IDS is considered.
Drawings is/are accepted.
Applicant’s election of Claims 1-18, 20, 22 is acknowledged.
Claims 19, 21, and 23-25 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 10, 12, 13, 20, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over
Dahlen (US 2011/0117916).
As to claim 1:
Dahlen discloses:
A method performed by an access network node, comprising: receiving, from a mobility management entity MME) information indicating that one or more bearers for a terminal device cannot be handed over to one or more radio access technologies (RATs) different than long term evolution (LTE); (¶00042, 0044, 0047, at an access network node such as base station 13, receiving information from MME, wherein the information indicating restrictions indicating frequencies of a plurality of inter-RATs forbidden to the UE. Since a plurality of RATs are indicated in the information, at least one of them is non-LTE. See also ¶0041, target systems includes other various RATs, for example W-CDMA.)
and determining whether to perform a packet switched (PS) handover for the terminal device based on the information. (See ¶042, 0045, 0047, Fig. 1, based on the information provided, the base station decides whether the UE is to be handover to one of the neighboring network, which is packet switch network (i.e. eNB))
As to claim 12:
Dahlen discloses:
A method performed by a mobility management entity (MME) comprising: sending, to an access network node, information indicating that one or more bearers for a terminal device cannot be handed over to one or more radio access technologies (RATs) different than long term evolution (LTE). (¶00042, 0044, 0047, sending by an MME to an access network node such as base station 13, information from MME, wherein the information indicating restrictions indicating frequencies of a plurality of inter-RATs forbidden to the UE. Since a plurality of RATs are indicated in the information, at least one of them is non-LTE. See also ¶0041, target systems includes other various RATs, for example W-CDMA.)
As to claim 20:
Dahlen discloses:
An access network node comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory, the at least one memory containing instructions executable by the at least one processor, (¶0040, implemented as device with processor/memory) whereby the access network node is operative to: receive, from a mobility management entity MME) information indicating that one or more bearers for a terminal device cannot be handed over to one or more radio access technologies, RATs, different than long term evolution, LTE; (¶00042, 0044, 0047, at an access network node such as base station 13, receiving information from MME, wherein the information indicating restrictions indicating frequencies of a plurality of inter-RATs forbidden to the UE. Since a plurality of RATs are indicated in the information, at least one of them is non-LTE. See also ¶0041, target systems includes other various RATs, for example W-CDMA.)
and determine whether to perform a packet switched, PS, handover for the terminal device based on the information. (See ¶042, 0045, 0047, Fig. 1, based on the information provided, the base station decides whether the UE is to be handover to one of the neighboring network, which is packet switch network (i.e. eNB))
As to claim 22:
Dahlen discloses:
A mobility management entity (MME), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory, the at least one memory (¶0040, implemented as device with processor/memory) containing instructions executable by the at least one processor, whereby the MME is operative to: send, to an access network node, information indicating that one or more bearers for a terminal device cannot be handed over to one or more radio access technologies (RATs) different than long term evolution (LTE). (¶00042, 0044, 0047, sending by an MME to an access network node such as base station 13, information from MME, wherein the information indicating restrictions indicating frequencies of a plurality of inter-RATs forbidden to the UE. Since a plurality of RATs are indicated in the information, at least one of them is non-LTE. See also ¶0041, target systems includes other various RATs, for example W-CDMA.)
As to claim 2:
Dahlen discloses all limitations of claim 1, further comprising: determining how to perform the PS handover for the terminal device based on the information. (See ¶0045, the source base station formulates handover procedure to another eNB in accordance with the received restriction information from eNB, see also ¶046-0047)
As to claims 3, 13:
Dahlen discloses all limitations of claim 12, wherein the information indicates that the one or more bearers for the terminal device cannot be handed over to 2nd generation, 2G/3rd generation, 3G, or 5th generation, 5G. (See ¶0045, a plurality of forbidden bearers of various inter-RATs, See ¶039-0041, possible inter-RATs includes UMTS/LTE, W-CDMA and others)
As to claim 8:
Dahlen discloses all limitations of claim 1, wherein determining whether to perform a PS handover for the terminal device based on the information comprises: when the information indicates that none of the one or more bearers can be handed over to 2G/3G or 5G. (¶0045-0047, a list of inter-RATs that cannot be handover is included in the information from MME, See ¶039-0041, possible inter-RATs handover determination includes UMTS/LTE, W-CDMA)
determining not to perform a PS handover to 2G/3G or 5G for the one or more bearers; and/or when the information indicates that at least one of the one or more bearers can be handed over to 2G/3G or 5G, determining to perform a PS handover to 2G/3G or 5G for the at least one bearer. (See ¶0045, “The source eNB 13 determines 56 whether the carrier frequency used by the identified target cell is forbidden according to the stored area and restriction information in the UE 12 context. If the identified carrier frequency is allowed, handover request with the stored area and access restriction area information is sent 57 to the target eNB 14 and, after target eNB has acknowledged 58 the handover, a handover command 59 is sent to the UE” See also ¶0046-0047)
As to claim 10:
Dahlen discloses all limitations of claim 2, wherein determining how to perform the PS handover for the terminal device based on the information comprises: determining a target radio access network (RAN) for the PS handover based on the information. (See ¶0045, “The source eNB 13 determines 56 whether the carrier frequency used by the identified target cell is forbidden according to the stored area and restriction information in the UE 12 context. If the identified carrier frequency is allowed, handover request with the stored area and access restriction area information is sent 57 to the target eNB 14 and, after target eNB has acknowledged 58 the handover, a handover command 59 is sent to the UE” See also ¶0046-0047)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahlen (US 2011/0117916) in view of Isokangas et al. (US 2020/0059836).
