DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1, 5 – 7, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BYUN et al. (2019/0148661).
With regard to claim 1, BYUN et al. disclose a light-emitting device package (for example, a light-emitting device forming inside the interlayer insulating layers functioning as a light-emitting device package as shown in fig. 13) comprising:
a light-emitting device (light emitting element 130, 120, 110 includes a first semiconductor layer 130, an active layer 120, a second semiconductor layer 110); and
a driving part (referred to as “310a1” “310b1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 13 below; pads “310a1” “310b1” functioning as a driving part because the printed circuit board 310 may include a driver, not shown, that drives the plurality of light emitting elements LD. Although the applicant uses terms different to those of BYUN et al. to label/describe the claimed invention, this does not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. The use different terminology to describe the plurality of elements that constitute an integrated circuit as this is just a writing style and the way in which a structural limitation is expressed does not affect the configuration of the described elements.) configured to control driving of the light-emitting device (for example, see paragraph [0048]),
the driving part (pads “310a1”, “310b1”) comprising: a first pad (310b1); and a second pad (310a1) electrically connected to the light-emitting device (130, 120, 110),
a bonding portion (an electrode portion 150 functioning as a bonding portion in order to secure the electrical connection. Although the applicant uses terms different to those of BYUN et al. to label/describe the claimed invention, this does not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. The use different terminology to describe the plurality of elements that constitute an integrated circuit as this is just a writing style and the way in which a structural limitation is expressed does not affect the configuration of the described elements.) disposed on the first pad (310b1) and electrically connected to the driving part (pads “310a1”, “310b1”; for example, see paragraph [0048]);
wherein the first pad (310b1) and the second pad (310a1) are disposed on (above) one surface (a top surface) of the driver (the board 301, including driver, functioning as a driver/driver circuit; for example, see paragraph [0048]) wherein the light-emitting device (130, 120, 110) is disposed on the second pad (310a1); and
wherein in a direction facing the driving part (pads “310a1”, “310b1”), a height (referred to as “H1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 13 below) of the bonding portion (150) is greater than a height (referred to as “H2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 13 below) of the light-emitting device (130, 120, 110).
With regard to claim 5, BYUN et al. disclose a protective member (a layer 240 or 250 functioning as a protective member) disposed on the driving part (pads “310a1”, “310b1”) to cover the light-emitting device (130, 120, 110).
With regard to claim 6, BYUN et al. disclose the driving part (the board 301, including pads “310a1”, “310b1”, functioning as a driver/driver circuit; for example, see paragraph [0048]) comprises a peripheral portion (referred to as “310B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 13) and a central portion (referred to as “310A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 13), wherein the first pad (310b1) is disposed on the peripheral portion (310B), wherein the second pad (310a1) is disposed on the central portion (310A), wherein the peripheral portion (310B) and the central portion (310A) are arranged to have a step (referred to as “ST1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 13) therebetween.
With regard to claim 7, BYUN et al. disclose a display device (for example, fig. 13) comprising:
a circuit board (310) comprising an electrode pad (the printed circuit board 310 include a driver, not shown, that drives the plurality of light emitting elements LD and a contact electrode, not shown, electrically connected to the first electrode 140. Therefore, a contact electrode, not shown, functioning as an electrode pad; for example, see paragraph [0048]); and
a light-emitting device package (a light-emitting device package including interlayer insulating layers and light emitting element 130, 120, 110 functioning as a light-emitting device package) disposed on one surface of the circuit board (310), and electrically connected to the circuit board (310), wherein the light-emitting device package (the light-emitting device package including light emitting element 130, 120, 110) comprising:
a light-emitting device (a light emitting element 130, 120, 110 includes a first semiconductor layer 130, an active layer 120, a second semiconductor layer 110); and
a driver (the printed circuit board 310 include a driver, not shown, that drives the plurality of light emitting elements LD and a contact electrode, not shown, electrically connected to the first electrode 140; for example, see paragraph [0048]) configured to control driving of the light-emitting device (for example, see paragraph [0048]),
the driver comprising: a first pad (referred to as “310b1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 13 below; the pad “310b1” functioning as a first pad of the driver because the printed circuit board 310 may include a driver, not shown and connected to the first pad 310b, that drives the plurality of light emitting elements LD. Although the applicant uses terms different to those of BYUN et al. to label/describe the claimed invention, this does not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. The use different terminology to describe the plurality of elements that constitute an integrated circuit as this is just a writing style and the way in which a structural limitation is expressed does not affect the configuration of the described elements.) electrically connected to the electrode pad; and
a second pad (referred to as “310a1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 13 below) electrically connected to the light-emitting device (130, 120, 110),
a bonding portion (an electrode portion 150 functioning as a bonding portion in order to secure the electrical connection. Although the applicant uses terms different to those of BYUN et al. to label/describe the claimed invention, this does not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. The use different terminology to describe the plurality of elements that constitute an integrated circuit as this is just a writing style and the way in which a structural limitation is expressed does not affect the configuration of the described elements.) disposed on the first pad (310b1) and electrically connected to the circuit board (310) and the driver (the printed circuit board 310 include a driver, not shown, that drives the plurality of light emitting elements LD and a contact electrode, not shown, electrically connected to the first electrode 140; for example, see paragraph [0048]);
wherein the first pad (310b1) and the second pad (310a1) are disposed on (above) one surface (a top surface) of the driver (the board 310, including driver, functioning as the driver/driver circuit; for example, see paragraph [0048]);
wherein a height (referred to as “H1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 13 below) of the bonding portion (150) is greater than a height (referred to as “H2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 13 below) of the light-emitting device (130, 120, 110).
