Detail Action
Status of Claims
The following is a non-final office action in response to the communication filed 6/30/2023.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 5, 6, 9, and 12 have been amended.
Claims 19 and 20 have been added.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The instant application is a U.S. national phase of International Application No. PCT/CN2021/141746 with an international filing date of Dec. 27, 2021, designating the U.S., now pending, and claims the priority of the Chinese patent application with the application number 202011639205.6 and the invention title "OPTOELECTRONIC DEVICE", filed in the China Patent Office on Dec. 31, 2020, the entire contents each of which are incorporated herein by reference.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/30/2023, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: QLED With Zinc Oxide Quantum Dots Having Short Amine/Carboxyl Ligands
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 8 of claim 1, “between an shell layer material of the quantum dot material and a hole transport material” should read “between a shell layer material of the quantum dot material and a hole transport material”.
Claims 2-20 are objected to due to their dependency to claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is separately objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2 of claim 15, “an core” should read “a core”.
Claims 16-18 are objected to due to their dependency to claim 15. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. US 20200111933 A1 (hereinafter Chung) and in further view of Angioni et al. US 10826011 B1 (hereinafter Angioni).
Regards to claim 1, Chung discloses:
An optoelectronic device, (Chung, Abstract) comprising:
an anode, (Fig. 2, anode) a hole transport layer disposed on the anode, (Fig. 2, hole transport layer) a quantum dot light-emitting layer disposed on the hole transport layer, (Fig. 2, QD Emission Layer) an electron transport layer disposed on the quantum dot light-emitting layer, (Fig. 2, electron transport layer) and a cathode disposed on the electron transport layer; (Fig. 2, cathode)
wherein the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises a quantum dot material in a core-shell structure; ([0103] the quantum dots have a “core thereof, a shell thereof, or a combination thereof”. Therefore having a core-shell structure.)
a valence band top energy level difference between an shell layer material of the quantum dot material and a hole transport material in the hole transport layer is greater than or equal to 0.5 eV; and ([0022], HOMO energy level difference is equal to 0.5 eV.)
the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, ([0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO).)
Chung does teach that the organic ligands can be either amine or carboxyl compounds (Chung, [0111]).
However, Chung does not appear to expressly disclose that the “a surface of the zinc oxide nanomaterial is bound with an amine/carboxyl ligand having a chain length of between 3 and 8 carbon atoms.”
Angioni, which teaches a quantum dot light emitting devices (Angioni, Abstract), discloses:
a surface of the zinc oxide (Angioni, col. 20, lines 22-23, charge/electron transport material.) nanomaterial is bound with an amine/carboxyl ligand having a chain length of between 3 and 8 carbon atoms. (Fig. 4A, col. 7, lines 7-9, the quantum dots are disposed within cross-linked charge transport material and, col. 4 and 5, lines, 63-67 and 1-12, amines with 1-30 carbon atoms.)
It’s known in the art that changing the length of the amine/carboxyl ligands would affect the charge transport between the charge transport material and quantum dots. (Angioni, col. 15, lines 53-56.) Angioni has contemplated a range that includes the claimed range (Col. 4 and 5, lines, 63-67 and 1-12, amines with 1-30 carbon atoms.) and that the cross-linkable material is selected for uniform dispersion in the deposition solvent to ensure homogeneity. (Col. 17, lines8-14.) Absent further evidence of criticality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung to have a surface of the zinc oxide nanomaterial is bound with an amine/carboxyl ligand having a chain length of between 3 and 8 carbon atoms to optimize a surface of the zinc oxide nanomaterial as taught by Angioni for purposes of the interconnected and linked material have improved charge transport between the charge transport material and quantum dots. (Angioni, col. 15, lines 53-56.)
Regarding claim 2, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material ([0115], emission layer 13 may have HOMO energy level between 5.4 eV and 7.0 eV.) and the hole transport material ([0139], hole auxiliary layer 12 HOMO level range between 5.0 eV to 7.0 eV.) is between 0.5 eV and 0.7 eV. (Chung, [0091], the difference is .5 eV.)
