Detailed Action
Status of Claims
The following is in response to the communication filed 4/30/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1 and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
The claim objections are withdrawn in light of the claim amendments to claims 1 and 15.
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in light of the title amendment. Examiner also thanks the applicant for the further explanation regarding the core of the invention.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are partially persuasive.
Applicant remarks state that Chung only discloses “that the organic ligands are bound to the surface of the quantum dots in the quantum dot light-emitting layer. Chung does not disclose that ligands are bound to the surface of the zinc oxide nanoparticles in the electron transport layer, let alone the functional group type and carbon atom number of the ligands bound to the surface of the zinc oxide nanoparticles.” (See Remarks 4/30/2026, page 12.) However, the claims as written say that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is “bound with”, not that the that the zinc oxide nanoparticles are “bound to the surface of the zinc oxide nanoparticles” as discussed in the marks. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “bound with” does not require that the zinc oxide nanoparticles be directly bound by the organic ligands. Even if the organic ligands is on the quantum dot particles by virtue of being the shell of the of the device the zinc oxide nanoparticles are considered to be bound with the organic ligands. Therefore this argument was not persuasive.
Applicant further argues that there is no motivation to combine Chung with Angioni (Remarks, 4/30/2026, page 14.). However, the motivation to combine Angioni was provided by the Examiner in the NFOA starting on page 5. Even if the argument provided by the applicant was considered persuasive regarding motivation to combine, applying such ligands to the zinc oxide nanoparticles in the electron transport layer having an electron transport layer with bound to the ZnO nanoparticles was previously contemplated for example by Park et al. US 20200067005 A1. Therefore this argument was not persuasive.
Examiner finds the argument that there is criticality to the range of 3 to 8 carbon atoms persuasive. Applicant points to the examples 7, 10, and 11 which examiner found discussed in paragraph [0127] of the Specification and Table 1 on page 34 that the lifetime of the device is improved for chain length of the amine/carboxyl ligand of 3 and 8 carbon atoms. Therefore the rejection of 2/13/2026 is withdrawn. However, a new rejection is presented below in further view of Nie et al. CN 112018270 A (translation provided). See below for more detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. US 20200111933 A1 (hereinafter Chung) and in further view of Park et al. US 20200067005 A1 (hereinafter Park) and Nie et al. CN 112018270 A (hereinafter Nie, the PDF translation from Google Patent’s provided.)
Regards to claim 1, Chung discloses:
An optoelectronic device, (Chung, Abstract) comprising:
an anode, (Fig. 2, anode) a hole transport layer disposed on the anode, (Fig. 2, hole transport layer) a quantum dot light-emitting layer disposed on the hole transport layer, (Fig. 2, QD Emission Layer) an electron transport layer disposed on the quantum dot light-emitting layer, (Fig. 2, electron transport layer) and a cathode disposed on the electron transport layer; (Fig. 2, cathode)
wherein the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises a quantum dot material in a core-shell structure; ([0103] the quantum dots have a “core thereof, a shell thereof, or a combination thereof”. Therefore having a core-shell structure.)
a valence band top energy level difference between an shell layer material of the quantum dot material and a hole transport material in the hole transport layer is greater than or equal to 0.5 eV; and ([0022], HOMO energy level difference is equal to 0.5 eV.)
Chung does teach that the organic ligands can be either amine or carboxyl compounds (Chung, [0111]).
However, Chung does not appear to expressly disclose that the “the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, a surface of the zinc oxide nanomaterial is bound with an amine/carboxyl ligand having a chain length of between 3 and 8 carbon atoms.”
Park, which teaches a quantum dot light emitting devices (Park, Abstract), discloses:
the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, (Park, Fig. 1 and [0109] , electron transport layer 150 including nanoparticles 151 with electron transport capability being ZnO.) a surface of the zinc oxide (Fig. 2, the surface of the ZnO nanoparticle 152) nanomaterial is bound with an … ligand ( Fig. 2, an organic ligand 153)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung to have the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, a surface of the zinc oxide nanomaterial is bound with an ligand as taught by Park for purposes of preventing a leakage current and improve a charge carrier balance. (Park, [0145].)
Chung and Park do not appear to disclose that the “amine/carboxyl ligand having a chain length of between 3 and 8 carbon atoms.”
