DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 26-33 and 35-44 are currently pending in the present application. Claims 1-25 and 34 are canceled; claims 26-27, 29-31, 33, 35-41 and 43-44 are currently amended;; and claims 28, 32 and 42 are previously presented. The amendment dated April 29, 2026 has been entered into the record.
Claims 25, 27-28, 30, 34 and 40-41 were previously objected to because of the informalities. The objections are now withdrawn as the applicant has amended or canceled the claims.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 27, the applicant argues that “While the pixel pattern for red pixels 202 of Cai are formed on substrate 242, the pixel pattern for green pixels 203 is formed on substrate 243. Substrates 242 and 243 are then bonded together - i.e., the green pixel pattern is already formed before bonding, and therefore cannot be formed "on the first optically transparent substrate" as claimed” (Remarks, Page 8).
The examiner respectively disagrees by the following reasons: claim 27 recites an apparatus but not a method of fabricating the apparatus. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2113.
Applicant's arguments with respect to newly amended claims 27, 29 and 40 have been fully considered, but are moot in light of the new ground of rejection set forth below. The new ground of rejection cite Gao et al. (US 20230332759).
Claim Objections
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 40 line 16, “a second, surface” should be “a second surface”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the emitted light" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because in claim 27, there is no “an emitted light”, it is unclear which emitted light it refers to. Thereby as being indefinite, claim 26 fails to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter. For examination purposes, the examiner has interpreted "the emitted light" to be “an emitted light”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (US 20230332759, hereinafter “Gao”).
Regarding claim 27, Gao discloses a photoluminescent (PL) apparatus (Fig. 1; Paras. [0003], [0013]) comprising:
a first optically transparent substrate (“102b”, “102a” and “101b” in Fig. 1 below, annotated by the examiner; see Para. [0045] and [0076] regarding quantum dot substrates being transmissive) in having a first surface (“first surface”) comprising a pattern of trenches corresponding to a first predetermined pixel pattern, shape, size, depth and pitch (see a pattern of trenches in Fig. 1; Para. [0045]);
a PL material (quantum dots in 23; Para. [0038]) filling the trenches: and
a first optically transparent cover (103; see Para. [0045], [0055], [0076] regarding quantum dot substrates or a cover being transmissive) bonding over the first surface, thereby sealing the PL material:
a pattern of trenches (a pattern of trenches formed by “second surface”) corresponding to a predetermined pixel pattern, shape, size, depth and pitch on a second surface (“second surface”) of the first optically transparent substrate, the second surface being opposite the first surface (Fig. 1);
a PL material (quantum dots in 22; Para. [0038]) filling the trenches on the second surface; and
a second optically transparent cover (101a; see Para. [0045], [0055], [0076] regarding quantum dot substrates or a cover being transmissive) for bonding over the second, opposite surface of the first optically transparent substrate, thereby sealing the PL material (Fig. 1).
<Fig. 1 of Gao, annotated by the examiner>
Regarding claim 28, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 27 above, and further discloses wherein the patterns of trenches and the corresponding pixel patterns on the first surface and the second surfaces do not overlap (Fig. 1) and said patterns form a polychromatic colour filter with two emission spectra (Para. [0054] teaching at least two emission spectra).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Cai (US 20140204319), of record.
Regarding claim 26, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 27.
Gao does not necessarily disclose an emitted light is dependent on a volume of the PL material as determined by dimensions of each said trench, and a wavelength of the irradiating light; and wherein an intensity or wavelength of the emitted light is tuned according to a thickness of the PL material, providing a mono-chromatic colour filter with a single emission spectrum (see 112(b) rejections above).
However, Cai teaches an intensity or wavelength of the emitted light is tuned according to a thickness of the PL material, providing a mono-chromatic colour filter with a single emission spectrum (Para. [0051]) and the emitted light is dependent on a thickness of the PL material as determined by a thickness of the trenches and a wavelength of the irradiating light (Paras. [0021], [0025]).