Regarding claim 3, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material ([0115], emission layer 13 may have HOMO energy level between 5.4 eV and 7.0 eV) and the hole transport material ([0139], hole auxiliary layer 12 HOMO level range between 5.0 eV to 7.0 eV.) is between … (Chung, [0091], the difference is greater than .5 eV. )
Chung does not specifically teach that the difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between .7 eV and 1.0 eV. However, Chung implicitly discloses that the difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between is at least .5 eV to 1.6 eV, which would contemplate the range of .7 eV to 1.o eV and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the desired difference because there is a limited number of materials that could be chosen from. (Chung, [0102] includes material for the quantum dot material and [0142] includes material for the hole transport layer. See also [0115] and [0139] for the HOMO energy levels contemplated by the emission layer and hole auxiliary layer respectively.)
Absent showing of criticality of the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung and Angioni to have the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between 0.7 eV and 1.0 eV by selecting material for the quantum dot material and the hole transport material as taught by Chung in [0101]-[0104] (for emission layer material) and[0142] (for hole transport material) that would provide the desired energy level between the shell layer material and the hole transport material.
Regarding claim 4, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung further discloses:
the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material ([0115], emission layer 13 may have HOMO energy level between 5.4 eV and 7.0 eV.) and the hole transport material ([0115], emission layer 13 may have HOMO energy level between 5.4 eV and 7.0 eV.) is between … (Chung, [0091], the difference is greater than .5 eV. )
Chung does not specifically teach that the difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between 1.0 eV and 1.4 eV. However, Chung implicitly discloses that the difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between is at least .5 eV to 1.6 eV, which would contemplate the range of 1.o eV to 1.4 eV and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the desired difference because there is a limited number of materials that could be chosen from. (Chung, [0102] includes material for the quantum dot material and [0142] includes material for the hole transport layer. See also [0115] and [0139] for the HOMO energy levels contemplated by the emission layer and hole auxiliary layer respectively.)
Absent showing of criticality of the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung and Angioni to have the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between 1.0 eV and 1.4 eV by selecting material for the quantum dot material and the hole transport material as taught by Chung in [0101]-[0104] (for emission layer material) and[0142] (for hole transport material) that would provide the desired energy level between the shell layer material and the hole transport material.
Regarding claim 5, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung teaches that “the HOMO energy level of the hole auxiliary layer 12 may be adjusted to match the HOMO energy level of the emission layer 13, which may contribute to strengthening hole mobility from the hole auxiliary layer 12 into the emission layer 13.” (Chung, [0137].)
Chung further discloses:
the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material ([0115], emission layer 13 may have HOMO energy level between 5.4 eV and 7.0 eV.) and the hole transport material([0115], emission layer 13 may have HOMO energy level between 5.4 eV and 7.0 eV.) is between … (Chung, [0091], the difference is greater than .5 eV. )
Chung does not specifically teach that the difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between 1.4 eV and 1.7 eV. However, Chung implicitly discloses that the difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between is at least .5 eV to 1.6 eV, which would contemplate the range of 1.4 eV and 1.7 eV and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the desired difference because there is a limited number of materials that could be chosen from. (Chung, [0102] includes material for the quantum dot material and [0142] includes material for the hole transport layer. See also [0115] and [0139] for the HOMO energy levels contemplated by the emission layer and hole auxiliary layer respectively.)
Absent showing of criticality of the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung and Angioni to have the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between 1.4 eV and 1.7 eV by selecting material for the quantum dot material and the hole transport material as taught by Chung in [0101]-[0104] (for emission layer material) and[0142] (for hole transport material) that would provide the desired energy level between the shell layer material and the hole transport material.
Regarding claim 10, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the hole transport material is at least one selected from the group consisting of TFB, poly-TPD, P11, P09, P13, P15, and P12. ([0121], the hole transport material may be TFB.)
Regarding claim 11, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the hole transport material has a mobility of higher than 1 x10-4 cm2/Vs. ([0133], the mobility is about .01 cm2/Vs which is higher than 1 x10-4 cm2/Vs.)
