DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 14, 17-23, 33-35, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2021/0136802 to Cirik et al. (hereinafter Cirik).
In regard claim 1, Cirik teaches or discloses a method performed by a wireless communication device, WCD, the method comprising:
receiving, from a Radio Access Network, RAN, node, a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE, that comprises information that (see Fig. 24, paragraphs [0333], the wireless device may receive a MAC CE 2408 (e.g., TCI states activation/deactivation for wireless device-specific PDSCH MAC CE) activating at least one TCI state (e.g., TCI state 10, TCI state 4, TCI state 23, TCI state 8, TCI state 15 and TCI state 6) of the one or more TCI states 2424);
indicates a plurality of activated Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, states for the WCD comprising at least one Downlink, DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see Fig. 24, paragraphs [0269], [0271], and [0333], the determining the at least two PDSCH transmission occasions of/for the TB may be based on determining that at least one codepoint indicates at least two TCI states. The at least one codepoint may be activated by a message from the base station (e.g., a TCI states activation/deactivation for wireless device-specific PDSCH MAC CE) The at least one TCI state may comprise TCI state 10, TCI state 4, TCI state 23, TCI state 8, TCI state 15 and TCI state 6. The MAC CE may have a field indicating at least one TCI state indicator/index of the at least one TCI state. The field may be set to a value (e.g., one, or any other value) indicating activation of the at least one TCI state); and
maps each activated TCI state of the plurality of activated TCI states to one of a plurality of codepoints of a TCI field in a Downlink Control Information, DCI (see paragraph [0333], the wireless device may map the at least one TCI state to one or more TCI codepoints 2428, for example, based on the receiving the MAC CE 2408 activating the at least one TCI state. The one or more TCI codepoints 2428 may comprise TCI codepoint 00, TCI codepoint 01, TCI codepoint 10, and/or TCI codepoint 11. The one or more TCI codepoints 2428 may be equal to (e.g., correspond to) a value of a TCI field in DCI. The TCI field in the DCI may indicate (or be equal to) a TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints 2428. For example, TCI state 10 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 00, TCI state 4 and TCI state 23 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 01, TCI state 8 and TCI state 15 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 10, and TCI state 6 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 11).
In regard claim 2, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising:
receiving a DCI comprising a TCI field set to a particular codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field (see paragraph [0213], the wireless device may receive the TB in the first PDSCH transmission occasion, for example, based on a first TCI state of the TCI states indicated by the TCI field); and
determining, from the plurality of activated TCI states, a TCI state to be used for reception of a downlink transmission or transmission of an uplink transmission based on the particular codepoint of the TCI field comprised in the received DCI (see paragraphs [0141], and [0198], the wireless device may receive a downlink transmission with an Rx beam determined based on the one or more TCI states. The wireless device may receive DCI from a base station. The DCI may schedule data for reception at the wireless device. The data may correspond to a PDSCH transmission (e.g., one or more TBs) from the base station).
In regard claim 3, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 2 further comprising performing reception of the downlink transmission or transmission of the uplink transmission based on the determined TCI state (see paragraph [0141], the wireless device may receive a downlink transmission with an Rx beam determined based on the one or more TCI states).
In regard claim 4, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 1 wherein, for at least one codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field, the information comprised in the MAC CE maps an equal number of DL TCI states and UL TCI states to the at least one codepoint (see paragraphs [0209], and [0333], the TCI field indicating the at least two TCI states may comprise that a codepoint (e.g., 000, 010, 111, 100, etc), indicated by the TCI field, indicates the at least two TCI states. The wireless device may map the at least one TCI state to one or more TCI codepoints 2428, for example, based on the receiving the MAC CE 2408 activating the at least one TCI state. The one or more TCI codepoints 2428 may comprise TCI codepoint 00, TCI codepoint 01, TCI codepoint 10, and/or TCI codepoint 11).
