DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: at the last line, “viewed in the radial direction” should be amended to read “when viewed in the radial direction”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abrahams (US 20150135925) in view of Weinstein (US 20190037858), further in view of Gamperling (US 5419224), and further in view of Nisihura (JP 11318199).
Regarding claim 1, Abrahams discloses a cutting apparatus comprising: a cutting roller (rotary die 100; see fig. 1) comprising a cutting body having a cylindrical shape (central body 104 is cylindrical in shape; see fig. 1) and configured to rotate about an axis defined in a leftward/rightward direction (rotary die 100 is rotationally driven to rotate around an axis extending through central hub 106; see paragraph [0015]), and cutting blades (blades 102; see fig. 1) protruding outward in a radial direction of the cutting body (blades 102 protrude from central body 104 in a radial direction; see fig. 5) further than a surface of the cutting body to cut an edible food product provided in a forward/rearward direction (blades 102 protrude out from central body 104 of rotary die 100; see fig. 1); wherein the cutting blades comprise: a forward/rearward cutting blade (see annotated portion of fig. 1 below) extending in a circumferential direction of the cutting body (the forward/rearward cutting blade extends circumferentially along central body 104; see fig. 5); and a leftward/rightward cutting blade (see annotated portion of fig. 1 below) extending in the leftward/rightward direction (the leftward/rightward cutting blade extends along the axis extending through central hub 106; see fig. 1), and wherein a line made by extending the forward/rearward cutting blade and a line made by extending the leftward/rightward cutting blade intersect each other (the forward/rearward cutting blade and the leftward/rightward cutting blade are perpendicular to one another so that they intersect; see annotated portion of fig. 1 below) so that the edible food product is cut by the cutting blade and divided into a plurality of unit products (sheet 400 is cut into a plurality of units; see paragraph [0013] and fig. 5), wherein the cutting blades further comprise a connection cutting blade (see annotated portion of fig. 1 below) disposed at a position at which the forward/rearward cutting blade and the leftward/rightward cutting blade meet together (the connection cutting blade is formed where the forward/rearward cutting blades and the leftward/rightward cutting blades intersect; see annotated portion of fig. 1 below), the connection cutting blade having a curved surface that connects the forward/rearward cutting blade and the leftward/rightward cutting blade (the connection cutting blade has a curved surface; see annotated portion of fig. 1 below).
Abrahams does not explicitly disclose a cutting base part disposed at a position facing the cutting roller based on the edible food product to support the edible food product to be cut by the cutting roller.
Weinstein discloses a cutting base part (common conveyor 87; see fig. 1) disposed at a position facing the cutting roller based on the edible food product to support the edible food product to be cut by the cutting roller (common conveyor 87 supports the food product as it moves towards the rollers; see paragraph [0013] and fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Abrahams in view of Weinstein to include a cutting base part. Weinstein discloses that the cutting base part (common conveyor 87) supports the food products and moves it forward towards the rollers (see fig. 1). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that including a cutting base part such as that disclosed by Weinstein provides a method of transporting and supporting the work piece between steps. Therefore, it would be obvious to include a cutting base part in Abrahams in order to provide the same benefits.
Abrahams as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the cutting roller further comprises a connection spray hole which is a hole formed in the connection cutting blade outward in the radial direction of the cutting body to spray gas outward in the radial direction of the cutting body, wherein the cutting roller further comprises a spray hole which is a hole formed outward in the radial direction from a center of the cutting body to spray gas outward in the radial direction of the cutting body at a periphery of the cutting blade, wherein the spray hole is disposed at the periphery of the connection cutting blade in which the connection spray hole is formed.
Gamperling discloses wherein the cutting roller further comprises a connection spray hole (as modified, some of holes 3 can be located on the connection cutting blade) which is a hole formed in the connection cutting blade outward in the radial direction of the cutting body to spray gas outward in the radial direction of the cutting body (as modified to include holes 3 on the connection cutting blade, holes 3 are configured to contact pressure chamber 27 and suction chamber 26, which results in alternating switching from suction air to blast air; see col. 5, lines 36-47), wherein the cutting roller further comprises a spray hole (holes 3; see fig. 3) which is a hole formed outward in the radial direction from a center of the cutting body (holes 3 are formed on cutting cylinder 1 and extend outwardly from the center; see fig. 3) to spray gas outward in the radial direction of the cutting body at a periphery of the cutting blade (holes 3 are configured to contact pressure chamber 27 and suction chamber 26, which results in alternating switching from suction air to blast air; see col. 5, lines 36-47), wherein the spray hole is disposed at the periphery of the connection cutting blade in which the connection spray hole is formed (holes 3 are located between individual pairs of knives 37; see col. 5, lines 60-61 and fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Abrahams in view of Gamperling to include a spray hole. Gamperling discloses that the device allows for uniform handling of waste strips such that the waste strip is deposited in a specific location (see col. 2, lines 12-15 and 29-37). Including a spray hole on the modified device of Abrahams would yield the same benefits, allowing an operator to accurately and uniformly remove waste to a specified position. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Abrahams in view of Gamperling to include a connection spray hole since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (see In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70). Gamperling discloses a plurality of holes which allow for uniform waste handling (see col. 2, lines 12-15 and 29-37). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that including a similar structure on the connection cutting blade would result in a larger surface area of the blade being cleaned, and thus more waste removed from the cutting area. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that removing as much waste as possible from the cutting area is beneficial because it will prevent cutting inaccuracies due to waste clinging to the blades. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a connection spray hole on the modified device of Abrahams in order to yield the same results.
