DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 12, 14, 16-18, 23, 27, 33, 35, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 2023/0106244 to Yu et al. (hereinafter Yu) in view of US Pub. 2022/0345272 to Guo.
In regard amended claim 1, Yu teaches or discloses a method performed by a wireless communication device, WCD, the method comprising:
receiving, from a Radio Access Network, RAN, node, a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE (see paragraphs [0128], a UE may receive at least one MAC CE for TCI state activation), that comprises information that:
indicates a plurality of activated Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, states for the WCD (see paragraphs [0041], [0049], [0059], and [0079], among the set of candidate TCI states, a TCI state may be activated, by a MAC CE(s), for monitoring the CORESET. The UE selects the required number of RSs provided for the activated TCI states (or “active TCI states”) for PDCCH receptions in the CORESETs associated with the search space sets in an order from the shortest monitoring periodicity. For indicating to a UE multiple active TCI states for a CORESET, MAC CE signaling or RRC signaling may be used. As used herein, the term “active/activated TCI state for a CORESET” may refer to a TCI state that is activated by the network and is to be applied by the UE to monitor a CORESET. When receiving the MAC CE, the activation/deactivation indication provided by the MAC CE may apply to all sets of TCI states of the indicated CORESET) comprising at least one Downlink, DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see paragraphs [0053], Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field in a Downlink (DL) Control Information (DCI) format may indicate up to 2 TCI states for PDSCH scheduling);
maps each activated TCI state of the plurality of activated TCI states to one of a plurality of codepoints of a TCI field in a Downlink Control Information, DCI (see paragraph [0079], the TCI states with ordinal position i in each set may be activated and mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI TCI field. The i.sup.th field in the MAC CE may correspond to the entry index of each TCI-state set. When i.sup.th field is set to 1, the TCI states with entry index i in each set is activated and is mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field. In one example, not all entries are provided with corresponding TCI states. Thus, the number of activated TCI states associated with a codepoint of a DCI TCI field may be less than the number of TCI-state sets);
Yu may not explicitly teach or disclose DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state.
Guo teaches or discloses DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see paragraphs [0110], [0112], [0146], [0147], [0148], and [0156], the TCI states will often be referred to in this application as uplink (UL) TCI states (as they can be used for PUSCH, which is an uplink transmission). UE can be configured with a list of downlink TCI State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCHConfig to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell. Each DL TCI State contains parameters for configuring a quasi co-location relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH. The M UL TCI states and the DL TCI can be configured using separate higher level (e.g. RRC) parameters for PUSCH and PDSCH (e.g. PUSCH Config and PDSCHConfig). the M UL TCI states and the DL TCI can be configured using a same higher level (e.g. RRC) parameter).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for beam failure detection reference signal determination of Yu by including DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state suggested by Guo. This modification would provide to increase the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set configured for PUSCH can improve the flexibility of PUSCH Tx beam indication read in paragraph [0169].
In regard amended claim 2, Yu teaches or discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising:
receiving a DCI comprising a TCI field set to a particular codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field (see paragraph [0079], there may be a 1-bit field for each TCI state configured by CORESET configuration, for indicating whether or not the corresponding TCI state is activated or deactivated. When the i.sup.th field is set to 1, the TCI states with ordinal position i in each set may be activated and mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI TCI field. Thus, the number of activated TCI states associated with a codepoint of a DCI TCI field may be less than the number of TCI-state sets);
determining, from the plurality of activated TCI states, a TCI state to be used for reception of a downlink transmission or transmission of an uplink transmission based on the particular codepoint of the TCI field comprised in the received DCI (see paragraph [0079], when receiving the MAC CE, the activation/deactivation indication provided by the MAC CE may apply to all sets of TCI states of the indicated CORESET. there may be a 1-bit field for each TCI state configured by CORESET configuration, for indicating whether or not the corresponding TCI state is activated or deactivated. When the i.sup.th field is set to 1, the TCI states with ordinal position i in each set may be activated and mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI TCI field).
