Detailed Action
2. This office action is in response to the filing with the office dated 07/05/2026.
Reply to Applicant’s Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments along with claim amendments filed with the office on 07/05/2026 have been fully considered and found to be non-persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are directed to amended claim limitations.
Regarding applicant’s arguments (item 1) about Pittman et al “It does not disclose or suggest conductive members designed for active measurement of applied force or shape/dimensional changes through impedance/capacitance shifts in a texel structure. Pittman's yarns are static conductors, not dynamic sensors responsive to mechanical force, temperature, or humidity”, examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that Pittman et al is being citated for and teaches, creating a non-woven fabric with a conductivity gradient.
Applicant’s argument about Pittman’s yarns are static conductors is non-persuasive, since the claim language requires “at least one conductive member integrated in a controlled location within a said nonwoven fabric”, examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that the argument about a static or dynamic sensors is related to subject matter not related to the recited claim language.
Applicant’s arguments (item 2) regarding Bozkurt et al are not persuasive since Bozkurt et al teaches applications of CoMFi include, but are not limited to, specialty fibers for thermal bonding in nonwovens ([0005]).
Applicant’s arguments (item 3), Gladish was only cited as evidence to show ([0010] A process based on fiber creation requires three main production principles: (1) web forming; (2) web bonding; and (3) fabric finishing. Web bonding can take place via chemical, thermal, or mechanical bonding. Chemical bonding, for example, can be a liquid-based bonding agent or a water-based binder. This bonding can be applied as a coating, which may be printed, or impregnated on the fabric. Options for thermal bonding include: heat and pressure; heat and contact; or powder bonding. Mechanical bonding methods can include needle punching, stitch bonding, or hydro-entanglement).
Applicant’s arguments (item 4), Applicant’s argument about motivation to combine Pittman and Bozkurt et al are non-persuasive, since one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Please see MPEP 7.37.13
Applicant’s arguments (items 1-5) directed towards the amended claim limitations and unexpected results are moot, since the final rejection cites a new reference Manipatruni et al (US 20140170920 A1) as the primary reference. Please see claims 1, 5-16, 18, 19, 25, 27 and 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1); Claims 20 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) and in view of Bozkurt et al (US 2017/0224280 A1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim objections/corrections
4. Claim 12 recites “wherein said electronic component is based on the differentiation of conductivity within said at last one conductive member”. For examination purposes, with instant specification as guidance, this recitation is being interpreted as “wherein said electronic component is based on the differentiation of conductivity within said at least one conductive member”.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
5. Claims 1, 5-16, 18, 19, 25, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Manipatruni et al (US 20140170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric ([0019] flexible electrically functional fibers are provided that can provide electrical functionality to flexible substrates such as woven and non-woven fabrics; [0056] The functional fiber can be woven conventionally with textile fibers into an electrically functional fabric or can be made into an electrically functional non-woven fabric) comprising: at least one conductive member, wherein said at least one conductive member is integrated in a controlled location within said nonwoven fabric at one of the stages of the fabric production, wherein said at least one conductive member comprising a conductive material (fig. 1A, paragraph [0016] a fabric is provided that includes electronic and computing functionality that can be used anywhere that conventional woven and non-woven textiles can be used, for example in clothing, footwear, sporting goods, upholstery and other applications. The fabric may include flexible electrically functional fibers that impart electronic functionality to the fabric without adversely affecting the appearance and/or feel of
the fabric. The flexible electrically functional fibers can include conductive materials, dielectric materials and semiconductor materials , [0020]), wherein said stage of the production is selected from web forming or web bonding, wherein the web bonding method is selected from stitch bond, thermal bond, needle punch, chemical bond, hydroentangling, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0042], [0048]), and wherein said at least one conductive member