Because a thickness of the PL material also affects the volume of the PL material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the photoluminescent apparatus as disclosed by Gao, wherein an emitted light is dependent on a volume of the PL material as determined by dimensions of each said trench, and a wavelength of the irradiating light; and wherein an intensity or wavelength of the emitted light is tuned according to a thickness of the PL material, providing a mono-chromatic colour filter with a single emission spectrum, for the purpose of obtaining an emission as desired (Cai: Para. [0051]).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Yamazaki (US 20050041188), of record.
Regarding claim 33, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 27 above.
Gao does not necessarily disclose the pixel size and pixel pitch are substantially the same in both orthogonal axes.
However, Yamazaki teaches the pixel size and pixel pitch are substantially the same in both orthogonal axes (see hexagonal pixels 2 and the center O of each pixel in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pixels as disclosed by Gao with the teachings of Yamazaki, wherein the pixel size and pixel pitch are substantially the same in both orthogonal axes, for the purpose of obtaining high-quality display (Yamazaki: Para. [0020]).
Claims 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of He et al. (US 20200313037, hereinafter “He”).
Regarding claim 29, Gao discloses a photoluminescent (PL) apparatus (Fig. 1; Paras. [0003], [0013]) comprising:
a first optically transparent substrate (102b in Fig. 1 below, annotated by the examiner; see Para. [0045] and [0076] regarding quantum dot substrates being transmissive) having a first surface (“first surface”) comprising a pattern of trenches corresponding to a first predetermined pixel pattern, shape, size, depth and pitch (see a pattern of trenches in Fig. 1 below; Para. [0045]);
a PL material filling the trenches (quantum dots in 23; Para. [0038]): and
a second optically transparent substrate (101b in Fig. 1 below; see Para. [0045] and [0076] regarding quantum dot substrates being transmissive) having a third surface (“third surface”) with a pattern of trenches according to a second predetermined pixel pattern, shape, size, depth and pitch (see a pattern of trenches in Fig. 1 below; Para. [0045]);
wherein the two surfaces do not overlap (Fig. 1) thus providing a polychromatic colour filter with two emission spectra (Para. [0054] teaching at least two emission spectra).
<Fig. 1 of Gao, annotated by the examiner>
Gao does not explicitly disclose the two surfaces are bonded to each other to seal the PL material.
However, He teaches a similar photoluminescent (PL) apparatus (Fig. 5), wherein two surfaces are bonded to each other to seal a PL material (see “first surface” and “third surface” in Fig. 5 below, annotated by the examiner).
<Fig. 5 of He, annotated by the examiner>
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pixels as disclosed by Gao with the teachings of He, wherein the two surfaces are bonded to each other to seal the PL material, for the purpose of obtaining a compact photoluminescent apparatus (He: Para. [0102]).
Regarding claim 30, Gao as modified by He discloses the limitations of claim 29 above, and Gao further discloses a non-pixelated surface, wherein the first predetermined pixel pattern, shape, size and pitch, the second predetermined pixel pattern, shape, size and pitch, and the non-pixelated surface provide a polychromatic colour filter with two emission spectra and an irradiating light spectrum (Fig. 1 and Para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 31, Gao as modified by He discloses the limitations of claim 30 above, and Gao further discloses the photoluminescent apparatus according to claim 30 is configured as a RGB colour filter for a display screen (Para. [0054]).
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of He, and in further view of Yamazaki.
Regarding claim 32, Gao discloses the limitations of claim 31 above.
Gao does not necessarily disclose the R, G and B pixels include pixels that are diagonally aligned, arranged in a hexagonal pattern, and arranged within a hexagon.
However, Yamazaki teaches R, G and B pixels include pixels that are diagonally aligned, arranged in a hexagonal pattern, and arranged within a hexagon (see Figure 1 and Paras. [0090] and [0159]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pixels as disclosed by Gao with the teachings of Yamazaki, wherein the R, G and B pixels include pixels that are diagonally aligned, arranged in a hexagonal pattern, and arranged within a hexagon, for the purpose of obtaining high-quality display (Yamazaki: Para. [0020]).
