DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of a compound of Formula 3-1 in the reply filed on 05/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Status
Claims 4-10, 12-13, and 15 are canceled. Claims 1, 2, 11, 14, and 16 are amended. Support for the amended claims is found in the claims as originally filed. Claims 1-3, 11, 14, and 16-19 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 11, 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 20170204124 A1) in view of Tsujioka et al. (JP 2016026991 A).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi discloses an electrolyte (paragraphs 0051), comprising an organic solvent (paragraph 0052), a lithium salt (paragraphs 0146-0148), and one or more phosphate compounds selected from the group consisting of compounds represented by Chemical Formulas 7-4 and 7-5 (paragraphs 0171, 0336, Compound 9-1-Li). Takahashi is silent regarding one or more selected from the group consisting of compounds represented by Chemical Formulas 1a, 3-1, 4a, 5-52. Takahashi further discloses the inclusion of ionic complexes for the purpose of high temperature durability (paragraph 0012).
Tsujioka discloses ionic complexes which may be used for electrolytes in lithium secondary batteries (Tsujioka paragraphs 0001-0002, 0116). Tsujioka further discloses an ionic complex of the claimed formula 3-1 (Tsujioka paragraph 0100, 0181, structure 46, compound 1Pb-2). The reference teaches that the ionic complexes can be easily formed with a desired coordination number (Tsujioka paragraph 0033). Tsujioka and Takahashi are analogous because they both disclose ionic complexes used in electrolytes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Takahashi to include the compound of Tsujioka for the purpose of providing an efficiently synthesized ionic complex, which Takahashi teaches the inclusion of.
Regarding claim 2, modified Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Takahashi further discloses wherein, based on a total weight of the electrolyte, the electrolyte comprises 0.1 to 10 % by weight of one or more of the ionic complex (paragraph 0151, 0.1 to 5 mass%, within the claimed range). Takahashi does not explicitly disclose that the ionic complex is among the compounds represented by Chemical 1a, 3-1, 4a, 5-52).
Tsujioka discloses ionic complexes which may be used for electrolytes in lithium secondary batteries (Tsujioka paragraphs 0001-0002, 0116). Tsujioka further discloses an ionic complex of the claimed formula 3-1 (Tsujioka paragraph 0100, 0181, structure 46, compound 1Pb-2). The reference teaches that the ionic complexes can be easily formed with a desired coordination number (Tsujioka paragraph 0033). Tsujioka and Takahashi are analogous because they both disclose ionic complexes used in electrolytes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Takahashi to substitute the compound of Tsujioka for the ionic complex of Takahashi for purpose of providing an efficiently synthesized ionic complex, which Takahashi teaches the inclusion of.
Regarding claim 3, modified Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Takahashi further discloses herein the electrolyte is a liquid electrolyte, a semi-solid electrolyte, or a solid electrolyte (paragraphs 0052, 0156, 0200).
Regarding claim 11, modified Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Takahashi further discloses wherein, based on 100 % by weight in total of the electrolyte, the electrolyte comprises 0.1 to 10 % by weight of the phosphate compound (paragraph 0170, 0.1 to 5 mass%, within the claimed range).
Regarding claim 14, modified Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Takahashi further discloses wherein the organic solvents comprise one or more selected from the group consisting of ethylene carbonate (EC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), ethylmethyl carbonate (EMC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC), propylene carbonate (PC), butylene carbonate, methylpropyl carbonate, ethylpropyl carbonate, methyl propionate (MP), and ethyl propionate (EP) (paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 16, modified Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 1. Takahashi further discloses wherein the lithium salt comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of LiPF6, LiBF4, LiClO4, LiCF3CO2, LiAsF6, LiSbF6, CF3SO3Li, (CF3SO2)(C2FSSO2)NLi, (SO2F)2NLi, and (CF3SO2)2NLi (paragraph 0146).
Regarding claim 18, modified Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 16. Takahashi further discloses a secondary battery, comprising an anode, a cathode, and the electrolyte (paragraphs 0075-0076).
Claims 1-3, 11, 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 20170204124 A1) in view of Tsujioka et al. (JP 2016026991 A) as applied to claims 16 and 18 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20180051137 A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 17. Takahashi is silent regarding wherein, based on 100 mol% in total of the electrolyte, the electrolyte comprises 0.6 to 2 mol% of the lithium salt.
Kim discloses a lithium secondary battery which comprises a positive electrode and a negative electrode; and a non-aqueous electrolyte (Kim paragraph 0022). Kim further discloses that the lithium salt is included in the electrolyte in the concentration of about 0.6 mol % to 2 mol % (Kim paragraph 0068). The reference teaches that the range improves the viscosity and conductivity of the electrolyte (Kim paragraph 0068). Kim and Takahashi are analogous because they both disclose lithium nonaqueous electrolyte batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte disclosed by Takahashi to have the salt concentration of Kim for the purpose of improving conductivity and viscosity of the electrolyte.
Regarding claim 19, modified Takahashi discloses the limitations of claim 18. Takahashi is silent regarding wherein the secondary battery is a battery for automobiles.
Kim discloses a lithium secondary battery which comprises a positive electrode and a negative electrode; and a non-aqueous electrolyte (Kim paragraph 0022). Kim further discloses that the secondary battery is useful for electric vehicles (Kim paragraph 0106). The reference teaches that the excellent capacity, cycle characteristics, and energy density is preferable for the vehicle application (Kim paragraphs 0002, 0106). Kim and Takahashi are analogous because they both disclose lithium nonaqueous electrolyte batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery disclosed by Takahashi to be utilized in an automobile as disclosed by Kim, as Kim teaches that the characteristics of the battery are preferable for automobile use.
Conclusion
/B.T.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1727 /Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727