarding claim 11, Van Seijen teaches: The computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the updated second action comprises the action that provides the second local agent with the greatest Q-value in the second RL model given the second next state and the updated second parameters. ([0233] discloses model-free reinforcement learning methods take the action with the highest Q*-value in every state. [0234] discloses using a DQN to estimate the optimal Q-value function.)
Claim 19 recites a system which implements the same features as the method of claim 1 and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons.
Van Seijen teaches: A global agent for controlling a multi-agent reinforcement learning environment, (Abstract and [0231], lines 1-14, where a global agent is an aggregator)
the global agent comprising processing circuitry configured to: ([0331], lines 7-10)
Claim 20 recites a system which implements the same features as the method of claim 2 and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Seijen et al. (US 20180165603 A1) and Wang et al. (“ROMA: Multi-Agent Reinforcement Learning with Emergent Roles”). All references were cited in PTO-892 issued 04/30/2026.
Regarding claim 4, Van Seijen teaches: The computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 3 wherein the combined loss function further comprises a regularization component, ([0228], lines 13-19 and [0237] disclose that the target function can be regularized by splitting the reward function into n reward functions, weighted by wi. A regularization component includes wi*Ri(s,a) for any i.)
However, Van Seijen does not explicitly teach: wherein a value of the regularization component increases when the first next state, s1,t+1, and the second next state, s2,t+1, are closer together.
But Wang teaches: wherein a value of the regularization component increases when the first next state, s1,t+1, and the second next state, s2,t+1, are closer together. (Page 2, col. 1, § 2 to col. 2, line 7; and page 4, col. 1, lines 1-10, equation 6, and equation 7 discloses each agent select an action leading to a next state s’ forming a trajectory, and a second regularizer ℒD seeks to maximize different trajectories of agents i and j. This has an effect of increasing the regularizer when the next states of agents i and j are closer together.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Wang’s regularizer ℒD to Van Seijen’s loss function as it has been applied to Wang’s equation 7. A motivation for the combination is to encourages sub-task specialization. (Wang, Page 4, page 4, col. 1, lines 1-10)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Van Seijen and Wang teaches: The computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 4
Van Seijen teaches: wherein the combined loss function comprises a sum of each of the plurality of loss functions
However, Van Seijen does not explicitly teach: the plurality of loss functions plus the regularization component.
But Wang teaches: the plurality of loss functions plus the regularization component. (On page 4, § 3.3, in equation 7, ℒD represents a regularizer which is added to other loss functions ℒTD and ℒI.)
A motivation for the combination is the same as the motivation given for claim 4.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Van Seijen and Wang teaches: The computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 7
However, Van Seijen does not explicitly teach: wherein the regularization component is multiplied by a regularization weighting factor, δ.
But Wang teaches: wherein the regularization component is multiplied by a regularization weighting factor, δ. (On page 4, col. 2, the line below equation 7 states λD is a scalar value for the regularizer.)
A motivation for the combination is the same as the motivation given for claim 4.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Seijen et al. (US 20180165603 A1), Wang et al. (“ROMA: Multi-Agent Reinforcement Learning with Emergent Roles”), and Song et al. (“Measuring the Distance Between Finite Markov Decision Processes”). All references were cited in PTO-892 issued 04/30/2026.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Van Seijen and Wang teaches: The computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 4 further comprising: determining the regularization component by
However, Van Seijen and Wang do not explicitly teach: determining a distance, d(s1,t+1, s2,t+1), between the first next state and the second next state by: for each action in a combination of all available actions in the first state and the second state: calculating a reward difference as a magnitude of a difference between local rewards obtained from the first next state and the second next state after applying the action; calculating a Kantorovich distance between the probability of transitioning into the first next state based on the first state and the first action, and the probability of transitioning into the second next state based on the second state and the second action; and calculating a distance sum for the action by summing the reward difference and the Kantorovich distance; and setting the distance between the first next state and the second next state as the distance sum with the maximum value.