Abrahams as modified does not explicitly disclose wherein the connection cutting blade has a shape having an edge concavely recessed inward viewed in the radial direction of the cutting body.
Nisihura discloses wherein the connection cutting blade has a shape having an edge concavely recessed inward viewed in the radial direction of the cutting body (recessed edge portion 40b is a V shaped notch when viewed in the radial direction; see paragraph [0013] and fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Abrahams in view of Nisihura to make the connection cutting blade have a concavely recessed portion. Nishiura discloses a blade (blade 40) which is part of a rotary die assembly. The recessed edge portion 40b is configured to have a concave shape to prevent discarded material from getting caught in the blades (see paragraph [0013]). In the instant case, this would be even more beneficial to prevent material from interfering with the spray holes. Therefore, in order to prevent material from getting trapped in the blades/spray hole arrangement, it would be obvious to make the connection cutting blade have a concavely recessed shape.
Regarding claim 4, Abrahams as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Gamperling further discloses wherein the cutting roller further comprises a blade coupling bolt (holding screws 39; see fig. 3) configured to couple the cutting blade to the cutting body in a direction orthogonal to a direction in which the cutting blade extends (holding screws 39 fix knife holders 38 (and therefore knives 41) perpendicularly to the cutting body; see col. 5, lines 19-21 and fig. 3), and wherein the spray hole is disposed inward of the blade coupling bolt based on the radial direction of the cutting body (holes 3 are disposed at least partially inward of holding screws 39 in a radial direction; see fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Abrahams in view of Gamperling to include a blade coupling bolt. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that inclusion of a blade coupling bolt allows for blades to be removable. Making blades removable is beneficial because they can be replaced if damaged or dulled. Therefore, in order to make the blades more easily replaceable, it would be obvious to include a blade coupling bolt into the device of Abrahams as modified.
Regarding claim 15, Abrahams as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Abrahams as modified further discloses wherein the cutting roller is disposed above the cutting base part (as modified, rotary die 100 is located above the cutting base part, which would be located under sheet 400; see fig. 5).
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abrahams (US 20150135925) in view of Weinstein (US 20190037858), further in view of Gamperling (US 5419224), further in view of Nisihura (JP 11318199), and further in view of Li (CN 110496824).
Regarding claim 8, Abrahams as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Abrahams as modified does not explicitly disclose a cutting frame comprising a first cutting cover configured to cover the cutting roller so that the cutting roller is positioned in a space formed between the first cutting cover and the cutting base part, the cutting frame being configured such that the cutting base part is coupled to the cutting frame, and the cutting roller is rotatably coupled to the cutting frame; and a first cutting suction part connected to a first cover inlet port formed in the first cutting cover to suck particles at a periphery of the cutting roller.
Li discloses a cutting frame (frame 1, which comprises lower bracket 4 and upper bracket 6; see fig. 1) comprising a first cutting cover (upper dust suction hood 5; see fig. 1) configured to cover the cutting roller (as modified, upper dust suction hood 5 is positioned above the cutting roller; see fig. 1) so that the cutting roller is positioned in a space formed between the first cutting cover and the cutting base part (as modified, the cutting roller is located between upper dust suction hood 5 and the cutting base part; see fig. 1), the cutting frame being configured such that the cutting base part is coupled to the cutting frame (as modified, the cutting base part is supported by frame 1 in order to support the work piece as it is moved forward), and the cutting roller is rotatably coupled to the cutting frame (pressing roller 13, which corresponds to the cutting roller, is fixed to frame 1 and configured to rotate; see paragraph [0026] and fig. 1); and a first cutting suction part (dust collector; see paragraph [0025]) connected to a first cover inlet port formed in the first cutting cover to suck particles at a periphery of the cutting roller (upper dust suction hood 5 has exhaust pipes which lead to the dust collector such that waste particles are sucked up; see paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Abrahams in view of Li to include a cutting frame, cutting cover, inlet port, and cutting suction part. Li discloses a dust removal system that is capable of removing waste particles from a work piece (see paragraph [0025]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the necessity of having a cutting frame in order to support various elements of the device. Further, as disclosed by Li, the first cutting cover (upper dust suction hood 5), along with a second cutting cover (lower dust suction hood 3) completely surround the workpiece during the dust removal process (see paragraph [0025] and fig. 1). Providing a cover that encloses the workpiece during a cleaning process prevents waste material from escaping, thus improving cleanliness and overall efficiency of the cleaning process. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the above-mentioned parts in the modified device of Abrahams in order to improve cleanliness and efficiency of the cleaning operation.