With regard to claim 13, BYUN et al. disclose a protective member (a layer 250 functioning as a protective member) disposed on the driver (the board 310, including driver; for example, see paragraph [0048]) to cover the light-emitting device (130, 120, 110).
With regard to claim 14, BYUN et al. disclose a glass substrate (240; for example, see paragraph [0063]) arranged to face away from the light-emitting device package, the glass substrate being formed on an opposite surface of the circuit board (310).
3. Claim(s) 15 – 17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamata et al. (9781783).
With regard to claim 15, Kamata et al. disclose a display device (for example, see fig. 6B) comprising:
a circuit board layer (a conductive board 231 functioning a circuit board. Although the applicant uses terms different to those of Kamata et al. to label/describe the claimed invention, this does not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. The use different terminology to describe the plurality of elements that constitute an integrated circuit as this is just a writing style and the way in which a structural limitation is expressed does not affect the configuration of the described elements.) comprising an electrode pad (referred to as “223B” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 6B below; wherein the electrode portion 223B of the conductive layer 223 functioning as the electrode pad);
a light-emitting device (103, 105, 107);
a driver (a thin film transistor 243, electrically connected to the light emitting device 103, 105, 107, inherently functioning as a driver for driving the light-emitting element), arranged to face one surface of the circuit board (the conductive layer 231 functioning as a circuit board layer) and spaced apart from the circuit board by a specific distance, the driver (a thin film transistor 243 functioning as the driver) comprising:
a first pad (referred to as “249a1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 6B below; wherein the first pad 249a1 is a portion of the layer 249a) for connection with the circuit board (231); and
a second pad (referred to as “249a2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 6B below; wherein the first pad 249a2 is a portion of the layer 249a) for connection of a light-emitting device (103, 105, 107);
a bonding portion (referred to as “223A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 6B below; wherein the electrode portion 223A of the conductive layer 223 functioning as the bonding portion in order to secure the electrical connection. Although the applicant uses terms different to those of Kamata et al. to label/describe the claimed invention, this does not result in any structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. The use different terminology to describe the plurality of elements that constitute an integrated circuit as this is just a writing style and the way in which a structural limitation is expressed does not affect the configuration of the described elements.) connected to the first pad (249a1) of the driver (243) and the electrode pad (223) of the circuit board layer (the conductive board 231 functioning the circuit board);
the light-emitting device (103, 105, 107) bonded to the second pad (249a2) of the driver (243) by an electrode portion (referred to as “103a” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 6B below; wherein the electrode portion 103a is a portion of the electrode 103); and
wherein a height (referred to as “H1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 6B below) of the bonding portion (223A) is greater than a height (referred to as “H2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 6B below) of the light-emitting device (103, 105, 107).
With regard to claim 16, Kamata et al. disclose the circuit board (231) is a transparent circuit board (a glass material is transparent material; for example, see column 13, lines 31 – 35) inherently allowing light from the light-emitting device to be transmitted therethrough.
With regard to claim 17, Kamata et al. disclose the circuit board is an opaque circuit board (a glass material also is inherently including opaque property; for example, see column 13, lines 31 – 35) comprising a passage allowing light from the light-emitting device to pass therethrough.
With regard to claim 19, Kamata et al. disclose a protective member (referred to as “217A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 6B) disposed to cover the light-emitting device (103, 105, 107) and the driver (243).
With regard to claim 20, Kamata et al. disclose a glass substrate (221; for example, see column 13, lines 31 – 35) arranged to face away (isolated by the layer 217) from the driver (243), and formed indirectly contact with an opposite surface of the circuit board (231).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 4, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BYUN et al. (20190148661) in view of Jeong et al. (11409335).
With regard to claims 4, 12, BYUN et al. do not clearly disclose a cross-sectional area of the light-emitting device package is equal to a cross-sectional area of the driving part.
