DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filing of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment on 01/09/2026. Currently, claims 1-12 are pending in the application. Claims 6 and 10-12 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over SUZUKA et al (US 20150340167 A1) in view of KAWATA et al (US 20180309063 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 1 of SUZUKA discloses a photoelectric conversion element material comprising:
a base material (12); and
a light-receiving layer (15) comprising a semiconductor film (16) formed on the base material, wherein the semiconductor film comprises Ag.sub.2−xBi.sub.xS.sub.x+1 (x is an integer of 0 or 1) ([0034], Ag2S).
SUZUKA does not teach that the semiconductor film has a crystallite diameter of 10 nm or more and 40 nm or less.
However, SUZUKA teaches that the particle diameter of the semiconductor particles be in the range of 5 to 1000 nm, more desirably 10 to 100 nm ([0031]).
Thus, the claimed range lies within the range as taught by SZUKA and in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges for high efficiency since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
SUZUKA does not teach that the semiconductor film comprising AgBiS-2.
However, KAWATA is a pertinent art which teaches a optoelectronic device containing a light absorber which is at least in part inorganic, preferably a perovskite, and polymers (including homopolymers and co-polymers), oligomers or small molecules that are based on benzo[1,2-b:4,5-b′] dithiophene bearing electron withdrawing groups, especially solar cells comprising perovskites, wherein the light absorber includes Ag2S or AgBiS-2 ([0038]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use AgBiS-2 instead of Ag2S in the semiconductor film (16, Figure 1) of SUZUKA according to the teaching of KAWATA in order to have an efficient power conversion ([0002], KAWATA), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material such as AgBiS-2 instead of Ag2S on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Moreover, the court has held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, SUZUKA does not teach that the photoelectric conversion element material according to claim 1, wherein the semiconductor film has a crystallite diameter of 10 nm or more and 25 nm or less.
However, SUZUKA teaches that the particle diameter of the semiconductor particles be in the range of 5 to 1000 nm, more desirably 10 to 100 nm ([0031]).
Thus, the claimed range lies within the range as taught by SZUKA and in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges for high efficiency since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 3, SUZUKA does not teach that the photoelectric conversion element material according to claim 1, wherein the semiconductor film has a surface roughness of 2 nm or more and 15 nm or less.
However, SUZUKA teach that thickness of the semiconductor layer 16 can be, for example, 0.01 μm or more and 100 μm or less. The thickness of the semiconductor layer 16 may be changed as necessary for the intended photoelectric conversion efficiency, but it is desirable that it be 0.5 μm or more and 50 μm or less, more desirably 1 μm or more and 20 μm or less. The larger the surface roughness of the semiconductor layer 16 is the better, and it is desirable that the surface roughness factor, given as the effective area divided by the projected area, be 10 or more, more desirably 100 or more.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges for higher conversion efficiency, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, SUZUKA does not teach that the photoelectric conversion element material according to claim 1, wherein the photoelectric conversion element material has responsiveness to light having wavelengths of 700 nm or more and 1200 nm or less.
However, SUZUKA teaches that the semiconductor layer is advantageously capable of absorbing light with a wavelength of approximately 350 nm to 1300 nm ([0034]).
Thus, the claimed range lies within the range as taught by SZUKA and in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges for high efficiency since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, Figure 1 of SUZUKA discloses an ink comprising semiconductor nanoparticles dispersed in a dispersion medium ([0037]), wherein the semiconductor nanoparticles comprise Ag.sub.2−xBi.sub.xS.sub.x+1 (x is an integer of 0 or 1) ([0034], Ag2S) and, the semiconductor nanoparticles are protected by a protective agent comprising at least any one of a long-chain alkylamine, a long-chain carboxylic acid and a thiol, and the dispersion medium is an organic solvent with a low polarity ([0034] and [0036]).
SUZUKA does not teach that the semiconductor nanoparticles has a crystallite diameter of 5 nm or more and 20 nm or less.
However, SUZUKA teaches that the particle diameter of the semiconductor particles be in the range of 5 to 1000 nm, more desirably 10 to 100 nm ([0031]).
Thus, the claimed range lies within the range as taught by SZUKA and in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges for high efficiency since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
SUZUKA does not teach that the semiconductor film comprising AgBiS-2.
However, KAWATA is a pertinent art which teaches a optoelectronic device containing a light absorber which is at least in part inorganic, preferably a perovskite, and polymers (including homopolymers and co-polymers), oligomers or small molecules that are based on benzo[1,2-b:4,5-b′] dithiophene bearing electron withdrawing groups, especially solar cells comprising perovskites, wherein the light absorber includes Ag2S or AgBiS-2 ([0038]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use AgBiS-2 instead of Ag2S in the semiconductor film (16, Figure 1) of SUZUKA according to the teaching of KAWATA in order to have an efficient power conversion ([0002], KAWATA), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material such as AgBiS-2 instead of Ag2S on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). Moreover, the court has held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727 (2007).
Regarding claim 7, SUZUKA does not teach that the photoelectric conversion element material according to claim 2, wherein the semiconductor film has a surface roughness of 2 nm or more and 15 nm or less.
However, SUZUKA teaches that the particle diameter of the semiconductor particles be in the range of 5 to 1000 nm, more desirably 10 to 100 nm ([0031]).
Thus, the claimed range lies within the range as taught by SZUKA and in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges for high efficiency since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, SUZUKA does not teach that the photoelectric conversion element material according to claim 2, wherein the photoelectric conversion element material has responsiveness to light having wavelengths of 700 nm or more and 1200 nm or less.
However, SUZUKA teaches that the semiconductor layer is advantageously capable of absorbing light with a wavelength of approximately 350 nm to 1300 nm ([0034]).
Thus, the claimed range lies within the range as taught by SZUKA and in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges for high efficiency since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, SUZUKA does not teach that the photoelectric conversion element material according to claim 3, wherein the photoelectric conversion element material has responsiveness to light having wavelengths of 700 nm or more and 1200 nm or less.
However, SUZUKA teaches that the semiconductor layer is advantageously capable of absorbing light with a wavelength of approximately 350 nm to 1300 nm ([0034]).
Thus, the claimed range lies within the range as taught by SZUKA and in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges for high efficiency since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments regarding the rejection of claims 1-5 and 7-9, filed on 01/09/2026, have been fully considered but arguments are moot because newly added limitation to the claim (s) requires a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAJA AHMAD/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813