Detailed Action
2. This office action is in response to the filing with the office dated 02/03/2026.
Request for Continued Examination
Reply to Applicant’s Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments along with claim amendments filed with the office on 02/03/2026 have been fully considered and found to be non-persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are directed to amended claim limitations. Please see the Claims 1, 5-16, 18-22, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and in view of Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
5. Claims 1, 5-16, 18-22, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and in view of Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) teaches, A nonwoven fabric (element 19, lines 53, figures 2-6) comprising: at least one conductive member, wherein said at least one conductive member is embedded in a controlled location within said nonwoven fabric at one of the stages of the fabric production (figure 2-6, an electrically conductive textile fabric is provided having a conductivity gradient therein created by selective arrangement of yarns of varying conductivity, preferably by weaving or knitting. The gradient is created by concentrating relatively high conductivity yarns in a first area of the fabric and concentrating relatively low conductivity yarns in a second area of the fabric, lines 15-22, column 2) and wherein said at least one conductive member comprising a conductive material (lines 15-22, column 2), wherein said stage of the production is selected from web forming or web bonding,
wherein the web bonding method is selected from stitch bond, thermal bond, needle punch, chemical bond, hydroentangling, or any combination thereof, and wherein said at least one conductive member comprising a thread, a yarn, lose fibers, or any combination thereof (Referring to FIG. 6, non-woven fabric 19 having warp yarns 20, 20' and 20" which are alternately overlaid and underlaid by weft yarns 21,21' and 21". The warp and weft yarns are held together with an adhesive, such as polyvinyl
acetate, as is well known in the art. Alternatively, the yarns may be held together by any of a variety of known techniques such as applying a backing of plastic film or adhesion to a needle punched batt. As in the example shown in FIG. 4, the weft yarns 21, 21' and 21" vary in conductivity from high to low based upon the thickness of conductive polymer coating deposited thereon. Additionally, fabric 19 illustrates that the conductivity of the warp yarns may be varied to create a gradient from Side J to opposite side K and used in combination with weft yarns which vary in conductivity from top H to bottom I resulting in the least conductive area being the lower, right-hand corner of fabric 19 and the area of greatest conductivity being the upper left-hand corner of fabric 19. Thus, warp yarns 20, 20' and 20" may also vary in conductivity based upon their having been rendered more or less conductive by deposition of a conductive polymer thereon (Lines 53-68, column 4; line 7, column 5, also see evidence Gladish quoted below); wherein said at least one conductive member is placed within the fabric in a way it is covered from all sides by the fibers of the fabric (individual staple fibers of various levels of conductivity may be arranged in a non-woven batt to create a similar gradient pattern (lines 9-11, column 5).
Evidence: Furthermore (1) web forming; (2) web bonding; and (3) fabric finishing and web bonding are standard processes used in forming non-woven textiles. Gladish (US 2017/0298548 A1) teaches, [0010] A process based on fiber creation requires three main production principles: (1) web forming; (2) web bonding; and (3) fabric finishing. Web bonding can take place via chemical, thermal, or mechanical bonding. Chemical bonding, for example, can be a liquid-based bonding agent or a water-based binder. This bonding can be applied as a coating, which may be printed, or impregnated on the fabric. Options for thermal bonding include: heat and pressure; heat and contact; or powder bonding. Mechanical bonding methods can include needle punching, stitch bonding, or hydro-entanglement).
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) is silent about, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of force applied by touching the fabric or any part thereof wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of change in the shape or dimensions of said at least one conductive member, caused by mechanical force, temperature, humidity, or any combination thereof.
Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of force applied by touching the fabric or any part thereof wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of change in the shape or dimensions of said at least one conductive member, caused by mechanical force, temperature, humidity, or any combination thereof (A smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials. A sensing system comprising: a first set of strands including a
plurality of first multi-component strands, each of the first multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion; and a second set of strands including a plurality of second multi-component strands, each of the second multicomponent strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive
portion, and a plurality of third multi-component strands, each of the third multicomponent strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, the third multi-component strands being different than the first multi-component strands and the second multi-component strands (abstract). [0036] In one embodiment, the invention provides a sensing system comprising a first set of strands, a second set of strands, and a circuit. The first set of strands include a plurality of first multi-component strands, each of the first multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion. The second set of strands includes a plurality of second multi-component strands, each of the second multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, and a plurality of third multi-component strands, each of the third multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, the third multi-component strands being different than the first multi-component strands and the second multi-component strands. The second multi-component strands are oriented orthogonal relative to the first multi-component strands to form a plurality of first texels, and the third multi-component strands are oriented orthogonal relative to the first multi-component strands to form a plurality of second texels. The circuit is electrically coupled to the first texels to detect a change in capacitance or a
change in impedance at the first texels, the circuit electrically coupled to the second texels to detect a signal at the second texels. [0079] As illustrated in FIG. 2, embodiments of the invention utilize the unique orthogonal structure of FIRST where the intersection (cross-over) of each row (filling) and column (warp) of yarns, defined as a sensor “texel,” is used to sense three different physiologically relevant parameters. The impedance of the texel is used to detect applied tactile forces as well as presence of moisture and wetness. The intermediate conducting layer of the multi-component strand is used as surface electrodes to record biopotentials. The multi-component strands are weaved in a multiple layer structure to form a fabric where the fabric eventually has a 3-dimensional array of texels as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4 to achieve distributed sensing. One of the primary considerations in the design of multi-component strands is the component cross-sectional geometry as well as the electrical and mechanical behavior of the individual materials.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teachings of Pittman et al for a smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the conductive non-woven web fabric can be utilized for tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) further teaches, wherein said conductive member material is selected from metal, polymer, semiconductor, or any combination thereof (lines 8-29, column 3).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) further teaches, wherein multiple said at least one conductive member, comprising different materials with different conductivity (lines 39-52, column 4).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member consisting of said conductive material (lines 8-29, column 3).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member comprising a coating made of said conductive material (lines 8-29, column 3).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) is silent about, wherein said at least one conductive member is an electronic component.
Pittman et al further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is an electronic component (One of the uses of electrically conductive fabrics is as a radar absorbing material (RAM) incorporated into the body of a military aircraft or other vehicle. Additionally, in the aforementioned applications, it is desirable to minimize the radar profile of the aircraft or vehicle to avoid detection and identification. It has been proposed to provide a fabric having a conductivity gradient, thereby allowing for a smooth transition around sharp edged surfaces, changes in surface angles or changes in surface composition. Material having a conductivity gradient may also be useful to give a smooth transition around radar equipment (lines 48-59, column 1).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is a part of an electronic component (One of the uses of electrically conductive fabrics is as a radar absorbing material (RAM) incorporated into the body of a military aircraft or other vehicle. Additionally, in the aforementioned applications, it is desirable to minimize the radar profile of the aircraft or vehicle to avoid detection and identification. It has been proposed to provide a fabric having a conductivity gradient, thereby allowing for a smooth transition around sharp edged surfaces, changes in surface angles or changes in surface composition. Material having a conductivity gradient may also be useful to give a smooth transition around radar equipment (lines 48-59, column 1).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 9.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) further teaches wherein said electronic component is based on the differentiation of conductivity between multiple of said at last one conductive member (One of the uses of electrically conductive fabrics is as a radar absorbing material (RAM) incorporated into the body of a military aircraft or other vehicle. Additionally, in the aforementioned applications, it is desirable to minimize the radar profile of the aircraft or vehicle to avoid detection and identification. It has been proposed to provide a fabric having a conductivity gradient, thereby allowing for a smooth transition around sharp edged surfaces, changes in surface angles or changes in surface composition. Material having a conductivity gradient may also be useful to give a smooth transition around radar equipment (lines 48-59, column 1).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 9.