DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Four (4) information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) were submitted on 07/10/2023, 02/29/2024, 07/23/2024, and 11/17/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the suffix “type” in the phrase “converter-type” renders the claim indefinite because the scope of the term is unclear. A converter is a known and well-defined furnace in the art. By adding the ending “-type” to the term “converter,” the meaning of the phrase “converter-type” is expanded. But without any guidance as to which furnaces do and do not qualify as a converter-type, the phrase lacks definiteness and clarity. Thus, the meaning of the phrase cannot be ascertained. See MPEP § 2173.05(b)(III)(E).
Further regarding claim 1, the limitation reciting “as far as to a position lower than an upper end inside the converter-type vessel” is indefinite because it lacks clarity. Without a defined depth or segment of the upper end, one cannot determine how far deep into the converter furnace one must insert the blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance to ensure that the lance is at a position lower than an upper end of the converter.
Further regarding claim 1, the limitation reciting “as far as to a position lower than an upper end inside the converter-type vessel” is indefinite because it is ambiguous. It is unclear whether the limitation applies to the blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance, the burner lance, or to both lances.
Regarding claims 2-4, the claims are likewise rejected, as they include all limitations of rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2014-205879 (A) to Naka et al. (“Naka”) (computer-generated translation is attached).
Regarding claim 1, Naka discloses a method for supplying chromium ore to molten iron for smelting and refining (molten iron refining method for refining molten iron). Abstract; p. 1 – first paragraph; p. 4 – penultimate paragraph; p. 5 – penultimate paragraph. Auxiliary materials may be added in the method (adding an auxiliary material). Pages 3-4 – bridging paragraph; p. 5 – penultimate paragraph; p. 6 – fourth full paragraph.
The method is carried out in a smelting facility (1) comprising a reaction vessel (2) (converter-type vessel), an oxidizing gas supply lance (3) (blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance), and a chromium ore supply lance (4) (at least one burner lance). Fig. 1; pp. 2-3 – bridging paragraph. The reaction vessel (2) holds molten iron (6) (molten iron contained in a converter-type vessel). Page 3 – first full paragraph.
The oxidizing gas supply lance (3) supplies oxidizing gas into the reaction vessel (blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance supplies the oxidizing gas and blows oxidizing gas onto the molten iron). Page 3 – second full paragraph. The oxidizing gas supply lance (3) can be vertically moved (blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance is capable of ascending and descending) and its end is positioned below the top of the reaction vessel (2) (lowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance is inserted as far as to a position lower than an upper end inside the converter-type vessel). Pages 2-3 – bridging paragraph; Fig. 1.
The chromium ore supply lance (4) is provided separately and is vertically movable (burner lance is capable of ascending and descending independently of the blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance). Pages 2-3 – bridging paragraph. Fuel (12) and oxidizing gas (11) are connected to the chromium ore supply lance (4) and form a flame at the tip (forming a flame by causing the burner lance to discharge fuel gas and combustion-supporting gas). Page 3 – fifth full paragraph.
A mixture (13) (powder particles) is reacted so as to pass through the flame formed at the tip of the chromium ore supply lance (4) (causing powder particles to be discharged from the burner lance to pass through the flame). Page 3 – sixth full paragraph. By passing mixture (13) and smelting powder through the flame, they are heated to a higher temperature and then supplied to the molten iron (6), and the mixture (13) is raised in temperature, with the heat being used to main the temperature in the reaction vessel at a temperature suitable for smelting reduction (powder particles are blown onto the molten iron in a heat-transferred state to achieve thermal compensation of the molten iron). Pages 3-4 – bridging paragraph; p. 4 – first full paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0020648 (A1) to Nakase et al. (“Nakase”) in view of JP 2014-159632 (A) to Uchida et al. (“Uchida”) (computer-generated translation is attached) and further in view of Naka.
Regarding claim 2, Nakase is drawn to a method for refining hot metal (molten iron) in a converter utilizing cold iron source such as iron and steel scrap (molten steel manufacturing method). Abstract; para. [0001]. The molten iron is a high-carbon-containing molten metal (Table 1), typically produced by reducing and melting iron ore in a blast furnace (pig iron) (para. [0002]).