In regard amended claim 3, Yu teaches or discloses the method of claim 2 further comprising performing reception of the downlink transmission or transmission of the uplink transmission based on the determined TCI state (see paragraphs [0007], [0041], [0047], [0053], [0056], [0083], and [0116], as one of multi-TRP features, a code point in a TCI) field in a DL Control Information (DCI) format may indicate up to 2 TCI states for PDSCH scheduling. When a BFD RS is to be determined implicitly from the PDCCH reception TCI states, down selection on the TCI states may be needed).
In regard amended claim 4, Yu teaches or discloses the method of claim 1 wherein, for at least one codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field (see paragraph [0079], the TCI states with ordinal position i in each set may be activated and mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI TCI field), the information comprised in the MAC CE maps an equal number of DL TCI states and UL TCI states to the at least one codepoint (see paragraph [0079], receiving the MAC CE, the activation/deactivation indication provided by the MAC CE may apply to all sets of TCI states of the indicated CORESET. The i.sup.th field in the MAC CE (e.g., described in TS 38.321 V15.8.0) may correspond to the entry index of each TCI-state set. When i.sup.th field is set to 1, the TCI states with entry index i in each set is activated and is mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field).
Yu may not explicitly teach or disclose DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state.
Guo teaches or discloses DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see paragraphs [0110], [0112], [0146], [0147], [0148], and [0156], the TCI states will often be referred to in this application as uplink (UL) TCI states (as they can be used for PUSCH, which is an uplink transmission). UE can be configured with a list of downlink TCI State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCHConfig to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell. Each DL TCI State contains parameters for configuring a quasi co-location relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH. The M UL TCI states and the DL TCI can be configured using separate higher level (e.g. RRC) parameters for PUSCH and PDSCH (e.g. PUSCH Config and PDSCHConfig). the M UL TCI states and the DL TCI can be configured using a same higher level (e.g. RRC) parameter).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for beam failure detection reference signal determination of Yu by including DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state suggested by Guo. This modification would provide to increase the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set configured for PUSCH can improve the flexibility of PUSCH Tx beam indication read in paragraph [0169].
In regard claim 5, Yu teaches or discloses the method of claim 4 wherein the equal number of DL TCI states and UL TCI states is one DL TCI state and one UL TCI state (see paragraph [0008], and [0079], selecting at least one first TCI state from the first group of TCI states, a total number of the at least one first TCI state being equal to the first threshold number. The number of entries of individual sets in a CORESET may be the same. The i.sup.th field in the MAC CE (e.g., described in TS 38.321 V15.8.0) may correspond to the entry index of each TCI-state set. The number of activated TCI states associated with a codepoint of a DCI TCI field may be less than the number of TCI-state sets).
Yu may not explicitly teach or disclose DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state.
Guo teaches or discloses DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see paragraphs [0110], [0112], [0146], [0147], [0148], and [0156], the TCI states will often be referred to in this application as uplink (UL) TCI states (as they can be used for PUSCH, which is an uplink transmission). UE can be configured with a list of downlink TCI State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCHConfig to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell. Each DL TCI State contains parameters for configuring a quasi co-location relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH. The M UL TCI states and the DL TCI can be configured using separate higher level (e.g. RRC) parameters for PUSCH and PDSCH (e.g. PUSCH Config and PDSCHConfig). the M UL TCI states and the DL TCI can be configured using a same higher level (e.g. RRC) parameter).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for beam failure detection reference signal determination of Yu by including DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state suggested by Guo. This modification would provide to increase the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set configured for PUSCH can improve the flexibility of PUSCH Tx beam indication read in paragraph [0169].