Regarding claim 12, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 10.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the optoelectronic device further comprises a hole injection layer; (Fig. 2, hole injection layer and Fig. 1, hole auxiliary layer 12 which includes the hole injection layer.)
the hole injection layer is disposed between the anode layer and the hole transport layer; (See Fig. 2) and
a difference between a valence band top energy level of the hole transport material and a work function of a hole injection material of the hole injection layer is smaller than -0.2 eV, or an absolute value of the difference between the valence band top energy level of the hole transport material and the work function of the hole injection material of the hole injection layer is smaller than or equal to 0.2 eV. ([0141], the hole injection layer has a HOMO energy level of 5.0 eV and the hole transport layer has a HOMO energy level of 5.2 eV. Therefore the difference is -o.2 eV. The absolute value of which would be .2 eV.)
Regarding claim 13, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 12.
Chung further discloses:
wherein when the difference between the valence band top energy level of the hole transport material and the work function of the hole injection material is smaller than -0.2 eV, an absolute value of the work function of the hole injection material is between 5.4 eV and 5.8 eV; and ([0141], The hole injection layer work function may be between 5.0 eV and 6.0 eV. The hole transport material may be a value between 5.2 eV to about 7.0 eV. Therefore a value may be used that has a difference between the valence band HOMO energy level to be smaller than --0.2 eV.)
when the absolute value of the difference between the valence band top energy level of the hole transport material and the work function of the hole injection material is smaller than or equal to 0.2 eV, the absolute value of the work function of the hole injection material is between 5.3 eV and 5.6 eV. ([0141], The hole injection layer work function may be between 5.0 eV and 6.0 eV. Therefore a value may be used that has a difference between the valence band HOMO energy level to be smaller than -0.2 eV. The absolute value of which would be 0.2 eV.)
Regarding claim 14, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 14.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the hole injection material is selected from at least one metal nanomaterial selected from the group consisting of tungsten oxide, molybdenum oxide, vanadium oxide, nickel oxide, and copper oxide. ([0142], the hole auxiliary layer 12 including the hold injection layer, may be made with WO3 (tungsten oxide).)
Regarding claim 15, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the quantum dot material in the core-shell structure further comprises: an core, and an intermediate shell layer disposed between the core and the shell layer. ([0104], The quantum dots include a core and shell and may include a multi-layered shell having at least two layers. Therefore by necessity it would have a core, an intermediate shell layer and shell layer.)
Regarding claim 16, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 15.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the shell layer of the quantum dot material comprises an alloy material formed by at least one or at least two of CdS, ZnSe, ZnTe, ZnS, ZnSeS, CdZnS, and PbS. ([0104], The shell may include ZnS.)
Regarding claim 17, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 15.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the core of the quantum dot material comprises at least one of CdSe, CdZnSe, CdZnS, CdSeS, CdZnSeS, InP, InGaP, GaN, GaP, ZnSe, ZnTe, and ZnTeSe. ([0104], The core may include ZnSe.)
Regarding claim 18, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 15.
Chung further discloses:
wherein a material of the intermediate shell material is at least one selected from CdZnSe, ZnSe, CdZnS, CdZnSeS, CdS, and CdSeS. ([0104], The shell may include ZnSe. And [0105], the intermediate shell have a single composition, be an alloy or have a concentration gradient from the shell layer.)
Claims 6-9, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung and Angioni as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Kazlas et al. US 20180019427 A1 (hereinafter Kazlas) and “Atomic Layer Deposition of Nanostructure Materials” edited by Nicola Pinna and Mato Knez (hereinafter Pinna).
Regarding claim 6, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung discloses, the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, ([0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO).)
Chung further teaches that the quantum dots may be formed in a solution process (Chung, [0087]). The sol-gel process is solution process. As Chung teaches a solution process as the limitation is being interpreted to impart structure on the resulting layer. Therefore, Chung is considered to teach the sol-gel process.
Neither Chung or Angioni specifically disclose that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared by a sol-gel method according to “a ratio of an amine/carboxyl ligand compound to a zinc oxide precursor of (1 to 10): 1.”