Regarding claim 9, Abrahams as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Abrahams as modified further discloses an auxiliary roller (rotary anvil 200; see fig. 5) disposed at a position facing the cutting roller based on the edible food product to transfer the edible food product forward and support the edible food product to be cut by the cutting roller (rotary anvil 200 supports sheet 400 during a cutting operation and helps transport it in a forward direction; see fig. 5), the auxiliary roller comprising an auxiliary body (central body 204; see fig. 5) rotatable about an axis defined in the leftward/rightward direction (pressure from rotary die 100 causes rotary anvil 200 to be rotated in a clockwise direction; see paragraph [0015]).
Abrahams as modified does not explicitly disclose a cutting frame to which the cutting base part is coupled, wherein the cutting roller is rotatably coupled to the cutting frame; and the auxiliary body is coupled to the cutting frame.
Li discloses a cutting frame (frame 1, which comprises lower bracket 4 and upper bracket 6; see fig. 1) to which the cutting base part is coupled (as modified, the cutting base part is supported by frame 1 in order to support the work piece as it is moved forward), wherein the cutting roller is rotatably coupled (pressing roller 13, which corresponds to the cutting roller, is fixed to frame 1 and configured to rotate; see paragraph [0026] and fig. 1) to the cutting frame (one side of frame 1 supports upper support 6, which is connected to pressing roller 13; see paragraph [0025] and fig. 1); and the auxiliary body is coupled to the cutting frame (as modified, the auxiliary roller is coupled to frame 1; see fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Abrahams in view of Li to include a cutting frame. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the necessity of including some type of frame so that various machine elements, such as the cutting and auxiliary rollers, are supported. Without a frame holding the structures in place relative to one another, the device would not be capable of operating as disclosed. Therefore, it would be an obvious modification to include a frame in the modified device of Abrahams.
Regarding claim 10, Abrahams as modified discloses the limitations of claim 9 as described in the rejection above.
Li further discloses wherein the cutting frame comprises a second cutting cover (lower dust suction hood 5; see fig. 1) configured to cover the auxiliary roller (as modified, lower dust suction hood 3 is positioned above the auxiliary roller; see fig. 1) so that the auxiliary roller is positioned in a space formed between the second cutting cover and the cutting base part (as modified, the auxiliary roller is located between lower dust suction hood 3 and the cutting base part; see fig. 1), and wherein the cutting apparatus further comprises a second cutting suction part (dust collector; see paragraph [0025]) connected to a second cover inlet port formed in the second cutting cover to suck particles at a periphery of the auxiliary roller (upper dust suction hood 5 has exhaust pipes which lead to the dust collector such that waste particles are sucked up; see paragraph [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Abrahams in view of Li to include a cutting frame, cutting cover, inlet port, and cutting suction part. Li discloses a dust removal system that is capable of removing waste particles from a work piece (see paragraph [0025]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the necessity of having a cutting frame in order to support various elements of the device. Further, as disclosed by Li, the first cutting cover (upper dust suction hood 5), along with a second cutting cover (lower dust suction hood 3) completely surround the workpiece during the dust removal process (see paragraph [0025] and fig. 1). Providing a cover that encloses the workpiece during a cleaning process prevents waste material from escaping, thus improving cleanliness and overall efficiency of the cleaning process. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the above-mentioned parts in the modified device of Abrahams in order to improve cleanliness and efficiency of the cleaning operation.
Examiner notes that the same structure is cited for both the first and second cutting suction parts. Per paragraph [79] of the instant application, the first cutting suction part and the second cutting suction part may be a single common cutting suction blower. Therefore, it is interpreted that these two terms may refer to the same structure.
Regarding claim 11, Abrahams as modified discloses the limitations of claim 9 as described in the rejection above.
Weinstein further discloses wherein an auxiliary opening is formed in the cutting base part (common conveyor 87 has an opening where the rollers are located; see annotated portion of fig. 1 below) and extends in the leftward/rightward direction (the auxiliary opening extends at least partially in the leftward/rightward direction; see annotated portion of fig. 1 below), wherein the auxiliary opening is opened in an upward/downward direction (the auxiliary opening opens in an upward/downward direction; see annotated portion of fig. 1 below), and wherein the auxiliary roller and the cutting roller are disposed at sides opposite to each other based on the auxiliary opening (the rollers are located on opposites sides of the auxiliary opening; see annotated portion of fig. 1 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Abrahams in view of Weinstein to include an auxiliary opening. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that an auxiliary opening is necessary in order for an auxiliary roller to be capable of interacting with the cutting roller and the work piece. Otherwise, the auxiliary roller would be blocked by the cutting base part. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an auxiliary opening so that the auxiliary roller can interact with the cutting roller during operation.
