DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. The present application is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2022/050302.
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. a. Certified copy of application PCT/CN2021/071586 was received on 07/07/23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claim 64 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 64 recites “wherein the SL DRX parameters for the SL DRX configuration are adjusted within a configured percent according a second configured interval.” There are three issues here. First, it is unclear to the Examiner what this “adjusted within a configured percent” is claiming. Second, it is unclear t the Examiner what this “according a second configured interval” is claiming. Third, there is a claimed “second interval”, without a claimed “first interval”. The claim is therefore rejected.
4. Claim 69 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 69 recites “an expected active time ratio”. A ratio involves two numbers, and it is unclear to the Examiner what the other number here, is. It is therefore unclear how this can be a ratio. The claim is therefore rejected.
5. Claim 72 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 72 recites “the plurality of SL DRX configurations” and “the SL DRX parameters”. There isa lack of antecedent basis for these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 58 – 59, 61 – 63, 67, 69 – 71, and 74 - 78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 3GPP (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e R1-2007897)
Regarding claim 58, 3GPP discloses subject matter relating to technical discussion of SL DRX. Specifically, 3GPP discloses a method implemented by a first terminal device (UE; see section 1), the method comprising:
adapting a sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) configuration based on measured sidelink (SL) congestion (if SL UE only transmits during SL DRX, this could cause congestion; instead, if measured CBR is high, change DRX ON duration; see section 2.8)
Regarding claim 59, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses
wherein the measured SL congestion is measured in a resource pool (measured SL CBR; see section 2.8; the Examiner notes that all resources are in a resource pool)
Regarding claim 61, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses wherein the SL congestion is measured in terms of metrics including at least one of:
channel busy ratio (measured SL CBR; see section 2.8);
channel usage ratio;
reference signal receiving power;
reference signal receiving quality;
received signal strength indication;
signal to interference plus noise ratio;
signal to interference ratio;
hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) negative acknowledgement; and
average number of retransmissions of a HARQ transport block.
Regarding claims 62 and 77, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses wherein adapting the SL DRX configuration comprises:
extending active time of the first terminal device when the measured SL congestion is increasing (avoid congestion by increasing ON duration; see section 2.8); and
reducing the active time of the first terminal device when the measured SL congestion is decreasing (avoid congestion by increasing ON duration; see section 2.8; the Examiner notes that this also discloses the inverse—when CBR decreases after a period of high CBR, removing the extension of the ON duration (i.e. reducing the active time))
Regarding claim 63, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses wherein the active time is extended or reduced by adjusting one or more SL DRX parameters for the SL DRX configuration, wherein the SL DRX parameters include at least one of:
drx-onDurationTimer (DRX ON duration is modified based on measured CBR; see section 2.8)
drx-InactivityTimer;
drx-LongCycleStartOffset;
drx-ShortCycle; and
drx-ShortCycleTimer.
Regarding claim 67, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses
transmitting, to a second terminal device, a signaling indicating the adaptation of the SL DRX configuration (WIS configures dynamic reconfiguration of SL DRX; see section 2.6); and
receiving an acceptance or rejection of the adaptation from the second terminal device (RX UE can accept or not the proposed DRX configuration; see section 2.1 proposal 3).
Regarding claim 69, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses
receiving assistance information about the SL DRX configuration from the second terminal device prior to transmitting the signaling (SL DRX configuration info can be sent in AI; see proposal 4; the Examiner understands in context that this would be prior to the signaling) , wherein the assistance information includes at least one of:
an expected active time ratio; and
the measured SL congestion (“SL DRX cycle configuration information that the coordinating UE is using for power saving can be delivered to the coordinated UE as assistance information”; see section 2.1; the Examiner notes that the congestion metric (eg CBR) is used for power saving)
Regarding claim 70, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses
wherein the signaling comprises a whole SL DRX configuration or comprises only one or more changed SL DRX parameters for the SL DRX configuration (“SL DRX cycle configuration information that the coordinating UE is using for power saving can be delivered to the coordinated UE as assistance information”; see section 2.1)
Regarding claim 71, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses
when adapting a plurality of SL DRX configurations, selecting one of the SL DRX configurations and/or one of values of SL DRX parameters for the SL DRX configurations (adapt DRX configurations by changing eg DRX ON parameter; see section 2.8; the Examiner notes that this is a continuous process of adaptation; ie that there are a plurality of adaptations)
Regarding claim 74, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses
wherein the SL DRX configuration is adapted according to a first configured interval (SL DRX configuration is adapted; see section 2.8; the Examiner notes that DRX comprises intervals).
