DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 – 8, 10, and 12, in the reply filed on 26 February 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 23 – 32 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 26 February 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites “the third ETL is the zinc oxide film with the surface hydroxyl content of less than or equal to 0.4” (ll. 1 – 2 of the claim). As antecedent, the recited zinc oxide film corresponds to a zinc oxide film forming the first ETL (see claim 1, ll. 5 – 6). However, claim 7, which is the base claim of claim 8, specifies the first ETL and the third ETL are distinct features of the QLED, which contradicts the highlighted recitation of claim 8.
So as to avoid confusion with claim 1, claim 8 may be better stated such that “the third ETL is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content of less than or equal to 0.4”.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 8, 10, and 12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 – 9 of copending Application No. 18/270,609 (hereinafter “the ‘609 application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 1, claims 1 and 5 of the ‘609 application is directed to a quantum dot light-emitting diode (QLED), comprising an anode and a cathode that are oppositely arranged, a quantum dot luminescent layer arranged between the anode and the cathode, and an electron transport layer (ETL) arranged between the quantum dot luminescent layer and the cathode; wherein
the ETL comprises a first ETL, and the first ETL is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content of less than or equal to 0.4 (“second ETL” recited in claim 5).
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, claim 5 of the ‘609 application recites the ETL is the first ETL, and the zinc oxide in the first ETL is metal-doped or metal-undoped zinc oxide.
Regarding claim 4, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘609 application recites the ETL further comprises a second ETL; the second ETL is arranged on a surface of one side of the first ETL adjacent to the cathode or the quantum dot luminescent layer; and the second ETL is a zinc oxide film or a metal-doped zinc oxide layer with a surface hydroxyl content of greater than or equal to 0.6 (“first ETL” recited in claim 1).
Additionally or alternatively, claims 6 and 7 specify “layer units” which would provide a second ETL as claimed.
Additionally or alternatively, claims 8 and 9 of the ‘609 application refer to a “third ETL” also satisfying the requirements of the second ETL in claim 4 of the instant application.
Regarding claim 5, in addition to the limitations of claim 4, claim 6 of the ‘609 application recites the ETL comprises the first ETL and the second ETL, and the first ETL is closer to the quantum dot luminescent layer than the second ETL.
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the limitations of claim 4, claims 6 and 7 of the ‘609 application) recite the ETL comprises n film lamination units, each of the film lamination units comprises the first ETL and the second ETL, and n is greater than or equal to 2.
Regarding claim 7, in addition to the limitations of claim 4, claim 8 of the ‘609 application recites the ETL further comprises a third ETL.
Regarding claim 8, in addition to the limitations of claim 7, claims 5 – 7 of the ‘609 application recite the third ETL is the zinc oxide film with the surface hydroxyl content of less than or equal to 0.4 (as a result of “layer units” each comprising a “second ETL” of the ‘609 application).
Regarding claim 10, in addition to the limitations of claim 7, claim 9 of the ‘609 application recites the third ETL is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content of greater than or equal to 0.6.
Regarding claim 12, in addition to the limitations of claim 7, claim 9 of the ‘609 application recites the third ETL is a metal-doped zinc oxide film (the instant specification, e.g. ¶ [0238] species a surface hydroxyl content of greater than or equal to 0.6 corresponds to a metal-doped zinc oxide film).
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gao (CN 109509841 A, referencing a machine translation thereof provided with the Office Action mailed 22 January 2026).
Regarding claim 1, Gao discloses a quantum dot light-emitting diode (QLED), comprising
an anode and a cathode that are oppositely arranged (“electrode substrate” adjacent a “hole transport layer” and “electrode layer” adjacent a “electron transport layer”, respectively: e.g. ¶¶ [0024], [0067], [0068]),
a quantum dot luminescent layer arranged between the anode and the cathode (“quantum dot light-emitting layer”: e.g. ¶¶ [0024], [0067], [0068]), and
an electron transport layer (ETL) arranged between the quantum dot luminescent layer and the cathode (e.g. ¶¶ [0024], [0025], [0037] – [0068]),
wherein the ETL comprises a first ETL, and the first ETL is a zinc oxide film with a surface hydroxyl content of zero (“absence of hydroxyl ligands”: e.g. ¶¶ [0025], [0040], [0050]); or, alternatively,
the ETL comprises zinc oxide, and at least a part of a surface of the zinc oxide comprises, e.g., carboxyl ligands with 1 to 8 carbon atoms (for B1, B2, and B3: e.g. ¶¶ [0011], [0012], [0039], [0042] – [0044]).
Gao anticipates claim 1 based on the surface hydroxyl content of zero, as this is within the claimed range.
However, for the alternative embodiments based on the number of carboxyl ligands, Gao encompasses the claimed range. “[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, as discussed in the 35 U.SC. 102(a)(1)/103 rejection of claim 1 in view of Gao, Gao discloses the ETL comprises the first ETL having the zinc oxide, and a surface of the zinc oxide forming the first ETL comprises the carboxyl ligands with 3 to 7 carbon atoms (for B1, B2, and B3: e.g. ¶¶ [0011], [0012], [0039], [0042] – [0044]), which encompasses the claimed range. “[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Gao discloses the ETL is the first ETL, and the zinc oxide in the first ETL is metal-doped or metal-undoped zinc oxide (e.g. ¶¶ [0013], [0046]).
Examiner’s Note
The examiner notes no rejections in view of the prior art are presented herein for claims 4 – 8, 10, and 12. These claims stand rejected on grounds of non-statutory double patenting and 35 U.S.C. 112 as discussed previously herein.
With respect to claim 4, Gao discloses the features of claim 1 as discussed above, but fails to teach the ETL further comprises a second ETL; the second ETL is arranged on a surface of one side of the first ETL adjacent to the cathode or the quantum dot luminescent layer; and the second ETL is a zinc oxide film or a metal-doped zinc oxide layer with a surface hydroxyl content of greater than or equal to 0.6.
ETL’s are known to comprise a first ETL and a second ETL, where the second ETL is arranged on a surface of one side of the first ETL adjacent to the cathode or the quantum dot luminescent layer.
See, generally, e.g., CN 106654026 A (hereinafter “Zhen”, referencing a machine translation provided with this Office Action), US 2021/0020838 A1 (hereinafter “Qin”, equivalent to WO 2020/048534 A1), and US 2021/0020858 (equivalent to WO 2020/048527 A1).
Zhen mentions using zinc oxide for forming one of the first ETL and the second ETL, but notes the other has an electron mobility outside the range of zinc oxide (e.g. ¶ [0040]). Considering claim 4 requires zinc oxide of some description for both the first ETL and the second ETL and Zhen does not specify means to provide zinc oxide with the required electron mobility, it cannot be said Zhen provides a second ETL having a composition as required for claim 4.
Qin describes ETL’s where both a first ETL and a second ETL are based on zinc oxide, but does not specify the combination of a first ETL with a surface hydroxyl content of less than or equal to 0.4 or amino and/or carboxyl ligands with 3 to 7 carbon atoms (required in claim 1) and a zinc oxide film or metal-doped zinc oxide layer with a surface hydroxyl content of greater than or equal to 0.6 (required in claim 4).
A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. AIA 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph. Since claims 5 – 8, 10, and 12 all depend, directly or indirectly, on claim 4, the above reasoning also applies to claims 5 – 8, 10, and 12.
Conclusion
/ETHAN A. UTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783