The method includes a step of charging cold iron source and hot metal into a converter body (first raw material charging step of charging a cold iron source and molten iron to a first furnace of a converter-type vessel to form molten iron). Para. [0044]-[0046]. The hot metal can be desiliconized in advance. Para. [0046]. Slag formed during desiliconization is discharged before dephosphorization (an intermediate slag removal step of removing slag formed in the desiliconization step). Para. [0029].
The method additionally includes a dephosphorizing step, wherein oxidizing gas is supplied via a top-blowing lance (dephosphorization blowing step of performing a dephosphorization blowing by blowing oxidizing gas from the blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance). Para. [0046]-[0047]. A lime-based flux, e.g., quicklime (CaO) or converter slag from the decarburization, may be separately charged onto the hot metal from an overhead hopper (also charging a CaO-containing refining agent or recycled slag from a furnace top). Para. [0052], [0053].
After dephosphorization, the converter body is tilted to tap the dephosphorized hot metal from the tap hole into a hot metal vessel such as a ladle or converter charging ladle, and the tapped hot metal is subjected to the next step (molten metal tapping step of tapping molten metal resulting from the desphosphorization blowing step). Para. [0058].
The method may further comprise a decarburization step applied to dephosphorized hot metal. Para. [0028]. The aforementioned steps as applied to the dephosphorizing may be applied to the decarburization of hot metal in a converter using the aforementioned oxidation refining process (second raw material charging step; decarburization blowing step; molten steel discharging step). Para. [0061].
Nakase is silent regarding specific details of the desiliconization step.
Uchida is drawn to a method for pre-treating molten iron comprising a silicon removal (desiliconization) step, a dephosphorization step, and a decarburization step. Abstract; p. 5 – fourth and fifth paragraphs; p. 6 – third paragraph; p. 10 – third paragraph. The silicon removal step includes supplying an oxygen-containing gas from the tip of an upper blowing lance toward the hot metal (desiliconization blowing step of performing a desiliconization blowing on the molten iron formed in the first raw material charging step by blowing oxidizing gas). Page 5 – sixth paragraph. During silicon removal, CaO is also added by a lance (blowing CaO-containing refining agent onto the molten iron from a blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance). Page 9 – first, second, and third paragraphs. CaO can also be introduced from a hopper on the furnace (also charging either a CaO-containing refining agent or recycled slag from a furnace top). Page 9 – second paragraph.
It is important to carry out the desiliconization in this manner so that the phosphorus in the dephosphorization step can be more effectively removed. Page 8 – seventh paragraph. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the desiliconization process of Uchida as the desiliconization step of Nakase because it would improve the effectiveness of the Nakase’s dephosphorization step by better preparing the hot metal for phosphorus removal.
Nakase and Uchida do not disclose incorporating the method of claim 1 for one or more of the desiliconization, dephosphorization, and decarburization steps.
Naka discloses a method for supplying chromium ore to molten iron for smelting and refining. Abstract; p. 1 – first paragraph; p. 4 – penultimate paragraph; p. 5 – penultimate paragraph. Naka discloses the details of method of claim 1, as addressed above. By passing a mixture and smelting powder through a flame, the materials are heated to a higher temperature and then supplied to the molten iron, and the temperature of the materials are raised such that the heat is used to maintain the temperature in the reaction vessel at a temperature suitable for smelting reduction. Pages 3-4 – bridging paragraph; p. 4 – first full paragraph.
Nakase also teaches the use of flames to heat materials so that heat from the flame is efficiently transferred to the hot metal. Para. [0060]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the method of Naka in at least one of the desiliconization, dephosphorization, and decarburization steps of Nakase, as modified by Uchida, because Naka’s method aligns with Nakase’s objective of efficient heat transfer, ensuring that heat from the flame is transferred to the hot metal the temperature in the converter vessel is maintained.
Regarding claim 3, Nakase is drawn to a method for refining hot metal (molten iron) in a converter utilizing cold iron source such as iron and steel scrap (molten steel manufacturing method). Abstract; para. [0001]. The molten iron is a high-carbon-containing molten metal (Table 1), typically produced by reducing and melting iron ore in a blast furnace (pig iron) (para. [0002]).
The method includes a step of charging cold iron source and hot metal into a converter body (raw material charging step of charging a cold iron source and molten iron to a first furnace of a converter-type vessel to form molten iron). Para. [0044]-[0046]. The hot metal can be desiliconized in advance. Para. [0046]. Slag formed during desiliconization is discharged before dephosphorization (an intermediate slag removal step of removing slag formed in the desiliconization step). Para. [0029].
