DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
1. This office action is a response to Applicant's election filed on 03/17/2026 without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 for further examination. Claims 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/26/2023, 10/09/2024 & 04/28/2025 being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AlA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “edge adjusting material providing means” in claims 1, 7-8 & 10.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner' s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-9 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dudley (US 2002/0197535 A1) hereinafter Dudley (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Dudley are included between parentheses).
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “to apply a slurry to a substrate… to dispense an edge adjusting material adjacent to the slurry to adjust a protrusion formed at an end of the slurry by contacting the slurry”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Dudley since Dudley meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of applying a slurry to a substrate and dispensing an edge adjusting material adjacent to the slurry to adjust a protrusion formed at an end of the slurry by contacting the slurry, if so desired and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 1, Dudley discloses an electrode coating device (abs; fig 1-10), comprising:
a slot die coater (41) capable of applying a slurry (2) to a substrate (4) ([0009]; [0012]; [0014]; [0020]; [0050]-[0068]; fig 1-5); and
an edge adjusting material providing means (slot, see fig 2a-3) capable of dispensing an edge adjusting material (16) adjacent to the slurry (2) to adjust a protrusion formed at an end of the slurry (2) by contacting the slurry (2) ) ([0009]; [0012]; [0014]; [0020]; [0050]-[0068]; fig 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, the recitation “wherein the slurry comprises two adjacent slurry portions, and the edge adjusting material is provided between the two adjacent slurry portions”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Dudley since Dudley meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having slurry comprising two adjacent slurry portions, and the edge adjusting material provided between the two adjacent slurry portions, if so desired and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 2, Dudley discloses an electrode coating device (abs; fig 1-10), wherein the slurry (2) is capable of comprising two adjacent slurry portions (44, 52), and the edge adjusting material (16) is capable of being provided between (42) the two adjacent slurry portions (44, 52) ([0009]; [0012]; [0014]; [0020]; [0059]; fig 2b).
Regarding claim 3, the recitation “wherein the edge adjusting material is configured to pull confronting ends of the two adjacent slurry portions due to a difference in surface tension between the slurry and the edge adjusting material”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Dudley since Dudley meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having the edge adjusting material configured to pull confronting ends of the two adjacent slurry portions due to a difference in surface tension between the slurry and the edge adjusting material, if so desired and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 3, Dudley discloses an electrode coating device (abs; fig 1-10), wherein the edge adjusting material (16) is capable of pulling confronting ends of the two adjacent slurry portions (44, 52) due to a difference in surface tension between the slurry (2) and the edge adjusting material (16) ([0009]; [0012]; [0014]; [0020]; [0059]; [0072]-[0091]; [0094]; [0099]; fig 2b).
Regarding claim 4, the recitation “wherein the edge adjusting material contains a same solvent as the slurry, and the surface tension of the edge adjusting material is greater than the surface tension of the slurry”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Dudley since Dudley meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having the edge adjusting material contain a same solvent as the slurry, and the surface tension of the edge adjusting material be greater than the surface tension of the slurry, if so desired and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 4, Dudley discloses an electrode coating device (abs; fig 1-10), wherein the edge adjusting material (16) is capable of containing a same solvent as the slurry (2), and the surface tension of the edge adjusting material (16) is capable of being greater than the surface tension of the slurry (2) ([0009]; [0012]; [0014]; [0020]; [0050]-[0068]; [0072]-[0091]; [0094]; [0099]; fig 1-5).
Regarding claim 5, the recitation “wherein the edge adjusting material comprises a binder-based material having an adhesive force within a predetermined range to prevent deintercalation after drying”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Dudley since Dudley meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having the edge adjusting material comprising a binder-based material having an adhesive force within a predetermined range to prevent deintercalation after drying, if so desired and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 5, Dudley discloses an electrode coating device (abs; fig 1-10), wherein the edge adjusting material (16) is capable of comprising a binder-based material having an adhesive force within a predetermined range to prevent deintercalation after drying ([0009]; [0012]; [0014]; [0020]; [0050]-[0068]; [0072]-[0091]; [0094]; [0099]; fig 1-5).