comprising a thread, a yarn, loose fibers, or any combination thereof, wherein said at least one conductive member is integrated within the fabric in such a way wherein said at least one conductive member is covered from all sides by the fibers of the fabric (figures 5, 6, paragraphs [0045], [0046]), wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of change in the shape or dimensions of said at least one conductive member force applied by touching the fabric or any part thereof via detecting a change in electrical properties of the conductive member (paragraph [0023], [0035], [0036], [0043]), wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of change in the shape or dimensions of said at least one conductive member, caused by mechanical force, temperature, humidity, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0023], [0035], [0036], [0043]), and wherein said at least one conductive member comprises multi-component strands having conductive and non-conductive portions arranged to form texels that exhibit measurable impedance or capacitance changes responsive to said forces and environmental conditions (paragraphs [0035], [0043]-[0047], [0052]).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein said conductive member material is selected from metal, polymer, semiconductor, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0016], [0020], [0024]).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Manipatruni et al (US 20140170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein multiple said at least one conductive member, comprising different materials with different conductivity (paragraph [0020]).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member consisting of said conductive material (paragraph [0020]).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member comprising a coating made of said conductive material (paragraphs [0020], [0024], [0025], [0028]).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is an electronic component ([0069] A flexible electrically functional woven or non-woven fabric can comprise a plurality of textile fibers and at least one flexible electrically functional fiber capable of at least one of providing energy storage and/or electrical interconnection to an electrical component. A functional fabric can include, for example, a microprocessor, a power source, a switch, a transducer, a light emitting device, a data storage device, a radiative element, a transmitter, a receiver or any combination thereof. The functional fabric can include a flexible electrically functional fiber that comprises a core surrounded by an insulative coating. The flexible fiber can include a plurality of individual electrical elements in an embedding material and may include a core surrounded by a first conductive layer, a dielectric layer, a second conductive layer and an outer coating. The fabric may include a fiber that in turn may include a low-k material, a high-k material, a piezoelectric material, a piezo-luminescent material or any combination thereof and the fiber may have a natural bending radius of less than 1.0 mm. The fabric may include a fiber that comprises a protrusion extending through an outer layer, the protrusion in electrical contact with a computing element.).
Regarding dependent claim 10, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is a part of an electronic component ([0069]).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 9.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein said electronic component is based on the differentiation of conductivity between multiple of said at last one conductive member ([0020], [0035] Functional fibers can also incorporate electrical devices integrally into the fiber. For example, functional fibers can include memory devices, input devices and output devices. These devices can include, in some embodiments, transducers such as piezoelectric devices. For example, dielectric layer 40 as shown in FIG. 1C can be replaced, or partially replaced, with a piezo electric material to give piezo electric functionality to the fiber. A piezo functional layer may be, for example, a piezoelectric material or a piezo-luminescent material and can be embedded in the capacitance between conductive layers 30 and 50, for example. Functional fibers including piezo functional materials as described herein may be woven into fabrics and formed into twisted pairs as shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, in some embodiments. Suitable piezo active materials that can be incorporated into a functional fiber include, for example, those described above in reference to core 20. [0052] the process of FIG. 8 can also be configured to modify the material deposition on the fly to create, for example, alternate layers of high capacitance and low capacitance areas on the fiber, depending on the thickness and/or type of dielectric material used between the conductive layers).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 9.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein said electronic component is based on the differentiation of conductivity within said at last one conductive member ([0035] Functional fibers can also incorporate electrical devices integrally into the fiber. For example, functional fibers can include memory devices, input devices and output devices. These devices can include, in some embodiments, transducers such as piezoelectric devices. For example, dielectric layer 40 as shown in FIG. 1C can be replaced, or partially replaced, with a piezo electric material to give piezo electric functionality to the fiber. A piezo functional layer may be, for example, a piezoelectric material or a piezo-luminescent material and can be embedded in the capacitance between conductive layers 30 and 50, for example. Functional fibers including piezo functional materials as described herein may be woven into fabrics and formed into twisted pairs as shown in FIGS. 2A and 2B, in some embodiments. Suitable piezo active materials that can be incorporated into a functional fiber include, for example, those described above in reference to core 20.[0052] the process of FIG. 8 can also be configured to modify the material deposition on the fly to create, for example, alternate layers of high capacitance and low capacitance areas on the fiber, depending on the thickness and/or type of dielectric material used between the conductive layers).
