DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed on 7/12/2023.
Claims 1-10, 13, 15-19, 21, 28-31, and 37 are currently pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 13, 15-19, 21, 28-31, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by You et al. (US 2023/0126621 A1; hereafter YOU).
With respect to claim 1, YOU discloses a method performed by a network node (gNB of FIG 22(a); eNB of FIG 22(b); eNB of FIG 22(c)) that implements a centralized network function unit for frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), the method comprising:
determining a configurable frequency part size(s) for a frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of an IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22);
determining a mode of frequency-domain resource utilization for each of at least some of a plurality of frequency parts of an available bandwidth of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), the available bandwidth being divided into the plurality of frequency parts in accordance with the configurable frequency part size(s) (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]); and
sending the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration to the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration comprising information that indicates the mode of frequency-domain resource utilization for each of the at least some of the plurality of frequency parts (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) of the available bandwidth of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22).
With respect to claim 2, YOU further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) comprises one or more of a frequency-domain resource utilization configuration (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) for a Distributed Unit (DU) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), a frequency-domain resource utilization configuration for a Mobile Termination (MT) (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), or
a frequency-domain resource utilization configuration for an access link between the IAB node and (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) a User Equipment (UE) (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23).
With respect to claim 3, YOU further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein determining the mode of frequency-domain resource utilization for each of the at least some of the plurality of frequency parts of the available bandwidth of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) comprises
determining the mode of frequency-domain resource utilization for each of the plurality of frequency parts of the available bandwidth (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), and
the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration comprises information that indicates the mode of frequency-domain resource utilization for each of the plurality of frequency parts of the available bandwidth of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22).
With respect to claim 4, YOU further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein, for each frequency part of the at least some of the plurality of frequency parts of the available bandwidth of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), the mode of frequency-domain resource utilization for the frequency part is either Hard, Soft, or Not Available (paragraphs [0430], [0439], [0440], and [0442]).
With respect to claim 5, YOU further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein determining the configurable frequency part size for the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of the IAB node comprises
determining the configurable frequency part size for the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) such that the configurable frequency part size is a multiple of a size of a frequency part used for communication (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) among the network node, a parent IAB node of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), a Termination unit (MT) (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), a child IAB node of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), and/or
a wireless communication device in a respective cellular communications system.
With respect to claim 6, YOU further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein determining the configurable frequency part size for the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of the IAB node comprises
determining the configurable frequency part size for the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) such that the configurable frequency part size is a multiple of a size of a resource block group (RBG) (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]).
With respect to claim 7, YOU further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein determining the configurable frequency part size for the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) comprises
determining the configurable frequency part size for the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) such that the configurable frequency part size is one or more consecutive resource blocks in the frequency-domain (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]).
With respect to claim 8, YOU further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein determining the configurable frequency part size for the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) comprises
determining the configurable frequency part size for the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) based on information about a frequency-domain resource condition (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) between an IAB Mobile Termination unit (MT) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) and an IAB Distributed Unit (DU) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22).
With respect to claim 9, YOU further discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the MT (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) establishes a communication interface or channel towards a parent IAB node and the DU of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) establishes a communication interface or channel to a wireless communication device (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) and/or
establishes a communication interface or channel to the MT (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) of a child IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22).
With respect to claim 10, YOU further discloses the method of claim 1 wherein determining the configurable frequency part size for the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) comprises
determining the configurable frequency part size for the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) based on information about a desired configurable frequency part size of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22).
With respect to claim 13, YOU discloses a network node that implements a centralized network function unit for frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), the network node comprising
processing circuitry configured to cause the network node to:
determine a configurable frequency part size(s) for a frequency-domain resource utilization configuration (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) of an IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22);
determine a mode of frequency-domain resource utilization for each of at least some of a plurality of frequency parts of an available bandwidth of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), the available bandwidth being divided into the plurality of frequency parts in accordance with the configurable frequency part size(s) (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]); and
send the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration to the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration comprising information that indicates the mode of frequency-domain resource utilization for each of the at least some of the plurality of frequency parts of the available bandwidth (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22).
With respect to claim 15, YOU discloses a method performed by an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), the method comprising:
receiving a frequency-domain resource utilization configuration from a network node, the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration comprising information that indicates a mode of frequency-domain resource utilization (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) for each of at least some of a plurality of frequency parts of an available bandwidth of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22); and
determining a frequency-domain resource usage of an IAB Mobile Termination unit (IAB-MT) (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) of the IAB node and an IAB Distributed Unit (IAB-DU) of the IAB node (704) (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) based on the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]).