However, Kazlas which teaches a light emitting device comprising quantum dots (Kazlas, Abstract), teaches that electron transport materials can be deposited using a sol-gel technique (Kazlas, [0188] the electron transport material is made by sol-gel process and [0185], the sol-gel process includes chemically modified zinc oxide.) and that process can include amine/carboxyl ligands ([0027], amines and carboxylic acids are functional groups that are ligands for quantum dots such a zinc oxide quantum dot can be prepared by sol-gel process.) and a zinc precursor ([0030], the sol-gel precursor is a metal oxide material and [0182] the metal oxide can be zinc sulfate.)
While Kazlas does not specifically disclose that the ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand to zinc oxide precursor is (1 to 10):1, but Pinna teaches that multiple factors such as reagent concentration (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61) affect the structure and properties of the inorganic network. (See also Pinna, 4.1.1.2., page 62, “the use of organic additives such as functional alcohols, carboxylic acids that modify the precursor and therefore reactivity is considered for sol-gel processes.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the method of preparing electron transport layer of Chung to have by as taught by Kazlas and Pinna in order to have a layer with the desired chemical properties by choosing a ratio for chosen materials that would result in quantum dots with the desired chain length for the ligands. (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61, adjusting certain parameters allows for particular chemical properties. And Kazlas the coordinating solvent (such as an amine) can help control the growth of the quantum dots. [0249].)
Regarding claim 7, Chung as modified by Angioni, Kazlas and Pinna discloses all the element of claim 6.
Kazlas further discloses:
wherein the amine/carboxyl ligand compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of propionic acid, propylamine, butyric acid, butylamine, hexanoic acid, hexylamine, pentylamine, and octylamine. ( [0246], the coordinating solvent can be octylamine.)
Regarding claim 8, Chung as modified by Angioni, Kazlas and Pinna discloses all the element of claim 6.
Kazlas further discloses:
wherein the zinc oxide precursor is at least one selected from the group consisting of zinc acetate, zinc nitrate, zinc sulfate, and zinc chloride. ([0030], the sol-gel precursor is a metal oxide material and [0182] the metal oxide can be zinc sulfate.)
Regarding claim 9, Chung as modified by Angioni, Kazlas and Pinna discloses all the element of claim 7.
Angioni further discloses:
wherein when the chain length of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound is between 3 and 4 carbon atoms, (Angioni, Fig. 4A, col. 7, lines 7-9, the quantum dots are disposed within cross-linked charge transport material and, col. 3 and 4, lines, 63-67 and 1-12, amines with 1-30 carbon atoms.)
Chung discloses, the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, (Chung, [0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO).)
Chung further teaches that the quantum dots may be formed in a solution process (Chung, [0087] The sol-gel process is solution process.) Therefore Chung teaches that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared. (Chung, [0157].)
Neither Chung or Angioni specifically disclose that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared according to “the ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor of (4 to 10): 1; and
However, Kazlas which teaches a light emitting device comprising quantum dots (Kazlas, Abstract), teaches that electron transport materials can be deposited using a sol-gel technique (Kazlas, [0188] the electron transport material is made by sol-gel process and [0185], the sol-gel process includes chemically modified zinc oxide.) and that process can include amine/carboxyl ligands ([0027], amines and carboxylic acids are functional groups that are ligands for quantum dots such a zinc oxide quantum dot can be prepared by sol-gel process.)
While Kazlas does not specifically disclose that “the ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor of (4 to 10): 1,” but Pinna teaches that multiple factors such as reagent concentration (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61) affect the structure and properties of the inorganic network. (See also Pinna, 4.1.1.2., page 62, “the use of organic additives such as functional alcohols, carboxylic acids that modify the precursor and therefore reactivity is considered for sol-gel processes.) Therefore absent a showing of criticality of the claimed range of ratios, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the method of preparing electron transport layer of Chung to have by as taught by Kazlas and further taught by Pinna in order to have a layer with the desired chemical properties by choosing a ratio for chosen materials that would result in quantum dots with the desired chain length for the ligands. (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61, adjusting certain parameters allows for particular chemical properties. And Kazlas the coordinating solvent (such as an amine) can help control the growth of the quantum dots. [0249].)