In regard claim 6, Yu teaches or discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the information comprised in the MAC CE maps the equal number of DL TCI states and UL TCI states to the at least one codepoint for (see paragraph [0079], when receiving the MAC CE, the activation/deactivation indication provided by the MAC CE may apply to all sets of TCI states of the indicated CORESET. The TCI State ID may be indicated by the MAC CE directly. The TCI state indication field(s) in the MAC CE may not correspond to the TCI State ID as configured in the CORESET (RRC) configuration directly. A CORESET with multiple sets of TCI states, the TCI state indication field(s) may indicate the ordinal position of each TCI-state set): one Component Carrier, CC/DL Bandwidth Part, BWP; a set of CCs/DL BWPs; one CC/UL BWP; or a set of CCs/DL BWPs and CCs/UL BWPs.
Yu may not explicitly teach or disclose one Component Carrier, CC/DL Bandwidth Part, BWP; a set of CCs/DL BWPs; one CC/UL BWP; or a set of CCs/DL BWPs and CCs/UL BWPs.
However, Guo teaches or discloses one Component Carrier, CC/DL Bandwidth Part, BWP; a set of CCs/DL BWPs; one CC/UL BWP; or a set of CCs/DL BWPs and CCs/UL BWPs (see paragraphs [0250], and [0251], a single component carrier (CC)/UL bandwidth part (BWP), of the application can also be applied for a set of CC/UL BWPs. The terminal device may be configured with a set of UL BWPs, and the configuration information including M TCI states includes a common set of TCI states for all the UL BWPs in a CC).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for beam failure detection reference signal determination of Yu by including one Component Carrier, CC/DL Bandwidth Part, BWP; a set of CCs/DL BWPs; one CC/UL BWP; or a set of CCs/DL BWPs and CCs/UL BWPs suggested by Guo. This modification would provide to increase the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set configured for PUSCH can improve the flexibility of PUSCH Tx beam indication read in paragraph [0169].
In regard amended claim 9, Yu teaches or discloses the method of claim 1 wherein, for at least one codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field, the information comprised in the MAC CE maps different numbers of DL TCI states and UL TCI states to the at least one codepoint (see paragraph [0079], the TCI state indication field(s) in the MAC CE may not correspond to the TCI State ID as configured in the CORESET (RRC) configuration directly. When the i.sup.th field is set to 1, the TCI states with ordinal position i in each set may be activated and mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI TCI field. Thus, the number of activated TCI states associated with a codepoint of a DCI TCI field may be less than the number of TCI-state sets).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for beam failure detection reference signal determination of Yu by including wherein, for at least one codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field, the information comprised in the MAC CE maps different numbers of DL TCI states and UL TCI states to the at least one codepoint suggested by Guo. This modification would provide to increase the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set configured for PUSCH can improve the flexibility of PUSCH Tx beam indication read in paragraph [0169].
In regard claim 12, Yu may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 9, wherein the different numbers of DL TCI states and UL TCI states is one DL TCI state and two UL TCI states.
However, Guo teaches or discloses the different numbers of DL TCI states and UL TCI states is one DL TCI state and two UL TCI states (see paragraphs [0110], and [0112], the TCI states will often be referred to in this application as uplink (UL) TCI states (as they can be used for PUSCH, which is an uplink transmission). The configuration of M TCI states is received through an RRC parameter (e.g. the PUSCH-Config parameter). For example, each of the M UL TCI state configurations could have a UL TCI State ID. the terminal device 100 receives an activation command to activate K of the M UL TCI. For example, the activation command may activate K (e.g. a number between 1 and 8) of the M TCI states to codepoints of a UL TCI field of a DCI (e.g. a “UL Transmission Configuration Indication” field of the DCI)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for beam failure detection reference signal determination of Yu by including the different numbers of DL TCI states and UL TCI states is one DL TCI state and two UL TCI states suggested by Guo. This modification would provide to increase the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set configured for PUSCH can improve the flexibility of PUSCH Tx beam indication read in paragraph [0169].
In regard amended claim 14, Yu may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 1 wherein, for at least one codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field, the information comprised in the MAC CE maps either one or more DL TCI states or one or more UL TCI states, but not both DL and UL TCI states, to the at least one codepoint.
