DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second identifier” and “the response code” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second identifier” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 32 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second identifier” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second identifier” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 35 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second identifier” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 36 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second identifier” and “the response code” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second identifier” and “the response code” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 38 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second identifier” and “the response code” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second identifier” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the response code” lack antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17, 21, 25 and 29-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (Lee), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0359218.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee discloses a method performed by an application
function (AF) (i.e., AAF 2526; see figure 25) associated with a communication network, the method comprising:
sending, to a network function (NF) (i.e., 5GC 2525; see figure 25) of the communication network, a key request for a security key (KAF) associated with an application session between the AF and a user equipment (UE) (i.e., step 2512, the AAF 2526 transmits an AKMA key derivation request message to the 5GC 2525.; see paragraph [0239]), wherein the key request includes a request for a first identifier of the UE (i.e., The AKMA key derivation request message may include information on at least one of a GPSI and an AKMA key ID; see paragraph [0239]);
receiving, from the NF, a response that includes the security key (KAF) and the first identifier (i.e., step 2513, the 5GC 2525 transmits an AKMA key derivation response message to the AAF 2526. The AKMA key derivation response message may include information on at least one of an EEC ID, a GPSI, a PLMN ID, a CN-type, and an AF key. The 5GC 2525 derives an AKMA key from an AKMA key ID, an ECSP identifier, a GPSI, and an AUSF key corresponding to a subscriber using information indicating an ECSP identifier, an EEC ID, and the like, as parameters. In step 2513, the 5GC 2525 transmits the derived AKMA key to the AAF 2526; see paragraph [0240]); and
authenticating the UE for the application session based on the response (i.e., step 2514, the AAF 2526 performs verification. The AAF 2425 receiving the AKMA key from the 5GC 2525 network verifies the AKMA authentication code received in step 2510; see paragraph [0241]).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee discloses further comprising receiving, from the UE, an
establishment request for the application session (steps 2507, 2510; see figure 25).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee discloses wherein the establishment request and the
key request include an identifier (A-KID) of a security key (KAKMA) associated with the UE (steps 2510, 2512; see figure 25).
Regarding Claim 4, Lee discloses wherein the key request includes an identifier
of the AF (see paragraph [0238]).
Regarding Claim 5, Lee discloses wherein: the AF is part of the communication
network (see figure 3); and the key request is sent to and the response received from an anchor function for authentication and key management for applications (AAnF) in the communication network (see paragraph [0238]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lee discloses wherein: the AF is outside of the
communication network (see figure 1); and the key request is sent to and the response received from a network exposure function (NEF) in the communication network (see paragraphs [0060] and [0242]).
Regarding Claim 7, Lee discloses a method performed by a network exposure function (NEF) (i.e., NEF included in 5G RAN; see paragraph [0060]) of a communication network, the method comprising:
receiving, from an application function (AF) outside of the communication network (shown in figure 1), a key request for a security key (KAF) associated with an application session between the AF and a user equipment (UE) (i.e., step 2512, the AAF 2526 transmits an AKMA key derivation request message to the 5GC 2525.; see paragraph [0239]), wherein the key request includes a request for a first identifier of the UE (i.e., The AKMA key derivation request message may include information on at least one of a GPSI and an AKMA key ID; see paragraph [0239]);
sending, to the AF, a response that includes the security key (KAF) and the first identifier (i.e., step 2513, the 5GC 2525 transmits an AKMA key derivation response message to the AAF 2526. The AKMA key derivation response message may include information on at least one of an EEC ID, a GPSI, a PLMN ID, a CN-type, and an AF key. The 5GC 2525 derives an AKMA key from an AKMA key ID, an ECSP identifier, a GPSI, and an AUSF key corresponding to a subscriber using information indicating an ECSP identifier, an EEC ID, and the like, as parameters. In step 2513, the 5GC 2525 transmits the derived AKMA key to the AAF 2526; see paragraph [0240]).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee discloses further comprising determining whether the first identifier of the UE is stored locally at the NEF (see paragraph [0129]).