Claims 35-42 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Cai, and in further view of Kojima (US 5212575 A), of record.
Regarding claim 40, Gao discloses a method for manufacturing a photoluminescent (PL) colour filter for a display screen (Figs. 1 and 9-22; Paras. [0003], [0013], [0021]-[0043], [0054]), the method comprising:
forming a pattern of trenches (“A” in Fig. 11) corresponding to a first predetermined pixel pattern, shape, size, depth and pitch on a first surface of a first optically transparent substrate (see Fig. 12 where 21 is disposed corresponding to A on a surface of 100; Para. [0045]) by:
exposing selected areas (“A” exposed by 502 in Figs. 11-12) on the first surface whilst blocking a remainder of the first surface by a layer (502);
etching trenches to a predetermined depth at the exposed selected areas to pattern the first surface (see Paras. [0060]-[0062] teaching photolithography includes etching and a specified depth);
depositing a PL material (Para. [0062]) in the trenches of the patterned first surface;
curing the PL material (Para. [0062]);
encapsulating the PL material in the trenches by bonding a first optically transparent cover over the first surface of the first optically transparent substrate (the PL material encapsulated by the substrate “101a” and “101b” in Fig. 1 above, annotated by the examiner), wherein a thickness of the PL material is controlled by the predetermined trench depth (Figs. 12-14); and
forming further trenches (“B” on 101 in Fig. 13) on a second surface of the first optically transparent substrate with a second predetermined pixel pattern, shape, size, depth and pitch, the second surface being opposite the first surface (see Fig. 13 wherein 22 is disposed therein), and filling the further trenches with PL material (Para. [0066]), so that light passing through first surface and the second surface, and the first optically transparent substrate create a pattern following the predetermined pixel pattern, shape, size, depth and pitch of the respective trenches (see Fig. 21).
Gao does not explicitly disclose the layer being a metallic layer.
However, Kojima teaches a known manufacturing method incudes using a metallic layer (Column 8 lines 66-67, teaching 72a is the aluminum).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Gao with the teachings of Kojima, wherein the layer is a metallic layer, for the purpose of manufacturing pixels (Kojima: Column 8 lines 20-68).
Gao further fails to disclose the thickness of the PL material which determines a wavelength of a light irradiating on the PL material.
However, Cai teaches a thickness of the PL material determines wavelength of a light irradiating on the PL material (Para. [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the photoluminescent apparatus as disclosed by Gao with the teachings of Cai, to have the thickness of the PL material which determines a wavelength of a light irradiating on the PL material, for the purpose of obtaining an emission as desired (Cai: Para. [0051]).
Regarding claim 35, Gao as modified by Kojima and Kai discloses the limitations of claim 40 above.
Gao does not necessarily disclose the patterned first surface is formed by photolithography and metal sputtering; and wherein said photolithography involves a lift-off technique.
However, Kojima teaches a patterned surface is formed by photolithography and metal sputtering (Column 9 lines 11-12 and 42); and wherein said photolithography involves a lift-off technique (Column 8 line 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Gao with the teachings of Kojima, wherein the patterned first surface is formed by photolithography and metal sputtering; and wherein said photolithography involves a lift-off technique, for the purpose of manufacturing pixels (Kojima: Column 8 lines 20-68).
Regarding claim 36, Gao as modified by Kojima and Kai discloses the limitations of claim 40 above.
Gao does not necessarily disclose etching the trenches by reactive ion etching (RIE) to produce uniform predetermined trench depth, to provide uniform PL material coating thickness.
However, Kojima teaches etching the trenches by reactive ion etching (RIE) (Column 23 lines 52-53) to produce uniform predetermined trench depth, to provide uniform photosensitive material coating thickness (A claim term is functional when it recites a feature "by what it does rather than by what it is" (e.g., as evidenced by its specific structure or specific ingredients). In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 210, 212, 169 USPQ 226, 229 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2173.05(g). In this case, Kojima teaches an etching method, which is capable of providing uniform predetermined trench depth and/or uniform photosensitive material coating thickness).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Gao with the teachings of Kojima, to etch the trenches by reactive ion etching (RIE) to produce uniform predetermined trench depth, to provide uniform PL material coating thickness, for the purpose of manufacturing pixels (Kojima: Column 8 lines 20-68).