However, fig. 2 of Jeong et al. appears to disclose a cross-sectional area of the light-emitting device package (the light-emitting layer 130 forming in the package functioning as the light-emitting device package) is equal to a cross-sectional area of the driving part (a driving layer 120 functioning a driving part), as claimed. However, since the patent drawings are not labeled as “to scale,” one cannot be certain that a cross-sectional area of the light-emitting device package (the light-emitting layer 130 forming in the package functioning as the light-emitting device package) is equal to a cross-sectional area of the driver (a driving layer 120 functioning a driver) as seemingly shown [see MPEP 2125].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to form a cross-sectional area of the light-emitting device package is equal to a cross-sectional area of the driving part, because Fig. 2 suggests a cross-sectional area of the light-emitting device package is equal to a cross-sectional area of the driver and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where device dimensions of the prior art are such that one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same performance {MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)}
.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the BYUN et al.’s device to have a cross-sectional area of the light-emitting device package is equal to a cross-sectional area of the driver as taught by Jeong et al. in order to enhance a high light efficiency of the semiconductor device for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
6. Claim(s) 9, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BYUN et al. (20190148661) in view of Lee et al. (11487380).
With regard to claims 9, 10, BYUN et al. do not clearly disclose the circuit board is a transparent circuit board allowing light from the light-emitting device to be transmitted therethrough or the circuit board is an opaque circuit board comprising a passage allowing light from the light-emitting device to pass therethrough.
However, Lee et al. disclose the circuit board (210; for example, see column 7, lines 52, 53) is a transparent circuit board inherently allowing light from the light-emitting device (150) to be transmitted therethrough; or the circuit board (210; for example, see column 7, lines 52, 53) is an opaque circuit board inherently comprising a passage allowing light from the light-emitting device (150) to pass therethrough. (for example, see fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the BYUN et al.’s device to have the circuit board is a transparent circuit board allowing light from the light-emitting device to be transmitted therethrough or the circuit board is an opaque circuit board comprising a passage allowing light from the light-emitting device to pass therethrough as taught by Lee et al. in order to enhance a high light efficiency of the semiconductor device for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
7. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BYUN et al. (20190148661) in view of KOO et al. (20210265327).
With regard to claim 11, BYUN et al. do not clearly disclose the circuit board comprises metallic wiring formed on only one surface thereof facing the light-emitting device package.
However, KOO et al. disclose the circuit board (140) comprises metallic wiring (wiring 142 made of conductive material wherein the conductive material inherently including a metal material; for example, see paragraph [0043]) formed on only one surface (a top surface) thereof facing the light-emitting device package (referred to as “A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 3, wherein the light-emitting device package A including the light-emitting devices 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the BYUN et al.’s device to have the circuit board comprises metallic wiring formed on only one surface thereof facing the light-emitting device package as taught by KOO et al. in order to secure the electrical connection efficiency of the semiconductor device for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
9. Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BYUN et al. (20190148661) in view of Miyamoto et al. (10056438).
With regard to claim 18, BYUN et al. do not clearly disclose the circuit board comprises metallic wiring formed on only one surface thereof facing the light-emitting device.
However, KOO et al. disclose the circuit board (a wiring board 400, 412 functioning as the circuit board) comprises metallic wiring (a wiring 412 made of a conductive material wherein the conductive material inherently including a metal material; for example, see column 7, lines 44 – 48, fig. 3) formed on only one surface (a bottom surface) thereof facing the light-emitting device (210).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the BYUN et al.’s device to have the circuit board comprises metallic wiring formed on only one surface thereof facing the light-emitting device as taught by Miyamoto et al. in order to secure the electrical connection efficiency of the semiconductor device for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
8. Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BYUN et al. (20190148661) in view of Nagao et al. (12376271).
With regard to claim 23, BYUN et al. do not clearly disclose a size of the first pad is
greater than a size of the second pad.
However, Nagao et al. disclose a size (referred to as “D1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4) of the first pad (referred to as “101A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4) is greater than a size (referred to as “D2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4) of the second pad (referred to as “102A” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the BYUN et al.’s device to have a size of the first pad is greater than a size of the second pad as taught by Nagao et al. in order to secure the electrical connection efficiency of the semiconductor device for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant’s arguments filed 12/08/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
It is argued, at pages of the remark, that “BYUN et al. do not teach or suggest ‘in a direction facing the driving part, a height of the bonding portion is greater than a height of the light-emitting device’”. However, fig. 8i and 9 of BYUN et al. does show in a direction facing the driving part (pads “310a1”, “310b1”), a height (referred to as “H1” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 13 below) of the bonding portion (150) is greater than a height (referred to as “H2” by examiner’s annotation shown in fig. 13 below) of the light-emitting device (130, 120, 110). Since Applicant’s claims 1, 7 do not recite “wherein a top surface of the bonding portion is higher than a top surface of the light-emitting device” as shown in fig. 13 of applicant’s invention, applicant’s claims 1, 7 do not distinguish over BYUN et al. reference.
Response to Amendment
10. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812