DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13, 16-18, 20, 27, and 29-30 and 47 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 10, 12, 16, 17, 27 and 30 are amended.
Claim 47 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 15, 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
In response to applicant argument regarding claim 27, applicant argues that Liu fails to teach "receiving ... HARQ, corresponding to a first ... PUCCH, that is based on the UE processing a first ... PDSCH, scheduling assignment including a first HARQ process identifier and a second PDSCH scheduling assignment that includes the first HARQ process identifier," as recited in claim 27, (Remarks, pages 8-9). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Liu teaches a UE processing a first ... PDSCH, scheduling assignment including a first HARQ process identifier and a second PDSCH scheduling assignment that includes the first HARQ process identifier (Liu teaches [0142] the PDSCH (e.g., based on a G-RNTI or C-RNTI)) scheduled by the wireless-device specific PDCCH (second PDSCH scheduling assignment comprises a unicast, PTP ) may be different from that of the GC PDCCH (first PDSCH scheduling assignment comprises a multi-cast, PTM), but may be associated with the same transport block (TB). In other words, two separate PDSCHs carrying the same data. The wireless device may also be configured to associate a wireless device-specific PDCCH indicated by a Hybrid Automatic Retransmission Request (HARQ) process ID with the group PDCCH (They are both associated with the same transport block and associated to each other, thus the GC PDCCH is associated to the same HARQ process identifier as the device-specific PDCCH). Also, as previously noted in the rejection of claim 1, Liu teaches [0064] In some embodiments, the wireless device may determine an association between multicast communications and retransmitted multicast communications based on a HARQ process ID, which the base station may indicate in a PDCCH message. [0140] In some embodiments, the processor may transmit to the wireless device an indication that the wireless device-specific PDCCH includes a same Hybrid Automatic Retransmission Request (HARQ) process ID and a same New Data Indicator (NDI) as an associated GC PDCCH for multicast transmission. Thus, the first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments include the same HARQ process identifier. Liu also teaches [0142] the wireless device may combine a PDSCH scheduled by the GC PDCCH and a PDSCH scheduled by the wireless device-specific PDCCH (In other words, the UE processes both the first and second PDSCHs).
Liu also teaches "receiving ... HARQ, corresponding to a first ... PUCCH, that is based on the UE processing a first and second PDSCH”. [0143] In block 518, the processor (i.e., the base station) may receive feedback from the wireless device via an uplink resource indicated in the wireless device-specific PDCCH (receiving, from a UE, HARQ corresponding to a first physical uplink control channel, PUCCH). For example, the base station may receive from the wireless device Hybrid Automatic Retransmission Request (HARQ) acknowledgements or feedback (e.g., a HARQ ACK).). It was already shown in the previous paragraph that the UE processes the first and second PDSCHs, thus the HARQ is based on the UE processing both the first and second PDSCHs.
Therefore, Liu teaches "receiving ... HARQ, corresponding to a first ... PUCCH, that is based on the UE processing a first ... PDSCH, scheduling assignment including a first HARQ process identifier and a second PDSCH scheduling assignment that includes the first HARQ process identifier," as recited in claim 27. Claim 27 stands rejected under 35 USC 102 as being anticipated by Liu.
In response to applicant argument regarding claim 18, applicant argues that Liu and Moon fail to teach or suggest "combining both of the PDSCH associated with the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the PDSCH associated with the second PDSCH scheduling assignment before decoding," as recited in claim 18, (Remarks, pages 9-10). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Moon teaches [0114] the terminal may receive a plurality of DCIs in advance before PDSCH decoding, so that when decoding fails with only one PDSCH, a plurality of PDSCHs may be soft-combined at a channel decoding end, thereby improving reception performance. Moon teaches PDSCHs can be combined before decoding in order to improve reception performance. Examiner is interpreting “decoding” in claim 18 as the process by which the UE recovers the data carried on the PDSCH. Moon teaches that when a first attempt at decoding fails with a single PDCCH, i.e. the decoding has not been successfully completed, the PDCCHs can be combined before attempting to decode again. Thus, Moon teaches PDCCHs can be combined before decoding.
Therefore, Moon teaches "combining both of the PDSCH associated with the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the PDSCH associated with the second PDSCH scheduling assignment before decoding," as recited in claim 18. Claim 18 stands rejected under 35 USC 102 as being anticipated by Liu.
In response to applicant argument regarding claim 20, applicant argues that Liu and Moon fail to teach or suggest "decoding each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment before decoding and transmitting HARQ feedback corresponding to PUCCH resources corresponding to each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment." (Remarks, pages 10-11). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner is interpreting “before decoding and transmitting HARQ feedback” as before the process by which the UE recovers the data carried on the PDSCH and transmitting HARQ feedback based on the success of that process. Liu teaches [0064] In some embodiments, if the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH carry the same TB associated with a configured HARQ process ID pair, the wireless device may combine the multicast communications received via the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH, and may determine the HARQ ACK feedback using the uplink resource configuration indicated in the wireless device-specific PDCCH, or GC PDCCH, or the latest PDCCH received by wireless device. In order to combine the multicast communications received via the first and second PDSCHs, the first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments must have been received and successfully decoded first. Thus, Liu teaches decoding each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment before decoding and transmitting HARQ feedback.