Nie, which teaches preparation of a QLED using ligands (Nie, Abstract, page 16), discloses ZnO nanoparticles (Nie, page 19, nanoparticles of ZnO.) which has amine/carboxyl ligands (Nie, page 19, “a carboxylic acid ligand” and “a amine ligand”.) having,
“a chain length of between 3 and 8 carbon atoms.” (Nie, page 19, “a carboxylic acid ligand having a carbon atom number of less than or equal to 8”and “an amine ligand having a carbon atom number of less than or equal to 8”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung as modified by Park to have a chain length of between 3 and 8 carbon atoms as taught by Nie for purposes of balancing the composite efficiency of hole and electron in the film. (Nie, page 19.)
Regarding claim 2, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material ([0115], emission layer 13 may have HOMO energy level between 5.4 eV and 7.0 eV.) and the hole transport material ([0139], hole auxiliary layer 12 HOMO level range between 5.0 eV to 7.0 eV.) is between 0.5 eV and 0.7 eV. (Chung, [0091], the difference is .5 eV.)
Regarding claim 3, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material ([0115], emission layer 13 may have HOMO energy level between 5.4 eV and 7.0 eV) and the hole transport material ([0139], hole auxiliary layer 12 HOMO level range between 5.0 eV to 7.0 eV.) is between … (Chung, [0091], the difference is greater than .5 eV. )
Chung does not specifically teach that the difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between .7 eV and 1.0 eV. However, Chung implicitly discloses that the difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between is at least .5 eV to 1.6 eV, which would contemplate the range of .7 eV to 1.o eV and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the desired difference because there is a limited number of materials that could be chosen from. (Chung, [0102] includes material for the quantum dot material and [0142] includes material for the hole transport layer. See also [0115] and [0139] for the HOMO energy levels contemplated by the emission layer and hole auxiliary layer respectively.)
Absent showing of criticality of the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung as modified by Park and Nie to have the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between 0.7 eV and 1.0 eV by selecting material for the quantum dot material and the hole transport material as taught by Chung in [0101]-[0104] (for emission layer material) and[0142] (for hole transport material) that would provide the desired energy level between the shell layer material and the hole transport material.
Regarding claim 4, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung further discloses:
the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material ([0115], emission layer 13 may have HOMO energy level between 5.4 eV and 7.0 eV.) and the hole transport material ([0115], emission layer 13 may have HOMO energy level between 5.4 eV and 7.0 eV.) is between … (Chung, [0091], the difference is greater than .5 eV. )
Chung does not specifically teach that the difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between 1.0 eV and 1.4 eV. However, Chung implicitly discloses that the difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between is at least .5 eV to 1.6 eV, which would contemplate the range of 1.o eV to 1.4 eV and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the desired difference because there is a limited number of materials that could be chosen from. (Chung, [0102] includes material for the quantum dot material and [0142] includes material for the hole transport layer. See also [0115] and [0139] for the HOMO energy levels contemplated by the emission layer and hole auxiliary layer respectively.)
Absent showing of criticality of the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung as modified by Park and Nie to have the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between 1.0 eV and 1.4 eV by selecting material for the quantum dot material and the hole transport material as taught by Chung in [0101]-[0104] (for emission layer material) and[0142] (for hole transport material) that would provide the desired energy level between the shell layer material and the hole transport material.
Regarding claim 5, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung teaches that “the HOMO energy level of the hole auxiliary layer 12 may be adjusted to match the HOMO energy level of the emission layer 13, which may contribute to strengthening hole mobility from the hole auxiliary layer 12 into the emission layer 13.” (Chung, [0137].)
Chung further discloses:
the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material ([0115], emission layer 13 may have HOMO energy level between 5.4 eV and 7.0 eV.) and the hole transport material([0115], emission layer 13 may have HOMO energy level between 5.4 eV and 7.0 eV.) is between … (Chung, [0091], the difference is greater than .5 eV. )
Chung does not specifically teach that the difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between 1.4 eV and 1.7 eV. However, Chung implicitly discloses that the difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between is at least .5 eV to 1.6 eV, which would contemplate the range of 1.4 eV and 1.7 eV and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the desired difference because there is a limited number of materials that could be chosen from. (Chung, [0102] includes material for the quantum dot material and [0142] includes material for the hole transport layer. See also [0115] and [0139] for the HOMO energy levels contemplated by the emission layer and hole auxiliary layer respectively.)