Angioni further discloses:
when the chain length of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound is between 5 and 7 carbon atoms, (Angioni, Fig. 4A, col. 7, lines 7-9, the quantum dots are disposed within cross-linked charge transport material and, col. 3 and 4, lines, 63-67 and 1-12, amines with 1-30 carbon atoms.)
Chung discloses, the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, ([0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO))
Chung further teaches that the quantum dots may be formed in a solution process (Chung, [0087] The sol-gel process is solution process.) Therefore Chung teaches that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared. (Chung, [0157].)
Neither Chung or Angioni specifically disclose that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared with “the molar ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor is (1 to 5): 1.”
However, Kazlas which teaches a light emitting device comprising quantum dots (Kazlas, Abstract), teaches that electron transport materials can be deposited using a sol-gel technique (Kazlas, [0188] the electron transport material is made by sol-gel process and [0185], the sol-gel process includes chemically modified zinc oxide.) and that process can include amine/carboxyl ligands ([0027], amines and carboxylic acids are functional groups that are ligands for quantum dots such a zinc oxide quantum dot can be prepared by sol-gel process.)
While Kazlas does not specifically disclose that “the molar ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor is (1 to 5):1”, but Pinna teaches that multiple factors such as reagent concentration (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61) affect the structure and properties of the inorganic network. (See also Pinna, 4.1.1.2., page 62, “the use of organic additives such as functional alcohols, carboxylic acids that modify the precursor and therefore reactivity is considered for sol-gel processes.) Therefore absent a showing of criticality of the claimed range of ratios, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the method of preparing electron transport layer of Chung to have by as taught by Kazlas and further taught by Pinna in order to have a layer with the desired chemical properties by choosing a ratio for chosen materials that would result in quantum dots with the desired chain length for the ligands. (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61, adjusting certain parameters allows for particular chemical properties. And Kazlas the coordinating solvent (such as an amine) can help control the growth of the quantum dots. [0249].)
Regarding claim 19, Chung as modified by Angioni, Kazlas and Pinna discloses all the element of claim 8.
Angioni further discloses:
wherein when the chain length of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound is between 3 and 4 carbon atoms, (Angioni, Fig. 4A, col. 7, lines 7-9, the quantum dots are disposed within cross-linked charge transport material and, col. 3 and 4, lines, 63-67 and 1-12, amines with 1-30 carbon atoms.)
Chung discloses, the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, (Chung, [0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO).)
Chung further teaches that the quantum dots may be formed in a solution process (Chung, [0087] The sol-gel process is solution process.) Therefore Chung teaches that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared. (Chung, [0157].)
Neither Chung or Angioni specifically disclose that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared according to “the ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor of (4 to 10): 1; and
However, Kazlas which teaches a light emitting device comprising quantum dots (Kazlas, Abstract), teaches that electron transport materials can be deposited using a sol-gel technique (Kazlas, [0188] the electron transport material is made by sol-gel process and [0185], the sol-gel process includes chemically modified zinc oxide.) and that process can include amine/carboxyl ligands ([0027], amines and carboxylic acids are functional groups that are ligands for quantum dots such a zinc oxide quantum dot can be prepared by sol-gel process.)
While Kazlas does not specifically disclose that “the ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor of (4 to 10): 1,” but Pinna teaches that multiple factors such as reagent concentration (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61) affect the structure and properties of the inorganic network. (See also Pinna, 4.1.1.2., page 62, “the use of organic additives such as functional alcohols, carboxylic acids that modify the precursor and therefore reactivity is considered for sol-gel processes.) Therefore absent a showing of criticality of the claimed range of ratios, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the method of preparing electron transport layer of Chung to have by as taught by Kazlas and further taught by Pinna in order to have a layer with the desired chemical properties by choosing a ratio for chosen materials that would result in quantum dots with the desired chain length for the ligands. (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61, adjusting certain parameters allows for particular chemical properties. And Kazlas the coordinating solvent (such as an amine) can help control the growth of the quantum dots. [0249].)