The method additionally includes a dephosphorizing step, wherein oxidizing gas and lime-based flux, e.g., quicklime (CaO) or converter slag from the decarburization, is supplied via a top-blowing lance (dephosphorization blowing step of performing a dephosphorization blowing by blowing oxidizing gas and a CaO-containing refining agent onto the molten iron from the blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance). Para. [0046]-[0047]. The lime-based flux may be separately charged onto the hot metal from an overhead hopper (also charging a CaO-containing refining agent or recycled slag from a furnace top). Para. [0052], [0053].
After dephosphorization, the converter body is tilted to tap the dephosphorized hot metal from the tap hole into a hot metal vessel such as a ladle or converter charging ladle, and the tapped hot metal is subjected to the next step. Para. [0058]. By tapping the dephosphorized metal, it is separated from the dephosphorization slag (an intermediate slag removal step of removing slag formed in the dephosphorization step).
The method may further comprise a decarburization step applied to dephosphorized hot metal. Para. [0028]. The aforementioned steps as applied to the dephosphorizing may be applied to the decarburization of hot metal in a converter using the aforementioned oxidation refining process (decarburization blowing step; molten steel discharging step). Para. [0061].
Nakase is silent regarding specific details of the desiliconization step.
Uchida is drawn to a method for pre-treating molten iron comprising a silicon removal (desiliconization) step, a dephosphorization step, and a decarburization step. Abstract; p. 5 – fourth and fifth paragraphs; p. 6 – third paragraph; p. 10 – third paragraph. The silicon removal step includes supplying an oxygen-containing gas from the tip of an upper blowing lance toward the hot metal (desiliconization blowing step of performing a desiliconization blowing on the molten iron formed in the first raw material charging step by blowing oxidizing gas). Page 5 – sixth paragraph. During silicon removal, CaO is also added by a lance (blowing CaO-containing refining agent onto the molten iron from a blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance). Page 9 – first, second, and third paragraphs. CaO can also be introduced from a hopper on the furnace (also charging either a CaO-containing refining agent or recycled slag from a furnace top). Page 9 – second paragraph.
The desiliconized slag is discharged. Page 9 – last paragraph. The hot metal is subjected to dephosphorization by supplying CaO-based material and an oxygen source to the molten iron by lance (blowing oxidizing gas and CaO-containing refining agent onto molten iron from a blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance). Page 10 – third and fourth paragraphs. CaO can also be introduced from a hopper on the furnace (also charging either a CaO-containing refining agent or recycled slag from a furnace top). Page 10 – fourth paragraph. The slag is separated from the dephosphorized metal (intermediate slag removal step). Page 10 – sixth paragraph.
It is important to carry out the desiliconization in this manner so that the phosphorus in the dephosphorization step can be more effectively removed. Page 8 – seventh paragraph. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the desiliconization process of Uchida as the desiliconization step of Nakase because it would improve the effectiveness of the Nakase’s dephosphorization step by better preparing the hot metal for phosphorus removal.
Nakase and Uchida do not disclose incorporating the method of claim 1 for at least one step selected from desiliconization and dephosphorization blowing step and the decarburization blowing step.
Naka discloses a method for supplying chromium ore to molten iron for smelting and refining. Abstract; p. 1 – first paragraph; p. 4 – penultimate paragraph; p. 5 – penultimate paragraph. Naka discloses the details of method of claim 1, as addressed above. By passing a mixture and smelting powder through a flame, the materials are heated to a higher temperature and then supplied to the molten iron, and the temperature of the materials are raised such that the heat is used to maintain the temperature in the reaction vessel at a temperature suitable for smelting reduction. Pages 3-4 – bridging paragraph; p. 4 – first full paragraph.
Nakase also teaches the use of flames to heat materials so that heat from the flame is efficiently transferred to the hot metal. Para. [0060]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the method of Naka in at least one of the desiliconization, dephosphorization, and decarburization steps of Nakase, as modified by Uchida, because Naka’s method aligns with Nakase’s objective of efficient heat transfer, ensuring that heat from the flame is transferred to the hot metal the temperature in the converter vessel is maintained.
Regarding claim 4, Nakase is drawn to a method for refining hot metal (molten iron) in a converter utilizing cold iron source such as iron and steel scrap (molten steel manufacturing method). Abstract; para. [0001]. The molten iron is a high-carbon-containing molten metal (Table 1), typically produced by reducing and melting iron ore in a blast furnace (pig iron) (para. [0002]).