Moon teaches ([0114] the terminal may receive a plurality of DCIs in advance before PDSCH decoding, so that when decoding fails with only one PDSCH, a plurality of PDSCHs may be soft-combined at a channel decoding end, thereby improving reception performance. Being able to soft combine a first and second PDSCH means both first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments were received and successfully decoded first. Moon also teaches [0104] In Method M110, a plurality of PDSCHs include the same TB or TBs for the same HARQ process, so that the terminal may transmit an HARQ-ACK for the plurality of PDSCHs only once. This HARQ-ACK is associated with both first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments, since the corresponding PDSCHs are for the same HARQ process. Since each of the first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments are received and successfully decoded in advance before PDSCH decoding, and the transmitted HARQ-ACK is associated with both first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments, it follows that Moon discloses decoding each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment before decoding and transmitting HARQ feedback corresponding to each of the first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments.
Therefore, Liu and Moon teach "decoding each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment before decoding and transmitting HARQ feedback corresponding to PUCCH resources corresponding to each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment." Claim 20 stands rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Moon.
In response to applicant argument regarding the remaining dependent claims, applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims other than their dependency to independent claims 1 or 27. Therefore, for at least the reasons presented above for claim 1, the remaining dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu (US 20220086883 A1).
Regarding claim 27, Liu teaches a method of operating a radio access network node (the Macro BS 110a of Fig. 1), RAN, in a communication network, the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment, UE, a hybrid automatic repeat request, HARQ, corresponding to a first physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, that is based on the UE processing a first physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, scheduling assignment including a first HARQ process identifier and a second PDSCH scheduling assignment that includes the first HARQ process identifier, wherein the first PDSCH scheduling assignment comprises a multi-cast, wherein the second PDSCH scheduling assignment comprises a unicast ([0142] In some embodiments, the PDSCH (e.g., based on a G-RNTI or C-RNTI)) scheduled by the wireless-device specific PDCCH (second PDSCH scheduling assignment comprises a unicast, PTP ) may be different from that of the GC PDCCH (first PDSCH scheduling assignment comprises a multi-cast, PTM), but may be associated with the same transport block (TB) (same HARQ process identifier). This may indicate to the wireless device that the PDSCH uses different resource allocation, redundancy version (RV). The wireless device may also be configured to associate a wireless device-specific PDCCH indicated by a Hybrid Automatic Retransmission Request (HARQ) process ID with the group PDCCH (same HARQ process identifier). In such embodiments, the wireless device may combine a PDSCH scheduled by the GC PDCCH and a PDSCH scheduled by the wireless device-specific PDCCH (UE processes both the first and second PDSCHs). [0143] In block 518, the processor (i.e., the base station) may receive feedback from the wireless device via an uplink resource indicated in the wireless device-specific PDCCH (receiving, from a UE, HARQ corresponding to a first physical uplink control channel, PUCCH). For example, the base station may receive from the wireless device Hybrid Automatic Retransmission Request (HARQ) acknowledgements or feedback (e.g., a HARQ ACK).).
Regarding claim 29, Liu teaches the method of claim 27 further comprising sending a radio resource control, RRC, message to the UE, the RRC comprising a configuration for determining a priority rule corresponding to which of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment, the second PDSCH scheduling assignment, or the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment are to be processed ([0152] Referring to FIG. 5F, in operations 500f following the performance of the operations of block 504 (FIG. 5A), the processor may transmit to the wireless device a priority index to enable the wireless device to determine whether to monitor the GC PDCCH or the wireless device-specific PDCCH in block 534. In some embodiments, the base station may indicate the priority index by RRC signaling or DCI to the wireless device. In some embodiments, based on the priority index, the wireless device may monitor a GC PDCCH or device-specific PDCCH associated with a high priority (e.g., a priority index of 1). In some embodiments, based on the priority index, the wireless device may not monitor a GC PDCCH or device-specific PDCCH associated with a low priority (e.g., priority index of 0).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220086883 A1) in view of Takeda (US 20240089997 A1); further in view of Khoshnevisan (US 20200196346 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Liu teaches the method of claim 27 further comprising receiving, from the UE, HARQ feedback for the first PDSCH scheduling assignment using a first physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, and/or a second PDSCH scheduling assignment using a second PUCCH that is different from the first PUCCH ([0166] In some embodiments, the wireless device may send the HARQ-ACK feedback using the uplink resource configuration indicated in the wireless device-specific PDCCH, or GC PDCCH, or the latest PDCCH received by the wireless device).
Liu does not teach receiving, from the UE, a message indicating a capability to process multiple PDSCH scheduling assignments received in a same HARQ cycle; monitoring all PUCCH resources that are configured for HARQ feedback responses, expecting at least one of the HARQ feedback responses to be received.