Guo teaches or discloses wherein, for at least one codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field, the information comprised in the MAC CE maps either one or more DL TCI states or one or more UL TCI states, but not both DL and UL TCI states, to the at least one codepoint (see paragraphs [0112], [0166], and [0266], the M TCI states to codepoints of a UL TCI field of a DCI (e.g. a “UL Transmission Configuration Indication” field of the DCI). The activation command is received on the MAC layer, e.g. through a MAC CE command. For example, the MAC CE may include the UL TCI State IDs of the K TCI states to be activated).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for beam failure detection reference signal determination of Yu by including wherein, for at least one codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field, the information comprised in the MAC CE maps either one or more DL TCI states or one or more UL TCI states, but not both DL and UL TCI states, to the at least one codepoint suggested by Guo. This modification would provide to increase the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set configured for PUSCH can improve the flexibility of PUSCH Tx beam indication read in paragraph [0169].
In regard amended claim 16, Yu teaches or discloses the method of claim 1 wherein, for at least one codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field, the WCD is configured with information that indicates a number of DL TCI states to which the codepoint is mapped, information that indicates a number of UL TCI states to which the codepoint is mapped, or both (see paragraph [0079], when receiving the MAC CE, the activation/deactivation indication provided by the MAC CE may apply to all sets of TCI states of the indicated CORESET. In one example, the TCI State ID may be indicated by the MAC CE directly. The TCI state indication field(s) in the MAC CE may not correspond to the TCI State ID as configured in the CORESET (RRC) configuration directly. There may be a 1-bit field for each TCI state configured by CORESET configuration, for indicating whether or not the corresponding TCI state is activated or deactivated. Thus, the number of activated TCI states associated with a codepoint of a DCI TCI field may be less than the number of TCI-state sets).
In regard amended claim 17, Yu may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to a single DL TCI state in the MAC CE, and the single DL TCI state is applied for all CORESETs configured to the WCD.
However, Guo teaches or discloses wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to a single DL TCI state in the MAC CE, and the single DL TCI state is applied for all CORESETs configured to the WCD (see paragraphs [0112], [0113], [0146], [0147], and [0148], the activation command may activate K (e.g. a number between 1 and 8) of the M TCI states to codepoints of a UL TCI field of a DCI (e.g. a “UL Transmission Configuration Indication” field of the DCI). The activation command is received on the MAC layer, e.g. through a MAC CE command. For example, the MAC CE may include the UL TCI State IDs of the K TCI states to be activated. UE can be configured with a list of downlink TCI State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCHConfig to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for beam failure detection reference signal determination of Yu by including wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to a single DL TCI state in the MAC CE, and the single DL TCI state is applied for all CORESETs configured to the WCD suggested by Guo. This modification would provide to increase the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set configured for PUSCH can improve the flexibility of PUSCH Tx beam indication read in paragraph [0169].
In regard amended claim 18, Yu may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to a single DL TCI state in the MAC CE, and the single DL TCI state is applied for a subset of all CORESETs configured to the WCD.
However, Guo teaches or discloses wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to a single DL TCI state in the MAC CE, and the single DL TCI state is applied for a subset of all CORESETs configured to the WCD (see paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0016], [0146], [0147], [0148], [0166], and [0171], the terminal device receives the DCI through a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, transmission. UE can be configured with a list of downlink TCI State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCHConfig to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell. Each DL TCI State contains parameters for configuring a quasi co-location relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for beam failure detection reference signal determination of Yu by including wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to a single DL TCI state in the MAC CE, and the single DL TCI state is applied for a subset of all CORESETs configured to the WCD suggested by Guo. This modification would provide to increase the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set configured for PUSCH can improve the flexibility of PUSCH Tx beam indication read in paragraph [0169].