But Song teaches: determining a distance,
for each action in a combination of all available actions in the first state and the second state: (Page 470, col. 1, in the paragraph starting with “Equivalent state representations” up to and including col. 2, Definition 3.3 discloses the calculating limitations below. The notation “a∈A” in equation 2 means for each action in the finite set of actions A. Equation 2 is equivalent to the equation in the specification on page 10, line 25.)
calculating a reward difference as a magnitude of a difference between local rewards obtained from the first next state and the second next state after applying the action; (In equation 2, the term
is a reward difference.
is the immediate reward for taking action a from state s in S1 for the first MDP, and thus is the reward obtained from transitioning to the first next state after applying the action.
is the immediate reward for taking action a from state s’ in S2 for the second MDP, and thus is the reward obtained from transitioning to the second next state after applying the action.)
calculating a Kantorovich distance between the probability of transitioning into the first next state based on the first state and the first action, and the probability of transitioning into the second next state based on the second state and the second action; and (In equation 2,
is a Kantorovich distance, and c is a weight.)
calculating a distance sum for the action by summing the reward difference and the Kantorovich distance; and (The addition sign in equation 2 discloses this summing the two terms.)
setting the distance between the first
represents setting the distance d’ as the distance sum with the maximum value.)
Song discloses a distance metric between a first next state and a second next state at page 470, col. 2, in the paragraph starting with “The worst case running time” when the two MDPs are deterministic ones. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have extended Song’s distance metric between first and second states to a distance metric between first and second next states, and to have incorporated the distance metric into the regularization term in the combination of Van Seijen and Wang. A motivation for the combination is to incorporate homogenous task information. (Song, Page 470, final paragraph in col. 1)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Seijen et al. (US 20180165603 A1), Wang et al. (“ROMA: Multi-Agent Reinforcement Learning with Emergent Roles”), and Kullberg et al. (US 20180144472 A1). All references were cited in PTO-892 issued 04/30/2026.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Van Seijen and Wang teaches: The computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 7
However, Van Seijen and Wang do not explicitly teach: wherein the sum of each of the plurality of loss functions is a weighted sum, wherein each loss function is associated with a weighting factor, βi.
But Kullberg teaches: wherein the sum of each of the plurality of loss functions is a weighted sum, wherein each loss function is associated with a weighting factor, βi. ([0100]-[0101] and [0104] discloses a sum of cost (loss) functions each associated with a weighting factor ωi)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Kullberg’s weighting factors to each head’s loss function in Van Seijen, paragraph [0243]. A motivation for the combination is to control a contribution of each head to the overall loss function.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Seijen et al. (US 20180165603 A1) and Tan et al. (US 20160205697 A1). All references were cited in PTO-892 issued 04/30/2026.
Regarding claim 12, Van Seijen teaches: The computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the first local agent is configured to control… , and the second local agent is configured to control… ([0088] discloses a first local agent is a horizontal agent which controls a robot’s motion in a horizontal direction, and a second local agent is a vertical agent which controls the robot’s motion in a vertical direction.)
However, Van Seijen does not explicitly teach: wherein the first local agent is configured to control a transmission power of an antenna to decrease a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio, SINR, of the antenna, and the second local agent is configured to control a tilt of an antenna to decrease the SINR of the antenna.
But Tan teaches: wherein the first local agent is configured to control a transmission power of an antenna to [increase] in line 4 discloses agents that adjust antenna tilts and transmit power levels to reduce inter-cell interference. Reducing interference leads to an increased SINR. Also, [0076], lines 7-11 discloses decision making agents can use reinforcement learning.)
Since Tan’s actuating agents can adjust antenna tilts and transmit power levels to increase SINR, they can also adjust antenna tilts and transmit power levels to decrease SINR. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Van Seijen’s reinforcement learning methods to Tan’s agents in a self-organizing network. A motivation for the combination is to manage and operate large, complex mobile networks. (Tan, [0003])
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Seijen et al. (US 20180165603 A1), Calzolari et al. (US 20200412417 A1) and Oroskar et al. (US 10433255 B1). All references were cited in PTO-892 issued 04/30/2026.
Regarding claim 13, Van Seijen teaches: The computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the first local agent is configured to control…, and the second local agent is configured to control… ([0088] discloses a first local agent is a horizontal agent which controls a robot’s motion in a horizontal direction, and a second local agent is a vertical agent which controls the robot’s motion in a vertical direction.)
However, Van Seijen does not explicitly teach: wherein the first local agent is configured to control radio access network counters to minimize handover rate in a radio access network, and the second local agent is configured to control radio access network counters to maximize Reference Signal Received Power, RSRP, values in the radio access network.
But Calzolari teaches: wherein the first local agent is configured to control radio access network
The [first]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Van Seijen’s first and second local agents to control antenna switching, with the first local agent penalizing lower RSRP values and the second local agent rewarding higher RSRP values. A motivation for the combination is to determine whether to switch from a currently active antenna to a different, more optimal antenna. (Calzolari, [0018])
However, the combination of Van Seijen and Calzolari does not explicitly teach: control radio access network counters
But Oroskar teaches: control radio access network counters (C. 9, L. 31-44)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Oroskar’s handover counters into the combination of Van Seijen and Calzolari. A motivation for the combination is that handover counters would provide additional information for the agents to determine whether to switch antennas.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Seijen et al. (US 20180165603 A1) and Cui et al. (US 20170257289 A1). All references were cited in PTO-892 issued 04/30/2026.