Takeda in the same field of endeavor of multicast communications teaches receiving, from the UE, a message indicating a capability to process multiple PDSCH scheduling assignments received in a same HARQ cycle (Fig. 9, [0149] At 905, UE 115-d may transmit, and base station 105-b may receive, a capabilities report. The capabilities report may include an indication of the first set of processing resources and the second set of processing resources. [0108] Some UEs 115 may support both unicast and multicast downlink signaling on a single CC. A UE 115 thus may receive a unicast message over a first CC during a TTI using a first set of processing resources. Processing resources may refer to processing capabilities, or baseband processing capabilities. In some examples, the UE 115 may receive a multicast message over the first CC using a second set of processing resources. For example, the UE 115 may receive the multicast message and the unicast message during the same TTI. [0064] The UE may utilize the first set of processing resources and the second set of processing resources to simultaneously (e.g., within a same transmission time interval (TTI) or other time period, at least partially overlapping in time) receive, process, provide feedback, or a combination thereof, to both unicast and multicast messages on the same CC. For example, the UE may borrow the processing resources that may otherwise be associated with communications via a second CC or a second TRP to support multicast communications on a same CC or via a same TRP as unicast communications. Simultaneously being able to receive, process and provide feedback for both unicast and multicast messages teaches the UE is capable of processing multiple PDSCH scheduling assignments received in a same HARQ cycle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control signaling for multicast communications of Liu to include the capability report of Takeda to indicating a capability to process multiple PDSCH scheduling assignments received in a same HARQ cycle. The motivation to do so would have been to increase data rates, improve efficiencies, and increase throughput (Takeda; [0140] [0143]).
Takeda does not teach monitoring all PUCCH resources that are configured for HARQ feedback responses, expecting at least one of the HARQ feedback responses to be received.
Khoshnevisan in the same field of endeavor of techniques for processing transmissions scheduled with repeated downlink control information transmissions (DCIs), teaches monitoring all PUCCH resources that are configured for HARQ feedback responses, expecting at least one of the HARQ feedback responses to be received ([0089] At 906, the network entity monitors the first and second resources for the uplink transmission or UCI transmission (PUCCH resources that are configured for HARQ feedback responses). As will be described in greater detail below, the network entity may need to monitor both sets of resources (monitoring all) as it does not know which DCI are successfully decoded by the UE. [0096] In either case, at the network side, since a network entity (e.g., gNB) does not know if both DCIs are decoded or only one of them is decoded, it may be required to monitor resources for both. In other words, the gNB may need to attempt to decode both hypotheses: one corresponding to PUCCH according to DCI1 and another according to PUCCH according to DCI2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the techniques for utilizing and processing repeated DCI transmissions that schedule common uplink or downlink transmissions of KHOSHNEVISAN with the control signaling for multicast communications of Liu and Takeda. The motivation to do so would have been to improve reliability through diversity, by using resources and/or different transmission parameters (different precoders/beams/TCI states/TRPs/Panels). (KHOSHNEVISAN; [0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220086883 A1) in view of Takeda (US 20210345071 A1); hereinafter Takeda2.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a method of operating a User Equipment, UE, in a communication network, the method comprising:
receiving a first physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, scheduling assignment including a first hybrid automatic repeat request, HARQ, process identifier and a second PDSCH scheduling assignment that includes the first HARQ process identifier, wherein the first PDSCH scheduling assignment comprises a multi-cast, wherein the second PDSCH scheduling assignment comprises a unicast, ([0140] In response to determining that the wireless device is capable of receiving the schedule via both the GC PDCCH and the wireless device-specific PDCCH (i.e., determination block 510=“Both”), the processor may transmit to the wireless device an indication of whether multicast communications sent via a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) that is scheduled by the wireless device-specific PDCCH and multicast communications sent via a second PDSCH that is scheduled by the GC PDCCH use the same resources and configuration in block 516. In some embodiments, the processor may transmit to the wireless device a wireless device-specific PDCCH including a field to indicate whether the wireless device-specific PDCCH is associated with the GC PDCCH for multicast transmission. [0064] In some embodiments, the wireless device may determine an association between multicast communications and retransmitted multicast communications based on a HARQ process ID, which the base station may indicate in a PDCCH message. [0140] In some embodiments, the processor may transmit to the wireless device an indication that the wireless device-specific PDCCH includes a same Hybrid Automatic Retransmission Request (HARQ) process ID and a same New Data Indicator (NDI) as an associated GC PDCCH for multicast transmission.); and
determining which of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment, the second PDSCH scheduling assignment, or both of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment to process ([0027] In some aspects, receiving from the base station an indication of whether to monitor the GC PDCCH, the wireless device-specific PDCCH, or both the GC PDCCH and the wireless device-specific PDCCH for multicast configuration information may include receiving from the base station a priority index, and determining based on the priority index and a priority associated with the GC PDCCH or the wireless device-specific PDCCH whether to monitor the GC PDCCH or the wireless device-specific PDCCH. [0166] In some embodiments, the wireless device may determine an association between multicast communications and retransmitted multicast communications based on a HARQ process ID (which the base station may indicate in a PDCCH message). In some embodiments, if the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH carry the same TB associated with a configured HARQ process ID pair, the wireless device may combine the multicast communications received via the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH.)