The method includes a step of charging cold iron source and hot metal into a converter body (raw material charging step of charging a cold iron source and molten iron to a first furnace of a converter-type vessel to form molten iron). Para. [0044]-[0046]. The hot metal can be desiliconized in advance. Para. [0046].
The method additionally includes a dephosphorizing step, wherein oxidizing gas and lime-based flux, e.g., quicklime (CaO) or converter slag from the decarburization, is supplied via a top-blowing lance (dephosphorization blowing step of performing a dephosphorization blowing by blowing oxidizing gas and a CaO-containing refining agent onto the molten iron from the blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance). Para. [0046]-[0047]. The lime-based flux may be separately charged onto the hot metal from an overhead hopper (also charging a CaO-containing refining agent or recycled slag from a furnace top). Para. [0052], [0053]. After dephosphorization, the converter body is tilted to tap the dephosphorized hot metal from the tap hole into a hot metal vessel such as a ladle or converter charging ladle, and the tapped hot metal is subjected to the next step. Para. [0058].
The method may further comprise a decarburization step applied to dephosphorized hot metal. Para. [0028]. The aforementioned steps as applied to the dephosphorizing may be applied to the decarburization of hot metal in a converter using the aforementioned oxidation refining process (decarburization comprising blowing oxygen and CaO-containing refining agent from a lance; charging either CaO-containing refining agent or recycled slag from the furnace top; molten steel discharging step). Para. [0061].
Nakase is silent regarding specific details of the desiliconization step.
Uchida is drawn to a method for pre-treating molten iron comprising a silicon removal (desiliconization) step, a dephosphorization step, and a decarburization step. Abstract; p. 5 – fourth and fifth paragraphs; p. 6 – third paragraph; p. 10 – third paragraph. The silicon removal step includes supplying an oxygen-containing gas from the tip of an upper blowing lance toward the hot metal (performing desiliconization by blowing on the molten iron formed in the first raw material charging step by blowing oxidizing gas). Page 5 – sixth paragraph. During silicon removal, CaO is also added by a lance (blowing CaO-containing refining agent onto the molten iron from a blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance). Page 9 – first, second, and third paragraphs. CaO can also be introduced from a hopper on the furnace (also charging either a CaO-containing refining agent or recycled slag from a furnace top). Page 9 – second paragraph.
The hot metal is subjected to dephosphorization by supplying CaO-based material and an oxygen source to the molten iron by lance (dephosphorizing by blowing oxidizing gas and CaO-containing refining agent onto molten iron from a blowing-purpose oxygen-blowing lance). Page 10 – third and fourth paragraphs. CaO can also be introduced from a hopper on the furnace (also charging either a CaO-containing refining agent or recycled slag from a furnace top). Page 10 – fourth paragraph.
It is important to carry out the desiliconization in this manner so that the phosphorus in the dephosphorization step can be more effectively removed. Page 8 – seventh paragraph. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have implemented the desiliconization process of Uchida as the desiliconization step of Nakase because it would improve the effectiveness of the Nakase’s dephosphorization step by better preparing the hot metal for phosphorus removal.
Nakase and Uchida do not disclose incorporating the method of claim 1 for the blowing step of desiliconization, dephosphorization, and decarburization.
Naka discloses a method for supplying chromium ore to molten iron for smelting and refining. Abstract; p. 1 – first paragraph; p. 4 – penultimate paragraph; p. 5 – penultimate paragraph. Naka discloses the details of method of claim 1, as addressed above. By passing a mixture and smelting powder through a flame, the materials are heated to a higher temperature and then supplied to the molten iron, and the temperature of the materials are raised such that the heat is used to maintain the temperature in the reaction vessel at a temperature suitable for smelting reduction. Pages 3-4 – bridging paragraph; p. 4 – first full paragraph.
Nakase also teaches the use of flames to heat materials so that heat from the flame is efficiently transferred to the hot metal. Para. [0060]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the method of Naka in at least one of the desiliconization, dephosphorization, and decarburization steps of Nakase, as modified by Uchida, because Naka’s method aligns with Nakase’s objective of efficient heat transfer, ensuring that heat from the flame is transferred to the hot metal the temperature in the converter vessel is maintained.
Conclusion
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
May 23, 2026