Regarding claim 6, the recitation “wherein the edge adjusting material comprises at least one of: polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE)-based, polyolefin-based, polyimide-based, polyurethane-based, polyester-based, polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF)-based, styrene butadiene rubber (SBR)-based, ceramic-based, or silicone-based materials”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Dudley since Dudley meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of having the edge adjusting material comprise at least one of: polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE)-based, polyolefin-based, polyimide-based, polyurethane-based, polyester-based, polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF)-based, styrene butadiene rubber (SBR)-based, ceramic-based, or silicone-based materials, if so desired and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 6, Dudley discloses an electrode coating device (abs; fig 1-10), wherein the edge adjusting material (16) is capable of comprising at least one of: polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE)-based, polyolefin-based, polyimide-based, polyurethane-based, polyester-based, polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF)-based, styrene butadiene rubber (SBR)-based, ceramic-based, or silicone-based materials ([0009]; [0012]; [0014]; [0020]; [0050]-[0068]; [0072]-[0091]; [0094]; [0099]; fig 1-5).
As regards to claim 7, Dudley discloses an electrode coating device (abs; fig 1-10), wherein the slot die coater (41) comprises: two die blocks (46); a shim plate (64+66) provided between the two die blocks (46) and forming a slot (see fig 2a-3) communicating with a discharge port (see fig 2a-3) of the slot die coater (41); and a manifold (see fig 2a-3) formed in one or more of the two die blocks (46), the manifold (see fig 2a-3) accommodating the slurry (2) therein, and the edge adjusting material providing means (slot, see fig 2a-3) is formed on the shim plate (64+66) ([0009]; [0012]; [0014]; [0020]; [0050]-[0068]; fig 1-5).
As regards to claim 8, Dudley discloses an electrode coating device (abs; fig 1-10), wherein the edge adjusting material providing means (slot, see fig 2a-3) is provided in a flow path (see fig 2a-3) formed on at least one side of the shim plate (64+66), and the flow path (see fig 2a-3) formed on the shim plate (64+66) is configured to receive a discharge of the edge adjusting material (16) therethrough (see fig 2a-3) ([0009]; [0012]; [0014]; [0020]; [0050]-[0068]; fig 1-5).
As regards to claim 9, Dudley discloses an electrode coating device (abs; fig 1-10), wherein the shim plate (64+66) includes a shim prong (see fig 2a-3), and the flow path is provided as a straight groove on one side of the shim prong (see fig 2a-3) of the shim plate (64+66) ([0009]; [0012]; [0014]; [0020]; [0050]-[0068]; fig 1-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dudley as applied to claim 1 above.
As regards to claim 10, Dudley discloses an electrode coating device (abs; fig 1-10), wherein the edge adjusting material providing means (slot, see fig 2a-3) is an edge adjusting material coater (see fig 2a-3) provided integrally with the slot die coater (41), the edge adjusting material coater (see fig 2a-3) is configured to be disposed within the slot die coater (41), and the edge adjusting material coater (see fig 2a-3) is configured to discharge the edge adjusting material (16) therefrom toward the substrate (4) ([0009]; [0012]; [0014]; [0020]; [0050]-[0068]; fig 1-5), however Dudley does not disclose provided separately from the slot die coater and disposed above or below the slot die coater.
Although Dudley does not explicitly disclose the edge adjusting material coater provided separately from the slot die coater and disposed above or below the slot die coater, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Dudley to be dividable/separated as recited in the claim and therefore is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the edge adjusting material coater provided separately from the slot die coater integral, since it would be desirable to have separate pieces for engineering design purposes, since merely making something integral is obvious and making elements integral was held to have been obvious. Nerwin v. Erlichman 168 USPQ 177 (PO BdPatApp 1969); In re Wolfe 116 USPQ 443 (CCPA 1958); In re Howard 150 US 164 (USSC 1893), and would be within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the edge adjusting material coater above or below the slot die coater, since “the particular placement of structural components was held to be an obvious matter of design choice.” In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references.
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717