DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-9 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (KR 20190092879; machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Son teaches an electrolyte solution comprising an organic solvent, a lithium salt, a first additive, and a second additive, wherein the first additive is vinyl ethylene carbonate (the specific embodiment of the first additive claimed in claim 1) present preferably in an amount of 1 to 10% by weight based on the total weight of the electrolyte solution, the second additive is pentaerythritol disulfate (the specific embodiment of the second additive claimed in claim 5) present in an amount preferably of 0.05 to 5% by weight (machine translation at pages 3-5; see original at paragraphs [0025]-[0026]), resulting in a range of first additive to second additive ratio of from 0.2 to 200, overlapping the claimed range. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a ratio of claimed first additive to second additive as claimed in claim 1 because Son teaches an overlapping range of this ratio (see machine translation at pages 4-5).
Regarding claim 7, Son teaches numerous lithium salts from the claimed list, including at least LiPF₆, LiClO4, LiBF₄, and LiSbF₆ (machine translation at page 4).
Regarding claim 8, Son teaches that the organic solvent can be at least one from the group consisting of numerous of the claimed solvents, including at least ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, butylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, and dipropyl carbonate (machine translation at page 4).
Regarding claim 9, Son teaches 1 to 10% by weight based on the total weight of the solvent of one or more of lithium difluorobis (oxalato) phosphate, lithium bis (oxalato) borate, lithium difluoro (oxalato) borate, lithium bis (fluorosulfonyl) imide and ethylene sulfate (machine translation at page 5).
Regarding claim 12, Son teaches that lithium secondary battery comprising a cathode, an anode, a separator, and an electrolyte where the electrolyte is the electrolyte set forth above (machine translation at pages 5 and 10).
Regarding claims 13-16, Son teaches that the electrolyte for a secondary battery comprising the vinyl ethylene carbonate and the cyclic sulfate compound to suppress an increase of resistance during high temperature storage and enhances capacity retention rate and room temperature and high temperature lifetime characteristics (machine translation at page 9), and uses an electrolyte reading on all of the claimed limitations of the instant application. Accordingly, Applicant is claiming a function of the electrolyte with respect to claims 13-16, and the composition is the same, therefore the limitations of these claims are taken to be anticipated or obvious. “Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, expressed as a 102/103 rejection.” MPEP § 2112.
Regarding claim 17, with regard to the recitation “the lithium secondary battery is a battery for energy storage systems (ESSs) or as a battery for automobiles,” this claim limitation is merely intended use of the battery. The manner in which an apparatus operates is not germane to the issue of patentability of the apparatus itself. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The battery of Son set forth above is fully capable of being used as a battery for energy storage systems or for automobiles.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art rejections of the claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the prior art rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues that Son does not teach a first additive compound represented by Formula 3 in an amount of 20% by weight or less, a second additive compound represented by Formula 5 in an amount of 0.01 to 10% by weight, and a ratio of first and second additives of 1:0.1 to 1.7. However, as is set forth above, Son teaches the first additive is vinyl ethylene carbonate (the specific embodiment of the first additive claimed in claim 1) present preferably in an amount of 1 to 10% by weight based on the total weight of the electrolyte solution, the second additive is pentaerythritol disulfate (the specific embodiment of the second additive claimed in claim 5) present in an amount preferably of 0.05 to 5% by weight, these falling within the claimed weight ranges, and resulting in a range of first additive to second additive ratio of from 0.2 to 200, overlapping the claimed range of additive ratio.
Applicant further argues that vinylene carbonate is essential to Son, and that it is not evident what the absence of vinylene carbonate in Son would result in. However, this argument is not persuasive because the claims use the open-ended transitional phrase “comprising”, and thus allow for the presence of additional components, such as vinylene carbonate. Further, the instant invention specifically contemplates the presence of vinylene carbonate, as is it is specified as an organic solvent usable in the invention in claim 8.
Applicant argues unexpected results of the invention. However, unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claims has not been demonstrated at least for the reason that formula 5 defining the second additive in claim 1 encompasses a very large number of chemical compounds due to the R groups having a variety of configurations, whereas only one specific chemical compound has been tested as the second additive in the examples and comparative examples (see tables 6 and 7).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 August 31, 2026
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749