Absent showing of criticality of the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chung as modified as Park and Nie to have the valence band top energy level difference between the shell layer material of the quantum dot material and the hole transport material is between 1.4 eV and 1.7 eV by selecting material for the quantum dot material and the hole transport material as taught by Chung in [0101]-[0104] (for emission layer material) and[0142] (for hole transport material) that would provide the desired energy level between the shell layer material and the hole transport material.
Regarding claim 10, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the hole transport material is at least one selected from the group consisting of TFB, poly-TPD, P11, P09, P13, P15, and P12. ([0121], the hole transport material may be TFB.)
Regarding claim 11, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the hole transport material has a mobility of higher than 1 x10-4 cm2/Vs. ([0133], the mobility is about .01 cm2/Vs which is higher than 1 x10-4 cm2/Vs.)
Regarding claim 12, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 10.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the optoelectronic device further comprises a hole injection layer; (Fig. 2, hole injection layer and Fig. 1, hole auxiliary layer 12 which includes the hole injection layer.)
the hole injection layer is disposed between the anode layer and the hole transport layer; (See Fig. 2) and
a difference between a valence band top energy level of the hole transport material and a work function of a hole injection material of the hole injection layer is smaller than -0.2 eV, or an absolute value of the difference between the valence band top energy level of the hole transport material and the work function of the hole injection material of the hole injection layer is smaller than or equal to 0.2 eV. ([0141], the hole injection layer has a HOMO energy level of 5.0 eV and the hole transport layer has a HOMO energy level of 5.2 eV. Therefore the difference is -o.2 eV. The absolute value of which would be .2 eV.)
Regarding claim 13, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 12.
Chung further discloses:
wherein when the difference between the valence band top energy level of the hole transport material and the work function of the hole injection material is smaller than -0.2 eV, an absolute value of the work function of the hole injection material is between 5.4 eV and 5.8 eV; and ([0141], The hole injection layer work function may be between 5.0 eV and 6.0 eV. The hole transport material may be a value between 5.2 eV to about 7.0 eV. Therefore a value may be used that has a difference between the valence band HOMO energy level to be smaller than --0.2 eV.)
when the absolute value of the difference between the valence band top energy level of the hole transport material and the work function of the hole injection material is smaller than or equal to 0.2 eV, the absolute value of the work function of the hole injection material is between 5.3 eV and 5.6 eV. ([0141], The hole injection layer work function may be between 5.0 eV and 6.0 eV. Therefore a value may be used that has a difference between the valence band HOMO energy level to be smaller than -0.2 eV. The absolute value of which would be 0.2 eV.)
Regarding claim 14, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 14.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the hole injection material is selected from at least one metal nanomaterial selected from the group consisting of tungsten oxide, molybdenum oxide, vanadium oxide, nickel oxide, and copper oxide. ([0142], the hole auxiliary layer 12 including the hold injection layer, may be made with WO3 (tungsten oxide).)
Regarding claim 15, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the quantum dot material in the core-shell structure further comprises: an core, and an intermediate shell layer disposed between the core and the shell layer. ([0104], The quantum dots include a core and shell and may include a multi-layered shell having at least two layers. Therefore by necessity it would have a core, an intermediate shell layer and shell layer.)
Regarding claim 16, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 15.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the shell layer of the quantum dot material comprises an alloy material formed by at least one or at least two of CdS, ZnSe, ZnTe, ZnS, ZnSeS, CdZnS, and PbS. ([0104], The shell may include ZnS.)
Regarding claim 17, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 15.
Chung further discloses:
wherein the core of the quantum dot material comprises at least one of CdSe, CdZnSe, CdZnS, CdSeS, CdZnSeS, InP, InGaP, GaN, GaP, ZnSe, ZnTe, and ZnTeSe. ([0104], The core may include ZnSe.)
Regarding claim 18, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 15.
Chung further discloses:
wherein a material of the intermediate shell material is at least one selected from CdZnSe, ZnSe, CdZnS, CdZnSeS, CdS, and CdSeS. ([0104], The shell may include ZnSe. And [0105], the intermediate shell have a single composition, be an alloy or have a concentration gradient from the shell layer.)
Claims 6-9, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung and Park and Nie as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Kazlas et al. US 20180019427 A1 (hereinafter Kazlas) and “Atomic Layer Deposition of Nanostructure Materials” edited by Nicola Pinna and Mato Knez (hereinafter Pinna).
