DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment received on 07/22/2026:
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 6-12 have been amended.
Claims 2 and 5 have been canceled.
The previous rejection has been withdrawn in light of the amendment.
The previous prior art has been applied. All changes made are necessitated by the amendment. Thus the action is final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2008287888 to Takanohashi (IDS) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2018/0108913 to Zhang et al.
With respect to claims 1 and 6, Takanohashi et al. teach a separator for an electrochemical device, comprising: a support or a porous membrane of polyolefin (a porous polymer substrate); and a coating layer (a polymer layer) on at least one surface of the support (the porous polymer substrate), wherein the coating layer (the polymer layer) comprises a polymer emulsion A (a binder polymer) having a crosslinked structure (Takanohashi et al.: Sections [0007] and [0032]).
Takanohashi et al. do not specifically teach the binder polymer.
However, Zhang et al. teach a PVA polymer (a binder polymer) with the crosslinked structure below, wherein X could be boron (Zhang et al.: Sections [0036]-[0037]).
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified Takanohashi et al. with the teaching above from Zhang et al. with the motivation of having a means such the binder would enable longer life and higher electrode loading, primarily for anode materials that undergo high strain on lithiation/de-lithiation, but with benefits that extend to other lower strain anodes and high loading cathodes, it will strengthen the mechanical properties and enhance lithium ion transport of the electrodes.
Takanohashi et al. do not specifically teach, but Zhang et al. teach the separator, wherein the binder polymer having the crosslinked structure comprises a crosslinked product of a boron-containing compound with a hydroxyl group-containing binder polymer; wherein a weight ratio of the boron-containing compound to the hydroxyl group-containing binder polymer is 1:1 to 100:1 (30:70 to 70:30) (Zhang et al.: Sections [0036]-[0037]).
With respect to claim 3, Takanohashi et al. do not specifically teach, but Zhang et al. teach the separator, wherein the boron-containing compound comprises borax (Zhang et al.: Sections [0036]-[0037]).
With respect to claim 4, Takanohashi et al. do not specifically teach, but Zhang et al. teach the separator, wherein the hydroxyl group-containing binder polymer comprises poly(vinyl alcohol (Zhang et al.: Sections [0036]-[0037]).
With respect to claim 7, both Takanohashi et al. and Zhang et al. do not specifically mention the separator has a rate of decrease in thickness, in order words the separator has a rate of decrease in thickness of 0%.
With respect to claim 8, Takanohashi et al. do not specifically teach, but Zhang et al. teach an electrochemical device, comprising: a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, wherein the separator is the separator for the electrochemical device (Zhang et al.: Section [0002]).
With respect to claim 9, Takanohashi et al. do not specifically teach a method for manufacturing a separator for an electrochemical device, comprising the steps of: coating a first coating solution comprising a hydroxyl group-containing binder polymer on at least one surface of a porous polymer substrate, followed by drying; and coating a second coating solution comprising a boron-containing compound on a top surface of the porous polymer substrate coated with the hydroxyl group-containing binder polymer, followed by drying to obtain the separator.
However, Takanohashi et al. further teach one or more coating layers on the support layer (the porous polymer substrate), with drying step after each coating layer to obtain a separator (Takanohashi et al.: Sections [0007], [0032] and [0057]-[0058]).
Takanohashi et al. do not specifically teach, but Zhang et al. teach the separator, wherein the binder polymer having the crosslinked structure comprises a crosslinked product of a boron-containing compound with a hydroxyl group-containing binder polymer; wherein a weight ratio of the boron-containing compound to the hydroxyl group-containing binder polymer is 1:1 to 100:1 (30:70 to 70:30) (Zhang et al.: Sections [0036]-[0037]).
With respect to claim 10, Takanohashi et al. do not specifically teach the method for manufacturing the separator for the electrochemical device, wherein an amount of the hydroxyl group-containing binder in the first coating solution ranges from 5 wt % to 20 wt % based on 100 wt % of the first coating solution.
However, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have an amount of the hydroxyl group-containing binder in the first coating solution ranges from 5 wt % to 20 wt % based on 100 wt % of the first coating solution, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It has been held that discovering that general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller,105 USPQ 233. Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
With respect to claim 11, Takanohashi et al. do not specifically teach the method for manufacturing the separator for the electrochemical device, wherein an amount of the boron-containing compound in the second coating solution ranges from 5 wt % to 20 wt % based on 100 wt % of the second coating solution.
However, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have an amount of the boron-containing compound in the second coating solution ranges from 5 wt % to 20 wt % based on 100 wt % of the second coating solution, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It has been held that discovering that general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller,105 USPQ 233. Generally, differences in ranges will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such ranges is critical. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969).
With respect to claim 12, Takanohashi et al. do not specifically teach. Zhang et al. teach the method for manufacturing the separator for the electrochemical device, wherein the second coating solution has a pH 8 (Zhang et al.: Section [0070]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the intermixing ratio in Zhang is different from the final crosslinked weight ratio, as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's interpretation of the claim language applied to the prior art. The intermixing ratio is not necessary the same as the final crosslinked weight ratio, however, theoretically they could be very close to each other. Furthermore, the claimed range in the current application is large as well. Plus, the specification does not show the criticality of having that specific ratio.
Therefore the rejections will be maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINGWEN R ZENG/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 10/2/2026