Liu does not teach determining which of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment to store in a HARQ buffer.
Takeda2 in the same field of endeavor of multicast transmission feedback and buffer processing teaches determining which of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment to store in a HARQ buffer ([0096] UE 115-a may be configured to manage a soft buffer of unicast data and multicast data. For example, as described herein, the UE 115-a may be configured to treat multicast data 215 as a unicast data 210 transmission from a feedback process and soft buffer management perspective. Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115-a may treat the multicast data 215 as a broadcast data transmission from a feedback process and soft buffer management perspective. [0101] UE 115-a may receive unicast data 210 in a PDSCH, and may store the unicast data 210 in a soft buffer, in an example of a buffer process. UE 115-a may also receive multicast data 215 in a non-overlapping PDSCH. As the data in multicast data 215 is dynamically configured (e.g., UE 115-a does not know that the data is multicast until UE 115-a received control signaling 220-b), UE 115-a may also determine whether to store multicast data 215 in the same soft buffer as unicast data 210. In some cases, UE 115-a may store the multicast data 215 in the soft buffer, in which case UE 115-a may flush the unicast data 210 from the soft buffer (e.g., if the HPID for the unicast data 210 and multicast data 215 are the same). In some cases, UE 115-a may not store the multicast data 215 in the soft buffer. In other cases, UE 115-a may be configured (e.g., through configuration signaling) to either store the multicast data 215 or not store the multicast data 215.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control signaling for multicast communications of Liu to include the feedback and buffer processing methods of Takeda2 to determine which of the PDSCH scheduling assignments to store in a HARQ buffer. The motivation to do so would have been to allow a UE 115 to save power and increase battery life by improving efficiency and communications reliability. The UE 115 may be configured to efficiently manage unicast buffers and multicast buffers to simultaneously manage HARQ feedback for both types of communications. The improved HARQ feedback may also improve efficiency by decreasing the number of retransmissions performed by the base station (Takeda2; [0140]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the method of claim 1 wherein determining which of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment, the second PDSCH scheduling assignment, or both of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment to process comprises determining a priority that is based on a priority rule ([0069] In some embodiments, the base station may transmit to the wireless additional criteria based on priority index, to enable the wireless device to determine whether to enable or select a GC PDCCH or wireless device-specific PDCCH for multicast communications. For example, the base station may indicate a priority index by RRC signaling or DCI to the wireless device. In some embodiments, based on the priority index, the wireless device may monitor a GC PDCCH or device-specific PDCCH associated with a high priority (e.g., a priority index of 1). In some embodiments, based on the priority index, the wireless device may not monitor a GC PDCCH or device-specific PDCCH associated with a low priority (e.g., priority index of 0). [0157] In some embodiments, the processor may receive a priority index from the base station and may use the priority index and a priority associated with the GC PDCCH or the wireless device-specific PDCCH to determine whether to monitor the GC PDCCH or the wireless device-specific PDCCH. If the UE determines not to monitor a PDCCH based on a priority rule, then it follows the UE will determine not to process that PDCCH based on a priority rule.).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the priority rule comprises a static rule that is predetermined ([0152] In some embodiments, the base station may configure the priority index by RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 5 Liu teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the priority rule comprises a semi-static rule that is configured based on a radio resource control, RRC, message ([0152] In some embodiments, the base station may configure the priority index by RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the method of claim 1 wherein determining which of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment, the second PDSCH scheduling assignment, or both of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment to process comprises transmitting, to a network node, HARQ feedback for the first PDSCH scheduling assignment using a first physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, and/or a second PDSCH scheduling assignment using a second PUCCH that is different from the first PUCCH ([0166] In some embodiments, the wireless device may send the HARQ-ACK feedback using the uplink resource configuration indicated in the wireless device-specific PDCCH, or GC PDCCH, or the latest PDCCH received by the wireless device).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the UE is configured to receive the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment, wherein each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and second PDSCH scheduling assignment comprise a same HARQ process ([0141] In some embodiments, in the case that the wireless device is capable of receiving multicast scheduling information via both the GC PDCCH and the wireless device-specific PDCCH, the base station may schedule a PDSCH, such as based on a Group-RNTI (G-RNTI) by a wireless-device specific PDCCH. In some embodiments, the PDSCH scheduled by the wireless-device specific PDCCH may be same as that of the GC PDCCH (same HARQ process). This may indicate to the wireless device that the PDSCH uses, for example, the same resource allocation, modulation and coding scheme, and other similar characteristics. In some embodiments, the wireless device may use a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) and/or transmit power control (TPC) indicated by the wireless device-specific PDCCH, which may override the PUCCH and/or TPC indicated by a group PUCCH and/or group TPC, if they are different. [0142] In some embodiments, the PDSCH (e.g., based on a G-RNTI or C-RNTI)) scheduled by the wireless-device specific PDCCH may be different from that of the GC PDCCH, but may be associated with the same transport block (TB) (same HARQ process). This may indicate to the wireless device that the PDSCH uses different resource allocation, redundancy version (RV). The wireless device may also be configured to associate a wireless device-specific PDCCH indicated by a Hybrid Automatic Retransmission Request (HARQ) process ID with the group PDCCH. In such embodiments, the wireless device may combine a PDSCH scheduled by the GC PDCCH and a PDSCH scheduled by the wireless device-specific PDCCH.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Takeda2; further in view of Seo (US 20190013902 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Liu in view of Takeda2 teaches the method of claim 1 but does not teach further comprising transmitting the HARQ on more than one PUCCH resources to the communication network that is monitoring all of the PUCCH resources that are configured for HARQ feedback responses and that expects at least one of the HARQ feedback responses to be received.
