DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant respectfully submits that the prior art fails to teach the amended feature wherein the reference value is set for each frame. Examiner respectfully disagrees. D1 does teach in ¶ 495 that the reference point may belong to the same frame or a different frame and therefore anticipates the limitation of determining a reference point for each frame.
Claims 1 and 4-8 are pending. Claims 2-3 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1.1
With regard to claim 1, D1 teach decoding method for decoding point cloud data (see ¶¶ 128, 147, fig. 1: encoding and decoding system), the decoding method comprising: a step of specifying reference values set for each frame (see ¶¶ 194, 401, 494, 495: reference point; see ¶ 495: reference point may belong to the same frame or a different frame); a step of decoding attribute residuals of a plurality of points included in the merged point cloud data from encoded residual data obtained by encoding the attribute residuals, the attribute residuals of the plurality of points being residuals of attribute values of the plurality of points with respect to the reference values (see ¶¶ 494-495); and a step of calculating, for each of the plurality of points, an attribute value of the point from an attribute residual of the point and the reference value corresponding to a frame to which the point belongs (see ¶¶ 494-495).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teach comprising a step of decoding the group to which each of the plurality of points belongs from encoded attribute data obtained by encoding a value indicating the group to which each of the plurality of points belongs, wherein in the step of specifying the reference values, a reference value corresponding to the decoded group to which each of the plurality of points belongs is specified (see ¶¶ 494-495).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teach a step of decoding a frame index and an attribute residual of each of a plurality of points included in merged point cloud data obtained by merging point clouds belonging to different frames from encoded points cloud including encoded index data obtained by encoding frame indexes indicating the frames to which the points belong and encoded residual data obtained by encoding attribute residuals that are residuals of attribute values with respect to reference values and reference data indicating a correspondence relationship between the frame indexes and the reference values (see ¶¶ 456, 465-466, 494-495: frame index, residuals and reference values; ¶ 495: reference value may belong to the same frame or different frame); a step of acquiring reference data indicating a correspondence relationship between the frame indexes and the reference values (see ¶¶ 494-495: encoding and decoding of frame index, residuals and reference values); a step of specifying, for each of the plurality of points, a reference value corresponding to the decoded frame index from the reference data; and a step of calculating, for each of the plurality of points, an attribute value from the decoded attribute residual and the specified reference value (see ¶¶ 494-495; see ¶¶ 128, 147, fig. 1: encoding and decoding system).
With regard to claim 6, D1 teach a reference specifying unit configured to specify reference values set for each frame corresponding to a plurality of points (see ¶¶ 456, 465-466, 494-495: frame index, residuals and reference values; ¶ 495: reference value may be belong to the same frame or different frame); a residual decoding unit configured to decode attribute residuals of a plurality of points included in the merged point cloud data from encoded residual data obtained by encoding the attribute residuals, the attribute residuals of the plurality of points being residuals of attribute values of the plurality of points with respect to the reference values (see ¶¶ 128, 147, fig. 1, ¶¶ 494-495: encoding and decoding of residual values with respect to reference); and an attribute value calculation unit configured to calculate, for each of the plurality of points, an attribute value of the point from an attribute residual of the point and the reference value corresponding to a frame to which the point belongs (see ¶¶ 128, 147, 494-495: decoding of attribute values).
With regard to claim 7, see discussion of claim 1.
With regard to claim 8, D1 teach encoded point cloud data, the encoded point cloud data comprising: encoded residual data obtained by encoding attribute residuals that are residuals of attribute values of a plurality of points included in merged point cloud data obtained by merging point clouds belonging to different frames with respect to reference values set for each frame, the encoded residual data being used by a computer for decoding the merged point cloud data for processing of decoding the attribute residuals (see ¶¶ 494-495: encoding residual values with respect to reference; see ¶¶ 128, 147, fig. 1, ¶¶ 494-495: encoding and decoding of residual values with respect to reference, where reference value may be belong to the same frame or different frame); and reference data indicating a correspondence relationship between the plurality of points and the reference values, the reference data being used by the computer for processing of calculating, for each of the plurality of points, an attribute value from an attribute residual and a reference value (see ¶¶ 494-495; see ¶¶ 128, 147, fig. 1, ¶¶ 494-495: encoding and decoding of residual values with respect to reference).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AVINASH YENTRAPATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
1 US Publication No. 2021/0142521.