In regard amended claim 23, Yu teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to a single UL TCI state in the MAC CE, a Physical Uplink Control Channel, PUCCH, resource was activated with a single UL TCI state, and the single UL TCI state activated for the PUCCH resource is updated with the single UL TCI state mapped to the particular codepoint in the MAC CE (see paragraph [0079], when receiving the MAC CE, the activation/deactivation indication provided by the MAC CE may apply to all sets of TCI states of the indicated CORESET. In one example, the TCI State ID may be indicated by the MAC CE directly. In one example, the TCI state indication field(s) in the MAC CE may not correspond to the TCI State ID as configured in the CORESET (RRC) configuration directly. The i.sup.th field in the MAC CE (e.g., described in TS 38.321 V15.8.0) may correspond to the entry index of each TCI-state set. When i.sup.th field is set to 1, the TCI states with entry index i in each set is activated and is mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field).
In regard amended claim 27, Yu teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the information comprised in the MAC CE comprises, for each codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field:
one or more first TCI state IDs that indicate one or more activated DL TCI states mapped
to the codepoint (see paragraph [0079], the TCI states with ordinal position i in each set may be activated and mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI TCI field. In another example, the number of entries of individual sets in a CORESET may be the same. The i.sup.th field in the MAC CE (e.g., described in TS 38.321 V15.8.0) may correspond to the entry index of each TCI-state set. When i.sup.th field is set to 1, the TCI states with entry index i in each set is activated and is mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field); and
one or more second TCI state IDs that indicate one or more activated UL TCI states
mapped to the codepoint (see paragraph [0079], the TCI states with ordinal position i in each set may be activated and mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI TCI field. In another example, the number of entries of individual sets in a CORESET may be the same. The i.sup.th field in the MAC CE (e.g., described in TS 38.321 V15.8.0) may correspond to the entry index of each TCI-state set. When i.sup.th field is set to 1, the TCI states with entry index i in each set is activated and is mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field)
In regard amended claim 33, Yu teaches or discloses a wireless communication device, WCD (see Fig. 10, paragraph [0154], the node may be a UE or a BS), comprising:
one or more transmitters (see Fig. 10, element 1016);
one or more receivers (see Fig. 10, element 1018); and
processing circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry (1702) is configured to cause the WCD to (see Fig. 10, paragraphs [0156], and [0157]):
receive, from a Radio Access Network, RAN, node (1300), a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE, that comprises information that (see paragraphs [0128], a UE may receive at least one MAC CE for TCI state activation), that comprises information that:
indicates a plurality of activated Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, states for the WCD (see paragraphs [0041], [0049], [0059], and [0079], among the set of candidate TCI states, a TCI state may be activated, by a MAC CE(s), for monitoring the CORESET. The UE selects the required number of RSs provided for the activated TCI states (or “active TCI states”) for PDCCH receptions in the CORESETs associated with the search space sets in an order from the shortest monitoring periodicity. For indicating to a UE multiple active TCI states for a CORESET, MAC CE signaling or RRC signaling may be used. As used herein, the term “active/activated TCI state for a CORESET” may refer to a TCI state that is activated by the network and is to be applied by the UE to monitor a CORESET. When receiving the MAC CE, the activation/deactivation indication provided by the MAC CE may apply to all sets of TCI states of the indicated CORESET) comprising at least one Downlink, DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see paragraphs [0053], Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field in a Downlink (DL) Control Information (DCI) format may indicate up to 2 TCI states for PDSCH scheduling); and
maps each activated TCI state of the plurality of activated TCI states to one of a plurality of codepoints of a TCI field in a Downlink Control Information, DCI (see paragraph [0079], the TCI states with ordinal position i in each set may be activated and mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI TCI field. The i.sup.th field in the MAC CE may correspond to the entry index of each TCI-state set. When i.sup.th field is set to 1, the TCI states with entry index i in each set is activated and is mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field. In one example, not all entries are provided with corresponding TCI states. Thus, the number of activated TCI states associated with a codepoint of a DCI TCI field may be less than the number of TCI-state sets).
Yu may not explicitly teach or disclose DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state).