Seo, in the same field of endeavor of error recovery using multiple channels in a wireless communication system teaches further comprising transmitting the HARQ on more than one PUCCH resources to the network that is monitoring all of the PUCCH resources that are configured for HARQ feedback responses and that expects at least one of the HARQ feedback responses to be received ([0069] If a retransmission is performed in a MAC layer, a UE reports a success/failure in an initial transmission reception to a base station through HARQ-ACK. In this case, PUCCH is usable for HARQ-ACK feedback (first PUCCH resource), and a separate PUCCH resource (second PUCCH resource) is usable to be distinguished from HARQ-ACK for an initial transmission. Network is monitoring these PUCCH resources because it has scheduled them. [0039] the UE may receive a PDCCH/PDSCH (S307) and transmit a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)/physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (S308), as a general UL/DL signal transmission procedure. Especially, the UE receives downlink control information (DCI) through the PDCCH. The DCI includes control information such as resource allocation information for the UE and has different formats according to use purpose thereof.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of error recovery of Seo with the Control Signaling For Multicast Communications of Liu and Takeda2. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce a time taken to recover packet error or link failure occurring in the course of performing wireless communication and increase resource efficiency. (Seo; [0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Takeda2; further in view of MOON (US 20250240791 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Liu in view of Takeda2 teaches the method of claim 1 and Liu teaches wherein the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and second PDSCH scheduling assignment are received in a same transport block ([0164] In block 612, the processor may receive from the base station an indication of whether multicast communications sent via the first PDSCH and multicast communications sent via the second PDSCH are transmitted in a same transport block (TB), wherein the multicast communications sent via the first PDSCH and the multicast communications sent via the second PDSCH have different redundancy versions (RVs)).
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and second PDSCH scheduling assignment are received in a same PDSCH-to-HARQ cycle.
MOON, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and second PDSCH scheduling assignment are received in a same PDSCH-to-HARQ cycle ([0100] Referring to FIG. 6, as an embodiment of Method M100, a case in which a first DCI and a second DCI schedule the same PDSCH in an n-th slot and a terminal transmits an HARQ-ACK for the PDSCH in an (n+2)-th slot. Fig. 6 shows first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments are received in a same PDSCH-to-HARQ cycle, where examiner is interpreting PDSCH-to-HARQ cycle to mean the span of time between reception of the PDSCH and transmission of the HARQ for that PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of transmitting and receiving DCI of Moon with the control signaling for multicast communications of Liu and Takeda2. The motivation to do so would have been to improve transmission reliability of the downlink control channel and reduce the burden of blind decoding on the downlink control channel at the terminal in multi-beam-based mobile communication systems. (Moon; [0027]).
Regarding claim 18, Liu in view of Takeda2 teaches the method of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach further comprising combining both of the PDSCH associated with the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the PDSCH associated with the second PDSCH scheduling assignment before decoding.
Liu does not explicitly teach combining both of the PDSCH associated with the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the PDSCH associated with the second PDSCH scheduling assignment before decoding.
Moon, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches combining both of the PDSCH associated with the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the PDSCH associated with the second PDSCH scheduling assignment before decoding ([0114] the terminal may receive a plurality of DCIs in advance before PDSCH decoding, so that when decoding fails with only one PDSCH, a plurality of PDSCHs may be soft-combined at a channel decoding end, thereby improving reception performance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods for transmitting or receiving downlink control channel of Moon with the control signaling for multicast communications of Liu and Takeda2. The motivation to do so would have been to improve transmission reliability of the downlink control channel and reduce the burden of blind decoding on the downlink control channel at the terminal in multi-beam-based mobile communication systems. (Moon; [0027]).
Regarding claim 20, Liu in view of Takeda2 teaches the method of claim 1 and Liu teaches further comprising: decoding each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment before decoding and transmitting HARQ feedback corresponding to PUCCH resources corresponding to each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment ([0064] In some embodiments, if the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH carry the same TB associated with a configured HARQ process ID pair, the wireless device may combine the multicast communications received via the first PDSCH and the second PDSCH, and may determine the HARQ ACK feedback using the uplink resource configuration indicated in the wireless device-specific PDCCH, or GC PDCCH, or the latest PDCCH received by wireless device. In order to combine the multicast communications received via the first and second PDCCHs, the first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments must have been received and successfully decoded first).