In regard claim 5, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 4 wherein the equal number of DL TCI states and UL TCI states is one DL TCI state and one UL TCI state (see paragraph [0333], the one or more TCI codepoints 2428 may be equal to (e.g., correspond to) a value of a TCI field in DCI. The TCI field in the DCI may indicate (or be equal to) a TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints 2428).
In regard claim 6, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the information comprised in the MAC CE maps the equal number of DL TCI states and UL TCI states to the at least one codepoint for: one Component Carrier, CC/DL Bandwidth Part, BWP; a set of CCs/DL BWPs; one CC/UL BWP; or a set of CCs/DL BWPs and CCs/UL BWPs (see paragraphs [0099], [0100], [0103], [0108], and [0117]).
In regard claim 14, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 1 wherein, for at least one codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field (see paragraph [0333], the wireless device may map the at least one TCI state to one or more TCI codepoints 2428, for example, based on the receiving the MAC CE 2408 activating the at least one TCI state. The one or more TCI codepoints 2428 may comprise TCI codepoint 00, TCI codepoint 01, TCI codepoint 10, and/or TCI codepoint 11. The one or more TCI codepoints 2428 may be equal to (e.g., correspond to) a value of a TCI field in DCI),
the information comprised in the MAC CE maps either one or more DL TCI states or one or more UL TCI states, but not both D7/L and UL TCI states, to the at least one codepoint (see paragraph [0333], the TCI codepoint may comprise/indicate TCI state(s) of the at least one TCI state activated by the MAC CE 2408. The mapping the at least one TCI state to the one or more TCI codepoints may comprise grouping the at least one TCI state into the one or more TCI codepoints 2428).
In regard claim 17, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to a single DL TCI state in the MAC CE (see paragraph [0333], the wireless device may map the at least one TCI state to one or more TCI codepoints 2428, for example, based on the receiving the MAC CE 2408 activating the at least one TCI state), and
the single DL TCI state is applied for all CORESETs configured to the WCD (see paragraph [0279], the wireless device may determine the first default TCI state based on a TCI state of a CORESET. The wireless device may receive an activation command (e.g., MAC CE, TCI state indication for wireless device-specific PDCCH MAC CE) activating/indicating the TCI state for the CORESET. The CORESET may be indicated (e.g., identified) with a CORESET indicator/index that is lowest among one or more CORESET indicators/indices of one or more CORESETs (associated) with search space sets that are monitored in a latest slot).
In regard claim 18, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to a single DL TCI state in the MAC CE (see paragraph [0333], the wireless device may map the at least one TCI state to one or more TCI codepoints 2428, for example, based on the receiving the MAC CE 2408 activating the at least one TCI state), and the single DL TCI state is applied for a subset of all CORESETs configured to the WCD (see paragraph [0279], the wireless device may determine the first default TCI state based on a TCI state of a CORESET. The wireless device may receive an activation command (e.g., MAC CE, TCI state indication for wireless device-specific PDCCH MAC CE) activating/ indicating the TCI state for the CORESET. The CORESET may be indicated (e.g., identified) with a CORESET indicator/ index that is lowest among one or more CORESET indicators/ indices of one or more CORESETs (associated) with search space sets that are monitored in a latest slot).
In regard claim 19, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to two DL TCI states in the MAC CE (see paragraph [0353], the wireless device may group /map the at least one TCI state into one or more TCI codepoints. The one or more considerations may comprise determining that at least one TCI codepoint, of the one or more TCI codepoints, indicate/comprise at least two TCI states. The plurality of TCI states may comprise the at least two TCI states. The at least one TCI state may comprise the at least two TCI states),
a single CORESET is configured for the WCD, and one of the two DL TCI states is applied to the single CORESET (see paragraph [0279]).
