Response to Amendment
The amendment made dated does not contain any new matter, and has been accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Due to the broadness of the claim language, Gong still discloses the newly amended limitation of receiving an indication from a network node on the communications network of information associated with a limited capability zone (Gong: [0108], [0109]: geo-fencing boundaries to apply restrictions to UAV operations; [0310]; [0186]: receiving alerts from Air Control System ([0161], [0162]) that the UAV will be in restricted zone).
Therefore, the claims are still not yet in condition for allowance and are still rejected as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, and 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gong et al. (US 2016/0292696; hereinafter Gong).
Regarding claim 1, Gong discloses a method of operating a communication device in a communications network, the method comprising:
receiving an indication from a network node on the communications network of information associated with a limited capability zone ([0108], [0109]: geo-fencing boundaries to apply restrictions to UAV operations; [0310]; [0186]: receiving alerts from Air Control System ([0161], [0162]) that the UAV will be in restricted zone); and
limiting operation of the communication device based on the information and location of the communication device relative to the limited capability zone ([0108], [0109]: geo-fencing boundaries to apply restrictions to UAV operations based on location and authorization: [0121], [0146]; [0154]: flight regulations can comprise various limitations such as time limit to be in a location, maximum speed in a location, type of data to be collected etc.).
Regarding claim 2, Gong discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the limited capability zone comprises a no-fly zone, and wherein receiving the indication the information comprises receiving the indication a geographical area and restrictions associated with flight by communication devices within the geographical area ([0173]: flight restriction zone where UAV may not fly).
Regarding claim 3, Gong discloses the method of any of Claim 1,wherein the limited capability zone comprises a no-transmission zone, and wherein receiving the indication the information comprises receiving an indication of a geographical area and restrictions associated with transmissions by communication devices within the geographical area ([0220]: the restriction of transmitting recording images from the UAV in particular locations).
Regarding claim 4, Gong discloses the method of any of Claim 1,wherein receiving the indication of the information comprises receiving the indication the information as part of a subscription between the communication device and an operator of the communications network ([0027]: UAV and controller being a part of the authorized users to operate the UAV).
Regarding claim 8, Gong discloses the method of any of Claim 6, wherein receiving the indication the information associated with the limited capability zone further comprises:
determining a condition associated with the communication device; and
transmitting an indication of the condition associated with the communication device to the network node, and receiving the indication of the information in the dedicated signaling in response to transmitting the indication of the condition associated with the communication device to the network node ([0007], [0108], [0109]: communication with UAV about geo-fencing boundaries to apply restrictions to UAV operations).
Regarding claims 9 and 38, Gong discloses wherein determining the condition associated with the communication device comprises determining at least one of:
a type of the communication device ([0163]: device type);
a specific action being performed by the communication device ([0122]-[0123]: operations performed by UAV); and
a current location of the communication device ([0123]: GPS sensor for location monitoring),
wherein transmitting the indication of the information comprises transmitting the indication of the information in response to the condition associated with the communication device ([0007], [0108], [0109]: communication with UAV about geo-fencing boundaries to apply restrictions to UAV operations).
Regarding claim 10, Gong discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the information from the network node comprises receiving the indication of the information in broadcast signaling ([0271]: broadcast communication).
Regarding claim 11, Gong discloses the method of any of Claim 1, the method further comprising: determining whether the limited capability zone is active, wherein limiting the operation of the communication device based on the information comprises limiting the operation of the communication device based on determining that the limited capability zone is active ([0867]: geo-fencing regulation might change over time, some condition might be active then inactive giving way to new regulations).
Regarding claim 12, Gong discloses the method of any of Claim 1, the method further comprising: determining a pattern of subframes to be used by the communication device while the communication device is within the limited capability zone, and wherein limiting the operation of the communication device comprises communicating using the pattern of subframes while the communication device is within the limited capability zone ([0007], [0108], [0109]: communication with UAV about geo-fencing boundaries to apply restrictions to UAV operations).
Regarding claim 13, Gong discloses the method of any of Claim 1,wherein receiving the indication of the information associated with the limited capability zone comprises receiving an indication of movements permitted by the communication device while the communication device is within the limited capability zone, and wherein limiting the operation of the communication device comprises limiting movement of the communication device to the movements permitted by the communication device while the communication device is within the limited capability zone ([0750], [0174]: flight regulation governs movement of UAV).
Regarding claim 14, Gong discloses the method of any of Claim 1,wherein receiving the indication of the information associated with the limited capability zone comprises receiving an indication of whether the communication device is permitted to enter or perform an action within the limited capability zone, and wherein limiting the operation of the communication device comprises limiting entrance or performance of the action of the communication device based on whether the communication device is permitted to enter or perform the action within the limited capability zone ([0750]: UAV restrictions within the geo-fence location; [0027]: UAV and controller being a part of the authorized users to operate the UAV).
Regarding claim 15, Gong discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein receiving the indication of the information associated with the limited capability zone comprises receiving an indication of transmissions permitted by the communication device while the communication device is within the limited capability zone, and wherein limiting the operation of the communication device comprises limiting transmissions of the communication device based on the indication of transmission permitted by the communication device while the communication device is within the limited capability zone ([0750]: UAV restrictions within the geo-fence location; [0027]: UAV and controller being a part of the authorized users to operate the UAV).
Regarding claim 16, Gong discloses a method of operating a network node in a communications network, the method comprising:
determining information associated with a limited capability zone ([0108], [0109]: geo-fencing boundaries to apply restrictions to UAV operations; [0310]); and
transmitting an indication of the information associated with the limited capability zone to a communication device in the communications network ([0007], [0108], [0109]: communication with UAV about geo-fencing boundaries to apply restrictions to UAV operations).
Regarding claim 17, Gong discloses the method of Claim 16, wherein the limited capability zone comprises a no-fly zone, and wherein determining the information comprises determining an indication of a geographical area and restrictions associated with flight by communication devices within the geographical area ([0173]: flight restriction zone where UAV may not fly).
Regarding claim 18, Gong discloses the method of any of Claim 16,wherein the limited capability zone comprises a no-transmission zone, and wherein determining the information comprises determining an indication of a geographical area and restrictions associated with transmissions by communication devices within the geographical area ([0220]: the restriction of transmitting recording images from the UAV in particular locations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong in view of Shimoda et al. (US 2020/0214073; hereinafter Shimoda).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Gong discloses all the particulars of the claim except for wherein receiving the indication of the information associated with the limited capability zone from the network node comprises receiving the indication of the information in dedicated signaling.
However, Shimoda does disclose the limitation of wherein receiving the indication of the information associated with the limited capability zone from the network node comprises receiving the indication of the information in dedicated signaling ([0463]: use of RRC and dedicated signaling is used to communicate to the UAV).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Shimoda’s disclosure to provide more effective communication.
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Gong discloses all the particulars of the claims except for wherein receiving the indication of the information in dedicated signaling comprises receiving the indication of the information in a radio resource control message.
However, Shimoda does disclose the limitation of wherein receiving the indication of the information in dedicated signaling comprises receiving the indication of the information in a radio resource control message ([0463]: use of RRC and dedicated signaling is used to communicate to the UAV).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Shimoda’s disclosure to provide more effective communication.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHUCK HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644