Liu does not explicitly teach transmitting HARQ feedback corresponding to PUCCH resources corresponding to each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment after decoding each of the first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments and decoding.
Moon, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches decoding each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment before decoding and transmitting HARQ feedback corresponding to PUCCH resources corresponding to each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment ([0114] the terminal may receive a plurality of DCIs in advance before PDSCH decoding, so that when decoding fails with only one PDSCH, a plurality of PDSCHs may be soft-combined at a channel decoding end, thereby improving reception performance. Being able to soft combine a first and second PDSCH means both first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments were received and successfully decoded first. [0104] In Method M110, a plurality of PDSCHs include the same TB or TBs for the same HARQ process, so that the terminal may transmit an HARQ-ACK for the plurality of PDSCHs only once. This HARQ-ACK is associated with both first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments, since the corresponding PDSCHs are for the same HARQ process. Since each of the first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments are received and successfully decoded in advance before PDSCH decoding, and the transmitted HARQ-ACK is associated with both first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments, it follows that Moon discloses decoding each of the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment before decoding and transmitting HARQ feedback corresponding to each of the first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods for transmitting or receiving downlink control channel of Moon with the control signaling for multicast communications of Liu and Takeda2. The motivation to do so would have been to improve transmission reliability of the downlink control channel and reduce the burden of blind decoding on the downlink control channel at the terminal in multi-beam-based mobile communication systems. (Moon; [0027]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Takeda2; further in view of CHIEN (US 20200053765 A1).
Regarding claim 7 Liu in view of Takeda2 teaches the method of claim 1 and Liu teaches further comprising transmitting that the UE is configured to receive multiple PDSCH scheduling assignments with a same HARQ process within a given time span ([0069] As noted above, based on the capability reported by the wireless device, the base station may determine whether the wireless device is capable of receiving the schedule via the GC PDCCH, the wireless device-specific PDCCH, or both the GC PDCCH and the wireless device-specific PDCCH. In some embodiments, based on the capability reported by the wireless device, the base station may determine whether the wireless device is capable of receiving multicast communications via the GC PDCCH or the wireless device-specific PDCCH in a same slot or overlapping in time. In some embodiments, the base station may transmit to the wireless device an indication that the wireless device-specific PDCCH includes a same Hybrid Automatic Retransmission Request (HARQ) process ID and a same New Data Indicator (NDI) as an associated GC PDCCH for multicast transmission. [0128] Processor(s) 428, 432 may be configured to provide information processing capabilities in the base station 402 and the wireless device 404. [0133] In block 504, the processor may determine a schedule for transmitting multicast communications to the wireless device based on a capability reported by the wireless device).
Liu does not explicitly teach transmitting that the UE is configured to process multiple PDSCH scheduling assignments with a same HARQ process within a given time span.
Chien, in the same field of endeavor of mobile communication systems teaches further comprising transmitting that the UE is configured to process multiple PDSCH scheduling assignments with a same HARQ process within a given time span ([0057] In the present invention, the UE 1 will report its UE capability to the BS 2. The UE capability includes a parallel processing capability and a PDSCH processing capability on each of a plurality of component carriers (CC). [0058] Further speaking, when having the parallel processing capability, the UE 1 may have a processor with multiple cores, and so is able to demodulate and decode the first and second data downlink signals at the same time through the processing capability of the multiple cores. [0059] Furthermore, the first and second downlink data signals are transmitted on the same component carrier, the UE 1 is still able to demodulate and decode the first and second downlink data signals at the same time based on its PDSCH processing capability on each component carrier as long as the UE 1 has the parallel processing capability. Since the UE is capable of decoding the first and second downlink data signals at the same time, it is capable of processing both first and second PDSCH scheduling assignments with the same harq process within a given time span. The given time span is T2 in Fig. 6A, the time between the end of the second PDSCH DDR2 and the second PUCCH UCR2. [0046] In FIG. 6A, if the time interval T2 between the second PDSCH resource DDR2 and the second PUCCH resource UCR2 is longer than the sum of the processing time N1 of the first downlink data signal and the processing time N2 of the second downlink data signal, it means that the UE 1 still has enough time to completely decode the first downlink data signal after decoding the second downlink data signal so that the UE 1 decides to continue processing the first downlink data signal and generates the first HARQ-ACK message according to the whole processing result of the first downlink data signal.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE and base station of Chien with the control signaling for multicast communications of Liu and Takeda2. The motivation to do so would have been to schedule the uplink radio resources in response to the need of instantaneous transmission for urgency and make the BS and the UE able to deal with such instantaneous transmission for urgency (Chien; [0006]).
Regarding claim 8, Liu, Takeda2 and Chien teach the method of claim 7, but Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the given time span comprises a time between receiving a PDSCH scheduling assignment and transmitting a HARQ feedback.