In regard claim 20, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to two DL TCI states in the MAC CE (see paragraph [0353], the wireless device may group /map the at least one TCI state into one or more TCI codepoints. The one or more considerations may comprise determining that at least one TCI codepoint, of the one or more TCI codepoints, indicate/comprise at least two TCI states. The plurality of TCI states may comprise the at least two TCI states. The at least one TCI state may comprise the at least two TCI states), a single CORESET is configured for the WCD, and both of the two DL TCI states are applied to the single CORESET (see paragraph [0279]).
In regard claim 21, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to two (or more) DL TCI states in the MAC CE (see paragraph [0353], the wireless device may group /map the at least one TCI state into one or more TCI codepoints. The one or more considerations may comprise determining that at least one TCI codepoint, of the one or more TCI codepoints, indicate/comprise at least two TCI states. The plurality of TCI states may comprise the at least two TCI states. The at least one TCI state may comprise the at least two TCI states), two (or more) CORESETs are configured for the WCD, and the two (or more) DL TCI states are applied to the two (or more) CORESETs in a predefined pattern (see paragraphs [0101], [0173], [0174], [0175], and [0176]).
In regard claim 22, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the particular codepoint is mapped to two (or more) DL TCI states in the MAC CE (see paragraph [0353], the wireless device may group /map the at least one TCI state into one or more TCI codepoints. The one or more considerations may comprise determining that at least one TCI codepoint, of the one or more TCI codepoints, indicate/comprise at least two TCI states. The plurality of TCI states may comprise the at least two TCI states. The at least one TCI state may comprise the at least two TCI states), two (or more) CORESETs are configured for the WCD, and all of the two (or more) DL TCI states are applied to each of the two (or more) CORESETs (see paragraphs [0101], and [0130], the wireless device may be configured to use/employ the same OFDM symbols for a downlink CSI-RS and a CORESET, for example, if the downlink CSI-RS and CORESET are spatially QCLed and resource elements associated with the downlink CSI-RS are outside of the physical resource blocks (PRBs) configured for the CORESET).
In regard claim 27, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the information comprised in the MAC CE comprises, for each codepoint of the plurality of codepoints of the TCI field (see paragraph [0333], the wireless device may receive a MAC CE 2408 (e.g., TCI states activation/deactivation for wireless device-specific PDSCH MAC CE) activating at least one TCI state (e.g., TCI state 10, TCI state 4, TCI state 23, TCI state 8, TCI state 15 and TCI state 6 in FIG. 24) of the one or more TCI states 2424):
one or more first TCI state IDs that indicate one or more activated DL TCI states mapped to the codepoint (see paragraph [0333], the wireless device may receive a MAC CE 2408 (e.g., TCI states activation/deactivation for wireless device-specific PDSCH MAC CE) activating at least one TCI state (e.g., TCI state 10, TCI state 4, TCI state 23, TCI state 8, TCI state 15 and TCI state 6) of the one or more TCI states 2424. For example, the at least one TCI state may comprise TCI state 10, TCI state 4, TCI state 23, TCI state 8, TCI state 15 and TCI state 6);
one or more second TCI state IDs that indicate one or more activated UL TCI states mapped to the codepoint (see paragraph [0333]).