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) teaches further teaches, wherein said electronic component is based on the differentiation of conductivity within said at last one conductive member (One of the uses of electrically conductive fabrics is as a radar absorbing material (RAM) incorporated into the body of a military aircraft or other vehicle. Additionally, in the aforementioned applications, it is desirable to minimize the radar profile of the aircraft or vehicle to avoid detection and identification. It has been proposed to provide a fabric having a conductivity gradient, thereby allowing for a smooth transition around sharp edged surfaces, changes in surface angles or changes in surface composition. Material having a conductivity gradient may also be useful to give a smooth transition around radar equipment (lines 48-59, column 1).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 9.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) further teaches wherein said electronic component is a resistor, capacitor, diode, potentiometer, transistor, or any combination thereof (conductive textile is part of an electronic component incorporated into the body of a military aircraft or other vehicle to minimize the radar profile of the aircraft or vehicle to avoid detection and identification (lines 48-59, column 1).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) teaches further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is placed on one side of the fabric on top of other fibers (figures 1-6, lines 14-51, column 2, and further description of figures 1-6 in columns 3 and 4).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) teaches further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is placed on both sides of the fabric (figures 1-6, lines 14-51, column 2, and further description of figures 1-6 in columns 3 and 4).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) teaches further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is placed as part of the fabric web replacing the fibers of the fabric (figures 1-6, lines 14-51, column 2, and further description of figures 1-6 in columns 3 and 4).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) further teaches, wherein multiple of said at least one conductive member are placed in different areas of said fabric (figures 1-6, lines 14-51, column 2, and further description of figures 1-6 in columns 3 and 4).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 18.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) further teaches, wherein said different areas create a pattern or a matrix (figures 1-6, lines 14-51, column 2, and further description of figures 1-6 in columns 3 and 4).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) is silent about, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the detection of liquid.
Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the detection of liquid (A smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials abstract, also see paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teachings of Pittman et al for a smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the conductive non-woven web fabric can be utilized for tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
Regarding dependent claim 21, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) is silent about, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of the level of humidity or the amount of liquid.
Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of the level of humidity or the amount of liquid (A smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials abstract, also see paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teachings of Pittman et al for a smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the conductive non-woven web fabric can be utilized for tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
Regarding dependent claim 22, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) and Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teach, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) is silent about, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the sensing of touch of the fabric or a part thereof.
Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the sensing of touch of the fabric or a part thereof (A smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials abstract, also see paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teachings of Pittman et al for a smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the conductive non-woven web fabric can be utilized for tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
Regarding independent claim 25, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) teaches, A method to produce a nonwoven fabric comprising, three stages; web formation, web bonding, and finishing, wherein at least one conductive member embedded into the fabric in a controlled location and wherein said at least one conductive member embedded during said web formation or web bonding stages (figures 1-6, lines 14-51, column 2, and further description of figures 1-6 in columns 3 and 4 also see evidence Gladish quoted below), wherein the bonding method is selected from stitch bond, thermal bond, needle punch, chemical bond, hydroentangling, or any combination thereof, and wherein said at least one conductive member comprising a thread, a yarn, lose fibers, or any combination thereof (figures 1-6, lines 14-51, column 2, Accordingly, an electrically conductive textile fabric is provided having a conductivity gradient therein created by selective arrangement of yarns of varying conductivity, preferably by weaving or knitting. The gradient is created by concentrating relatively high conductivity yarns in a first area of the fabric and concentrating relatively low conductivity yarns in a second area of the fabric. The high and low conductivity yarns constitute the body of the fabric, as for example, the weft of a woven or knitted fabric. For most applications it is desirable to have a smooth transition between the first and second areas. For example, by gradually balancing the concentration of the low conductivity yarns and the high conductivity yarns one can provide a linear or quadratic transition between the area of highest conductivity and the area of least conductivity. The term yarn is used throughout to encompass one or more filaments, including metal wires, individual staple fibers or a bundle of staple fibers and further description of figures 1-6 in columns 3 and 4), wherein said at least one conductive member is placed within the fabric in a way it is covered from all sides by the fibers of the fabric (individual staple fibers of various levels of conductivity may be arranged in a non-woven batt to create a similar gradient pattern (lines 9-11, column 5).
