DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 12/02/2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 recites the limitation " the first via holes " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al [US 2022/0320019].
With respect to claim 1, Chang et al (figs. 1 and 11) disclose a base plate integrating passive devices, comprising a substrate base plate (100, pp [0019]) and the passive devices disposed on the substrate base plate, the passive devices comprising at least an inductor (500, pp [0033]), the inductor comprising a plurality of open ring portions (see fig. 11) arranged and connected in sequence in a direction away from the substrate base plate;
wherein an interlayer dielectric layer (222, pp [0064]) is disposed between the open ring portions disposed adjacently, and the open ring portions disposed adjacently are electrically connected through a first via hole (V2, pp [0061]) penetrating the interlayer dielectric layer; orthographic projections of any two of the open ring portions on the substrate base plate at least partially overlap.
With respect to claim 5, as best understood, Chang et al (figs. 1 and 11) disclose wherein orthographic projections of at least a portion of the first via hole (V2, pp [0061]) on the substrate base plate have no overlap.
Claims 1, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang [US 2019/0260344] IDS.
With respect to claim 1, Wang (fig. 3) discloses a base plate integrating passive devices, comprising a substrate base plate (101, pp [0048]) and the passive devices disposed on the substrate base plate, the passive devices comprising at least an inductor (113, 115, pp [0048]), the inductor comprising a plurality of open ring portions (see fig. 6) arranged and connected in sequence in a direction away from the substrate base plate;
wherein an interlayer dielectric layer (103, pp [0048]) is disposed between the open ring portions disposed adjacently, and the open ring portions disposed adjacently are electrically connected through a first via hole (114, pp [0048]) penetrating the interlayer dielectric layer; orthographic projections of any two of the open ring portions on the substrate base plate at least partially overlap.
With respect to claim 5, Wang (fig. 3) discloses wherein orthographic projections of at least a portion of the first via hole (114, pp [0048]) on the substrate base plate have no overlap.
With respect to claim 6, Wang (fig. 3) discloses wherein the passive devices further comprise a capacitor (108, 109, 110, 111, pp [0048]), the capacitor comprising a first polar plate (108, pp [0048]) and a second polar plate (109, pp [0048]) arranged in sequence at a side away from the substrate base plate; and the first polar plate is disposed in the same layer and of the same material as one of the plurality of open ring portions.
With respect to claim 7, Wang (fig. 3) discloses wherein the first polar plate (108, pp [0048]) is disposed in the same layer as and is directly electrically connected to a first one of the plurality of open ring portions arranged in the direction away from the substrate base plate (101, pp [0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang [US 2019/0260344] IDS.
Wang does not mention wherein a thickness ratio of the second polar plate to the first polar plate is 1:100 to 1:30. However, the thickness ratio range would have been obvious to an ordinary artisan practicing the invention because, absent evidence of disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed dimensions of any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is aid to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 9-10 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HOAI V PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892