Regarding Claim 9, Lee discloses wherein the key request includes an identifier (A-KID) of a security key (KAKMA) associated with the UE (see paragraph [0239]).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee discloses a method performed by an anchor function for authentication and key management for applications (AAnF) (i.e., step 2511, the AAF 2526 discovers a SGNF (i.e., an AAnF address) serving as the AKMA key ID. The AAF 2526 discovers an NEF or AAnF address of the 5GC 2525 network; see paragraph [0238]) in a communication network, the method comprising:
receiving a key request for a security key (KAF) associated with an application session between an application function (AF) and a user equipment (UE) (i.e., step 2512, the AAF 2526 transmits an AKMA key derivation request message to the 5GC 2525.; see paragraph [0239]), wherein the key request includes a request for a first identifier of the UE (i.e., The AKMA key derivation request message may include information on at least one of a GPSI and an AKMA key ID; see paragraph [0239]);
sending, to the AF, a response that includes the security key (KAF) and the first identifier (i.e., step 2513, the 5GC 2525 transmits an AKMA key derivation response message to the AAF 2526. The AKMA key derivation response message may include information on at least one of an EEC ID, a GPSI, a PLMN ID, a CN-type, and an AF key. The 5GC 2525 derives an AKMA key from an AKMA key ID, an ECSP identifier, a GPSI, and an AUSF key corresponding to a subscriber using information indicating an ECSP identifier, an EEC ID, and the like, as parameters. In step 2513, the 5GC 2525 transmits the derived AKMA key to the AAF 2526; see paragraph [0240]).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee discloses wherein the first identifier is a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) or a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) (see paragraph [0088]).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee discloses wherein: the method further comprises, in response to a request for the first identifier in the key request, determining whether the first identifier is available to the AF; and sending a response code to the AF indicating whether the first identifier is available to the AF (see paragraphs [0168]-[0169]).
Regarding Claim 13, Lee discloses wherein: the key request includes an identifier (A-KID) of a security key (KAKMA) associated with the UE (see paragraph [0239]); and the method further comprises, based on the identifier (A-KID), deriving the security key (KAF) associated with the application session from the security key (KAKMA) associated with the UE (see paragraph [0240]).
Regarding Claim 14, Lee discloses wherein the key request includes an identifier of the AF (see paragraph [0238]).
Regarding Claim 15, Lee discloses wherein: the application function (AF) is outside of the communication network (see figure 1); and the key request is received from and the response sent to a network exposure function (NEF) in the communication network (see paragraphs [0060] and [0242]).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee discloses wherein the key request is received from and the response sent to the AF, which is in the communication network (steps 2512, 2513; see figure 25).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee discloses an application function (AF) (i.e., AAF 2526; see figure 25 and paragraph [0082]) associated with a communication network, the AF comprising:
interface circuitry configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) (i.e., communication unit 510 (e.g., a transceiver) shown in figure 5. Also, see paragraph [0082]) and a network exposure function (NEF) and an anchor function for authentication and key management for applications (AAnF) in the communication network (see paragraph [0238]); and
processing circuitry operably coupled to the interface circuitry (i.e., controller 530 (e.g., at least one processor) shown in figure 5. Also, see paragraph [0082]), whereby the processing circuitry and interface circuitry are configured to perform operations comprising:
sending, to a network function (NF) (i.e., 5GC 2525; see figure 25) of the communication network, a key request for a security key (KAF) associated with an application session between the AF and a user equipment (UE) (i.e., step 2512, the AAF 2526 transmits an AKMA key derivation request message to the 5GC 2525.; see paragraph [0239]), wherein the key request includes a request for a first identifier of the UE (i.e., The AKMA key derivation request message may include information on at least one of a GPSI and an AKMA key ID; see paragraph [0239]);
receiving, from the NF, a response that includes the security key (KAF) and the first identifier (i.e., step 2513, the 5GC 2525 transmits an AKMA key derivation response message to the AAF 2526. The AKMA key derivation response message may include information on at least one of an EEC ID, a GPSI, a PLMN ID, a CN-type, and an AF key. The 5GC 2525 derives an AKMA key from an AKMA key ID, an ECSP identifier, a GPSI, and an AUSF key corresponding to a subscriber using information indicating an ECSP identifier, an EEC ID, and the like, as parameters. In step 2513, the 5GC 2525 transmits the derived AKMA key to the AAF 2526; see paragraph [0240]); and
authenticating the UE for the application session based on the response (i.e., step 2514, the AAF 2526 performs verification. The AAF 2425 receiving the AKMA key from the 5GC 2525 network verifies the AKMA authentication code received in step 2510; see paragraph [0241]).