Regarding claim 6, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 1.
Chung discloses, the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, ([0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO).)
Chung further teaches that the quantum dots may be formed in a solution process (Chung, [0087]). The sol-gel process is solution process. As Chung teaches a solution process as the limitation is being interpreted to impart structure on the resulting layer. Therefore, Chung is considered to teach the sol-gel process.
Neither Chung, Park, or Nie specifically disclose that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared by a sol-gel method according to “a ratio of an amine/carboxyl ligand compound to a zinc oxide precursor of (1 to 10): 1.”
However, Kazlas which teaches a light emitting device comprising quantum dots (Kazlas, Abstract), teaches that electron transport materials can be deposited using a sol-gel technique (Kazlas, [0188] the electron transport material is made by sol-gel process and [0185], the sol-gel process includes chemically modified zinc oxide.) and that process can include amine/carboxyl ligands ([0027], amines and carboxylic acids are functional groups that are ligands for quantum dots such a zinc oxide quantum dot can be prepared by sol-gel process.) and a zinc precursor ([0030], the sol-gel precursor is a metal oxide material and [0182] the metal oxide can be zinc sulfate.)
While Kazlas does not specifically disclose that the ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand to zinc oxide precursor is (1 to 10):1, but Pinna teaches that multiple factors such as reagent concentration (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61) affect the structure and properties of the inorganic network. (See also Pinna, 4.1.1.2., page 62, “the use of organic additives such as functional alcohols, carboxylic acids that modify the precursor and therefore reactivity is considered for sol-gel processes.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the method of preparing electron transport layer of the device of Chung as modified by Park and Nie to have by as taught by Kazlas and Pinna in order to have a layer with the desired chemical properties by choosing a ratio for chosen materials that would result in quantum dots with the desired chain length for the ligands. (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61, adjusting certain parameters allows for particular chemical properties. And Kazlas the coordinating solvent (such as an amine) can help control the growth of the quantum dots. [0249].)
Regarding claim 7, Chung as modified by Park, Nie, Kazlas and Pinna discloses all the element of claim 6.
Kazlas further discloses:
wherein the amine/carboxyl ligand compound is at least one selected from the group consisting of propionic acid, propylamine, butyric acid, butylamine, hexanoic acid, hexylamine, pentylamine, and octylamine. ( [0246], the coordinating solvent can be octylamine.)
Regarding claim 8, Chung as modified by Park, Nie, Kazlas and Pinna discloses all the element of claim 6.
Kazlas further discloses:
wherein the zinc oxide precursor is at least one selected from the group consisting of zinc acetate, zinc nitrate, zinc sulfate, and zinc chloride. ([0030], the sol-gel precursor is a metal oxide material and [0182] the metal oxide can be zinc sulfate.)
Regarding claim 9, Chung as modified by Park, Nie, Kazlas and Pinna discloses all the element of claim 7.
Nie further discloses:
wherein when the chain length of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound is between 3 and 4 carbon atoms, (Park and Nie, Fig. 4A, col. 7, lines 7-9, the quantum dots are disposed within cross-linked charge transport material and, col. 3 and 4, lines, 63-67 and 1-12, amines with 1-30 carbon atoms.)
Chung discloses, the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, (Chung, [0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO).)
Chung further teaches that the quantum dots may be formed in a solution process (Chung, [0087] The sol-gel process is solution process.) Therefore Chung teaches that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared. (Chung, [0157].)
Neither Chung, Park, or Nie specifically disclose that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared according to “the ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor of (4 to 10): 1; and
However, Kazlas which teaches a light emitting device comprising quantum dots (Kazlas, Abstract), teaches that electron transport materials can be deposited using a sol-gel technique (Kazlas, [0188] the electron transport material is made by sol-gel process and [0185], the sol-gel process includes chemically modified zinc oxide.) and that process can include amine/carboxyl ligands ([0027], amines and carboxylic acids are functional groups that are ligands for quantum dots such a zinc oxide quantum dot can be prepared by sol-gel process.)
