DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filled on 12/22/2025 has been entered.
Claims 55,57,58,64 are amended.
Claims 66-69 are added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments filed on 12/22/2025 have been fully considered and but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection(s)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 55-56,64-65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lunttila to (US 20150195071A1) in view of Gao to (US 20210067291 A1)
Regarding claims 55,64, Lunttila teaches method performed by a user equipment (UE)(fig.3 “304”) , the method comprising: for each transmission point (TP) included in a selected set of N TPs (fig.3 “302B” “302A”) ,( [0067] discloses PMI fed back from the UE 402 contains the inter-transmission point phase feedback information with 2 bits...the fed back PMI can indicate to the eNB 404 (to the resource scheduler 404E) the phase difference between two antennas, each of which is associated with one transmission point of a pair of transmission points) where N ≥2, such that the set of N TPs includes at least a first TP and a second TP, (fig.3 “302B” “302A”) obtaining a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource configuration for the TP,([0096] discloses receive a measurement configuration for a set of n CSI-RS resources, where the set of n CSI-RS resources includes at least one CSI-RS resource that spans over at least two transmission points. Therefore, N ≥2) thereby obtaining N CSI-RS resource configurations;( [0071] discloses the eNB 404… configures … a set of n CSI-RS resources for the UE 402 to measure. The set of n CSI-RS resources includes at least one CSI-RS resource that spans over at least two transmission points, where n is a number greater than the number of cooperating transmission points) receiving a CSI-RS from each one of the N TPs; generating a CSI report based on an aggregation of the N CSI-RS resource configurations;( ([0073] At step 1006, the UE 402 performs CSI measurements based on the configured CSI-RS resources) and transmitting the CSI report to a base station([0073] At step 1006, the UE 402 performs CSI measurements based on the configured CSI-RS resources and transmits (reports) the CSI feedback to the network. The CSI feedback contains, for example, at least the PMI and may contain one or both of the RI and the corresponding CQI. The fed back PMI is received by the network)
Lunttila does not explicitly teach CSI RS resource configurations wherein the obtaining comprises:obtaining a first CSI-RS resource configuration for the first TP indicating resourcesthat the first TP is configured to use to transmit a first CSI-RS; and obtaining a second CSI-RS resource configuration for the second TP indicating resources that the second TP is contigured to use to transmit a second CSI-RS: receiving a CSI-RS from each one of the N TPs, wherein receiving a CSI-RS from each one of the N TPs comprises: receiving the first CSI-RS transmitted by the first TP: and receiving the second CSI-RS transmitted by the second TP
However, Gao teaches CSI RS resource configurations wherein the obtaining comprises:
obtaining a first CSI-RS resource configuration for the first TP indicating resources
that the first TP is configured to use to transmit a first CSI-RS; (([0065] discloses a pair of CSI-RS resources A and B can be configured for CSI-RS transmission from the TRPs 420-1 and 420-2) and obtaining a second CSI-RS resource configuration for the second TP indicating resources that the second TP is configured to use to transmit a second CSI-RS: (([0065] discloses a pair of CSI-RS resources A and B can be configured for CSI-RS transmission from the TRPs 420-1 and 420-2) receiving a CSI-RS from each one of the N TPs, wherein receiving a CSI-RS from each one of the N TPs comprises: ([0065] Discloses the terminal device 410 may support simultaneous reception from different TRPs) receiving the first CSI-RS transmitted by the first TP ([0065] discloses a pair of CSI-RS resources A and B can be configured for CSI-RS transmission from the TRPs 420-1 and 420-2. As shown in FIG. 4, the terminal device 410 can receive, via the Rx beam 430-1 and from the TRP 420-1, CSI-RS transmitted in the CSI-RS resource A) and receiving the second CSI-RS transmitted by the second TP([0065] discloses a pair of CSI-RS resources A and B can be configured for CSI-RS transmission from the TRPs 420-1 and 420-2. ..the terminal device 410 can receive, via the Rx beam 430-2 and from the TRP 420-1, CSI-RS transmitted in the CSI-RS resource B)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Lunttila include CSI RS resource configurations wherein the obtaining comprises: obtaining a first CSI-RS resource configuration for the first TP indicating resources that the first TP is configured to use to transmit a first CSI-RS; and obtaining a second CSI-RS resource configuration for the second TP indicating resources that the second TP is configured to use to transmit a second CSI-RS: receiving a CSI-RS from each one of the N TPs, wherein receiving a CSI-RS from each one of the N TPs comprises: receiving the first CSI-RS transmitted by the first TP: and receiving the second CSI-RS transmitted by the second TP, as suggested by Gao. This modification would benefit the system to reduce transmission interference.
Regarding claims 56,65, Lunttila teaches further comprising receiving, from each one of the N TPs, precoded data signal that was generated using a precoder determined based on the CSI report([0028] , [0074] .. the network may utilize the CSI feedback information (including the indicated inter-transmission point phase relationship) in the selection of preferred precoders for coherent JT CoMP transmission).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 57-58,66-69 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461