DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 10-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/26/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I encompassing Claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cleaning system” in Claims 1-9, “wind-displaced cleaning elements” in Claims 1 and 2, “cleaning device” in Claims 1 and 4, “elongated elements” in Claim 3, and “negative component” in Claim 4.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. CN 104034059 A (hereafter Yu et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Yu et al. anticipates:
1. A cleaning system (brush belt solar water heater cleaning) with interchangeable wind-displaced cleaning elements (brush-type dust cleaning belts 7) for cleaning one or more solar collector (assembly comprising collecting plate 4, insulating layer 2 and heat absorbing pipe 3), the system comprising:
(a) a pair of fixtures (channels of outer frame 1 for mounting clips 6), attached to or integrated with one or more solar collector at spaced-apart locations (top and bottom shown in Figure 2), each of said fixtures having a first part (thickest rib, Figure 2) of an attachment configuration (best shown in Figure 2); and
(b) a cleaning device (cleaning belt 7) comprising a wind-displaceable cleaning element terminating (body of cleaning belt 7) at each end in a clip (clip 6) having a second part (flange for mounting fixing bolt 5) of an attachment configuration (tightening fixing bolt 5 would allow attachment) configured so as to define together with said first part of an attachment configuration a releasable attachment configuration (loosening fixing bolt 5 would allow releasement),
such that the cleaning device is deployable by attaching each clip to a corresponding one of said fixtures and is removable for replacement by detaching the attachment configuration for each clip, thereby facilitating replacement of the cleaning device by another similar cleaning device (fixing bolt 5 can be removed, to reposition or remove clip 6 allowing replacement of cleaning belt 7).
Regarding Claim 4, Yu et al. anticipates:
4. The cleaning system of claim 1, wherein the releasable attachment configuration (loosening fixing bolt 5 would allow releasement) is disengaged by motion of said clip relative to said fixture (channels of outer frame 1 for mounting clips 6) in a release direction (shown and labeled in zoomed in Figure 2 below), and wherein, when the cleaning device (cleaning belt 7) is deployed, tension in the cleaning device acts on the clips in a direction (shown and labeled in zoomed in Figure 2 below) which has a negative component along said release direction.
Regarding Claim 5, Yu et al. anticipates:
5. The cleaning system of claim 1, wherein said fixtures (channels of outer frame 1 for mounting clips 6) are attached to (shown in Figure 2) or integrated with side surfaces of the solar collector (assembly comprising collecting plate 4, insulating layer 2 and heat absorbing pipe 3).
Regarding Claim 6, Yu et al. anticipates:
6. The cleaning system of claim 1, wherein said fixtures (channels of outer frame 1 for mounting clips 6) are attached to or integrated with (shown in Figure 2) rear surfaces of the solar collector (assembly comprising collecting plate 4, insulating layer 2 and heat absorbing pipe 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Yu et al. anticipates:
9. The cleaning system of claim 1, wherein each of said clips (clip 6) comprises a projecting handle (labeled in attached zoomed in Figure 2 below) configured to facilitate holding of said clips by a holding tool during attachment to, and detachment from, said fixture (identified feature would facilitate holding as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. CN 104034059 A (hereafter Yu et al.) in view of Sefi US 2019/0280645 (hereafter Sefi) and Hirsh US 2,212,862 (hereafter Hirsh).
Regarding Claim 2, Yu et al. teaches:
2. The cleaning system of claim 1, wherein said wind-displaceable cleaning element (body of cleaning belt 7) is formed at least in part from a ribbon (see discussion below), and wherein each of said clips comprises a ribbon gripper gripping a corresponding end of said wind-displaceable cleaning element (see discussion below).
Yu et al. discloses wind-displaceable cleaning elements that are formed as a rope with projecting bristles with both ends connected to clips 6 using an undisclosed gripping feature corresponding to each end. Yu et al. does not disclose a wind-displaceable cleaning element that is formed at least in part from a ribbon. The reference Sefi discloses wind-displaceable cleaning elements that are formed as a strip as shown in Figures 5, 8A, and 8B, with both ribbon shaped ends anchored to the sides of the solar panels. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rope-shaped wind-displaceable cleaning elements of Yu et al. to be strips with ribbon shaped ends as taught by Sefi with the motivation to use proven shape know in the prior art that would improve the wind agitation.
That being said, the obvious modification would require the structure of the clip to be modified to effectively grip the ribbon shape end. The reference Hirsh discloses in Figure 7 a buckle structure with three adjacent elongated elements 1, 3, and 3’ defining two ribbon-gripping slots 7 and 7’ open at opposite ends. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Yu et al. clip to include structure as taught by Hirsh that is specifically designed to secure ribbon shaped straps with the motivation to use proven structure that allows for ribbon shaped material to be secured and adjustable to control the final length.
Regarding Claim 3, Yu et al. teaches:
3. The cleaning system of claim 2, wherein said ribbon gripper comprises three adjacent elongated elements (labeled in Examiner modified combined device below) defining between them two ribbon-gripping slots (labeled in Examiner modified combined device below), a first of said slots being open at a first end and a second of said slots being open at a second end opposite from said first end (labeled and shown in Examiner modified combined device below).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. CN 104034059 A (hereafter Yu et al.) in view of common knowledge.
Regarding Claim 7, Yu et al. teaches:
7. The cleaning system of claim 1, wherein said attachment configuration (tightening fixing bolt 5 would allow attachment) is configured to provide angular freedom of motion (see discussion below) of said clip (clip 6) when attached to said fixture (channels of outer frame 1 for mounting clips 6).
As shown in Figures 1 and 2, the clip 6 is intended to be fully inserted on the rib of outer frame to create a parallel mounting arrangement. However, the mounting configuration would allow a user to partially insert the clip with an angular adjustment prior to tightening the fixing bolt 5. Therefore, it would have been obvious common knowledge to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to, without modification, install the clip 6 with an angular freedom of motion as desired by the user and securing the clip at a desired angle by tightening the fixing bolt 5.
Regarding Claim 8, Yu et al. teaches:
8. The cleaning system of claim 7, wherein said second part (flange for mounting fixing bolt 5) of the attachment configuration (tightening fixing bolt 5 would allow attachment) includes a closed loop (threaded hole for receiving fixing bolt 5) that is engaged by said first part (thickest rib, Figure 2) of the attachment configuration.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of solar panel cleaners and clips for webbing.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723