Acknowledgment
The amendment filed on 04/29/2026 has been entered. The present Office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this application are claims 1-4, 7-10, 27-36.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim 1 recites the composition of the ETL in alternative form. For example,
wherein the ETL comprises a first ETL, and the first ETL is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content being greater than or equal to 0.6; or alternatively,
the ETL contains zinc oxide, and a surface of at least some of the zinc oxide contains amino ligands and/or carboxyl ligands with 8-18 carbon atoms
Kim teaches the composition cited in (b).
The amendment “wherein the ETL further comprises a second ETL arranged on a surface of one side of the first ETL adjacent to the quantum dot luminescent layer, and the second ETL is a zinc oxide film or a metal doped zinc oxide with a low surface hydroxyl content being less than or equal to 0.4” further narrows the composition cited in (a) which is optional in view of (b). Therefore, the amendment further narrowing the composition (a) becomes optional and Kim teaches all the required limitation of claim 1 as explained below.
Similarly, Iwasaki, as modified by Qin and Kim, teaches the composition cited in (b).
The amendment “wherein the ETL further comprises a second ETL arranged on a surface of one side of the first ETL adjacent to the quantum dot luminescent layer, and the second ETL is a zinc oxide film or a metal doped zinc oxide with a low surface hydroxyl content being less than or equal to 0.4” further narrows the composition cited in (a) which is optional in view of (b). Therefore, the amendment further narrowing the composition (a) becomes optional and Iwasaki, as modified by Qin and Kim, teaches all the required limitation of claim 1 as explained below.
Therefore, the arguments presented in the remarks become moot and the rejections stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 20190288230 A1; hereinafter “Kim”).
In re claim 1, Kim teaches in figs. 1-2, a quantum dot light-emitting diode (QLED) (10), comprising an anode (110) and a cathode (160) being oppositely arranged, a quantum dot luminescent layer (140) arranged between the anode (110) and cathode (160), and an electron transport layer (ETL) (150) arranged between the quantum dot luminescent layer (140) and the cathode (160);
wherein the ETL comprises a first ETL, and the first ETL is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content being greater than or equal to 0.6; or alternatively,
the ETL (150) contains zinc oxide (¶108), and a surface of at least some of the zinc oxide contains amino ligands and/or carboxyl ligands with 8-18 carbon atoms (¶113; “the organic polymer 152 may include, for example, at least one of an amino-containing polymer”).
Note: Claim 1 recites the composition of the ETL in alternative form. For example,
wherein the ETL comprises a first ETL, and the first ETL is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content being greater than or equal to 0.6; or alternatively,
the ETL contains zinc oxide, and a surface of at least some of the zinc oxide contains amino ligands and/or carboxyl ligands with 8-18 carbon atoms
Kim teaches the composition cited in (b).
The amendment “wherein the ETL further comprises a second ETL arranged on a surface of one side of the first ETL adjacent to the quantum dot luminescent layer, and the second ETL is a zinc oxide film or a metal doped zinc oxide with a low surface hydroxyl content being less than or equal to 0.4” further narrows the composition cited in (a) which is optional in view of (b). Therefore, the amendment further narrowing the composition (a) becomes optional and Kim teaches all the required limitation of claim 1 as explained above.
In re claim 2, Kim teaches in figs. 1-2, the QLED according to claim 1, wherein the ETL 150 is the first ETL, and the zinc oxide in the first ETL is a metal doped zinc oxide or an undoped zinc oxide (¶108).
In re claim 3, Kim teaches in figs. 1-2, the QLED according to claim 1, wherein when the ETL 150 contains the zinc oxide, the ETL comprises the first ETL containing the zinc oxide, and the surface of the zinc oxide forming the first ETL contains the amino ligands (¶113) and/or the carboxyl ligands with 8-18 carbon atoms.
In re claim 4, Kim teaches in figs. 1-2, the QLED according to claim 3, wherein the ETL 150 is the first ETL, and the zinc oxide forming the first ETL is an undoped zinc oxide (¶108) or a metal doped zinc oxide.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 depends on claim 1 and Claim 1 recites the composition of the ETL in alternative form. For example,
wherein the ETL comprises a first ETL, and the first ETL is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content being greater than or equal to 0.6; or alternatively,
the ETL contains zinc oxide, and a surface of at least some of the zinc oxide contains amino ligands and/or carboxyl ligands with 8-18 carbon atoms
Kim teaches the composition cited in (b).
Claim 7 recites the limitations “The QLED according to claim 1, wherein the ETL comprises n thin film laminated layer units, each of the n film lamination layer units comprises the first ETL and the second ETL, wherein n is greater than or equal to 2”, further narrows the composition cited in (a) which is optional in view of (b). Therefore, the limitations of claim 7 further narrowing the composition (a) becomes optional and Kim teaches all the required limitation of claim 1 as explained above.
