DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 102383184), an English computer translation (CT) is provided, in view of Schmid (US 3,898,051), Gueh (US 2015/0275108), Janzen et al (US 2005/0000406) and Ma et al (CN 103531495A), an English computer translation (CT) is provided.
Zhao teaches a device for growing at least one artificially manufactured sapphire single crystal (([0012], [0086]), comprising - at least one crucible wall (crucible sleeve 1), the crucible wall having an open first end portion (top) and a base-side second end portion (bottom) arranged at a distance from the first end portion along a longitudinal axis (Fig 1-7), wherein when viewed from the at least one crucible wall in cross-section in relation to the longitudinal axis, a crucible wall inner surface is defined, and at a distance of one wall thickness thereto a crucible wall outer surface is also defined, at least one crucible base (seed 2), the crucible base being arranged in the base-side second end portion, and wherein a receiving area for the formation of the single crystal is defined by the at least one crucible wall and the at least one crucible base, wherein the at least one crucible wall has constant thermal conductivity and/or identical mechanical properties over its entire extension (CT [0031] teaches bottomless crucible sleeve formed as a whole, which reads on constant thermal conductivity and/or identical mechanical properties over its entire extension), wherein the crucible base (2) is formed exclusively from a plate made from a previously manufactured seed crystal, wherein an external dimension of the plate that forms the crucible base is selected such that an outer circumferential front surface is constantly in contact and forms a seal with the inner crucible wall surface (Fig 6 shows plate diameter greater than the inner diameter of the sleeve 2; and CT [0026], [0035] teaches the seed crystal prevents melt leakage, which reads on forms a seal).
Zhao teaches explicit embodiments for Si crystal growth. Zhao also teaches the method and apparatus can be used for growth of sapphire (CT [0012], [0086]). Zhao et al does not teach an explicit example using a sapphire seed crystal for the crucible base. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Zhao et al by using a sapphire single crystal seed as the base to grow sapphire single crystals, as suggested by Zhao et al, because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Zhao does not teach the crucible wall is made using a centrifugal casting method, and Zhao does not explicitly teach a control device and a sensor in communication with the control device and arranged on a side of the plate facing away from the receiving area.
In an apparatus for sapphire growth, Schmid teaches a crucible 48 is made from a material that is chemically inert with respect to the material being crystallized therein, wherein the crucible is made of a refractory (such as molybdenum, tungsten, iridium, or rhenium), high purity graphite, or quartz (col 3, ln 1-65; col 7, ln 1-65). Schmid teaches an example of placing a sapphire seed in a molybdenum crucible and melting pieces of sapphire in the crucible, cooling the crucible to solidified the liquid in the crucible. (col 7, ln 1-65). Schmid teaches a thermocouples 42 are connected to a controller 85 and the thermocouples were provided at the crucible wall near its bottom, and the controller 85 is responsive to the temperatures sensed by pyrometers 71, 73 to vary the power supplied by heating source 86 to maintain the temperatures of heating element 26 and crucible 48 at the proper level; and to the temperature sensed by thermocouple 42; and a thermocouple 44 extend within heat exchanger 32 from below base 34, through rod segment 36 to closely adjacent top 38 (Fig 1-2; col 2, ln 1-67, col 3, ln 1-67, col col 8, ln 40-68), which clearly suggests a control device and a sensor in communication with the control device and arranged on a side of the plate facing away from the receiving area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Zhao by providing a teach a control device and a sensor in communication with the control device and arranged on a side of the plate facing away from the receiving area, as taught by Schmid, to monitor and control the temperature of the crucible to maintain a desired temperature suitable for crystal growth.
In a method of making crucibles, Gueh teaches a metallic crucible 40 is formed by metallurgical casting steps may such as centrifugal casting, or other suitable methods for liquid metal casting into a determined mold, and the crucible is formed of tungsten or molybdenum ([0113]-[0115], [0455]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Zhao by using a centrifugal casting method, as taught by Gueh, to produce a crucible using a conventionally known metallurgical casting method (Gueh [0113]-[0115], [0455]) made of a molybdenum or tungsten, which are suitable inert crucible materials for sapphire crystal growth, as evidenced by Schmid. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
It is also noted that the limitation “at least one crucible wall produced using centrifugal casting method” is a product-by-process limitation. "Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. (MPEP 2113). The combination of Zhao, Schmid and Gueh teaches a crucible casted using a centrifugal casting method, however, other equivalent methods of casting are taught and would be expected to produce a crucible which would read on the claimed crucible.
The combination of Zhao, Schmid and Gueh teaches a sensor (thermocouple 42) in communication with the control device 85 and arranged on a side of the plate facing away from the receiving area (see Schmid Fig 1, col 3, ln 35-68). The combination of Zhao, Schmid and Gueh does not teach the sensor comprises a laser beam generator and a laser beam detector.