In regard claim 33, Cirik teaches or discloses a wireless communication device, WCD (see Fig. 15a, element 1502), comprising:
one or more transmitters (see Fig. 15a);
one or more receivers (see Fig. 15a); and
processing circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the WCD to:
receiving, from a Radio Access Network, RAN, node, a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE, that comprises information that (see Fig. 24, paragraph [0333], the wireless device may receive a MAC CE 2408 (e.g., TCI states activation/deactivation for wireless device-specific PDSCH MAC CE) activating at least one TCI state (e.g., TCI state 10, TCI state 4, TCI state 23, TCI state 8, TCI state 15 and TCI state 6) of the one or more TCI states 2424):
indicates a plurality of activated Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, states for the WCD comprising at least one Downlink, DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see Fig. 24, paragraphs [0269], [0271], and [0333], the determining the at least two PDSCH transmission occasions of/for the TB may be based on determining that at least one codepoint indicates at least two TCI states. The at least one codepoint may be activated by a message from the base station (e.g., a TCI states activation/deactivation for wireless device-specific PDSCH MAC CE) The at least one TCI state may comprise TCI state 10, TCI state 4, TCI state 23, TCI state 8, TCI state 15 and TCI state 6. The MAC CE may have a field indicating at least one TCI state indicator/index of the at least one TCI state. The field may be set to a value (e.g., one, or any other value) indicating activation of the at least one TCI state); and
maps each activated TCI state of the plurality of activated TCI states to one of a plurality of codepoints of a TCI field in a Downlink Control Information, DCI (see paragraph [0333], the wireless device may map the at least one TCI state to one or more TCI codepoints 2428, for example, based on the receiving the MAC CE 2408 activating the at least one TCI state. The one or more TCI codepoints 2428 may comprise TCI codepoint 00, TCI codepoint 01, TCI codepoint 10, and/or TCI codepoint 11. The one or more TCI codepoints 2428 may be equal to (e.g., correspond to) a value of a TCI field in DCI. The TCI field in the DCI may indicate (or be equal to) a TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints 2428. For example, TCI state 10 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 00, TCI state 4 and TCI state 23 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 01, TCI state 8 and TCI state 15 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 10, and TCI state 6 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 11).
In regard claim 35, Cirik teaches or discloses a method performed by a Radio Access Network, RAN, node, the method comprising:
sending, to a Wireless Communication Device, WCD, a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE (see paragraphs [0075], [0129], and [0141], the MAC CEs may be inserted/added at the beginning of a MAC PDU for downlink transmissions. One or more MAC CEs may be inserted/added at the end of a MAC PDU for uplink transmissions. MAC CEs may be used for in band control signaling. For semi-persistent CSI reporting, the base station may configure the wireless device to send/transmit periodically, and selectively activate or deactivate the periodic reporting (e.g., via one or more activation/deactivation MAC CEs and/or one or more DCIs)), that comprises information that:
indicates a plurality of activated Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, states for the WCD comprising at least one Downlink, DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see Fig. 24, paragraphs [0269], [0271], and [0333], the determining the at least two PDSCH transmission occasions of/for the TB may be based on determining that at least one codepoint indicates at least two TCI states. The at least one codepoint may be activated by a message from the base station (e.g., a TCI states activation/deactivation for wireless device-specific PDSCH MAC CE) The at least one TCI state may comprise TCI state 10, TCI state 4, TCI state 23, TCI state 8, TCI state 15 and TCI state 6. The MAC CE may have a field indicating at least one TCI state indicator/index of the at least one TCI state. The field may be set to a value (e.g., one, or any other value) indicating activation of the at least one TCI state); and
maps each activated TCI state of the plurality of activated TCI states to one of a plurality of codepoints of a TCI field in a DCI (see paragraph [0333], the wireless device may map the at least one TCI state to one or more TCI codepoints 2428, for example, based on the receiving the MAC CE 2408 activating the at least one TCI state. The one or more TCI codepoints 2428 may comprise TCI codepoint 00, TCI codepoint 01, TCI codepoint 10, and/or TCI codepoint 11. The one or more TCI codepoints 2428 may be equal to (e.g., correspond to) a value of a TCI field in DCI. The TCI field in the DCI may indicate (or be equal to) a TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints 2428. For example, TCI state 10 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 00, TCI state 4 and TCI state 23 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 01, TCI state 8 and TCI state 15 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 10, and TCI state 6 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 11).