Regarding claim 14, Van Seijen teaches: The computer-implemented method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the first local agent is configured to control… , and the second local agent is configured to control… ([0088] discloses a first local agent is a horizontal agent which controls a robot’s motion in a horizontal direction, and a second local agent is a vertical agent which controls the robot’s motion in a vertical direction.)
However, Van Seijen does not explicitly teach: wherein the first local agent is configured to control obtaining resources for a first network slice to meet network requirements of the first network slice, and the second local agent is configured to control obtaining resources for a second network slice to meet network requirements of the second network slice.
But Cui teaches: wherein the first local agent is configured to control obtaining resources for a first network slice to meet network requirements of the first network slice, and ([0030], lines 5-7; [0031]-[0032] and [0034] discloses a machine-learned SDN controller 320 for slicing a network into at least a first slice.)
The [first]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated Van Seijen’s first and second local agents into Tan’s SDN controller 320, where each local agents controls different slices. A motivation for the combination is to allow a more dynamic network slicing decision to best utilize the limited RAN (radio access network) resources. (Tan, [0031])
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Seijen et al. (US 20180165603 A1) and Misra et al. (US 20210326883 A1). All references were cited in PTO-892 issued 04/30/2026.
Regarding claim 15, Van Seijen teaches: A method in a local agent, wherein the local agent is configured to perform a reinforcement learning, RL, model in an environment, the method comprising: ([0234] discloses a single-agent loss function)
[determining, at] on a maximum Q-value for the state given current values of parameters of the environment; (Abstract and [0231], lines 1-18 discloses an aggregator (a global agent), and [0241] and [0243] discloses determining a combined loss function for a multi-agent Hybrid Reward Architecture (HRA) model based on loss functions associated with single agents.)
…
[determining]
determining an updated action based on the
performing the updated action. ([0064] discloses a robot executes an action.)
However, Van Seijen does not explicitly teach: transmitting, to a global agent, a loss function; transmitting current values of the parameters to the global agent; receiving updated values of the parameters from the global agent;
But Misra teaches: transmitting, to a global agent, a loss function, and transmitting current values of the parameters to the global agent; ([0031], [0034]-[0037] discloses submitting a generated ruleset and an objective function to a server interface. A “global agent” corresponds to the server interface, “a loss function” corresponds to the objective function, and “current values of the parameters” corresponds to the ruleset.)
receiving updated values of the parameters from the global agent; ([0038]-[0039] discloses the server interface generates rules design feedback and transmits it to the client interface. The “rules design feedback” corresponds to updated values of the parameters.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Misra’s evaluation of rules and objective function by a server interface into Van Seijen’s multi-agent reinforcement learning system. A motivation for the combination is to validate model parameters.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Seijen et al. (US 20180165603 A1), Misra et al. (US 20210326883 A1), and Tan et al. (US 20160205697 A1). All references were cited in PTO-892 issued 04/30/2026.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Van Seijen and Misra teaches: The method as claimed in claim 15
Van Seijen teaches: wherein the local agent is configured to control one of: ([0064] discloses a local agent controlling a robot.)
However, Van Seijen and Misra do not explicitly teach: a transmission power of an antenna to decrease a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio, SINR, of the antenna; or a tilt of an antenna to decrease the SINR of the antenna.
But Tan teaches: wherein the local agent is configured to control one of: a transmission power of an antenna to decrease a Signal-to-Interference-plus-Noise Ratio, SINR, of the antenna; or a tilt of an antenna to decrease the SINR of the antenna. ([0034], lines 12-14 and [0067], line 1 to “system” in line 4 discloses agents that adjust antenna tilts and/or transmit power levels to reduce inter-cell interference. Reducing interference leads to an increased SINR. Also, [0076], lines 7-11 discloses decision making agents can use reinforcement learning.)