Guo teaches or discloses DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see paragraphs [0110], [0112], [0146], [0147], [0148], and [0156], the TCI states will often be referred to in this application as uplink (UL) TCI states (as they can be used for PUSCH, which is an uplink transmission). UE can be configured with a list of downlink TCI State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCHConfig to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell. EachDL TCI State contains parameters for configuring a quasi co-location relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH. The M UL TCI states and the DL TCI can be configured using separate higher level (e.g. RRC) parameters for PUSCH and PDSCH (e.g. PUSCH Config and PDSCHConfig). The M UL TCI states and the DL TCI can be configured using a same higher level (e.g. RRC) parameter).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been
obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for beam failure detection reference signal determination of Yu by including DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state suggested by Guo. This modification would provide to increase the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set configured for PUSCH can improve the flexibility of PUSCH Tx beam indication read in paragraph [0169].
In regard amended claim 35, Yu teaches or discloses a method performed by a Radio Access Network, RAN, node, the method comprising:
sending, to a Wireless Communication Device, WCD, a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE (see paragraph [0138], the UE receives four MAC CEs for TCI state activation: MAC CE #1, MAC CE #2, MAC CE #3 and MAC CE #4. MAC CE #1 indicates CORESET #1 and two TCI states (e.g., TCI state #1 and TCI state #2) to be activated for monitoring the PDCCH(s) whose physical resource is determined by the configuration of CORESET #1), that comprises information that:
indicates a plurality of activated Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, states for the WCD (see paragraphs [0041], [0049], [0059], and [0079], among the set of candidate TCI states, a TCI state may be activated, by a MAC CE(s), for monitoring the CORESET. The UE selects the required number of RSs provided for the activated TCI states (or “active TCI states”) for PDCCH receptions in the CORESETs associated with the search space sets in an order from the shortest monitoring periodicity. For indicating to a UE multiple active TCI states for a CORESET, MAC CE signaling or RRC signaling may be used. As used herein, the term “active/activated TCI state for a CORESET” may refer to a TCI state that is activated by the network and is to be applied by the UE to monitor a CORESET. When receiving the MAC CE, the activation/deactivation indication provided by the MAC CE may apply to all sets of TCI states of the indicated CORESET) comprising at least one Downlink, DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see paragraphs [0053], Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field in a Downlink (DL) Control Information (DCI) format may indicate up to 2 TCI states for PDSCH scheduling); and
maps each activated TCI state of the plurality of activated TCI states to one of a plurality of codepoints of a TCI field in a DCI (see paragraph [0079], the TCI states with ordinal position i in each set may be activated and mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI TCI field. The i.sup.th field in the MAC CE may correspond to the entry index of each TCI-state set. When i.sup.th field is set to 1, the TCI states with entry index i in each set is activated and is mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field. In one example, not all entries are provided with corresponding TCI states. Thus, the number of activated TCI states associated with a codepoint of a DCI TCI field may be less than the number of TCI-state sets);
Yu may not explicitly teach or disclose DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state.
Guo teaches or discloses DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see paragraphs [0110], [0112], [0146], [0147], [0148], and [0156], the TCI states will often be referred to in this application as uplink (UL) TCI states (as they can be used for PUSCH, which is an uplink transmission). UE can be configured with a list of downlink TCI State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCHConfig to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell. Each DL TCI State contains parameters for configuring a quasi co-location relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH. The M UL TCI states and the DL TCI can be configured using separate higher level (e.g. RRC) parameters for PUSCH and PDSCH (e.g. PUSCH Config and PDSCHConfig). the M UL TCI states and the DL TCI can be configured using a same higher level (e.g. RRC) parameter).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for beam failure detection reference signal determination of Yu by including DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state suggested by Guo. This modification would provide to increase the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set configured for PUSCH can improve the flexibility of PUSCH Tx beam indication read in paragraph [0169].