In a temperature measuring apparatus, Janzen et al teaches a seed crystal 13 is mounted to a seed holder 12 which is physically attached to a shaft 16 having at least one hollow conduit through which the temperature of the seed holder can be measured by an optical pyrometer or thermocouple ([0028]; Fig 3).
In a temperature measuring apparatus, Ma et al teaches a pyrometer may include a radiation-emission element (e.g., a laser) aimed at the object to be measured and a detector for determining the proportion of thermal radiation from the laser reflected by the object (CT [0087]), which clearly suggests a laser beam generator and a laser beam detector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Zhao, Schmid and Gueh by substituting a pyrometer for the thermocouple, as taught by Janzen et al, because substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II), and a pyrometers are known to use laser generator and detectors to measure temperature, as taught by Ma et al.
Referring to claim 2, the combination of Zhao, Schmid, Gueh, Janzen et al and Ma et al teaches the sleeve can be formed as a whole in any shape, such as a round sleeve shape (CT [0031]), which reads on an inner surface has a similar surface configuration across its entire surface.
Referring to claim 3, the combination of Zhao, Schmid, Gueh, Janzen et al and Ma et al teaches the sleeve can be formed as a whole in a round sleeve shape (CT [0031]), which reads on the crucible wall is closed on itself in an annular and seamless configuration inner surface has a similar surface configuration across its entire surface.
Referring to claim 4, the combination of Zhao, Schmid, Gueh, Janzen et al and Ma et al teaches the sleeve can be formed as a whole in a round sleeve shape (CT [0031]), which reads on the crucible wall has a similar structural composition across its entire composition.
Referring to claim 5, the combination of Zhao, Schmid, Gueh, Janzen et al and Ma et al teaches a crucible is formed of tungsten or molybdenum (Gueh [0113]-[0115], [0455]; Schmid col 3, ln 1-65; col 7, ln 1-65). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Referring to claims 8-9, the combination of Zhao, Schmid, Gueh, Janzen et al and Ma et al teaches when casting a single crystal, a single crystal seed crystal is used; and using a single crystal material with predetermined crystal orientation (CT [0035]). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Zhao, Schmid, Gueh, Janzen et al and Ma et al by using a c-axis seed to form a c-axis sapphire single crystal in the longitudinal direction because the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Referring to claim 10, the combination of Zhao, Schmid, Gueh, Janzen et al and Ma et al teaches a crucible sleeve having a round sleeve shape; therefore, a seed at the bottom of the sleeve obviously would have a disc-shape (CT [0031]). Furthermore, changes in shape are prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (CN 102383184), an English computer translation (CT) is provided, in view of Schmid (US 3,898,051), Gueh (US 2015/0275108), Janzen et al (US 2005/0000406) and Ma et al (CN 103531495A), an English computer translation (CT) is provided, as applied to claims 1-5 above, and further in view of Li et al (US 2013/0152851).
The combination of Zhao, Schmid, Gueh, Janzen et al and Ma et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 7, as discussed above, except at least one upper heating element is arranged above the crucible, wherein a thermal diffuser element for ensuring even heat distribution is arranged between the upper heating element and the crucible.
In an apparatus for crystal growth, Li et al teaches an upper heater 16 above a crucible 20 with a thermal diffuser (shield 18) between the heater 16 (Fig 1; [0025]-[0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Zhao, Schmid, Gueh, Janzen et al and Ma et al by providing heater and a shield (diffuser), as taught by Li et al, to control the temperature gradient within the crucible for crystal growth.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that the prior art does not teach the sensor comprises a laser beam generator and a laser beam detector is noted but not found persuasive. As discussed above, the newly applied references Janzen et al (US 2005/0000406) and Ma et al (CN 103531495A), an English computer translation (CT) is provided clearly teaches measuring temperature using a thermocouple or a pyrometer is well known in the art of measuring temperatures, and pyrometers conventionally employ laser generator and detectors for measuring temperature. The examiner maintains that the using/substituting any conventionally known means for measuring temperature would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hoshikawa et al (US 2011/0017124) teaches a sapphire single crystal is formed from a high temperature melt, so a material of a thin-walled crucible, which has high strength and high chemical resistance under high temperature is required; and a crucible is composed of iridium, and the crucible composed of iridium has high strength and high chemical resistance under high temperature ([0005]-[0007]). Hoshikawa et al also teaches the material of the crucible may also be tungsten, molybdenum, or an alloy of tungsten and molybdenum ([0052]).
MATTHEW J. SONG
Examiner
Art Unit 1714
/MATTHEW J SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714