DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8, 10, 17, and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/3/25.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, 11-16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Independent claims 1 and 12 have been amended to recite, “means for rotating in complete revolutions said UVC LED light source.” To support the newly added “in complete revolutions” limitation, applicant points to the drawings of record. However, none of the drawings show any indication of the rotating the UVC LED light source by any particular angle, let alone do they show any sign of rotating through multiple complete revolutions. As such, the limitation at issue is determined to be new matter, and the claims including said limitation (i.e., claims 1-20) are rejected for lacking original disclosure support.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9, 11-16, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0404210 A1 [Riley] in view of CN111265706 B [Li] (translation attached)
Regarding Claim 1:
Riley teaches a rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation (abstract, para 40), comprising:
a tube handle (see Fig. 6 (300) below) attached to a door latch assembly (para 49, and as shown in Fig. 1 below), said handle having a frosted surface (para 44);
a rotating UVC LED light source contained within said tube handle (Fig. 6 (302) is an UV LED providing UVC light per para 25. The LEDs rotate when the handle is turned per para 40);
electrical energy for energizing said UVC LED light source (as provided by (314));
electrical energy for rotating said UVC LED light source contained within said tube handle (Fig. 6 (314), para 50).
However, Riley fails to teach means for rotating in complete revolution said UVC LED light source contained within said tube handle, which is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) to correspond to a motor, or that the handle is made of quartz.
Li is directed to another UV sanitizing device (abstract), and is analogous art since it is also directed to the problem of UV sanitization. Li teaches that the UV LEDs are to be placed on a circuit board which is rotated by a motor (claim 1) and placed inside of a quartz housing (specifically reciting, “FIG. 9 description of the sterilizing device 200 of the shell is composed of front 101, top surface 102, side 103, bottom 104. In addition to the bottom surface and the side surface, the front surface 101, the upper surface 102 can be made of high transmission ultraviolet material, such as quartz glass.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the means for rotating taught by Li to the UV circuit boards of Riley. One would have been motivated to do so since this would allow the UV to be redirected at a preferred angle.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the quartz glass of Li as the glass of Riley, since quartz glass is effective at transmitting UV light.
Regarding Claim 2:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation according to claim 1, wherein said means for rotating said UVC LED light source contained within the tube handle is an electric motor. Li claim 1, Fig. 9.
Regarding Claim 3:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation according to claim 1, wherein said UVC LED light source contained within said tube handle comprises at least one UVC LED mounted on a circuit board. Riley Fig. 6 (306))
Regarding Claim 4:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation according to claim 1, wherein said rotating UVC LED light source contained within said tube handle is successively firing. Riley paras 45-46.
Regarding Claim 7:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation according to claim 1, wherein said rotating UVC LED light source contained within the tube handle is attached to a rotating circuit board. Riley Fig. 6 (306) rotates with the handle. Further, Li Fig. 9 demonstrates the entire circuit board rotating.
Regarding Claim 9:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation according to claim 1, wherein said electrical energy for energizing said UVC LED light source is provided by a battery. Riley Fig. 6 (314).
Regarding Claim 11:
The modified invention of claim 1 teaches the rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation according to claim 1, wherein said electrical energy for rotating said UVC LED light source contained within said tube handle is provided by a battery. Riley Fig. 6 (314).
Regarding Claim 12:
Riley teaches a rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation (abstract, para 40), comprising:
a tube handle attached to a door latch assembly (Fig. 6 (300)), said handle having a translucent surface (para 44);
a rotating UVC LED light source contained within said tube handle (Fig. 6 (302) is an UV LED providing UVC light per para 25. The LEDs rotate when the handle is turned per para 40);
electrical energy for energizing said UVC LED light source (as provided by (314));
electrical energy for rotating said UVC LED light source contained within said tube handle (Fig. 6 (314), para 50).
However, Riley fails to teach means for rotating in complete revolution said UVC LED light source contained within said tube handle, which is interpreted under 35 USC 112(f) to correspond to a motor.
Li is directed to another UV sanitizing device (abstract), and is analogous art since it is also directed to the problem of UV sanitization. Li teaches that the UV LEDs are to be placed on a circuit board which is rotated by a motor (claim 1) and placed inside of a quartz housing (specifically reciting, “FIG. 9 description of the sterilizing device 200 of the shell is composed of front 101, top surface 102, side 103, bottom 104. In addition to the bottom surface and the side surface, the front surface 101, the upper surface 102 can be made of high transmission ultraviolet material, such as quartz glass.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to add the means for rotating taught by Li to the UV circuit boards of Riley. One would have been motivated to do so since this would allow the UV to be redirected at a preferred angle.
Regarding Claim 13:
The modified invention of claim 12 teaches the rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation according to claim 12, wherein said means for rotating said UVC LED light source contained within the tube handle is an electric motor. Li claim 1, Fig. 9.
Regarding Claim 14:
The modified invention of claim 12 teaches the rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation according to claim 12, wherein said UVC LED light source contained within said tube handle comprises at least one UVC LED mounted on a circuit board. Riley Fig. 6 (306))
Regarding Claim 15:
The modified invention of claim 12 teaches the rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation according to claim 12, wherein said rotating UVC LED light source contained within said tube handle is successively firing. Riley paras 45-46.
Regarding Claim 16:
The modified invention of claim 12 teaches the rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation according to claim 1, wherein said rotating UVC LED light source contained within the tube handle is attached to a rotating circuit board. Riley Fig. 6 (306) rotates with the handle. Further, Li Fig. 9 demonstrates the entire circuit board rotating.
Regarding Claim 18:
The modified invention of claim 12 teaches the rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation according to claim 12, wherein said electrical energy for energizing said UVC LED light source is provided by a battery. Riley Fig. 6 (314).
Regarding Claim 20:
The modified invention of claim 12 teaches the rotating successive firing emitting translucent ultraviolet C self-sterilizing germicidal light tube for a door handle or door lever access device for hand sanitation according to claim 12, wherein said electrical energy for rotating said UVC LED light source contained within said tube handle is provided by a battery. Riley Fig. 6 (314).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the US 2021/0404210A1 to Riley “is not citable as “prior art” due to Applicant’s effective filing date.” This is legally incorrect. Riley is unambiguously prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2).
Applicant argues that Li does not describe full revolutions, and as such the proposed modification would not meet the claims. This is not persuasive. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the case at hand, Li teaches a that the irradiation angle controller is “a rotating shaft and a driving motor.” This is the same structure as is disclosed in the instant specification as corresponding to “means for rotating…” Further, applying this identical structure to the prior art of Riley would yield the claimed invention, since one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the cantilevered nature of a handle encourages complete rotation of the motor and its associated lights in the same logical fashion that the lamp attached to a ceiling in Li encouraged partial rotations, i.e., irradiating the entire accessible area around the lamp.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881