As to claims 4, 14:
Dahlen discloses all limitations of claim 1/12, wherein the one or more bearers comprise at least one first bearer established in LTE; and wherein the information indicates that the at least one first bearer cannot be handed over to 2G/3G. (See ¶0045, a plurality of forbidden bearers of various inter-RATs, See ¶039-0041, possible inter-RATs includes UMTS/LTE, W-CDMA and others of 2 or 3G)
Dahlen, however does not explicitly state the bearer(s) as and capable of interworking with 5th generation system (5GS).
Isokangas, in a related field of endeavor, discloses in at least method 500, ¶0092-0093 wherein bearers of a LTE access networks in handover interworking with a 5G radio access network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the bearers of access networks in Dahlen as being able to interwork with 5G system. As Dahlen is concerned with managing inter-RAT handovers, an interworking with 5G networks allows for backward/forward compatibility for seamless roaming for users.
As to claims 5, 15:
Dahlen discloses all limitations of claim 1/12, and in at least ¶0045-0047, 0100 discloses the one or more bearers comprise at least one second bearer established in LTE and incapable of interworking with 5Gs, namely GSM, WCDMA which cannot directly interwork with 5G networks.
Dahlen is silent on wherein the information indicates that the at least one second bearer cannot be handed over to 5G.
Isokangas, in a related field of endeavor, discloses in at least method 500, ¶0092-0093 wherein bearers of an LTE access networks roaming with neighbor networks a 5G radio access network.
Recall that Dahlen discloses the information from MME includes certain bearers of neighbor networks forbidden to the UE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the forbidden bearers of access networks in Dahlen can include 5G system. As Dahlen is concerned with managing inter-RAT handovers, forbidding 5G networks insures the access networks to be informed of UE with class access restrictions or compatibility issues should be attempted for handover to a 5G networks.
As to claims 6, 16:
Dahlen discloses all limitations of claim 1/12, and wherein the information indicates that the at least one third bearer cannot be handed over to 2G/3G. (See ¶0045, a plurality of forbidden bearers of various inter-RATs, See ¶039-0041, possible inter-RATs includes UMTS/LTE, W-CDMA and others of 2 or 3G)
Dahlen however is silent on wherein the one or more bearers comprise at least one third bearer handed over from 5G to LTE.
Isokangas, in a related field of endeavor, discloses in at least method 0073, 0074 wherein bearers of an LTE access networks can handover back and forth with a 5G network.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the bearers of access networks in Dahlen as being able to interwork with 5G system. As Dahlen is concerned with managing inter-RAT handovers, an interworking with 5G networks allows for backward/forward compatibility for seamless roaming for users.
As to claims 7, 17:
Dahlen discloses all limitations of claim 1/12, wherein the one or more bearers comprise at least one fourth bearer handed over from 2G/3G to LTE; (See ¶039-0041, possible inter-RATs handover includes UMTS/LTE, W-CDMA)
Dahlen however is silent on wherein the information indicates that the at least one fourth bearer cannot be handed over to 5G.
Isokangas, in a related field of endeavor, discloses in at least method 500, ¶0092-0093 wherein bearers of an LTE access networks roaming with neighbor networks a 5G radio access network.
Recall that Dahlen discloses the information from MME includes certain bearers of neighbor networks forbidden to the UE. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the forbidden bearers of access networks in Dahlen can include 5G system. As Dahlen is concerned with managing inter-RAT handovers, forbidding 5G networks insures the access networks to be informed of UE with class access restrictions or compatibility issues should be attempted for handover to a 5G networks.
Claim(s) 9, 11, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dahlen (US 2011/0117916) in view of Jeong et al. (US 2015/0237544).
As to claim 9:
Dahlen discloses all limitations of claim 8, wherein, however is silent on the PS handover is associated with a single radio voice call continuity procedure.
However, handover to extend a call is well established in the art. As evidenced in Jeong, who, in a related field of endeavor, also discloses a handover between different RANs of different RATs in order to extend or improve a call. (See Abstract, Fig. 5, ¶077-0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the handover in Dahlen can be associated with a voice call continuity procedure. Due to mobility nature of a user as well as QoS requirement of call service, a handover procedure in this situation protect against call setup failures and degradation of call quality (See at least ¶0019 of Jeong).
As to claims 11, 18:
Dahlen discloses all limitations of claim 1/12, however is silent on the information is received in one of: an evolved radio access bearer (E-RAB) Setup Request; an Initial Context Setup Request; or a Handover Request.
Jeong, in a related field of inter-RAT handovers, discloses a list of restricted bands can be contained in a S1 message such as ICS request from MME (See ¶0132, 0140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention that the information from MME can be conveyed in such an S1 message. Since initial context setup is the first contact between MME and eNB, relaying such a list in way allows the eNB to have early access to the context, thus allowing timely handover decision. Furthermore, this practice is part of 3GPP standard (3GPP Release 9 (see 3GPP TR 23.830, ver. 9.0.0 for section 6.3.6.2.1)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Drazynski et al. (US 2013/0005340) - A core network (MME or RNC for example) receives in an uplink message a first list of closed subscriber group (CSG) identities for cells which are neighbors to a network access node. The core network creates a third list by checking the first list received in the uplink message against a second list which is a user equipment's list of allowed CSG identities; and then sends the third list downlink to at least the network access node which provided the first list. In different embodiments the neighbors of the first list include only cells which are direct neighbor CSG cells; or alternatively is also has cells which are adjacent to the direct neighbor CSG cells.
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645