In regard claim 56, Cirik teaches or discloses a Radio Access Network, RAN, node (see Fig. 15a), comprising:
one or more transmitters (see Fig. 15a);
one or more receivers (see Fig. 15a); and
processing circuitry, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to cause the RAN node to (see Fig. 15a):
send, to a Wireless Communication Device, WCD, a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE (see paragraphs [0075], [0129], and [0141], the MAC CEs may be inserted/added at the beginning of a MAC PDU for downlink transmissions. One or more MAC CEs may be inserted/added at the end of a MAC PDU for uplink transmissions. MAC CEs may be used for in band control signaling. For semi-persistent CSI reporting, the base station may configure the wireless device to send/transmit periodically, and selectively activate or deactivate the periodic reporting (e.g., via one or more activation/deactivation MAC CEs and/or one or more DCIs)), that comprises information that:
indicates a plurality of activated Transmission Configuration Indicator, TCI, states for the WCD comprising at least one Downlink, DL, TCI state and at least one Uplink, UL, TCI state (see Fig. 24, paragraphs [0269], [0271], and [0333], the determining the at least two PDSCH transmission occasions of/for the TB may be based on determining that at least one codepoint indicates at least two TCI states. The at least one codepoint may be activated by a message from the base station (e.g., a TCI states activation/deactivation for wireless device-specific PDSCH MAC CE) The at least one TCI state may comprise TCI state 10, TCI state 4, TCI state 23, TCI state 8, TCI state 15 and TCI state 6. The MAC CE may have a field indicating at least one TCI state indicator/index of the at least one TCI state. The field may be set to a value (e.g., one, or any other value) indicating activation of the at least one TCI state); and
maps each activated TCI state of the plurality of activated TCI states to one of a plurality of codepoints of a TCI field in a DCI (see paragraph [0333], the wireless device may map the at least one TCI state to one or more TCI codepoints 2428, for example, based on the receiving the MAC CE 2408 activating the at least one TCI state. The one or more TCI codepoints 2428 may comprise TCI codepoint 00, TCI codepoint 01, TCI codepoint 10, and/or TCI codepoint 11. The one or more TCI codepoints 2428 may be equal to (e.g., correspond to) a value of a TCI field in DCI. The TCI field in the DCI may indicate (or be equal to) a TCI codepoint of the one or more TCI codepoints 2428. For example, TCI state 10 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 00, TCI state 4 and TCI state 23 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 01, TCI state 8 and TCI state 15 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 10, and TCI state 6 may be mapped to TCI codepoint 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik in view of US Pub. 2021/0067979 to Rahman et al. (hereinafter Rahman).
In regard claim 8, Cirik teaches or discloses the method of claim 4 wherein the equal number of DL TCI states and UL TCI states is two DL TCI states and two UL TCI states (see paragraphs [0299], [0300], [0321], and [0323]).
Cirik may not explicitly teach or disclose wherein the equal number of DL TCI states and UL TCI states is two DL TCI states and two UL TCI states.
However, Rahman teaches or discloses wherein the equal number of DL TCI states and UL TCI states is two DL TCI states and two UL TCI states (see paragraph [0144], a UE is configured/indicated with one MAC-CE activation command that activates a common (or same) set of DL (or UL) TCI state IDs (comprising K2 TCI states) for N.sub.1,1<N active CCs/BWPs (comprising a first subset of CCs/BWPs), a common (or same) set of DL (or UL) TCI state IDs (comprising K2 TCI states) for N.sub.1,2<N active CCs/BWPs (comprising a second subset of CCs/BWPs), and so on up to K subsets, where such that N.sub.1=Σ.sub.i =1.sup.K N.sub.1,i, and N2=N−N1 separate MAC-CE activation commands to activate a set of DL (or UL) TCI state IDs for each active CC/BWP of a (k+1)-th subset of CCs/BWPs. Note that the total number of MAC-CE activation commands are K+N2).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify wireless communication for scheduling transmission of Cirik by including the equal number of DL TCI states and UL TCI states is two DL TCI states and two UL TCI states suggested by Rahman. This modification would provide to enable downlink and uplink multi-beam operation in a wireless communication system read in paragraph [0005].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9-13, 15, 16, 23-26, and 28-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 9, 12, 14, 16-18, 23, 27, 33, 35, and 56 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Date: 08/28/2026
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476