Chien, in the same field of endeavor of mobile communication systems, teaches wherein the given time span comprises a time between receiving a PDSCH scheduling assignment and transmitting a HARQ feedback (As shown in Fig. 6A, the given time span is T2, the time between the end of the second PDSCH and the first PUCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the UE and base station of Chien with the control signaling for multicast communications of Liu and Takeda2. The motivation to do so would have been to schedule the uplink radio resources in response to the need of instantaneous transmission for urgency and make the BS and the UE able to deal with such instantaneous transmission for urgency (Chien; [0006]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Takeda2; further in view of BAE (US 20220231798 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Liu in view of Takeda2 teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the UE is configured to receive the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment, wherein the UE is further configured to include semi-persistent scheduling, wherein a HARQ process for the first PDSCH scheduling assignment received vis SPS is a same as the second PDSCH scheduling assignment in a PDSCH-to-HARQ time span.
Bae, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications systems, teaches wherein the UE is configured to receive the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and the second PDSCH scheduling assignment, wherein the UE is further configured to include semi-persistent scheduling, wherein a HARQ process for the first PDSCH scheduling assignment received vis SPS is the same as the second PDSCH scheduling assignment in the PDSCH-to-HARQ time span ([0019] In each aspect of the present disclosure, the first downlink channel may be a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) based physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH). [0018] In each aspect of the present disclosure, based on the first HARQ-ACK being subject to the HARQ deferral and the first transmission time being determined by the HARQ deferral from the second transmission time, the second downlink channel may start before an end of the first transmission time. [0011] In an aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided a method of receiving a downlink channel by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system. The method may include: determining a first transmission time for a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK) (HARQ-ACK) for a first downlink channel associated with a first HARQ process; and receiving a second downlink channel associated with the first HARQ process. Receiving the second downlink channel for the first HARQ process may include: receiving the second downlink channel after the first transmission time based on the first HARQ-ACK being not subject to HARQ deferral; and receiving the second downlink channel after a second transmission time based on the first HARQ-ACK being subject to the HARQ deferral and the first transmission time being determined by the HARQ deferral from the second transmission time earlier than the first transmission time. Fig. 13 shows first and second PDSCHs are received in the same PDSCH-to-HARQ timespan).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods for receiving downlink channel of Bae with the control signaling of multicast communications of Liu and Takeda2. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce delay/latency generated during radio communication between communication devices. (Bae; [0026]).
Regarding claim 11, Liu in view of Takeda2 teaches the method of claim 1 and Liu teaches wherein the UE is configured to include a HARQ feedback priority list that defines a first priority for the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and a second priority for the second PDSCH scheduling assignment ([0069] In some embodiments, the base station may transmit to the wireless additional criteria based on priority index, to enable the wireless device to determine whether to enable or select a GC PDCCH or wireless device-specific PDCCH for multicast communications. For example, the base station may indicate a priority index by RRC signaling or DCI to the wireless device. In some embodiments, based on the priority index, the wireless device may monitor a GC PDCCH or device-specific PDCCH associated with a high priority (e.g., a priority index of 1). In some embodiments, based on the priority index, the wireless device may not monitor a GC PDCCH or device-specific PDCCH associated with a low priority (e.g., priority index of 0).)
Liu does not teach the method further comprising selecting a PUCCH resource with a highest one of the first priority and the second priority.
Bae, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications systems, teaches wherein the UE is configured to include a HARQ feedback priority list that defines a first priority for the first PSDSCH scheduling assignment and a second priority for the second PDSCH scheduling assignment ([0197] Separate codebooks may be formed/generated for HARQ-ACK feedback for a plurality of DL data channels (e.g., a plurality of PDSCHs) having different service types, quality of service (QoS), latency requirements, reliability requirements, and/or priorities. For example, a HARQ-ACK codebook for PDSCH(s) associated with a high priority (second priority) and a HARQ-ACK codebook for PDSCH(s) associated with a low priority (first priority) may be separately configured/formed. For HARQ-ACK feedback for PDSCHs with different priorities, different parameters and resource configurations may be considered for PUCCH transmissions with different priorities (see information element (IE) pucch-ConfigurationList of 3GPP TS 38.331). For example, if the UE is provided with pdsch-HARQ-ACK-CodebookList (HARQ Feedback priority list) through RRC signaling, the UE may be indicated by pdsch-HARQ-ACK-CodebookList to generate one or multiple HARQ-ACK codebooks), the method further comprising selecting a PUCCH resource with a highest one of the first priority and the second priority (When the UE is indicated to generate one HARQ-ACK codebook, the HARQ-ACK codebook is associated with a PUCCH of priority index 0 (high priority). When the UE is indicated to generate two HARQ-ACK codebooks, the first HARQ-ACK codebook is associated with a PUCCH of priority index 0 (high priority), and the second HARQ-ACK codebook is associated with a PUCCH of priority index 1 (low priority)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods for receiving downlink channel of Bae with the control signaling of multicast communications of Liu and Takeda2. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce delay/latency generated during radio communication between communication devices. (Bae; [0026]).
