DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinc et al. (US 20200269533) and Kneip (US 4976804).
Regarding claim 7, Hinc discloses a building drum specification adjustment device, comprising: a driving assembly, the driving assembly comprising an output member (Figs. 1-3: 1950, 1980) ([0021]), wherein a driving distance of the output member (Figs. 1-3: 1950, 1980) along an axial direction is able to be adjusted ([0059]), and the output member (Figs. 1-3: 1950, 1980) has a retracted position and an expansion position, and at least one intermediate position located between the retracted position and the expansion position (Figs. 1-3, 8-10) ([0048]-[0049], [0059]); a transmission assembly (Figs. 1-3, 8-10: 1400) in drive connection with the output member (Figs. 1-3: 1950, 1980) ([0044]); a diameter-variable member (Figs. 1-3, 8-10: 1106, 1206), the diameter-variable member being connected (Figs. 8-10: 1450) to the transmission assembly (Figs. 1-3, 8-10: 1400), the output member (Figs. 1-3: 1950, 1980) driving movement of the transmission assembly (Figs. 1-3, 8-10: 1400) to change a diameter size of the diameter-variable member (Figs. 1-3, 8-10: 1106, 1206) ([0044], [0048]-[0049]), and when the output member (Figs. 1-3: 1980) is located at the retracted position, the intermediate position, and the expansion position, the diameter-variable member (Figs. 1-3, 8-10: 1106, 1206) respectively forming a minimum diameter, an intermediate diameter, and a maximum diameter with successively increasing diameters (Figs. 1-3, 8-10) ([0044], [0048]-[0049], [0059]); wherein the building drum specification adjustment device is a backing plate assembly (Figs. 1-3, 8-10: 1900), a locking block assembly (Figs. 1-3, 8-10: 1310, 1410), and a middle drum assembly (Figs. 1-3, 8-10: 1506); through combined action of the backing plate assembly, the locking block assembly and the middle drum assembly, radial expansion and contraction is achieved (Figs. 1-3, 8-10), thereby enabling the backing plate assembly, the locking block assembly, and the middle drum assembly to form a cylindrical outer surface at each radial position for fitting each half piece of material constituting a tire ([0015]-[0017], [0021]-[0023]).
However, while Hinc discloses the output member is a screw and is rotated ([0044]), Hinc does not expressly recite the driving assembly comprising a driving member in a driving connection with the output member.
Kneip discloses a tire building drum wherein a rotating screw and nut assembly is in driving connection with a suitable drive means for rotating the screw, such as a motor (i.e., driving member) (Col. 3 lines 36-44). As Hinc expressly discloses the screw output member is rotated, but does not disclose what causes the screw to rotate, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Hinc so as to use a motor to rotate the screw as it is generally known in the tire drum art to be a suitable means for rotating a screw, as taught by Kneip.
The examiner notes that the claim limitations “driving member”, “output member”, “transmission assembly”, “diameter-variable member”, “backing plate assembly”, and “locking block assembly” are broad limitations that do not require any particular structure for the respective member/assembly.
Regarding claim 11, Hinc further discloses the output member (Figs. 1-3: 1980) is a lead screw and a nut, the nut is connected to the transmission assembly (Figs. 1-3, 8-10: 1400), wherein the lead screw drives the nut to move in the retracted position, the intermediate position, and the expansion position ([0021], [0044], [0047]-[0049). Kneip further discloses that the driving member is a motor that drives the lead screw to rotate (Col. 3 lines 36-44).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: no prior art of record is considered to teach or suggest the combination of limitations of claims 7-8. In particular, the limitations “wherein the driving member is a cylinder, the output member is a piston, the piston is located in the retracted position or the expansion position when moving to an end of the cylinder, and the piston is located in the intermediate position when located between two ends of the cylinder.”
Claims 9-10 would be allowable by dependence on claim 8.
The closest prior art of record is considered to be Hinc et al. (US 20200269533) and Kneip (US 4976804).
As discussed in the detailed rejection above, Hinc in view of Kneip discloses that the output member is a lead screw and a nut, the nut is connected to the transmission assembly, and when the motor drives the lead screw to rotate, the lead screw drives the nut to move in the retracted position, the intermediate position, and the expansion position. Accordingly, Hinc already discloses a specific structure for the output member, which is different from the claimed piston and cylinder assembly. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would not have found it obvious to modify the prior art of record contrary to its express disclosure of a specific structure, especially without a motivation or teaching to do so.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749