DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on July 12, 2023 and September 1, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 includes the limitation that the second additive “consists of 3 to 5 atoms”, such a limitation requiring that the second additive have only 3 to 5 atoms, however formula 2 has a sulfur atom, two oxygen atoms, and at least two additional atoms bonded to the sulfur, and the groups bonded to the remaining two bonds of the sulfur atom are not limited, as further dependent claims show, therefore the claimed second additive could potentially have greatly more than 5 atoms. For purposes of this Office action, the limitation that the second additive consists of 3 to 5 atoms is not being given weight, because it is inconsistent with all of Applicant’s inventive embodiments, and the specification does not provide any clarity as to the purpose or scope of this limitation. Claims 2-9 and 12-17 are also rejected as depending upon claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Formulas 5 further defining the second additive in claim 1 does not require a sulfur double bonded to two oxygen atoms and single bonded to two other atoms since A can be phosphorus, sulfur or nitrogen; however, claim 1 requires this structure in the second additive, so claim 4 is inconsistent with the requirements of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son (KR 20190092879; machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 10, Son teaches an electrolyte solution comprising an organic solvent, a lithium salt, a first additive, and a second additive, wherein the first additive is vinyl ethylene carbonate (the specific embodiment of the first additive claimed in claim 2) present preferably in an amount of 1 to 10% by weight based on the total weight of the electrolyte solution, the second additive is pentaerythritol disulfate (the specific embodiment of the second additive claimed in claim 5) present in an amount preferably of 0.05 to 5% by weight (machine translation at pages 3-5; see original at paragraphs [0025]-[0026]). Regarding claims 3 and 10, pentaerythritol disulfate is the compound in chemical formula 4 of claims 3 and 10, wherein R4 is OR6 and R6 is a C2 alkyl group, RS is R7A and R7 is a C3 alkyl group, and A =
, R4 is OR6, and R6 is a Cl alkyl group. Regarding claim 4, the compound in chemical formula 5 of claim 4, wherein A is S, X2, X2', X3, and X3' are O, and R2, R2', R3, and R3' are C1 alkylene.
Regarding claim 7, Son teaches numerous lithium salts from the claimed list, including at least LiPF₆, LiClO4, LiBF₄, and LiSbF₆ (machine translation at page 4).
Regarding claim 8, Son teaches that the organic solvent can be at least one from the group consisting of numerous of the claimed solvents, including at least ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, butylene carbonate, vinylene carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, and dipropyl carbonate (machine translation at page 4).
Regarding claim 9, Son teaches 1 to 10% by weight based on the total weight of the solvent of one or more of lithium difluorobis (oxalato) phosphate, lithium bis (oxalato) borate, lithium difluoro (oxalato) borate, lithium bis (fluorosulfonyl) imide and ethylene sulfate (machine translation at page 5).
Regarding claim 12, Son teaches that lithium secondary battery comprising a cathode, an anode, a separator, and an electrolyte where the electrolyte is the electrolyte set forth above (machine translation at pages 5 and 10).
Regarding claim 17, with regard to the recitation “the lithium secondary battery is a battery for energy storage systems (ESSs) or as a battery for automobiles,” this claim limitation is merely intended use of the battery. The manner in which an apparatus operates is not germane to the issue of patentability of the apparatus itself. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The battery of Son set forth above is fully capable of being used as a battery for energy storage systems or for automobiles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Son (KR 20190092879; machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claims 13-16, Son teaches that the electrolyte for a secondary battery comprising the vinyl ethylene carbonate and the cyclic sulfate compound to suppress an increase of resistance during high temperature storage and enhances capacity retention rate and room temperature and high temperature lifetime characteristics (machine translation at page 9), and uses an electrolyte reading on all of the claimed limitations of the instant application. Accordingly, Applicant is claiming a function of the electrolyte with respect to claims 13-16, and the composition is the same, therefore the limitations of these claims are taken to be anticipated or obvious. “Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, expressed as a 102/103 rejection.” MPEP § 2112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (KR 20190092879; machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claims 6 and 11, as was set forth above, Son teaches that the vinyl ethylene carbonate is present preferably in an amount of 1 to 10% by weight of the total weight of the electrolyte, and that the amount of the pentaerythritol disulfate is preferably 0.05% to 5% by weight of the total weight of the electrolyte (machine translation at pages 4-5), resulting in a range of ratio of from 0.2 to 200, overlapping the claimed range. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a ratio of claimed first additive to second additive as claimed in claims 6 and 11 because Son teaches an overlapping range of this ratio (see machine translation at pages 4-5).
Conclusion
/P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 March 17, 2026
/KATELYN W SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749