Since Tan’s actuating agents can adjust antenna tilts and transmit power levels to increase SINR, they can also adjust antenna tilts and transmit power levels to decrease SINR. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Van Seijen’s reinforcement learning methods to Tan’s agents in a self-organizing network. A motivation for the combination is to manage and operate large, complex mobile networks. (Tan, [0003])
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Seijen et al. (US 20180165603 A1), Misra et al. (US 20210326883 A1), Calzolari et al. (US 20200412417 A1), and Oroskar et al. (US 10433255 B1). All references were cited in PTO-892 issued 04/30/2026.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Van Seijen and Misra teaches: The method as claimed claim 15
Van Seijen teaches: wherein the local agent is configured to control one of: ([0064] discloses a local agent controlling a robot.)
However, Van Seijen and Misra do not explicitly teach: radio access network counters to minimize handover rate in the radio access network; or radio access network counters to maximize Reference Signal Received Power, RSRP, values in the radio access network.
But Calzolari teaches: wherein the local agent is configured to control one of: radio access network
radio access network
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied Van Seijen’s local agent to control antenna switching. A motivation for the combination is to determine whether to switch from a currently active antenna to a different, more optimal antenna. (Calzolari, [0018])
However, the combination of Van Seijen, Misra, and Calzolari does not explicitly teach: control radio access network counters
But Oroskar teaches: control radio access network counters (C. 9, L. 31-44)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Oroskar’s handover counters into the combination of Van Seijen, Misra, and Calzolari. A motivation for the combination is that handover counters would provide additional information for the agent to determine whether to switch antennas.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Seijen et al. (US 20180165603 A1), Misra et al. (US 20210326883 A1), and Cui et al. (US 20170257289 A1). All references were cited in PTO-892 issued 04/30/2026.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Van Seijen and Misra teaches: The method as claimed in claim 15
Van Seijen: wherein the local agent is configured to control ([0064] discloses a local agent controlling a robot.)
However, Van Seijen and Misra do not explicitly teach: obtaining resources for a network slice to meet network requirements of the network slice.
But Cui teaches: wherein the local agent is configured to control obtaining resources for a network slice to meet network requirements of the network slice. ([0030], lines 5-7; [0031]-[0032] and [0034] discloses a machine-learned SDN controller 320 for slicing a network into at least a first slice.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated Van Seijen’s local agents into Tan’s SDN controller 320. A motivation for the combination is to allow a more dynamic network slicing decision to best utilize the limited RAN (radio access network) resources. (Tan, [0031])
Examiner’s Note
No prior art rejection has been provided for pending claim 6. The features of
the plurality of loss functions comprises N loss functions, where N is an integer, each associated with a respective RL model performed by an ith agent, where i = 1, … , N wherein the ith loss function is calculated based on a ith replay experience of the ith agent, wherein the ith replay experience comprises an ith state, an ith action, an ith reward and an ith next state; and wherein the step of determining the regularization component comprises: calculating distances between each combination of possible pairs of states in: the first next state to the Nth next state; calculating a Frobenius norm of a matrix comprising the distances; setting the regularization component as a square of the Frobenius norm divided by 2, when taken in the context of the claim as a whole, were not uncovered in the prior art of record.
Response to Arguments
The following are the Examiner’s responses to the Applicant’s arguments filed 07/30/2026.
Applicant’s Arguments Under 35 U.S.C. 101 (Pages 9-10): The Applicant argues the claims apply the calculations recited by the claim in a practical manner to improve control of a multi-agent RL environment. Applicant argues the claimed process does not merely calculate a combined loss function or updated parameters as an end in itself, and instead, the updated parameters are used to control the operation of local RL agents and to initiate or perform updated actions in the environment. Applicant argues this claimed architecture addresses the technical problem of coordinating multiple RL agents whose local objectives may interact or conflict, by using a global agent to update the parameters of the local RL models in a coordinated manner.
Applicant respectfully disagrees with the characterization of the “initiating execution” and “performing” limitations as merely generic instructions to apply an abstract idea. The Applicant argues these limitations are not insignificant extra-solution activity, but rather they are the operational result of the claimed local-agent/global-agent architecture. The Applicant argues the updated parameter values are used to cause the corresponding local agents to take updated actions in the multi-agent RL environment, and that the claims do not merely recite calculating updated parameters and stopping there, but rather the claims use those updated parameters to control the behavior of local RL agents.
Examiner’s Response: The Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner has assumed that the Applicant’s arguments refer to claim 19 because this is the only independent claim which recites determining a combined loss function, minimizing the combined loss function, and using a global agent. Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments in the paragraph starting on page 9, line 3, for the following reasons.
In the 101 analysis of claim 19, the first step is to determine whether the claim recites an abstract idea. Claim 19 recites steps of determining a combined loss function based on the plurality of loss functions, and minimizing the combined loss function, which are both mathematical calculations. The remaining limitations of claim 19 are evaluated in step 2A Prong 2 as being either mere instructions to apply the abstract ideas on a generic computer, or else insignificant extra-solution activity.