Regarding Claim 21, Lee discloses a network exposure function (NEF) (i.e., NEF included in 5G RAN; see paragraph [0060]. Paragraph [0082] disclose FIG. 5 illustrates the configuration of a server in a wireless communication system) of a communication network, the NEF comprising:
interface circuitry configured to communicate (i.e., communication unit 510 (e.g., a transceiver) shown in figure 5) with an anchor function for authentication and key management for applications (AAnF) in the communication network (see paragraph [0238]) and with an application function (AF) outside of the communication network (see figure 1); and
processing circuitry operably coupled to the interface circuitry (i.e., controller 530 (e.g., at least one processor) shown in figure 5), whereby the processing circuitry and interface circuitry are configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from an application function (AF) outside of the communication network (shown in figure 1), a key request for a security key (KAF) associated with an application session between the AF and a user equipment (UE) (i.e., step 2512, the AAF 2526 transmits an AKMA key derivation request message to the 5GC 2525.; see paragraph [0239]), wherein the key request includes a request for a first identifier of the UE (i.e., The AKMA key derivation request message may include information on at least one of a GPSI and an AKMA key ID; see paragraph [0239]);
sending, to the AF, a response that includes the security key (KAF) and the first identifier (i.e., step 2513, the 5GC 2525 transmits an AKMA key derivation response message to the AAF 2526. The AKMA key derivation response message may include information on at least one of an EEC ID, a GPSI, a PLMN ID, a CN-type, and an AF key. The 5GC 2525 derives an AKMA key from an AKMA key ID, an ECSP identifier, a GPSI, and an AUSF key corresponding to a subscriber using information indicating an ECSP identifier, an EEC ID, and the like, as parameters. In step 2513, the 5GC 2525 transmits the derived AKMA key to the AAF 2526; see paragraph [0240]).
Regarding Claim 25, Lee discloses an anchor function for authentication and key management for applications (AAnF) (i.e., step 2511, the AAF 2526 discovers a SGNF (i.e., an AAnF address) serving as the AKMA key ID. The AAF 2526 discovers an NEF or AAnF address of the 5GC 2525 network; see paragraph [0238]. Paragraph [0082] disclose the configuration shown in FIG. 5 may be understood as the configuration of a device having function of at least one of the AAF 320) in a communication network, the AAnF comprising:
interface circuitry configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) (i.e., communication unit 510 (e.g., a transceiver) shown in figure 5. Also, see paragraph [0082]) and with a network exposure function (NEF) and an application function (AF) in the communication network (see figure 3 and paragraph [0060]); and
processing circuitry operably coupled to the interface circuitry (i.e., controller 530 (e.g., at least one processor) shown in figure 5. Also, see paragraph [0082]), whereby the processing circuitry and interface circuitry are configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving a key request for a security key (KAF) associated with an application session between an application function (AF) and a user equipment (UE) (i.e., step 2512, the AAF 2526 transmits an AKMA key derivation request message to the 5GC 2525.; see paragraph [0239]), wherein the key request includes a request for a first identifier of the UE (i.e., The AKMA key derivation request message may include information on at least one of a GPSI and an AKMA key ID; see paragraph [0239]);
sending, to the AF, a response that includes the security key (KAF) and the first identifier (i.e., step 2513, the 5GC 2525 transmits an AKMA key derivation response message to the AAF 2526. The AKMA key derivation response message may include information on at least one of an EEC ID, a GPSI, a PLMN ID, a CN-type, and an AF key. The 5GC 2525 derives an AKMA key from an AKMA key ID, an ECSP identifier, a GPSI, and an AUSF key corresponding to a subscriber using information indicating an ECSP identifier, an EEC ID, and the like, as parameters. In step 2513, the 5GC 2525 transmits the derived AKMA key to the AAF 2526; see paragraph [0240]).