In regard amended claim 56, Yu teaches or discloses a Radio Access Network, RAN, node (see Fig. 10), comprising:
one or more transmitters (see Fig. 10, element 1006);
one or more receivers (see Fig. 10, element 1018); and
processing circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to
cause the RAN node to (see Fig. 10, element 1008, paragraph [0160], the processor 1008 (e.g., having processing circuitry) may include an intelligent hardware device, a Central Processing Unit (CPU), a microcontroller, an ASIC, etc. The processor 1008 may include memory. The processor 1008 may process the data 1012 and the instructions 1014 received from the memory 1002, and information through the transceiver 1006, the baseband communications module, and/or the network communications module. The processor 1008 may also process information to be sent to the transceiver 1006 for transmission through the antenna 1010, to the network communications module for transmission to a CN):
send, to a Wireless Communication Device, WCD, a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE (see paragraph [0138], the UE receives four MAC CEs for TCI state activation: MAC CE #1, MAC CE #2, MAC CE #3 and MAC CE #4. MAC CE #1 indicates CORESET #1 and two TCI states (e.g., TCI state #1 and TCI state #2) to be activated for monitoring the PDCCH(s) whose physical resource is determined by the configuration of CORESET #1), that comprises information that:
indicates a plurality of activated Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, states for the WCD (see paragraphs [0041], [0049], [0059], and [0079], among the set of candidate TCI states, a TCI state may be activated, by a MAC CE(s), for monitoring the CORESET. The UE selects the required number of RSs provided for the activated TCI states (or “active TCI states”) for PDCCH receptions in the CORESETs associated with the search space sets in an order from the shortest monitoring periodicity. For indicating to a UE multiple active TCI states for a CORESET, MAC CE signaling or RRC signaling may be used. As used herein, the term “active/activated TCI state for a CORESET” may refer to a TCI state that is activated by the network and is to be applied by the UE to monitor a CORESET. When receiving the MAC CE, the activation/deactivation indication provided by the MAC CE may apply to all sets of TCI states of the indicated CORESET) comprising at least one Downlink, DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see paragraphs [0053], Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field in a Downlink (DL) Control Information (DCI) format may indicate up to 2 TCI states for PDSCH scheduling); and
maps each activated TCI state of the plurality of activated TCI states to one of a plurality of codepoints of a TCI field in a DCI (see paragraph [0079], the TCI states with ordinal position i in each set may be activated and mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI TCI field. The i.sup.th field in the MAC CE may correspond to the entry index of each TCI-state set. When i.sup.th field is set to 1, the TCI states with entry index i in each set is activated and is mapped to a same codepoint of a DCI Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) field. In one example, not all entries are provided with corresponding TCI states. Thus, the number of activated TCI states associated with a codepoint of a DCI TCI field may be less than the number of TCI-state sets);
Yu may not explicitly teach or disclose DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state.
Guo teaches or discloses DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see paragraphs [0110], [0112], [0146], [0147], [0148], and [0156], the TCI states will often be referred to in this application as uplink (UL) TCI states (as they can be used for PUSCH, which is an uplink transmission). UE can be configured with a list of downlink TCI State configurations within the higher layer parameter PDSCHConfig to decode PDSCH according to a detected PDCCH with DCI intended for the UE and the given serving cell. Each DL TCI State contains parameters for configuring a quasi co-location relationship between one or two downlink reference signals and the DM-RS ports of the PDSCH. The M UL TCI states and the DL TCI can be configured using separate higher level (e.g. RRC) parameters for PUSCH and PDSCH (e.g. PUSCH Config and PDSCHConfig). the M UL TCI states and the DL TCI can be configured using a same higher level (e.g. RRC) parameter).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify an apparatus for beam failure detection reference signal determination of Yu by including DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state suggested by Guo. This modification would provide to increase the number of SRS resources in the SRS resource set configured for PUSCH can improve the flexibility of PUSCH Tx beam indication read in paragraph [0169].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 19-22, 24-26, and 28-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Date: 03/13/2026
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476