While Kazlas does not specifically disclose that “the ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor of (4 to 10): 1,” but Pinna teaches that multiple factors such as reagent concentration (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61) affect the structure and properties of the inorganic network. (See also Pinna, 4.1.1.2., page 62, “the use of organic additives such as functional alcohols, carboxylic acids that modify the precursor and therefore reactivity is considered for sol-gel processes.) Therefore absent a showing of criticality of the claimed range of ratios, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the method of preparing electron transport layer of the device of Chung as modified by Park and Nie to have by as taught by Kazlas and further taught by Pinna in order to have a layer with the desired chemical properties by choosing a ratio for chosen materials that would result in quantum dots with the desired chain length for the ligands. (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61, adjusting certain parameters allows for particular chemical properties. And Kazlas the coordinating solvent (such as an amine) can help control the growth of the quantum dots. [0249].)
Nie further discloses:
when the chain length of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound is between 5 and 7 carbon atoms, (Nie, page 19, “a carboxylic acid ligand having a carbon atom number of less than or equal to 8”and “an amine ligand having a carbon atom number of less than or equal to 8”.)
Chung discloses, the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, ([0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO))
Chung further teaches that the quantum dots may be formed in a solution process (Chung, [0087] The sol-gel process is solution process.) Therefore Chung teaches that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared. (Chung, [0157].)
Neither Chung, Park, or Nie specifically disclose that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared with “the molar ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor is (1 to 5): 1.”
However, Kazlas which teaches a light emitting device comprising quantum dots (Kazlas, Abstract), teaches that electron transport materials can be deposited using a sol-gel technique (Kazlas, [0188] the electron transport material is made by sol-gel process and [0185], the sol-gel process includes chemically modified zinc oxide.) and that process can include amine/carboxyl ligands ([0027], amines and carboxylic acids are functional groups that are ligands for quantum dots such a zinc oxide quantum dot can be prepared by sol-gel process.)
While Kazlas does not specifically disclose that “the molar ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor is (1 to 5):1”, but Pinna teaches that multiple factors such as reagent concentration (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61) affect the structure and properties of the inorganic network. (See also Pinna, 4.1.1.2., page 62, “the use of organic additives such as functional alcohols, carboxylic acids that modify the precursor and therefore reactivity is considered for sol-gel processes.) Therefore absent a showing of criticality of the claimed range of ratios, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the method of preparing electron transport layer of the device of Chung as modified by Park and Nie to have by as taught by Kazlas and further taught by Pinna in order to have a layer with the desired chemical properties by choosing a ratio for chosen materials that would result in quantum dots with the desired chain length for the ligands. (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61, adjusting certain parameters allows for particular chemical properties. And Kazlas the coordinating solvent (such as an amine) can help control the growth of the quantum dots. [0249].)
Regarding claim 19, Chung as modified by Park, Nie, Kazlas and Pinna discloses all the element of claim 8.
Nie further discloses:
wherein when the chain length of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound is between 3 and 4 carbon atoms, (Nie, page 19, “a carboxylic acid ligand having a carbon atom number of less than or equal to 8”and “an amine ligand having a carbon atom number of less than or equal to 8”.)
Chung discloses, the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, (Chung, [0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO).)
Chung further teaches that the quantum dots may be formed in a solution process (Chung, [0087] The sol-gel process is solution process.) Therefore Chung teaches that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared. (Chung, [0157].)
Neither Chung or Park and Nie specifically disclose that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared according to “the ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor of (4 to 10): 1; and
However, Kazlas which teaches a light emitting device comprising quantum dots (Kazlas, Abstract), teaches that electron transport materials can be deposited using a sol-gel technique (Kazlas, [0188] the electron transport material is made by sol-gel process and [0185], the sol-gel process includes chemically modified zinc oxide.) and that process can include amine/carboxyl ligands ([0027], amines and carboxylic acids are functional groups that are ligands for quantum dots such a zinc oxide quantum dot can be prepared by sol-gel process.)
While Kazlas does not specifically disclose that “the ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor of (4 to 10): 1,” but Pinna teaches that multiple factors such as reagent concentration (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61) affect the structure and properties of the inorganic network. (See also Pinna, 4.1.1.2., page 62, “the use of organic additives such as functional alcohols, carboxylic acids that modify the precursor and therefore reactivity is considered for sol-gel processes.) Therefore absent a showing of criticality of the claimed range of ratios, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the method of preparing electron transport layer of the device of Chung as modified by Park and Nie to have by as taught by Kazlas and further taught by Pinna in order to have a layer with the desired chemical properties by choosing a ratio for chosen materials that would result in quantum dots with the desired chain length for the ligands. (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61, adjusting certain parameters allows for particular chemical properties. And Kazlas the coordinating solvent (such as an amine) can help control the growth of the quantum dots. [0249].)