Regarding claim 12, Liu, Takeda2 and Bae teach the method of claim 11, and Liu teaches wherein the UE is not expected to transmit HARQ feedback corresponding to the PUCCH resource without the highest one of the first priority and the second priority ([0069] In some embodiments, based on the priority index, the wireless device may monitor a GC PDCCH or device-specific PDCCH associated with a high priority (e.g., a priority index of 1). In some embodiments, based on the priority index, the wireless device may not monitor a GC PDCCH or device-specific PDCCH associated with a low priority (e.g., priority index of 0). If the device does not monitor the PDCCH with a low priority index, it is not expected to transmit HARQ feedback corresponding to the PUCCH without the highest one of the first priority and the second priority).
Bae, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications systems, also teaches the method of claim 11, wherein the UE is not expected to transmit HARQ feedback corresponding to the PUCCH without the highest one of the first priority and the second priority (the low priority PUCCH) ([0197] When the UE is indicated to generate one HARQ-ACK codebook, the HARQ-ACK codebook is associated with a PUCCH of priority index 0 (the highest priority PUCCH. Since only one PUCCH is sent, the UE is not expected to transmit the HARQ feedback corresponding to the low priority PUCCH).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods for receiving downlink channel of Bae with the control signaling of multicast communications of Liu and Takeda2. The motivation to do so would have been to reduce delay/latency generated during radio communication between communication devices. (Bae; [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Takeda2; further in view of KHOSHNEVISAN (US 20200196346 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Liu in view of Takeda2 teaches the method of claim 1 but does not teach further comprising transmitting the HARQ on more than one PUCCH resources for the communication network to determine channel quality for PDSCHs associated with the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and PDSCHs associated with the second PDSCH scheduling assignment.
KHOSHNEVISAN, in the same field of endeavor of techniques for processing transmissions scheduled with repeated downlink control information transmissions (DCIs), teaches transmitting the HARQ on more than one PUCCH resources for the network to determine channel quality for PDSCHs associated with the first PDSCH scheduling assignment and PDSCHs associated with the second PDSCH scheduling assignment ([0095] the UE may send PUCCH (transmitting the HARQ) on both PUCCH resources (more than one PUCCH resources) (determined according to each DCI). [0098] the feedback received can be used as a mechanism to select parameters for future scheduled transmissions (e.g., choose a better beam on PUCCH depending on which beam is better for DCI). In other words, the resources selected for feedback may indicate which DCI is successfully decoded and/or has larger DMRS SINR (channel quality). A gNB may then know (infer) which DCIs were detected successfully (based on which PUCCH parameters were used)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the techniques for utilizing and processing repeated DCI transmissions that schedule common uplink or downlink transmissions of KHOSHNEVISAN with the control signaling for multicast communications of Liu and Takeda2. The motivation to do so would have been to improve reliability through diversity, by using resources and/or different transmission parameters (different precoders/beams/TCI states/TRPs/Panels). (KHOSHNEVISAN; [0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Takeda2; further in view of Kim (US 20230124262 A1).
Regarding claim 47, Liu in view of Takeda2 teaches the method of claim 1 but does not teach further comprising determining which PUCCH resource to use to ACK or NACK to the PDSCH scheduling assignments.
Kim in the same field of endeavor of transmitting and receiving HARQ information in wireless communications teaches further comprising determining which PUCCH resource to use to ACK or NACK to the PDSCH scheduling assignments ([0023] receiving, from the UE, the HARQ-ACK information based on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource, wherein the HARQ-ACK information is related to the first data channel and the second data channel…and wherein the PUCCH resource is determined based on a last DCI among the first DCI and the second DCI. [0257] For example, the specific PUCCH resource on which the HARQ-ACK information is transmitted may use a PUCCH resource indicated by DCI transmitted lastly in the order of time, and/or a PUCCH resource indicated by DCI received through a CORESET corresponding to a specific index (e.g., lowest index or highest index), and/or a PUCCH resource indicated by the DCI corresponding to a specific cell (e.g., a cell corresponding to a lowest cell ID or a highest cell ID). [0258] For example, as described above in the Embodiment 2, etc., a PUCCH resource may be determined depending on a PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field value indicated via a specific DCI. If the UE receives different DCIs from CORESETs corresponding to different indexes (e.g., CORESETPoolIndex), the order of DCIs may be determined based on i) a time at which the DCI is transmitted, ii) an index (e.g. CORESET group ID, CORESETPoolIndex) configured to the CORESET to which the corresponding DCI is transmitted, and iii) a cell index (or ID).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control signaling for multicast communications of Liu and the feedback and buffer processing methods of Takeda2 to include the method of transmitting/receiving HARQ information of Kim, specifically considering a multi-TRP operation, to determine which PUCCH resource to use. The motivation to do so would have been to improve reliability supported by a plurality of TRPs (Kim; [0200]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409