Regarding dependent claim 13, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 9.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein said electronic component is a resistor, capacitor, diode, potentiometer, transistor, or any combination thereof ([0069], [0070] In one set of embodiments, a functional fabric may exhibit a natural bending radius of less than 5 cm and/or may have a thread count of greater than 50 per square inch. The fabric may include a hybrid thread comprising a flexible electrically functional fiber and a textile fiber. The fabric may comprise a planar phased array, may include conductance shielding and may include a transmitter and receiver. The functional elements of the fabric can include, for example, computing elements selected from organic computing elements and inorganic computing elements. Computing elements may comprise a die, may have a surface area of less than 1 mm.sup.2, and the elements may be interconnected to at least one flexible electrically functional fiber. In some embodiments, the functional fabric can include an output device which can be, for example, one or more light emitting elements and/or one or more luminescent fibers. The fabric may also include a microphone and a storage device, for example).
Regarding dependent claim 14, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is placed on one side of the fabric on top of other fibers ([0069], [0070] In one set of embodiments, a functional fabric may exhibit a natural bending radius of less than 5 cm and/or may have a thread count of greater than 50 per square inch. The fabric may include a hybrid thread comprising a flexible electrically functional fiber and a textile fiber. The fabric may comprise a planar phased array, may include conductance shielding and may include a transmitter and receiver. The functional elements of the fabric can include, for example, computing elements selected from organic computing elements and inorganic computing elements. Computing elements may comprise a die, may have a surface area of less than 1 mm.sup.2, and the elements may be interconnected to at least one flexible electrically functional fiber. In some embodiments, the functional fabric can include an output device which can be, for example, one or more light emitting elements and/or one or more luminescent fibers. The fabric may also include a microphone and a storage device, for example).
Regarding dependent claim 15, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is placed on both sides of the fabric ([0069], [0070]).
Regarding dependent claim 16, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches wherein said at least one conductive member is placed as part of the fabric web replacing the fibers of the fabric (Figs. 3, 5-7 paragraph [0042], [0043]).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein multiple of said at least one conductive member are placed in different areas of said fabric (Figs. 3, 5-7, paragraph [0042], [0043]).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches A nonwoven fabric of claim 18.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein said different areas create a pattern or a matrix (Figs. 3, 5-7, paragraph [0042], [0043]).
Regarding independent claim 25, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A method to produce a nonwoven fabric (paragraph [0052], [0056]) comprising: web formation, web bonding, and finishing (paragraphs [0042], [0048]), wherein at least one conductive member is integrated into the fabric in a controlled location ((fig. 1A, paragraph [0016] a fabric is provided that includes electronic and computing functionality that can be used anywhere that conventional woven and non-woven textiles can be used, for example in clothing,
footwear, sporting goods, upholstery and other applications. The fabric may include flexible electrically functional fibers that impart electronic functionality to the fabric without adversely affecting the appearance and/or feel of
the fabric. The flexible electrically functional fibers can include conductive materials, dielectric materials and semiconductor materials, [0020])) and wherein said at least one conductive member is integrated into the fabric during said web formation or web bonding stages, wherein the web bonding method is selected from stitch bond, thermal bond, needle punch, chemical
bond, hydroentangling, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0048]), and wherein said at least one conductive member comprises a thread, a yarn, loose fibers, or any combination thereof (figures 5, 6, paragraphs [0045], [0046]), wherein said at least one conductive member is integrated within the fabric in such a way wherein said at least one conductive member is covered from all sides by the fibers of the fabric (figures 5, 6, paragraphs [0045], [0046]), wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of change in the shape or dimensions of said at least one conductive member force applied by touching the fabric or any part thereof via detecting a change in electrical properties of the conductive member (paragraph [0023], [0035], [0036], [0043]), wherein said
at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of change in the shape or dimensions of said at least one conductive member, caused by mechanical force, temperature, humidity, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0023], [0035], [0036], [0043]-[0047]), wherein the conductive member comprises multi-component strands having conductive and non-conductive portions arranged to form texels that exhibit measurable impedance or capacitance changes responsive to said forces and environmental conditions (paragraphs [0035], [0052]).