Regarding Claim 29, Lee discloses wherein the operations further comprise receiving, from the UE, an establishment request for the application session (steps 2507, 2510; see figure 25).
Regarding Claim 30, Lee discloses wherein authenticating the UE for the application session is based on one of the following: determining a match between the second identifier in the key request and the first identifier included in the response; the response code indicates that the second identifier matches an identifier of the UE that is stored in the communication network (see paragraph [0144]); or the key request includes the second identifier and the response code is absent from the response.
Regarding Claim 31, Lee discloses wherein the second identifier is included in the key request and one of the following applies: the second identifier is received in the establishment request (steps 2507, 2510; see figure 25); or the second identifier is locally stored at the AF.
Regarding Claim 32, Lee discloses wherein the second identifier is a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the and the first identifier received in the response is a GPSI stored in the communication network; or wherein the second identifier is a subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the UE; and the first identifier received in the response is a SUPI stored in the communication network (see paragraphs [0088], [0099] and [0138]-[0139]).
Regarding Claim 33, Lee discloses wherein the operations further comprise determining whether the first identifier of the UE is stored locally at the NEF (see paragraph [0129]).
Regarding Claim 34, Lee discloses wherein: the operations further comprise, based on determining that the first identifier of the UE is stored locally, determining whether the second identifier received from the AF matches the locally-stored first identifier; and the response code sent to the AF indicates whether the second identifier received from the AF matches the locally-stored first identifier (see paragraph [0144]).
Regarding Claim 35, Lee discloses wherein the operations further comprise: based on determining that the first identifier is not stored locally, sending, to an anchor function for authentication and key management for applications (AAnF) in the communication network (see paragraph [0238]), a key request for the security key (KA) that includes one of the following: a request for the first identifier of the UE (see rejection for claim 10 above), the first identifier, retrieved from a unified data management function (UDM) of the communication network, or the second identifier received from the AF; and receiving, from the AAnF, a response that includes the security key (KA) and one of the following: the first identifier (see rejection for claim 10 above), or a response code associated with the second identifier or the first identifier.
Regarding Claim 36, Lee discloses wherein the response code indicates one of the following matches an identifier of the UE that is stored in the AAnF: the first identifier, when it is included in the key request to the AAnF; or the second identifier, when it is included in the key request to the AAnF (see paragraphs [0142]-[0144]).
Regarding Claim 37, Lee discloses wherein: the operations further comprise determining whether the second identifier received in the key request matches an identifier of the UE that is stored in the communication network; and the response code sent to the AF indicates whether the second identifier received in the key request matches the first identifier stored in the communication network (see paragraph [0144]).
Regarding Claim 38, Lee discloses wherein when the key request includes the second identifier (see paragraph [0099]), an absence of the response code in the response indicates that the second identifier matches an identifier of the UE stored in the communication network (see paragraph [0100]).
Regarding Claim 39, Lee discloses wherein the first and second identifiers are generic public subscription identifiers (GPSIs) or subscription permanent identifiers (SUPIs) (see paragraphs [0138]-[0139]).
Regarding Claim 40, Lee discloses wherein: the operations further comprise, in response to a request for the first identifier in the key request, determining whether the first identifier is available to the AF; and the response code sent to the AF indicates whether the first identifier is available to the AF (see paragraphs [0168]-[0169]).
Conclusion
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
January 6, 2026