DETAILED ACTION
3. Claims 1-15 are pending. Claims 1-15 are under examination on the merits. Claim 1 is amended.
4. The objections and rejections not addressed below are deemed withdrawn.
5. Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, thus claims 1-15 stand rejected as set forth in Office action dated 01/28/2026 and further discussed in the Response to Arguments below.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. The information disclosure statement submitted on 04/06/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-10, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Turpen et al. (WO 2020/094772 A1, hereinafter “’772”) in view of Chopra et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0138449 A1, hereinafter “’449”).
Regarding claim 1: ‘722 teaches a photochromic composition (Page 1, [0002]), comprising 3,3-bis-(4-methoxyphenyl)-6-methoxy-7-piperidino-11-trifluoromethyl-13,13-diethyl- 3H,13H-indeno[2',3':3,4]naphtho[1,2-b]pyran (Page 21, lines 5-6) corresponding to compound in which R³⁰ and R³¹ both represent an ethyl group, R³³ represents an electron-withdrawing group such as -CF3-, and R³⁶ and R³⁷ each independently represent an electron-donating group are contained as the photochromic compound represented by General Formula 1 (i.e., combination (f)). ‘722 does not expressly teach one or more photochromic compounds represented by General Formula A as set forth.
However, ‘449 teaches photochromic materials comprising indeno-fused naphthopyrans having an electron-withdrawing substituent (Page 1, [0001]) in 6-position and 11-poisition (Page 2, [0014]) such as 3,3-di(4-methoxyphenyl)-6,11-difluoro-13,13-dimethyl-3H,13H-indeno[2',3':- 3,4]naphtho[1,2-b]pyran (Page 13, [0077]) corresponding to photochromic compound represented by General Formula A such R1 to R6, and B1 and B2 each independently a substituent with benefit of providing the photochromic materials that display faster fade rates, bathochromic shift, and higher performance ratings compared to comparable indeno-fused naphthopyrans without the electron-withdrawing substituents as suggested by ‘449 (Page 2, [0010]).
In an analogous art of the photochromic composition, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the photochromic composition by ‘772, so as to include the photochromic compound, R33 (11-posiiton), and R37 (6-position) as electron-withdrawing groups as taught by ‘449, and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing the photochromic materials that display faster fade rates, bathochromic shift, and higher performance ratings compared to comparable indeno-fused naphthopyrans without the electron-withdrawing substituents as suggested by ‘449 (Page 2, [0010]).
Regarding claim 2: The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ‘449 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘722 teaches the photochromic composition (Page 1, [0002]), wherein R36 and R37 each independently represent an electron-donating group such as 6-methoxy-7-piperidino moiety corresponding to a photochromic compound of instant General Formula 1 (Page 21, lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 3: The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ‘449 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘722 teaches the photochromic composition (Page 1, [0002]), wherein the electro-withdrawing group is -CF3- (i.e., perfluoroalkyl group having 1 carbon atom) in the instant General Formula 1 (Page 21, lines 5-6).
‘449 teaches photochromic materials comprising indeno-fused naphthopyrans having an electron-withdrawing substituent (Page 1, [0001]) in 6-position and 11-poisition (Page 2, [0014]) such as 6,11-difluoro moiety (i.e., halogen atom) in General Formula A.
Regarding claim 4: The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ‘449 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘722 teaches the photochromic composition (Page 1, [0002]), wherein the electro-withdrawing group is -CF3- (i.e., perfluoroalkyl group having 1 carbon atom) in the instant General Formula 1 (Page 21, lines 5-6).
‘449 teaches photochromic materials comprising indeno-fused naphthopyrans having an electron-withdrawing substituent (Page 1, [0001]) in 6-position and 11-poisition (Page 2, [0014]) such as 6,11-difluoro moiety (i.e., halogen atom) in General Formula A.
Regarding claim 5: The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ‘449 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘722 teaches the photochromic composition (Page 1, [0002]), wherein the electro-withdrawing group is -CF3- (i.e., trifluoromethyl group) in the instant General Formula 1 (Page 21, lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 6: The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ‘449 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘722 teaches the photochromic composition (Page 1, [0002]), B7 and B8 in General Formula 1 each independently represent a substituted phenyl group such as 3,3-bis-(4-methoxyphenyl) groups (Page 21, lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 7: The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ‘449 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘722 teaches the photochromic composition (Page 1, [0002]), B7 and B8 in General Formula 1 each independently represent a substituted phenyl group such as 3,3-bis-(4-methoxyphenyl) groups (Page 21, lines 5-6).
Regarding claim 8: The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ‘449 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘722 teaches the photochromic composition (Page 1, [0002]), further comprising a polymerizable compound such as acrylic polyol (Page 36, Table 1; Page 37, lines 10-14).
Regarding claim 9: : The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ‘449 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘722 teaches a photochromic article comprising a cured product obtained by curing the photochromic composition (Page 37, [0149], lines 19-25).
Regarding claim 10: The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ‘449 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘722 teaches a photochromic article, comprising: a substrate; and a photochromic layer which is the cured product (Page 38, [0150], lines 3-9).
Regarding claim 12: The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ‘449 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘722 teaches the photochromic article, wherein the photochromic article is a lens for goggles (Page 5, [0020], lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 13:The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ‘449 is adequately set forth in paragraph above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘722 teaches the photochromic article, wherein the photochromic article is a visor portion of a sun visor (Page 5, [0020], lines 1-7).
9. Claims 11, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Turpen et al. (WO 2020/094772 A1, hereinafter “’772”) in view of Chopra et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0138449 A1, hereinafter “’449”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shimada et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0142221 A1, hereinafter “’221”).
