DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
WO 2012/149150 A2 (WO’150) in view of Fukuhara et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,829,741, hereafter US’741), and further in view of Lussenden (U.S. Patent No. 8,293,998, hereafter US’998)ereafter US.
Claim 6
WO’150 discloses a method for producing refined ethanol comprising:
(a) providing an ethanol/water feed stream containing acetal impurities (claim 1; Tables 1–2);
(b) contacting the feed stream with an acid catalyst to hydrolyze acetal to acetaldehyde (claim 5; paragraphs 73–76); and
(c) distilling the hydrolysis product to obtain refined ethanol (claim 1).
WO’150 does not explicitly disclose an acetal concentration of 20–2000 ppm or hydrolysis of at least 20% of the acetal. However, U.S. Patent No. 7,829,741 teaches that acetal and aldehyde concentrations and conversion levels in ethanol purification are result-effective variables adjusted by routine variation of known parameters (col. 3, ll. 25–45; col. 6, ll. 10–35). U.S. Patent No. 8,293,998 further teaches partial acetal hydrolysis followed by distillation.
Therefore, optimizing WO’150 to achieve the claimed ppm range and conversion level would have been obvious. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 (CCPA 1955); In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Claim 7
WO’150 discloses producing ethanol from a fermentation liquor, concentrating ethanol to fuel-grade levels, molecular sieve dehydration, and regeneration of the molecular sieve producing ethanol/water streams containing contaminants such as acetal, which are recycled within the process (paragraphs 31, 115–117).
U.S. Patent No. 8,293,998 teaches recycling treated ethanol streams to fermentation and/or concentration steps to improve overall ethanol purity. Accordingly, the additional process steps recited in claim 7 would have been obvious.
Claim 8
WO’150 teaches that only portions or fractions of ethanol streams containing impurities may be treated depending on process configuration (Figures; paragraphs 108–118).
U.S. Patent No. 7,829,741 teaches treating only a fraction of a contaminated ethanol stream as a routine process design choice to manage throughput and catalyst usage (col. 6, ll. 20–40).
Thus, contacting only 5–90 wt.% of the feed stream as claimed is an obvious optimization. See In re Peterson, supra.
Claim 9
WO’150 discloses withdrawing distilled ethanol fractions containing acetal impurities, treating those fractions, and recycling treated streams to distillation or further purification stages (Figures; paragraphs 110–114).
U.S. Patent No. 8,293,998 teaches multi-stage distillation with recycle of treated ethanol streams to upstream or downstream columns.
Therefore, claim 9 would have been obvious.
Claim 10
WO’150 expressly discloses mineral acids and acidic zeolites as acid catalysts for acetal hydrolysis (paragraph 76). U.S. Patent No. 7,829,741 teaches sulfonated polymer acid catalysts as interchangeable alternatives for aldehyde/acetal conversion in ethanol purification (col. 4, ll. 10–25).
Accordingly, the catalyst selection of claim 10 is obvious.
Conclusion
WO’150 teaches the claimed process. The additional numerical ranges, fractional treatments, recycle configurations, and conversion thresholds constitute routine optimization of known result-effective variables, as supported by the applied U.S. patents.
/DEBORAH D CARR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691