Regarding independent claim 27, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric ([0019] flexible electrically functional fibers are provided that can provide electrical functionality to flexible substrates such as woven and non-woven fabrics; [0056] The functional fiber can be woven conventionally with textile fibers into an electrically functional fabric or can be made into an electrically functional non-woven fabric) comprising: at
least one conductive member, wherein said at least one conductive member is integrated in a controlled location within said nonwoven fabric at one of the stages of the fabric production, wherein said at least one conductive member comprises a conductive material (fig. 1A, paragraph [0016] a fabric is provided that includes electronic and computing functionality that can be used anywhere that conventional woven and non-woven textiles can be
used, for example in clothing, footwear, sporting goods, upholstery and other applications. The fabric may include flexible electrically functional fibers that impart electronic functionality to the fabric without adversely affecting the appearance and/or feel of the fabric. The flexible electrically functional fibers can include conductive materials, dielectric materials and semiconductor materials, [0020]), wherein said stage of the production is selected from web forming or web bonding, wherein the web bonding method is selected from stitch bond, thermal bond, needle punch, chemical bond, hydroentangling, or any combination thereof (paragraphs [0042], [0048]), and wherein said at least one conductive member comprises a thread, a yarn, loose fibers, or any combination thereof (figures 5, 6, paragraphs [0045], [0046]), wherein said at least one conductive member is in communication with or has integrated therein, an electronic component from the group consisting of resistors, capacitors, diodes, potentiometers, transistors, or any combination thereof ([0069] A flexible electrically functional woven or non-woven fabric can comprise a plurality of textile fibers and at least one
flexible electrically functional fiber capable of at least one of providing energy storage and/or electrical interconnection to an electrical component. A functional fabric can include, for example, a microprocessor, a power source, a switch, a transducer, a light emitting device, a data storage device, a radiative element, a transmitter, a receiver or any combination thereof. The functional fabric can include a flexible electrically functional fiber that
comprises a core surrounded by an insulative coating. The flexible fiber can include a plurality of individual electrical elements in an embedding material and may include a core surrounded by a first conductive layer, a dielectric layer, a second conductive layer and an outer coating. The fabric may include a fiber that in turn may include a low-k material, a high-k material, a piezoelectric material, a piezo-luminescent material or any combination thereof and the fiber may have a natural bending radius of less than 1.0 mm. The fabric may include a fiber that comprises a protrusion extending through an outer layer, the protrusion in electrical contact with a computing element), wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of change in the shape or dimensions of said at least one conductive member force applied by touching the fabric or any part thereof via detecting a change in electrical properties of the conductive member with the electronic component (paragraph [0023], [0035], [0036], [0043]), wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of change in the shape or dimensions of said at least one conductive member, caused by mechanical force, temperature, humidity, or any combination thereof (paragraph [0023], [0035], [0036], [0043]-[0047]), wherein the conductive member comprises multi-component strands having conductive and non-conductive portions arranged to form texels (paragraphs [0019], [0027]) that exhibit measurable impedance or capacitance changes responsive to said forces and environmental conditions (paragraphs [0035], [0052]).
Regarding dependent claim 28, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, a nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) further teaches, wherein the said at least one conductive member is placed on both sides of the fabric ([0045] FIG. 5 illustrates an embodiment where an electronic device that is not an integral part of a functional fiber is incorporated into a fabric. Device 550 represents an active electronic element such as, for example, a computing element, a sensing element, a communications element, a photovoltaic cell, a solar cell or a data storage element. For instance, device 550 can be, in some embodiments, a microprocessor. Device 550 can be produced using known techniques and can then be integrated into functional fabric 500 by forming electrical connections at, for example, contact points 542a-c. At these contact points, device 550 can be in electrical communication with the functional fibers in the fabric. For example, contact 542a connects device 550 with functional fiber 410a; contact 542b connects device 550 with functional fiber 512a; and contact 542c connects device 550 with functional fiber 512b. These contact points can also be used to secure device 550 to functional fabric 500. In alternative embodiments, device 550 can be electrically connected to one, two, three, four, five or more functional fibers. Contact points need not be exclusively along the edge of device 550, but may, for example, be on the bottom or top surface of device 550. Device 550 may also be optionally electrically connected, via wire or wirelessly, to connectors and devices that do not form part of the functional fabric. [0054] After the third layer of the fiber is complete, the fiber can include, for example, low-k material, electrically functional materials such as piezoelectric materials, or linear portions of each. The fiber may then be pulled through third coating device 840 which can apply a second electrically conductive layer. The methods of application can be the same or different from those used to apply the first conductive layer in coating device 820. As with coating device 820, the fiber may be passed through third coating device 840 one, two, three or more times via 844. In certain embodiments, portions of layer 50 may be built up (not shown) so that the portion extends outward from the core to an extent equal to, or beyond, the expected outer diameter of the outer layer (16 in FIG. 1C). This extended portion can act as a contact for non-integral electronic devices that may be connected to a fiber or functional fabric in a later step. In some embodiments the extended contact portion may extend axially around the fiber or, in additional embodiments, can be more limited and may form a single contact at one specific point on the circumference of the fiber. Devices may be electronically connected to layer 50 (or any other layer including such a contact) by, for example, soldering or thermal bonding).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
6. Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) and in view of Bozkurt et al (US 2017/0224280 A1).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches, A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) is silent about, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the detection of liquid.