Regarding claims 11,14-15: The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ‘449 is adequately set forth in paragraph 8 above and is incorporated herein by reference. ‘772 in view of ‘449 does not expressly teach the photochromic article is a spectacle lens or a shield member of a helmet, and spectacles comprising the spectacle lens.
However, ‘221 teaches an optical article comprising: a substrate, a protective film on the substrate, and a photochromic layer between the substrate and the protective film (Page 1, [0002]). ‘221 teaches the optical article is structure of a spectacle lens (with power, without power), it can also be applied to a goggle lens for a goggle that has one lens to cover the eyes instead of two (left and right) lens, or a member corresponding to a visor (brim) portion, which is different from a lens shape of a typical spectacle lens, in the case where the visor (brim) portion has photochromism. The structure can also be applied to the structure of helmet shield member. The member corresponding to a visor portion or the shield member includes a plastic substrate, such as polycarbonate (Page 11, [0177]).
In an analogous art of the photochromic composition, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to apply the photochromic composition by ‘772, so as to include the photochromic article such as spectacle lens or a shield member of a helmet, and spectacles comprising the spectacle lens as taught by ‘221, and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing an optical articles such as a spectacle lens including a photochromic layer having photochromism as suggested by ‘221 (Page 1, [0002]).
10. Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Turpen et al. (WO 2020/094772 A1, hereinafter “’772”) in view of Chopra et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/013844 9 A1, hereinafter “’449”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barry Van Gemert (US Pat. No. 5,645,767, hereinafter “’767”).
Regarding claims 10-15: The disclosure of ‘772 in view of ’449 is adequately set forth in paragraph 8 above and is incorporated herein by reference. This rejection is applied in the interest of advancing prosecution in the event it can be shown that ‘772 in view of ’449 does not expressly teach the photochromic article, further comprising: a substrate, a photochromic layer which is the cured product, wherein the photochromic article is a spectacle lens, a lens for goggles, a visor portion of a sun visor, a shield member of a helmet
However, ‘767 teaches the photochromic composition comprising the organic photochromic naphthopyrans may be used alone, in combination with other naphthopyrans or in combination with one or more other appropriate complementary organic photochromic materials (Col. 12, lines 32-36). ‘767 teaches the photochromic article, further comprising: a substrate, a photochromic layer which is the cured product (Col. 13, lines 40-58). Furthermore, ‘767 teaches the naphthopyran compounds represented by graphic formula I may be used in those applications in which organic photochromic substances may be employed, such as optical lenses, e.g., vision correcting ophthalmic lenses and plano lenses, face shields, goggles, visors, camera lenses, windows, automotive windshields, aircraft and automotive transparencies, e.g., T-roofs, sidelights and backlights, plastic films and sheets, textiles and coatings, e.g., coating compositions such as paints, and verification marks on security documents, e.g., documents such as banknotes, passports and drivers' licenses for which authentication or verification of authenticity may be desired (Col. 11, lines 32-45).
Thus, the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made, since choosing an appropriate photochromic coating from the selection of naphthopyran compounds based on its suitability for its intended use has generally been held to be prima facie obvious (MPEP §2144.07).
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
In response to Applicant’s argument that '772 is cited as anticipating the claims by allegedly disclosing the prior claimed combination (a)(ii) or combination (a)(iv), now deleted from claim. Reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection are respectfully requested.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The new rejection is now based on the combination of ‘722 in view of ‘449. ‘722 teaches a photochromic composition (Page 1, [0002]), comprising 3,3-bis-(4-methoxyphenyl)-6-methoxy-7-piperidino-11-trifluoromethyl-13,13-diethyl- 3H,13H-indeno[2',3':3,4]naphtho[1,2-b]pyran (Page 21, lines 5-6) corresponding to compound in which R³⁰ and R³¹ both represent an ethyl group, R³³ represents an electron-withdrawing group such as -CF3-, and R³⁶ and R³⁷ each independently represent an electron-donating group are contained as the photochromic compound represented by General Formula 1 (combination (f)). ‘722 does not expressly teach one or more photochromic compounds represented by General Formula A as set forth.
However, ‘449 teaches photochromic materials comprising indeno-fused naphthopyrans having an electron-withdrawing substituent (Page 1, [0001]) in 6-position and 11-poisition (Page 2, [0014]) such as 3,3-di(4-methoxyphenyl)-6,11-difluoro-13,13-dimethyl-3H,13H-indeno[2',3':- 3,4]naphtho[1,2-b]pyran (Page 13, [0077]) corresponding to photochromic compound represented by General Formula A such R1 to R6, and B1 and B2 each independently a substituent with benefit of providing the photochromic materials that display faster fade rates, bathochromic shift, and higher performance ratings compared to comparable indeno-fused naphthopyrans without the electron-withdrawing substituents as suggested by ‘449 (Page 2, [0010]). In this case, nevertheless, the combination of ‘722 in view of ‘449 is deemed to teach the photochromic composition as the recited claimed. Thus, ‘449 cures the deficiency in the references such as ‘722 relied upon in rejecting independent claim. In an analogous art of the photochromic composition, and in the light of such benefit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the photochromic composition by ‘772, so as to include the photochromic compound, R33 (11-posiiton), and R37 (6-position) as electron-withdrawing groups as taught by ‘449, and would have been motivated to do so with reasonable expectation that this would result in providing the photochromic materials that display faster fade rates, bathochromic shift, and higher performance ratings compared to comparable indeno-fused naphthopyrans without the electron-withdrawing substituents as suggested by ‘449 (Page 2, [0010]).
Examiner Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Del Sole can be reached on 571-272-1130. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Bijan Ahvazi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
06/01/2026
bijan.ahvazi@uspto.gov