Evidence: Furthermore (1) web forming; (2) web bonding; and (3) fabric finishing and web bonding are standard processes used in forming non-woven textiles. Gladish (US 2017/0298548 A1) teaches, [0010] A process based on fiber creation requires three main production principles: (1) web forming; (2) web bonding; and (3) fabric finishing. Web bonding can take place via chemical, thermal, or mechanical bonding. Chemical bonding, for example, can be a liquid-based bonding agent or a water-based binder. This bonding can be applied as a coating, which may be printed, or impregnated on the fabric. Options for thermal bonding include: heat and pressure; heat and contact; or powder bonding. Mechanical bonding methods can include needle punching, stitch bonding, or hydro-entanglement).
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) is silent about, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of force applied by touching the fabric or any part thereof wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of change in the shape or dimensions of said at least one conductive member, caused by mechanical force, temperature, humidity, or any combination thereof.
Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of force applied by touching the fabric or any part thereof wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of change in the shape or dimensions of said at least one conductive member, caused by mechanical force, temperature, humidity, or any combination thereof (A smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials. A sensing system comprising: a first set of strands including a plurality of first multi-component strands, each of the first multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion; and a second set of strands including a plurality of second multi-component strands, each of the second multicomponent strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, and a plurality of third multi-component strands, each of the third multicomponent strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, the third multi-component strands being different than the first multi-component strands and the second multi-component strands (abstract). [0036] In one embodiment, the invention provides a sensing system comprising a first
set of strands, a second set of strands, and a circuit. The first set of strands include a plurality of first multi-component strands, each of the first multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion. The second set of strands includes a plurality of second multi-component strands, each of the second multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, and a plurality of third multi-component strands, each of the third multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, the
third multi-component strands being different than the first multi-component strands and the second multi-component strands. The second multi-component strands are oriented orthogonal relative to the first multi-component strands to form a plurality of first texels, and the third multi-component strands are oriented orthogonal relative to the first multi-component strands to form a plurality of second texels. The circuit is electrically coupled to the first texels to detect a change in capacitance or a change in impedance at the first texels, the circuit electrically coupled to the second texels to detect a signal at the second texels. [0079] As illustrated in FIG. 2, embodiments of the invention utilize the unique orthogonal structure of FIRST where the intersection (cross-over) of each row (filling) and column (warp) of yarns, defined as a sensor “texel,” is used to sense three different physiologically relevant parameters. The impedance of the texel is used to detect applied tactile forces as well as presence of moisture and wetness. The intermediate conducting layer of the multi-component strand is used as surface electrodes to record biopotentials. The multi-component strands are weaved in a multiple layer structure to form a fabric where the fabric eventually has a 3-dimensional array of texels as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4 to achieve distributed sensing. One of the primary considerations in the design of multi-component strands is the component cross-sectional geometry as well as the electrical and mechanical behavior of the individual materials.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teachings of Pittman et al for a smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the conductive non-woven web fabric can be utilized for tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
Regarding independent claim 26, Pittman et al (US 5102727A) teaches, A nonwoven fabric (element 19, lines 53, figures 2-6) comprising: at least one conductive member, wherein said at least one conductive member is embedded in a controlled location within said nonwoven fabric at one of the stages of the fabric production (figure 2-6, an electrically conductive textile fabric is provided having a conductivity gradient therein created by selective arrangement of yarns of varying conductivity, preferably by weaving or knitting. The gradient is created by concentrating relatively high conductivity yarns in a first area of the fabric and concentrating relatively low conductivity yarns in a second area of the fabric, lines 15-22, column 2), wherein said at least one conductive member comprising a conductive material (lines 15-22, column 2), wherein said stage of the production is selected from web forming or web bonding, wherein the web bonding method is selected from stitch bond, thermal bond, needle punch, chemical bond, hydroentangling, or any combination thereof, and wherein said at least one conductive member comprising a thread, a yarn, lose fibers, or any combination thereof (Referring to FIG. 6, non-woven fabric 19 having warp yarns 20, 20' and 20" which are alternately
overlaid and underlaid by weft yarns 21,21' and 21". The warp and weft yarns are held together with an adhesive, such as polyvinyl acetate, as is well known in the art. Alternatively, the yarns may be held together by any of a variety of known techniques such as applying a backing of plastic film or adhesion to a needle punched batt. As in the example shown in FIG. 4, the weft yarns 21, 21' and 21" vary in conductivity from high to low based upon the thickness of conductive polymer coating deposited thereon. Additionally, fabric 19 illustrates that the conductivity of the warp yarns may be varied to create a gradient from Side J to opposite side K and used in combination with weft yarns which vary in conductivity from top H to bottom I resulting in the least conductive area being the lower, right-hand corner of fabric 19 and the area of greatest conductivity being the upper left-hand corner of fabric 19. Thus, warp yarns 20, 20' and 20" may also vary in conductivity based upon their having been rendered more or less conductive by deposition of a conductive polymer thereon (Lines 53-68, column 4; line 7, column 5, also see evidence Gladish quoted below), wherein said electronic component is a resistor, capacitor, diode, potentiometer, transistor, or any combination thereof (conductive textile is part of an electronic component incorporated into the body of a military aircraft or other vehicle to minimize the radar profile of the aircraft or vehicle to avoid detection and identification (lines 48-59, column 1), or wherein said at least one conductive member is placed on both sides of the fabric (figures 1-6, lines 14-51, column 2, and further description of figures 1-6 in columns 3 and 4).