Bozkurt et al (US 2017/0224280 A1) teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the detection of liquid (Bozkurt et al teaches applications of CoMFi include, but are not limited to, specialty fibers for thermal bonding in nonwovens ([0005]). A smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials. A sensing system comprising: a first set of strands including a plurality of first multi-component strands, each of the first multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion; and a second set of strands including a plurality of second multi-component strands, each of the second multicomponent strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, and a plurality of third multi-component strands, each of the third multicomponent strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, the third multi-component strands being different than the first multi-component strands and the second multi-component strands (abstract). [0036] In one embodiment, the invention provides a sensing system comprising a first set of strands, a second set of strands, and a circuit. The first set of strands include a plurality of first multi-component strands, each of the first multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion. The second set of strands
includes a plurality of second multi-component strands, each of the second multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, and a plurality of third multi-component strands, each of the third multi-component strands including a conductive portion and a non-conductive portion, the third multi-component strands being different than the first multi-component strands and the second multi-component strands. The second multi-component strands are oriented orthogonal relative to the first multi-component strands to form a plurality of first texels, and the third multi-component strands are oriented orthogonal relative to the first multi-component strands to form a plurality of second texels. The circuit is electrically coupled to the first texels to detect a change in capacitance or a change in impedance at the first texels, the circuit electrically coupled to the second texels to detect a signal at the second texels. [0079] As illustrated in FIG. 2, embodiments of the invention utilize the unique orthogonal structure of FIRST where the intersection (cross-over) of each row (filling) and column (warp) of yarns, defined as a sensor “texel,” is used to sense three different physiologically relevant parameters. The impedance of the texel is used to detect applied tactile forces as well as presence of moisture and wetness. The intermediate conducting layer of the multi-component strand is used as surface electrodes to record biopotentials. The multi-component strands are weaved in a multiple layer structure to form a fabric where the fabric eventually has a 3-dimensional array of texels as illustrated in FIGS. 3 and 4 to achieve distributed sensing. One of the primary considerations in
the design of multi-component strands is the component cross-sectional geometry as well as the electrical and mechanical behavior of the individual materials. [0080] With reference to FIG. 2, the multicomponent polymeric fiber, or multi-component strand, is a monofilament yarn made of a conductive layer at the center surrounded by a patterned insulating cladding polymer. Initially, three different cross-sections as illustrated in FIG. 4 are used to provide efficient electrodes and capacitive/impedance textile arrays).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teachings of Manipatruni et al for a smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the conductive non-woven web fabric can be utilized for tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
Regarding dependent claim 21, Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) teaches A nonwoven fabric of claim 1.
Manipatruni et al (US 2014/0170920 A1) is silent about, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of the level of humidity or the amount of liquid.
Bozkurt et al (US 2017/0224280 A1) further teaches, wherein said at least one conductive member is designed to allow the measurement of the level of humidity or the amount of liquid (Bozkurt et al teaches applications of CoMFi include, but are not limited to, specialty fibers for thermal bonding in nonwovens ([0005]). A smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials abstract, also see paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teachings of Manipatruni et al for a smart patch including multi-component strands integrated into clothing or other textiles where the strands of the smart patch include sensory elements that can simultaneously measure tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification so that the conductive non-woven web fabric can be utilized for tactile forces, moisture/wetness, and other signals, such as biopotentials, as taught by Bozkurt et al (paragraphs [0036], [0079]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SURESH K RAJAPUTRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858