Regarding claim 37, Gao as modified by Kojima and Kai discloses the limitations of claim 40 above.
Gao does not necessarily disclose the PL material is suspended in a curable polymer matrix.
However, Kojima teaches the photosensitive material can be suspended in a curable polymer matrix to be exposed (Figure 7C and Column 9 lines 20-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Gao with the teachings of Kojima, wherein the PL material is suspended in a curable polymer matrix, for the purpose of manufacturing pixels (Kojima: Column 8 lines 20-68) and as conventionally known in the art.
Regarding claim 38, Gao as modified by Kojima and Kai discloses the limitations of claim 40 above, and Gao further discloses wherein the PL material is one of: CdSe/ZnS core-shell quantum particles, Cd based core/core-shell quantum particles; Cd-free quantum particles; Pb based core/core-shell quantum particles; Pb-free quantum particles; and Perovskite quantum particles (Para. [0061]).
Regarding claim 39, Gao as modified by Kojima and Kai discloses the limitations of claim 40 above, and Gao further discloses
Gao does not explicitly disclose the PL material thickness is calibrated for green or red conversion from a blue, deep-blue, UV or deep-UV light source.
However, Cai teaches the PL material has thicknesses based on desired color conversion from a blue light source (Paras. [0022], [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the photoluminescent apparatus as disclosed by Gao with the teachings of Cai, wherein the PL material thickness is calibrated for green or red conversion from a blue, deep-blue, UV or deep-UV light source, for the purpose of obtaining a desired single emission (Cai: Para. [0051]).
Regarding claim 41, Gao as modified by Kojima and Kai discloses the limitations of claim 40 above, and Gao further discloses the PL materials on the two opposite sides of the first optically transparent substrate emit respectively different red or green emission spectra under blue light, thereby forming an RGB colour filter (Fig. 1; Para. [0054]).
Regarding claim 42, Gao as modified by Kojima and Kai discloses the limitations of claim 40 above, and Gao further discloses wherein an area of the RGB colour filter is substantially equal to an area of the first surface of the first optically transparent substrate (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 44, Gao as modified by Kojima and Kai discloses the limitations of claim 40 above, and Gao further discloses a photoluminescent colour filter (Fig. 1) obtained with the method according to claim 40 for producing a monochromatic red or green down-conversion emission spectrum, or for producing polychromatic emissions when used with a blue light source (Fig. 1 and Para. [0037]).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao in view of Cai, and in further view of Kojima and He.
Regarding claim 43, Gao as modified by Kojima and Kai discloses the limitations of claim 40 above, and Gao further discloses forming a pixelated pattern on one side of a second optically transparent substrate (22 formed on one side of 101b in Fig. 1 above, annotated by the examiner for claim 27) by etching selected areas on a first surface (“second surface” in Fig. 1 above) of the second optically transparent substrate
whilst blocking a remainder of the first surface of the second optically transparent substrate by a layer (503 in Fig. 13),
Gao does not explicitly disclose the layer being a metallic layer.
However, Kojima teaches a known manufacturing method incudes using a metallic layer (Column 8 lines 66-67, teaching 72a is the aluminum).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method as disclosed by Gao with the teachings of Kojima, wherein the layer is a metallic layer, for the purpose of manufacturing pixels (Kojima: Column 8 lines 20-68).
Gao further fails to disclose bonding together the respective first surfaces of the first and second optically transparent substrates.
However, He teaches a similar photoluminescent (PL) apparatus (Fig. 5), and bonding together respective first surfaces of first and second optically transparent substrates (see “first surface” and “third surface” in Fig. 5 above, annotated by the examiner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pixels as disclosed by Gao with the teachings of He, to bonding together the respective first surfaces of the first and second optically transparent substrates, for the purpose of obtaining a compact photoluminescent apparatus (He: Para. [0102]).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN Y JUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871