Evidence: Furthermore (1) web forming; (2) web bonding; and (3) fabric finishing and web bonding are standard processes used in forming non-woven textiles. Gladish (US 2017/0298548 A1) teaches, [0010] A process based on fiber creation requires three main production principles: (1) web forming; (2) web bonding; and (3) fabric finishing. Web bonding can take place via chemical, thermal, or mechanical bonding. Chemical bonding, for example, can be a liquid-based bonding agent or a water-based binder. This bonding can be applied as a coating, which may be printed, or impregnated on the fabric. Options for thermal bonding include: heat and pressure; heat and contact; or powder bonding. Mechanical bonding methods can include needle punching, stitch bonding, or hydro-entanglement).
Pittman et al (US 5102727A) is silent about, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of force applied by touching the fabric or any part thereof wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of change in the shape or dimensions of said at least one conductive member, caused by mechanical force, temperature, humidity, or any combination thereof.
Bozkurt et al (US 20170224280 A1) teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of force applied by touching the fabric or any part thereof wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of change in the shape or dimensions of said at least one conductive member, caused by mechanical force, temperature, humidity, or any combination thereof (A smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials. A sensing
system comprising: a first set of strands including a plurality of first multi-component strands, each of the first multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion; and a second set of strands including a plurality of second multi-component strands, each of the second multicomponent strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, and a plurality of third multi-component strands, each of the third multicomponent strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, the third multi-component strands being different than the first multi-component strands and the second multi-component strands (abstract). [0036] In one embodiment, the invention provides a sensing system comprising a first set of strands, a second set of strands, and a circuit. The first set of strands include a plurality of first multi-component strands, each of the first multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion. The second set of strands includes a plurality of second multi-component strands, each of the second multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, and a plurality of third multi-component strands, each of the third multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, the third multi-component strands being different than the first multi-component strands and the second multi-component strands. The second multi-component strands are oriented orthogonal relative to the first multi-component strands to form a plurality of first texels, and the third multi-component strands are oriented orthogonal relative to the first multi-component strands to form a plurality of second texels. The circuit is electrically coupled to the first texels to detect a change in capacitance or a change in impedance at the first texels, the circuit electrically coupled to the
second texels to detect a signal at the second texels. [0079] As illustrated in FIG. 2, embodiments of the invention utilize the unique orthogonal structure of FIRST where the intersection (cross-over) of each row (filling) and column (warp) of yarns, defined as a sensor “texel,” is used to sense three different physiologically relevant parameters. The impedance of the texel is used to detect applied tactile forces as well as presence of moisture and wetness. The intermediate conducting layer of the multi-component strand is used as surface electrodes to record biopotentials. The multi-component strands are weaved in a multiple layer structure to form a fabric where the fabric eventually has a 3-dimensional array of texels as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4 to achieve distributed sensing. One of the primary considerations in the design of multi-component strands is the component cross-sectional geometry as well as the electrical and mechanical behavior of the individual materials.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teachings of Pittman et al for a smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the conductive non-woven web fabric can be utilized for tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
Conclusion
/SURESH K RAJAPUTRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 3/2/2026