Angioni further discloses:
when the chain length of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound is between 5 and 7 carbon atoms, (Angioni, Fig. 4A, col. 7, lines 7-9, the quantum dots are disposed within cross-linked charge transport material and, col. 3 and 4, lines, 63-67 and 1-12, amines with 1-30 carbon atoms.)
Chung discloses, the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, ([0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO))
Chung further teaches that the quantum dots may be formed in a solution process (Chung, [0087] The sol-gel process is solution process.) Therefore Chung teaches that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared. (Chung, [0157].)
Neither Chung or Angioni specifically disclose that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared with “the molar ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor is (1 to 5): 1.”
However, Kazlas which teaches a light emitting device comprising quantum dots (Kazlas, Abstract), teaches that electron transport materials can be deposited using a sol-gel technique (Kazlas, [0188] the electron transport material is made by sol-gel process and [0185], the sol-gel process includes chemically modified zinc oxide.) and that process can include amine/carboxyl ligands ([0027], amines and carboxylic acids are functional groups that are ligands for quantum dots such a zinc oxide quantum dot can be prepared by sol-gel process.)
While Kazlas does not specifically disclose that “the molar ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor is (1 to 5):1”, but Pinna teaches that multiple factors such as reagent concentration (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61) affect the structure and properties of the inorganic network. (See also Pinna, 4.1.1.2., page 62, “the use of organic additives such as functional alcohols, carboxylic acids that modify the precursor and therefore reactivity is considered for sol-gel processes.) Therefore absent a showing of criticality of the claimed range of ratios, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the method of preparing electron transport layer of Chung to have by as taught by Kazlas and further taught by Pinna in order to have a layer with the desired chemical properties by choosing a ratio for chosen materials that would result in quantum dots with the desired chain length for the ligands. (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61, adjusting certain parameters allows for particular chemical properties. And Kazlas the coordinating solvent (such as an amine) can help control the growth of the quantum dots. [0249].)
Regarding claim 20, Chung as modified by Angioni discloses all the element of claim 5.
Chung discloses, the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, ([0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO))
Chung further teaches that the quantum dots may be formed in a solution process (Chung, [0087]). The sol-gel process is solution process.
Neither Chung or Angioni specifically disclose that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared by a sol-gel method according to “a ratio of an amine/carboxyl ligand compound to a zinc oxide precursor of (1 to 10): 1.”
However, Kazlas which teaches a light emitting device comprising quantum dots (Kazlas, Abstract), teaches that electron transport materials can be deposited using a sol-gel technique (Kazlas, [0188] the electron transport material is made by sol-gel process and [0185], the sol-gel process includes chemically modified zinc oxide.) and that process can include amine/carboxyl ligands ([0027], amines and carboxylic acids are functional groups that are ligands for quantum dots such a zinc oxide quantum dot can be prepared by sol-gel process.)
While Kazlas does not specifically disclose that the ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand to zinc oxide precursor is (1 to 10):1, but Pinna teaches that multiple factors such as reagent concentration (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61) affect the structure and properties of the inorganic network. (See also Pinna, 4.1.1.2., page 62, “the use of organic additives such as functional alcohols, carboxylic acids that modify the precursor and therefore reactivity is considered for sol-gel processes.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the method of preparing electron transport layer of Chung to have by as taught by Kazlas and Pinna in order to have a layer with the desired chemical properties by choosing a ratio for chosen materials that would result in in quantum dots with the desired chain length for the ligands.. (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61, adjusting certain parameters allows for particular chemical properties. And Kazlas the coordinating solvent (such as an amine) can help control the growth of the quantum dots. [0249].)
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Smith et al. US 20220029116 A1 – device fabrication using a sol-gel process. Fig. 2A, col. 11, lines 25-60.
Ryota US 20220029116 A1 – a photoelectric device with an electron transport layer made using a sol-gel process.
Conclusion
/HEIM KIRIN GREWAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812