Regarding claim 75, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses
wherein parameters for the adaptation of the SL DRX configuration are configured by a control node or preconfigured (DRX can be configured by network; see section 2.1)
Regarding claim 76, 3GPP discloses a first terminal device (UE; see section 1), comprising:
a processor (UE; see section 1; the Examiner understands UEs as comprising processors); and
a memory communicatively coupled to the processor and configured to store instructions which, when executed by the processor (UE; see section 1; the Examiner understands UEs as comprising memory executing instructions), cause the first terminal device to:
adapt a sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) configuration based on measured sidelink (SL) congestion (if SL UE only transmits during SL DRX, this could cause congestion; instead, if measured CBR is high, change DRX ON duration; see section 2.8)
Regarding claim 78, 3GPP discloses
non-transitory computer readable medium having a computer program stored thereon which, when executed by a set of one or more processors of a first terminal device (UE; see section 1; the Examiner understands UEs as comprising a medium storing a program to execute on processors), causes
the first terminal device to adapt a sidelink discontinuous reception (SL DRX) configuration based on measured sidelink (SL) congestion (if SL UE only transmits during SL DRX, this could cause congestion; instead, if measured CBR is high, change DRX ON duration; see section 2.8)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 60, 68, and 73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e)
Regarding claim 60, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses wherein the SL congestion is measured in terms of metrics (measured SL CBR; see section 2.8) including at least one of:
3GPP does not explicitly disclose using one of the specific metrics claimed.
However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of 3GPP by having the congestion metric be one of packet delay; packet loss ratio; packet error rate; and achieved bit rate of a traffic type, instead of or in addition to the disclosed CBR. The Examiner takes OFFICAL NOTICE that the claimed metrics are well known in the art, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify as noted in order to more completely characterize the channel congestion.
Regarding claim 68, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP does not explicitly disclose: using a previous SL DRX configuration when the rejection of the adaptation is received.
However, the Examiner takes OFFICAL NOTICE that using a previous configuration when a proposed configuration is not agreed to is standard procedure. It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to do so in order to be able to use a configuration that previously worked, and both devices know of.
Regarding claim 73, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP does explicitly discloses
wherein the SL DRX configuration is adapted only when guaranteed bit rate (GBR) PC5 bearers are configured between the first terminal device and a second terminal device. (SL DRX is adapted; see section 2.8; the Examiner notes that SL uses the PC5 interface)
3GPP does not explicitly disclose that the bearers are GBR, but does suggest this with mention of V2X, which would generally be GBR.
However, the Examiner notes that it would be obvious to modify the disclosure of 3GPP to be operational on only GBR bearers. This SL DRX adaptation would work on any bearer, and simply limiting it to a particular type of bearer is obvious, and implicitly disclosed by 3GPP’s disclosure of SL DRX adaptation. It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to do so in order to perform DRX adaptation and reduce power consumption.
8. Claim(s) 65 – 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e) in view of Huang (US 20210227604 A1)
Regarding claim 65, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses
wherein the active time is extended (avoid congestion by increasing ON duration; see section 2.8) by applying a secondary DRX cycle during each existing DRX cycle when the measured SL congestion is above a first configured threshold, and
wherein the active time is reduced (avoid congestion by increasing ON duration; see section 2.8; the Examiner notes that this also discloses the inverse—when CBR decreases after a period of high CBR, removing the extension of the ON duration (i.e. reducing the active time)) by disabling the secondary DRX cycle when the measured SL congestion is below a second configured threshold.
3GPP does not disclose the claimed mechanism for extending or reducing active time.
Huang discloses subject matter relating to SL DRX. Specifically, Huang discloses adding (and thereby discloses removing) a second DRX cycle (see paragraph [0341] and Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of 3GPP by incorporating the mechanism of Huang (the secondary DRX cycle) when gated by a threshold. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do so, as this mechanism would work just as well for the purposes of managing congestion, and thresholds are typically used in order to determine when to apply specific techniques. Further, doing so would have been a use of a technique known in the art to improve a similar device, with predictable results, which has been determined by the Supreme Court to be obvious (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
Regarding claim 66, 3GPP discloses the subject matter of the parent claim(s), as noted above. 3GPP further discloses
wherein the active time is extended (avoid congestion by increasing ON duration; see section 2.8) by applying a secondary timer during each existing DRX cycle when the measured SL congestion is above a first configured threshold, and
wherein the active time is reduced (avoid congestion by increasing ON duration; see section 2.8; the Examiner notes that this also discloses the inverse—when CBR decreases after a period of high CBR, removing the extension of the ON duration (i.e. reducing the active time)) by disabling the secondary timer when the measured SL congestion is below a second configured threshold.
3GPP does not disclose the claimed mechanism for extending or reducing active time.
Huang discloses subject matter relating to SL DRX. Specifically, Huang discloses adding (and thereby discloses removing) a second DRX cycle (see paragraph [0341] and Fig. 7). The Examiner notes that the DRX cycle encompasses a timer.
It would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of 3GPP by incorporating the mechanism of Huang (the secondary DRX cycle/timer) when gated by a threshold. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to do so, as this mechanism would work just as well for the purposes of managing congestion, and thresholds are typically used in order to determine when to apply specific techniques. Further, doing so would have been a use of a technique known in the art to improve a similar device, with predictable results, which has been determined by the Supreme Court to be obvious (see KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1) Hosseini – US 20210059005 A1 - SL DRX
/S.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464