The claims do not explicitly recite coordinating multiple RL agents whose local objectives may interact or conflict by using a global agent to update parameters of the local RL models in a coordinated manner. At best, claim 19 recites determining a combined loss function based on the plurality of loss functions, and minimizing the combined loss function. These steps are mathematical calculations.
In response to the arguments that “the claimed process do not merely calculate a combined loss function and or updated parameters as an end in itself”, this is not what the previous and current Office Actions assert. The Office Actions state that the additional elements of claim 19 do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application as they are mere insignificant extra-solution activities as disclosed in combination with generic computer functions to perform the abstract ideas, and therefore claim 19 is directed to an abstract idea. The same is true for the Applicant’s argument that “the claims do not merely recite calculating updated parameters and stopping there.” The step of “using updated parameters to control the behavior of local RL agents” appears to correspond to the final 4 lines of claim 19. These features are additional elements which amount to mere instructions to apply abstract ideas on a generic computer. Lastly, features that correspond to controlling a multi-agent reinforcement-learning environment using a particular local-agent/global-agent architecture (such as claim 19, lines 1-2 and the final 4 lines) are additional element which amount to mere instructions to apply abstract ideas on a generic computer.
Applicant’s Arguments Under 35 U.S.C. 102 (Pages 10-11): The Applicant argues that, while Van Seijen may disclose multiple heads or agents that produce action-values used by an aggregator, Van Seijen does not disclose the claimed architecture in which a global agent minimizes a combined loss function with respect to respective first and second parameters of respective local RL models to determine updated values for those parameters, and then initiates execution of respective updated actions by the corresponding first and second local agents based on those updated values. The Applicant argues that in Van Seijen, the aggregator uses the values of the heads to select its action; and that notably, it is not described as updating respective parameter sets of multiple local RL models and causing those local agents to execute respective updated actions based on the updated parameter values.
The Office Action also appears to rely on different portions of Van Seijen for different aspects of the rejection… Applicant respectfully submits that the cited portions of Van Seijen have not been shown to disclose a single arrangement having all of the limitations of claim 1 arranged as claimed.
Examiner’s Response: The Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments in the final paragraph on page 10 do not relate to claim 1 because the claim does not recite a global agent. The global agent in claim 19 is broadly recited, and Examiner treats a global agent as a mathematical model, executed by processing circuitry, which controls multiple RL agents, executes the steps of claim 19, and performs any type of global function. In Van Seijen, paragraphs [0088], [0231], lines 1-18, and [0331], lines 7-10 disclose a processing unit that aggregates action values from each agent and selects a current action. Therefore, Van Seijen teaches a global agent.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument that the cited portions of Van Seijen have not been shown to disclose a single arrangement having all of the limitations of claim 1 arranged as claimed. Van Seijen’s paragraphs [0064], [0088], [0231], lines 1-18 demonstrate examples of actions that are available to a multi-agent system, such as horizontal movements available to a horizontal agent and vertical movements available to a vertical agent. Note that paragraphs [0064], [0088] explicitly state “an example layout 100 for this introductory example” and “As an example where agents are fully independent (e.g., as shown by relationship 402 in FIG. 4), consider the fruit-reaching robot example from FIG. 1”.
Paragraphs [0234], [0241], [0243]-[0245] were relied upon for teaching how a multi-agent HRA modal is trained. These paragraphs include an embodiment wherein a first agent n = 1 is the horizontal agent and a second agent n = 2 is the vertical agent.
Applicant’s Arguments Under 35 U.S.C. 103 (Pages 11-13): With respect to independent claim 15, the Applicant argues the combination of Van Seijen and Misra does not teach the limitations of claim 15 because Van Seijen does not disclose the claimed local agent/global-agent architecture. Applicant argues Misra does not disclose an updated value of parameters of a reinforcement-learning model received by a local agent from a global agent.
Examiner’s Response: The Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The global agent in claim 15 is broadly recited, and Examiner treats a global agent as a mathematical model which performs aggregation of multiple (local) RL agents. In Van Seijen, paragraphs [0231], lines 1-18 and [0243]-[0245] disclose a mathematical model for aggregating action values from each agent and selecting a current action. Therefore, Van Seijen teaches a global agent, and an updated value of parameters of a reinforcement-learning model received by a local agent from a global agent.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.H.J./Examiner, Art Unit 2127
/ABDULLAH AL KAWSAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2127