Nie further discloses:
when the chain length of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound is between 5 and 7 carbon atoms, (Nie, page 19, “a carboxylic acid ligand having a carbon atom number of less than or equal to 8”and “an amine ligand having a carbon atom number of less than or equal to 8”.)
Chung discloses, the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, ([0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO))
Chung further teaches that the quantum dots may be formed in a solution process (Chung, [0087] The sol-gel process is solution process.) Therefore Chung teaches that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared. (Chung, [0157].)
Neither Chung or Park and Nie specifically disclose that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared with “the molar ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor is (1 to 5): 1.”
However, Kazlas which teaches a light emitting device comprising quantum dots (Kazlas, Abstract), teaches that electron transport materials can be deposited using a sol-gel technique (Kazlas, [0188] the electron transport material is made by sol-gel process and [0185], the sol-gel process includes chemically modified zinc oxide.) and that process can include amine/carboxyl ligands ([0027], amines and carboxylic acids are functional groups that are ligands for quantum dots such a zinc oxide quantum dot can be prepared by sol-gel process.)
While Kazlas does not specifically disclose that “the molar ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand compound to the zinc oxide precursor is (1 to 5):1”, but Pinna teaches that multiple factors such as reagent concentration (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61) affect the structure and properties of the inorganic network. (See also Pinna, 4.1.1.2., page 62, “the use of organic additives such as functional alcohols, carboxylic acids that modify the precursor and therefore reactivity is considered for sol-gel processes.) Therefore absent a showing of criticality of the claimed range of ratios, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the method of preparing electron transport layer of the device of Chung as modified by Park and Nie to have by as taught by Kazlas and further taught by Pinna in order to have a layer with the desired chemical properties by choosing a ratio for chosen materials that would result in quantum dots with the desired chain length for the ligands. (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61, adjusting certain parameters allows for particular chemical properties. And Kazlas the coordinating solvent (such as an amine) can help control the growth of the quantum dots. [0249].)
Regarding claim 20, Chung as modified by Park and Nie discloses all the element of claim 5.
Chung discloses, the electron transport layer comprises a zinc oxide nanomaterial, ([0157], the electron transport layer can be made of zinc oxide (ZnO))
Chung further teaches that the quantum dots may be formed in a solution process (Chung, [0087]). The sol-gel process is solution process.
Neither Chung or Park and Nie specifically disclose that the zinc oxide nanomaterial is prepared by a sol-gel method according to “a ratio of an amine/carboxyl ligand compound to a zinc oxide precursor of (1 to 10): 1.”
However, Kazlas which teaches a light emitting device comprising quantum dots (Kazlas, Abstract), teaches that electron transport materials can be deposited using a sol-gel technique (Kazlas, [0188] the electron transport material is made by sol-gel process and [0185], the sol-gel process includes chemically modified zinc oxide.) and that process can include amine/carboxyl ligands ([0027], amines and carboxylic acids are functional groups that are ligands for quantum dots such a zinc oxide quantum dot can be prepared by sol-gel process.)
While Kazlas does not specifically disclose that the ratio of the amine/carboxyl ligand to zinc oxide precursor is (1 to 10):1, but Pinna teaches that multiple factors such as reagent concentration (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61) affect the structure and properties of the inorganic network. (See also Pinna, 4.1.1.2., page 62, “the use of organic additives such as functional alcohols, carboxylic acids that modify the precursor and therefore reactivity is considered for sol-gel processes.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the method of preparing electron transport layer of the device of Chung as modified by Park and Nie to have by as taught by Kazlas and Pinna in order to have a layer with the desired chemical properties by choosing a ratio for chosen materials that would result in in quantum dots with the desired chain length for the ligands.. (Pinna, 4.1.1.1, page 61, adjusting certain parameters allows for particular chemical properties. And Kazlas the coordinating solvent (such as an amine) can help control the growth of the quantum dots. [0249].)
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fukaya et al. US 20210111291 A1 – Fig. 2, ligands 12 on nanoparticles 9. [0051] desirable that the first ligand 12a be a ligand having at least six or more carbons in a main chain in terms of improvement of dispersion of the nanoparticle 9.
Conclusion
/HEIM KIRIN GREWAL/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812