Regarding claim 12, Abrahams as modified discloses the limitations of claim 11 as described in the rejection above.
Weinstein further discloses wherein the auxiliary roller further comprises an auxiliary groove (see annotated portion of fig. 2 below) recessed inward from the auxiliary body in a radial direction of the auxiliary body (the auxiliary groove is recessed inward towards the center of the auxiliary roller; see annotated portion of fig. 2 below) so that the cutting blade, which protrudes outward in the radial direction of the cutting body further than a surface of the cutting body, is inserted into the auxiliary groove (bead 150 is inserted into the auxiliary groove during a cutting operation; see fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Abrahams in view of Weinstein to include an auxiliary groove on the auxiliary roller. Weinstein discloses that the groove, in conjunction with rails 100-105 limit lateral shifting of the food product (see paragraph [0014]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the prevention of lateral shifting during cutting provides improvements to cutting quality, since the food product will be held in place during a cutting operation. If the food product were to shift, cuts would be uneven and the resulting pieces would not be of uniform size and shape. Therefore, in order to ensure improved cutting quality, it would be obvious to include an auxiliary groove.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abrahams (US 20150135925) in view of Weinstein (US 20190037858), further in view of Gamperling (US 5419224), in view of Nisihura (JP 11318199), and further in view of Richards (US 5377569).
Regarding claim 13, Abrahams as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Abrahams as modified does not explicitly disclose an air knife disposed to face the cutting blade to spray air to the cutting blade.
Richards discloses an air knife (blower assembly 42, which includes blower 44 and air diversion bracket 46; see fig. 3) disposed to face the cutting blade (blower assembly 42 faces upper knife unit 30; see fig. 3) to spray air to the cutting blade (air from blower 44 is directed by air diversion bracket 46 to guide waste trimmings 48 into waste chute 40; see col. 6, lines 20-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Abrahams in view of Richards to include an air knife. Richards discloses that the air knife (blower assembly 42) is used to direct air to the cutting blade so that waste trimmings are removed from the blade and guided to a waste chute (see col. 6, lines 20-24). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit of removing waste using an air knife including efficient cleaning that can occur during operation. In order to more effectively remove waste from the cutting blades, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include an air knife in the modified device of Abrahams.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abrahams (US 20150135925) in view of Weinstein (US 20190037858), further in view of Gamperling (US 5419224), in view of Nisihura (JP 11318199), and further in view of Brash (US 5894775).
Regarding claim 14, Abrahams as modified discloses the limitations of claim 1 as described in the rejection above.
Abrahams as modified does not explicitly disclose a cutting guide rail extending in the forward/rearward direction and disposed below a surface of the cutting body to prevent the edible food product from being wound around the cutting roller.
Brash discloses a cutting guide rail (scrapers 70; see fig. 2) extending in the forward/rearward direction and disposed below a surface of the cutting body (scrapers 70 extend in a forward/rearward direction and are at least partially below a surface of the rotary cutter; see fig. 2) to prevent the edible food product from being wound around the cutting roller (scrapers 70 prevent product from sticking to roll 22 as well as the axial faces of blades 56; see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Abrahams in view of Brash to include a cutting guide rail. Brash discloses that the cutting guide rail (scrapers 70) prevent material from sticking to various parts of the cutting assembly (see abstract). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the benefit of including the structure disclosed by Brash being that material is prevented from getting caught up in the cutting rollers, which could cause the machine to become clogged. Therefore, it would be obvious to further modify the device of Abrahams to include a cutting guide rail in order to prevent clogs, which could damage the machinery as well as the material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that there is no motivation to apply a hole for spraying gas on the blade of Abrahams, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant states that the object of Abrahams is to maintain sharpness of the blade via penetration of the blade into the anvil (see pg. 6 of remarks). However, it is the Examiner’s position that inclusion of a spray hole would not prevent the blades from penetrating into the anvil. The spray holes are effectively an empty space between blades – thus, inclusion of a spray hole does not prevent the blades from penetrating into the anvil.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that Abrahams fails to disclose the connection cutting blade having an edge concavely recessed when viewed from a radial direction, Examiner respectfully points to the new rejection of claim 1 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 3969474 to Gaug, drawn to a molded steel rule die for rotary die cutting; and US 5429577 to Simpson, drawn to a multi-purpose rotary slit-scorer and products formed thereby.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HALEIGH N WATSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724