With respect to claim 16, YOU further discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the IAB-MT (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) establishes a communication interface or channel towards a parent IAB node, and
the IAB-DU of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) establishes a communication interface or channel to a wireless communication device (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) and/or
establishes a communication interface or channel to a MT of a child IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22).
With respect to claim 17, YOU further discloses the method of claim 15 further comprising operating in accordance with the determined frequency-domain resource usage.
With respect to claim 18, YOU further discloses the method of claim 15 wherein, for each frequency part of the at least some of the plurality of frequency parts of the available bandwidth of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), the mode of frequency-domain resource utilization (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) for the frequency part is either Hard, Soft, or Not Available (paragraphs [0430], [0439], [0440], and [0442]).
With respect to claim 19, YOU further discloses the method of claim 15 wherein the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration comprises
information that indicates the mode of frequency-domain resource utilization (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) for each of the plurality of frequency parts of the available bandwidth of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22).
With respect to claim 21, YOU further discloses the method of claim 15 wherein a size of the plurality of frequency parts is a multiple of a size of a frequency part used for communication among the network node, a parent IAB node of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), the IAB-MT (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22), a child IAB node of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) and/or
a wireless communication device (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) in a respective cellular communications system.
With respect to claim 28, YOU further discloses the method of claim 15 wherein determining the frequency-domain resource usage of the IAB-MT of the IAB node and the IAB-DU of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) comprises:
determining, based on the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]), that there is interference (paragraphs [0190], [0236], [0237], [0329], and [0331]) between the mode of frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of a frequency part at the IAB-DU and the mode of frequency-domain resource utilization configuration of an adjacent frequency part at the IAB-MT (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23), and responsive thereto:
performing one or more actions to determine the frequency-domain resource usage (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) in such a manner as to mitigate the interference (paragraphs [0190], [0236], [0237], [0329], and [0331]).
With respect to claim 29, YOU further discloses the method of claim 28 wherein, for a frequency part that is indicated by the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration as a Hard resource, performing one or more actions to determine the frequency-domain resource usage in such a manner as to mitigate the interference comprises:
determining to use the frequency part according to its configuration (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) as a Hard resource irrespective of an impact of such use on an ability of the IAB-MT (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) to transmit or receive in the same frequency part only if such use does not impact an ability of the IAB-MT to transmit and receive in any other frequency part (paragraphs [0190], [0236], [0237], [0329], and [0331]); or
determining to use the frequency part according to its configuration as a Hard resource irrespective of an impact of such use on an ability of the IAB MT (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) to transmit or receive in any frequency part (paragraphs [0190], [0236], [0237], [0329], and [0331]).
With respect to claim 30, YOU further discloses the method of claim 28 wherein, for a frequency part that is indicated by the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration as a Soft resource, performing the one or more actions to determine the frequency-domain resource usage in such a manner as to mitigate the interference comprises:
determining to use the frequency part according to its configuration (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) as a Soft resource only if such use does not impact an ability of the IAB-MT (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) to transmit or receive in any frequency part (paragraphs [0190], [0236], [0237], [0329], and [0331]); or
determining to use the frequency part according to its configuration as a Soft resource only if such use does not impact an ability of the IAB-MT (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) to transmit or receive in the same frequency part (paragraphs [0190], [0236], [0237], [0329], and [0331]).
With respect to claim 31, YOU further discloses the method of claim 28 wherein, for a frequency part that is indicated by the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration as a Not Available resource, performing the one or more actions to determine the frequency-domain resource usage in such a manner as to mitigate the interference comprises
determining not to use the frequency part (paragraphs [0190], [0236], [0237], [0329], and [0331]) according to its configuration (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) as a Not Available resource (paragraphs [0430], [0439], [0440], and [0442]).
With respect to claim 37, YOU discloses an Integrated Access and Backhaul node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) comprising processing circuitry configured to cause the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) to:
receive a frequency-domain resource utilization configuration (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) from a network node, the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration comprising information that indicates a mode of frequency-domain resource utilization for each of at least some of a plurality of frequency parts of an available bandwidth (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22); and
determine a frequency-domain resource usage of an IAB Mobile Termination unit (IAB-MT) (UE of FIG 22(a), (b), and (c); UE 1, UE2, UE 3 of FIG. 23) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) and an IAB Distributed Unit (IAB-DU) of the IAB node (IAB-donor or IAD-node in FIG. 22) based on the frequency-domain resource utilization configuration (paragraphs [0359], [0412], [0413]).
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 February 21, 2026