In re claim 8, Kim teaches in figs. 1-2, the QLED according to claim 5, wherein the ETL further comprises a third ETL (Kim discloses “an electron injection layer for easing the injection of electrons and/or a hole blocking layer for blocking the movement of holes may be further disposed between the electron transport layer 150 and the second electrode 160.” in ¶137. The hole blocking layer has been interpreted as a third ETL).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki et al. (US 20230292540 A1; hereinafter “Iwasaki”) in view of Qin et al. (CN 110890470 A) (Qin et al. has been listed in the 06/30/2023 IDS).
In re claim 1, Iwasaki discloses in figs. 1-2, 6, a quantum dot light-emitting diode (QLED), comprising an anode and a cathode being oppositely arranged, a quantum dot luminescent layer 6 arranged between the anode 4 and cathode 8, and an electron transport layer (ETL) 7 arranged between the quantum dot luminescent layer 6 and the cathode 8 (¶85);
wherein the ETL comprises a first ETL, and the first ETL is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content being greater than or equal to 0.6; or alternatively,
the ETL 7 contains zinc oxide, and a surface of at least some of the zinc oxide contains ligands (¶88).
Iwasaki does not expressly disclose the ligands are amino ligands and/or carboxyl ligands with 8-18 carbon atoms.
In the same field of endeavor, Qin discloses a quantum dot light-emitting diode (QLED), wherein the electron transport layer contains zinc oxide a surface of at least some of the zinc oxide contains amino ligands and/or carboxyl ligands with 8-18 carbon atoms (see page 8, 3rd paragraph, page 10, 5th paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Qin into the electron transport layer of Iwasaki to increase the electron transporting property of the quantum dot, improves the transmission speed of carriers in the light emitting layer, and improve the luminous efficiency of the device, reduce working voltage, improve the service life of the device (page 2, 5th paragraph).
Note: Claim 1 recites the composition of the ETL in alternative form. For example,
wherein the ETL comprises a first ETL, and the first ETL is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content being greater than or equal to 0.6; or alternatively,
the ETL contains zinc oxide, and a surface of at least some of the zinc oxide contains amino ligands and/or carboxyl ligands with 8-18 carbon atoms
Iwasaki, as modified by Qin and Kim, teaches the composition cited in (b).
The amendment “wherein the ETL further comprises a second ETL arranged on a surface of one side of the first ETL adjacent to the quantum dot luminescent layer, and the second ETL is a zinc oxide film or a metal doped zinc oxide with a low surface hydroxyl content being less than or equal to 0.4” further narrows the composition cited in (a) which is optional in view of (b). Therefore, the amendment further narrowing the composition (a) becomes optional and Iwasaki, as modified by Qin and Kim, teaches all the required limitation of claim 1 as explained above.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki in view of Qin, as applied to claim 1 above and further in of Kim.
In re claim 8, Iwasaki, as modified by Qin, discloses the QLED according to claim 1 outlined above.
Iwasaki further discloses in figs. 8-9, wherein the ETL 7 further comprises a third ETL 7b (¶111).
In re claim 9, Iwasaki, as modified by Qin and Kim, discloses the QLED according to claim 8 outlined above.
Iwasaki further discloses in figs. 8-9, wherein the third ETL 7b is a zinc oxide film (¶111) and a ligand coordinates with the zinc oxide film 7b (¶113) but does not expressly disclose the third ETL 7b is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content being greater than or equal to 0.6.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches in figs. 1-2, a quantum dot light-emitting diode (QLED) (10),
wherein the ETL (150) comprises a first ETL, and the first ETL is zinc oxide (¶57, 108) with a surface hydroxyl content about 10 wt % to about 30% based on a total weight of the electron transport layer 150, so that the electron transport layer 150 may show excellent device characteristics and life-span characteristics (¶57, 113, 115).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kim to form an electron transport layer which is zinc oxide with a surface hydroxyl content being greater than or equal to 0.6 in Iwasaki so that the electron transport layer 150 may show excellent device characteristics and life-span characteristics (¶57, 113, 115 of Kim).
MPEP §2144.05-I states a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties."). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%).
Referring to MPEP § 2144.05, “…the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results over the prior art range.” (See also MPEP § 716.02 for a discussion of criticality and unexpected results.)
In re claim 10, Iwasaki, as modified by Qin and Kim, discloses the QLED according to claim 9 outlined above.
Iwasaki further discloses in figs. 8-9, wherein the third ETL 7b is arranged on a surface of a side of the second ETL 7a away from the first ETL 7c, the second ETL is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content less than or equal to 0.4 (as explained above in claim 5, Iwasaki as modified by Kim discloses the second ETL is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content less than or equal to 0.4).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NILUFA RAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893